5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

NOKIA E72 v1, The Worthy Successor to E71!!

jackyap84
post Dec 5 2009, 06:10 PM

334 posts

I bought an AP set at RM1300 yesterday. Anyone could prepare step to install Garmin?
jackyap84
post Dec 6 2009, 12:46 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(piju @ Dec 5 2009, 06:17 PM)

Added on December 6, 2009, 12:47 pmJust reliazed that my AP set don't have the functionality to type chinese or change the phone display to chinese. Anyone encounter this and any solution?

This post has been edited by jackyap84: Dec 6 2009, 12:47 PM
jackyap84
post Dec 6 2009, 09:24 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_chan83 @ Dec 6 2009, 08:12 PM)
After updating to version 5.00.60... my garmin still crashes. Anyone facing the same problem?
i'm tested v5.00.50 and v5.00.60 with latest mapfreemap v091130, both version are still having the same problem. After 3-5min, it will hang and no response.

Appreciate anyone have the solution for that.
jackyap84
post Dec 6 2009, 09:59 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(piju @ Dec 3 2009, 07:25 PM)
mine shows 5.00.60, not 5.00.50
Hi Piju, ur Garmin got issue or not? I mean crash or hang. Mine 1 still havent solved. Appreciate you could guide us on this matter. Thanks.

Added on December 6, 2009, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(mbek @ Dec 3 2009, 10:23 PM)
mine 5.00.60
so far NO.
me too

try download from here... my Garmin
Hi Mbek,

ur garmin is running smooth in e72? Might too share v us what version and map u r using?

This post has been edited by jackyap84: Dec 6 2009, 09:59 PM
jackyap84
post Dec 6 2009, 11:35 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(sky_lor @ Dec 6 2009, 11:07 PM)
last night installed the gaminr 5.00.60. today for the 1st time positioning, it took me about 20 minutes (inside the car). after that it work find for a few minutes, but then the navigation screen hang, but voice command still working (weird). then second time try again, able to connect to satelite signal within 10 second and calculate the route, but then after about 5 minutes, the software hang again, not responding untill i press the home button to get out from it.

appreciate that if anyone can provide a fix for the garmin, because most of the time i will use it la...
Yes, we all having the same problem. We are waiting feedback from those users who are no issue on their garmin version.
jackyap84
post Dec 7 2009, 07:33 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(piju @ Dec 7 2009, 12:19 AM)
ok guys,
could you please tell me how do you install your garmin ?
there is no problem for me, yet.
Hi piju, we are really hope that you may share with us how you install ur garmin in step by step and you could also share with us, what file you using.
jackyap84
post Dec 7 2009, 11:47 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(teelim @ Dec 7 2009, 10:11 AM)
there is a firmware update?

what ver. is your firmware? (press *#0000#)

mine is 021.024 (date 17 Oct 2009)
same with mine. but i still facing garmin problem issue.

Added on December 7, 2009, 11:48 am
QUOTE(Tookia @ Dec 7 2009, 09:50 AM)
The Garmin installed in my E72-1 by my retailer works fine so far, even when I updated the firm ware at Nokia centre. My phone works fine now compared to my E71. I feel that Nokia is not having enough QC on the batches of phones they shipped. mad.gif
what garmin version u running now? what map ur garmin running with? is it malfree or malsing?

Added on December 7, 2009, 11:49 am
QUOTE(sky_lor @ Dec 7 2009, 10:35 AM)
same firmware with you (teelim), same problem with the garmin, map navigation hang after 3-5 minutes, then voice command continue but for another 3-5 minutes, software totally hang...
sky_lor, yes, same thing happened for me. Garmin issue.

This post has been edited by jackyap84: Dec 7 2009, 11:49 AM
jackyap84
post Dec 7 2009, 01:37 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Tookia @ Dec 7 2009, 01:31 PM)
Also 021.024 date 17 Oct 2009
Garmin version: 5.00.40s60.9

As I have said it could be that Nokia has poor QC on hardware before shipping them. If you are unlucky to get a faulty one, you will have endless problems. Hardware issues are usually the main culprit.
what garmin version u using? with malsing or malfree map?
jackyap84
post Dec 7 2009, 04:33 PM

334 posts

still waiting those who successfully installed the Garmin to revert back with the exact version (may asking share the exact installation file) and the step by step guide to perform installation.

Added on December 7, 2009, 4:43 pmjust curious those own e72 with garmin working fine, what map are they running? is it malsing or malfree?

This post has been edited by jackyap84: Dec 7 2009, 04:43 PM
jackyap84
post Dec 8 2009, 12:53 AM

334 posts

still no anyone could share how th garmin work in e72? i refer to the solution for us (garmin hang).
jackyap84
post Dec 8 2009, 09:47 AM

334 posts

anyone who successful install garmin in e72 could share with us? most of the e72 users having garmin issue. appreciate it.
jackyap84
post Dec 8 2009, 12:01 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(sky_lor @ Dec 8 2009, 11:09 AM)
last night i re-installed the garmin, but this time to version 5.00.40. haven't have chance to try out yet, but later when going out for meeting, will give it a try in the car. anyway the problem like sometime space bar not working, sometime the opti navi stop working, until restarted the phone is still happen...but not very frequent la...maybe once in a few days.
sky, appreciate u could revert back to us later after u done the testing. the rest of problem dont not come to me. so far i only encounter garmin issue.
jackyap84
post Dec 8 2009, 08:03 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(mkhee @ Dec 8 2009, 05:04 PM)
Mine is installed with version 5.00.50. So far it's working perfectly although i still prefer my Nuvi as the display is bigger  laugh.gif
what a good news we got from u. do u might to guide us step by step how to install it as well as provide us the installation file which u r using now.

really appreciate it.

Added on December 8, 2009, 8:04 pm
QUOTE(sky_lor @ Dec 8 2009, 03:36 PM)
just now try the garmin twice, when i going out for appointment, i start it, manage to get positioning within 10 second, but then when it start to navigate, only on the map, no voice navigation although i already double check the audio setting. after 2-3 minutes, the software hang.
when i coming back to office after the appointment, i try again, same thing no voice navigation, only showing on map, and it hang again after 2-3 minutes, and not able to exit from the software until i manually restart the phone.

hmp...still figuring how the handphone shop guy doing it? i tested 5.00.60 and 5.00.40 now, both will hang after a while...
sky... we r fedup on this matter already. really hope someone can guide us on this to solve this problem.

Added on December 8, 2009, 8:04 pm
QUOTE(mat_tepets @ Dec 8 2009, 04:02 PM)
i allready try all version garmin mobile xt still hang..include v5.06 TW..

some tips here..

http://malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=5738
sory bad english  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
do u have any fren who successfully install garmin and running smoothly?

This post has been edited by jackyap84: Dec 8 2009, 08:04 PM
jackyap84
post Dec 8 2009, 10:16 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(shacxz @ Dec 8 2009, 09:40 PM)
problem solved after hard reset.. but i had to reset 2 times.. biggrin.gif
are u sure working smoothly after u hard reset? what garmin version u running now?

Added on December 8, 2009, 10:31 pmHi guys, i found something interesting. Previously i had installed garmin mobile XT v5.00.50 in nokia e72. as i mentioned, it hang after few minutes.

i had changed the garmin map from 3D-mode to other mode. Seem like working fine now (refer to won't crash or hang when open garmin and play around). Seem like garmin v5.00.50 unable to run 3D-mode in Nokia e72. i'll test it tomorrow by using driving mode (drive car).

you may change the garmin setting to test it out. i shall revert the result tomorrow. Refer below step to change the setting.

Start Garmin->tools->settings->map->orientation->north up.

This post has been edited by jackyap84: Dec 8 2009, 10:31 PM
jackyap84
post Dec 9 2009, 11:28 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(bunma @ Dec 9 2009, 09:51 AM)
hello guy and gurl....for those who have bought the E72. Can you all state where your E72 are made in....China? or others.....  rolleyes.gif
How to check?

Added on December 9, 2009, 11:31 amAs I mentioned, after disable the 3-D mode in the Garmin Map and changed the map details from normal to less, the Garmin able to run in nokia e72 now. But yet still have to monitor the stability. I havent try when driving car. Previously, it hang when i play around with the Garmin application, after the changes i made, it look fine. I will revert back the result with driving mode.

This post has been edited by jackyap84: Dec 9 2009, 11:31 AM
jackyap84
post Dec 9 2009, 02:19 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(mkhee @ Dec 9 2009, 01:40 PM)
Jacky, pls refer to this link which will guide you thru the whole process
http://www.hanep.org/archives/2009/06/how-...s-mobile-phone/
mkhee, for the 1st time when u perform installation, u using activesync or mass storage?
jackyap84
post Dec 9 2009, 09:09 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(sky_lor @ Dec 9 2009, 04:18 PM)
this morning tried 5.00.50 with 3D mode, working fine for about 5 minutes then i arrive at office d. but with the 3D mode, the garmin is somehow responding very slow especially when try to exit.

later will try with the 2D mode and see if better.

lets get garmin work on our E72...rock E72~!
i tried on 2D mode with "north up" and "track up", both mode so far running stable, sometimes will quit the garmin itself for long period (abt 30 minutes). at least now the garmin able to run compare in 3D mode which hang or crash abt 5 minutes.

Added on December 9, 2009, 9:10 pm
QUOTE(nicholas_chan83 @ Dec 9 2009, 03:18 PM)
It's true. Just tested my garmin in 2D mode. Didn't crash at all. Garmin did exit once after a long while but at least it is usable.
nicholas, yes, same with me. but at least the garmin able to work for some time compare with 3D mode which crash or hang oftenly, abt 3-5min it will hang!

Added on December 9, 2009, 9:12 pm
QUOTE(mbek @ Dec 9 2009, 02:36 PM)
sorry late reply...lil bit bz for the past few day...

just tested my E72 with garmin 5.00.60 (TW) for long distance nav this morning.. from shah alam till putrajaya...

before this just try short distance nav... no problem at all.

but for long distance.... the map hang/does not functioning after 5> min... BUT the voice and directional nav still functioning as normal.

i think what jackyap84 said about 3D thing can be true...  i just change to north up orientation... but not tested yet...  will update to u all latter
mbek, tested with "north up" mode and "track up" mode. both running ok, but sometimes the garmin will quite after long period, say abt 30 minutes. at least now better than in 3D mode which hang oftenly. i prefer garmin in "track up" mode coz the "north up" mode keep direct to north.

This post has been edited by jackyap84: Dec 9 2009, 09:12 PM
jackyap84
post Dec 9 2009, 10:04 PM

334 posts

Hopefully garmin will release a dedicated version for e72. we are temporary using 2D mode, better than nothing right?

at the moment, i facing another problem. my e72 cant read and write chinese. i cant type chinese sms, cant read chinese sms, cant surf chinese websites. anyone know how to solve it?
jackyap84
post Dec 10 2009, 09:38 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(sky_lor @ Dec 9 2009, 10:50 PM)
ur E72 is AP or Ori? I think your current firmware is not support chinese language, you need to flash it to the firmware whereby can support chinese.
sky, i read that as well from other forumers. do u have any idea how to do it? i dont think e72 release the latest firmware as this quite new. besides, if flush the firmware, is our keypad able to support chinese? as what i noticed, the bottom right key dont have the CHR key as compare with those come with chinese by default.

Added on December 10, 2009, 9:38 am
QUOTE(User61 @ Dec 10 2009, 01:16 AM)
If you need accuracy get a proper GPS.

Added on December 10, 2009, 1:17 am
As sky_lor said, you need to flash your phone with the appropriate region's firmware.
yes, i am gathering all the info to do research. hopefully those ppl who has exp can share with us.

Added on December 10, 2009, 9:42 amguys, any links can intro for our e72 software download like MSN, gaming, and etc?

This post has been edited by jackyap84: Dec 10 2009, 09:42 AM
jackyap84
post Dec 10 2009, 10:51 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(lhooipg @ Dec 10 2009, 10:01 AM)
is it software or application provided that are free?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0483sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:57 AM