Food Where can have a nice pan mee?, or Bee hoon Kuih

TSoutsider
post Jun 14 2009, 07:15 PM, updated 17y ago

~ get out ~
1,270 posts

anyone can intro me a nice pan mee to eat?

i only know behind Bkt Bintang's Eon Bank got 1

please tell me the address if u all know..thanks notworthy.gif

Makakeke
post Jun 14 2009, 10:12 PM

310 posts

I'm sure there will be ppl recommending Kin Kin, but i think it's over-rated.
gx25
post Jun 14 2009, 10:55 PM

there's one at subang jaya SS19, just next to damacai.. i duno if it's really nice, but it's nice enough for me.. hee..

They always sold off their pan mee by noon and the waiting time is like 1-2 hours during weekends!! but duno how they working now, haven't been there for years.. =P
honkit
post Jun 14 2009, 11:08 PM

Airbus-er.
1,048 posts

QUOTE(gx25 @ Jun 14 2009, 10:55 PM)
there's one at subang jaya SS19, just next to damacai.. i duno if it's really nice, but it's nice enough for me.. hee..

They always sold off their pan mee by noon and the waiting time is like 1-2 hours during weekends!! but duno how they working now, haven't been there for years.. =P
Haha. Not by noon lah. Usually u still can get it at 3pm. Guess what, the longest time i waited is only 20 minutes. Usually i can get it within 15 minutes. But of course u must pick the right timing. 12-1pm anyday needless to say sure pack. Go before 11.15pm , and after 1.30pm, u can get your bowl within 20 minutes.

There is 1 or 2 in Kota Damansara. Not sure which one.
gx25
post Jun 14 2009, 11:10 PM

i think the 1pm sold off only applicable on weekends and public holidays.. lol! last time i used to wait for 1+ hour.. sien, hot and pack.. but worth it after all.. it's my childhood food.. hahax..

deric79k
post Jun 14 2009, 11:20 PM

1,551 posts

klang got one near tmn berkerly ,if wantgo can pm me, old town also have
aspire2oo6
post Jun 14 2009, 11:37 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(gx25 @ Jun 14 2009, 11:10 PM)
i think the 1pm sold off only applicable on weekends and public holidays.. lol! last time i used to wait for 1+ hour.. sien, hot and pack.. but worth it after all.. it's my childhood food.. hahax..
where is it? Do u have the name of the shop or a specify GPS location?
honkit
post Jun 15 2009, 12:05 AM

Airbus-er.
1,048 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Jun 14 2009, 11:20 PM)
Yup. Sin Hooi Hua is the name. Quite nice, but they serve cili padi. Not nice! Should serve the liquid red chilli.
GPS : N03 3.497 E101 27.805

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 14 2009, 11:37 PM)
where is it? Do u have the name of the shop or a specify GPS location?
Lian Heng Pan Mee
N03 3.909 E101 34.758

Should be in POI if you are using MSM.
Hikaru
post Jun 15 2009, 01:16 AM

170 posts

The Golden Egg Pan Mee in the shops opposite IOI Mall in Puchong (I've no idea what that area is called) is pretty good.

I googled and found a blog with the Google Maps of it: http://www.waisikkai.com/index.php?option=...d=463&Itemid=48

I personally tried and like the one in Taman Equine too... The shops opposite Jusco, the last row where if you go all the way down it's the roundabout. It's a shop dedicated to selling Pan Mee only I believe.
steemeex
post Jun 15 2009, 03:19 AM

bao bao pan mee and chilly pan mee both same row in aman suria quite nice.
stimix
post Jun 15 2009, 07:49 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Geezzz..copycat rclxub.gif

Anyway Bao bao also recommended. Can try Puchong perdana Ind park under the tree pan mee stall...very good but quality drop abit (in malsingmaps/malfreemaps search fo "nice pan mee".

Also try the overated dried chilli pan mee at Jln TAR near chow kit..Highly banned by vkeong. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(steemeex @ Jun 15 2009, 03:19 AM)
bao bao pan mee and chilly pan mee both same row in aman suria quite nice.
This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 15 2009, 07:52 AM
SUSahjames
post Jun 15 2009, 08:57 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

that one ambik nombor one when u sit down.

not worth the average 30-45min wait.
viking2009
post Jun 15 2009, 11:09 AM

face to face's.. they serve chili flakes too.

Added on June 15, 2009, 11:11 am
QUOTE(deric79k @ Jun 14 2009, 11:20 PM)
Fei Lou that one? I stay near there.

This post has been edited by viking2009: Jun 15 2009, 11:11 AM
SUSahjames
post Jun 15 2009, 11:32 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

kin kin also nais

rockets
post Jun 15 2009, 11:38 AM

No Recoil
509 posts

the subang pan mee is the best i've eaten. but the wait is too damn long and that is a big turn off.
Hikaru
post Jun 15 2009, 12:52 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 15 2009, 07:49 AM)
Geezzz..copycat  rclxub.gif

Anyway Bao bao also recommended. Can try Puchong perdana Ind park under the tree pan mee stall...very good but quality drop abit (in malsingmaps/malfreemaps search fo "nice pan mee".

Also try the overated dried chilli pan mee at Jln TAR near chow kit..Highly banned by vkeong.  biggrin.gif
The 'overrated' Kin Kin actually has a branch in Pandan Indah which is airconditioned, spacious and the service is much better there too. Their chili pan mee is definitely one of my favourite. I disliked the Jalan TAR one too, too hot and stuffy and slow service, but after my uncle brought me to the branch in Pandan Indah, it's a much better experience there.
adriankhoo153
post Jun 15 2009, 01:15 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Kepong pan mee the best i think. The one serve at house compoun area one. Duno how he get lisence to open stall in his house.
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 15 2009, 03:32 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jun 15 2009, 01:15 PM)
Kepong pan mee the best i think. The one serve at house compoun area one. Duno how he get lisence to open stall in his house.
wikimapia pls !
vreis
post Jun 15 2009, 03:54 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jun 15 2009, 01:15 PM)
tot its sri sinar Pokemon pan mee unsure.gif
oneeleven
post Jun 15 2009, 09:59 PM

1,515 posts

What happened to the famous one used to be in a coffee shop opposite Bukit Bintang Plaza, now a boutique or something? The baan mien had tons of black mushrooms.

VinluV
post Jun 15 2009, 10:03 PM

1,947 posts

where can you go for pan mee?

there 2 shops in kuchai lama park and more in sri kembangan.
Enferno
post Jun 16 2009, 12:36 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Jun 15 2009, 01:16 AM)
The Golden Egg Pan Mee in the shops opposite IOI Mall in Puchong (I've no idea what that area is called) is pretty good.

I googled and found a blog with the Google Maps of it: http://www.waisikkai.com/index.php?option=...d=463&Itemid=48

I personally tried and like the one in Taman Equine too... The shops opposite Jusco, the last row where if you go all the way down it's the roundabout. It's a shop dedicated to selling Pan Mee only I believe.
that place in taman equine is not nice.. shop name is aunty.bla bla.. went there once, the soup is tasteless, tomyam was like maggi curry. and it is darn expensive..

just my 2 cent though.
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 16 2009, 02:49 AM

324 posts

everywhere got pan mee. but i only ate pan mee with herbal soup once. unfortunately the stall already gulung tikar or shifted to god knows where. used to be in mayang mas there.
Hikaru
post Jun 16 2009, 03:04 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(Enferno @ Jun 16 2009, 12:36 AM)
that place in taman equine is not nice.. shop name is aunty.bla bla.. went there once, the soup is tasteless, tomyam was like maggi curry. and it is darn expensive..

just my 2 cent though.
Hmm, weird, because when my aunt tapau for me from there, it was pretty good. The regular soup pan mee though, not tom yam flavour or any special flavour.

And reading about tom yam pan mee reminds me of Loh Pan Mee in Taman Paramount. It's like Pan Mee in Loh Mee sauce. Something different and it taste good too. Kinda hard to find parking though.
joeylny
post Jun 16 2009, 08:25 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Jun 15 2009, 12:52 PM)
The 'overrated' Kin Kin actually has a branch in Pandan Indah which is airconditioned, spacious and the service is much better there too. Their chili pan mee is definitely one of my favourite. I disliked the Jalan TAR one too, too hot and stuffy and slow service, but after my uncle brought me to the branch in Pandan Indah, it's a much better experience there.
KinKin Chili Pan Mee definately the best!
ive never been to the main branch in jln tar but always go to the one in pandan indah..
its very nice! n i always have their kin kin pan mee cravings wif my frens.. we go there often during weekends but not every weekend lar.. even when we go ppl ask us to tapau for them coz they can make it. but of course eating there is much nicer than tapau lar

i brought so many of my relatives n frens there n they revisit it after that ...
this is the first place i ask my frens go eat wif me when i just came back from uk after 2 mths..

definately a must go!!

adriankhoo153
post Jun 16 2009, 10:32 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Jun 15 2009, 03:54 PM)
tot its sri sinar Pokemon pan mee  unsure.gif
wikimapia pls !

I duno the name but it's at Kepong Baru
adam_dkh
post Jun 16 2009, 10:36 AM

152 posts

at damai perdana and cheras maju near to batu 11.
platingirl
post Jun 16 2009, 01:25 PM

209 posts

Taman Sri Sentosa ...

One behind the market - Kung Fu Pan Mee. Very nice, both soup and dry but kinda expensive. Pan Mee very smooth while the soup is tasty. RM5.50 above.

One in the market - Spicy Pan Mee .. delicious with loads of ingredients at reasonable price of RM3.80 only.
Vanity-Girl
post Jun 16 2009, 08:13 PM

Jinjang North Pan mee, 5pm-11.30pm (closed on Sunday) Opposite "CHUI WA LAU" chinese restaurant. Yummy Yummy!@!!
Makakeke
post Jun 16 2009, 10:04 PM

310 posts

No mention of Paramount Garden pan mee at all? The sizzling curry chicken pan mee is dee bomb!
deric79k
post Jun 16 2009, 10:59 PM

1,551 posts

paramount ?which shop?
Hikaru
post Jun 16 2009, 11:22 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jun 16 2009, 10:04 PM)
No mention of Paramount Garden pan mee at all? The sizzling curry chicken pan mee is dee bomb!
I mentioned the Loh Pan Mee in Paramount Garden a few posts above yours. Is there other mouth watering Pan Mee in the area still? Sizzling curry chicken pan mee? Where is it?
Makakeke
post Jun 16 2009, 11:39 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Jun 16 2009, 11:22 PM)
I mentioned the Loh Pan Mee in Paramount Garden a few posts above yours. Is there other mouth watering Pan Mee in the area still? Sizzling curry chicken pan mee? Where is it?
in paramount garden lah.

QUOTE(deric79k @ Jun 16 2009, 10:59 PM)
paramount ?which shop?
erm you know the caltex in paramount/seksyen 14? it's actually in the same road, just at the other end. it's called paramount garden restaurant.
aegis`-
post Jun 16 2009, 11:42 PM

1,480 posts

KL
behind HSBC Bank Sultan Ismail road Genesis tower
turn left after EON bank by finnegan irish pub its a house turn into a pan mee hawker stall shop after Fortuna Hotel
awesome pan mee known for their dry pan mee
theres only 1 hawker there after fortuna u wont miss it during lunch time its pack

This post has been edited by aegis`-: Jun 16 2009, 11:43 PM
deric79k
post Jun 17 2009, 08:22 AM

1,551 posts

thanks , i will go try it out
leanman
post Jun 17 2009, 08:41 AM

Da LYN Man
2,253 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Jun 16 2009, 08:25 AM)
KinKin Chili Pan Mee definately the best!
ive never been to the main branch in jln tar but always go to the one in pandan indah..
its very nice! n i always have their kin kin pan mee cravings wif my frens.. we go there often during weekends but not every weekend lar.. even when we go ppl ask us to tapau for them coz they can make it. but of course eating there is much nicer than tapau lar

i brought so many of my relatives n frens there n they revisit it after that ...
this is the first place i ask my frens go eat wif me when i just came back from uk after 2 mths..

definately a must go!!
Can give the exact location in Pandan Indah?

QUOTE(platingirl @ Jun 16 2009, 01:25 PM)
Taman Sri Sentosa ...

One behind the market - Kung Fu Pan Mee. Very nice, both soup and dry but kinda expensive. Pan Mee very smooth while the soup is tasty. RM5.50 above.

One in the market - Spicy Pan Mee .. delicious with loads of ingredients at reasonable price of RM3.80 only.
Which Tmn Sri Sentosa is this? in Jalan Klang Lama?

Nobody mentioned the fried pan mee in Tmn United, behind Pearl Point, Jln Klang Lama? used to go there often but not for the last 1-2 years.

This post has been edited by leanman: Jun 17 2009, 08:42 AM
Hikaru
post Jun 19 2009, 02:23 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Jun 17 2009, 08:41 AM)
Can give the exact location in Pandan Indah?
Which Tmn Sri Sentosa is this? in Jalan Klang Lama?
Nobody mentioned the fried pan mee in Tmn United, behind Pearl Point, Jln Klang Lama? used to go there often but not for the last 1-2 years.
The branch in Pandan Indah... You know MPAJ building? and Pantai hospital beside it? Beside Pantai hospital you can see some shops. facing it? It's the row of shops behind that row, in the middle row.
If you know where the police station is, opposite the police station there's a row of shops, and the branch is in the row just behind that row of shops.

I totally forgot about the one behind Pearl Point. That one is good too, and their Loh Mee there is great as well.
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 19 2009, 03:42 AM

324 posts

SS2 mamak got pan mee and fried pan mee.
Makakeke
post Jun 19 2009, 12:38 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Jun 19 2009, 03:42 AM)
SS2 mamak got pan mee and fried pan mee.
fried pan mee? where in ss2?
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 19 2009, 01:53 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jun 19 2009, 12:38 PM)
fried pan mee? where in ss2?
u blind ah ? say already ss2 mamak.
rickysay
post Jun 19 2009, 03:02 PM

Arsenal F.C.
1,018 posts

Kin Kin's Chili Pan Mee ftw. the Best i ever have. what vkeong said is untrue. Sure, there attitude kanasai but only towards their own workers but not towards their customers.
ee7han
post Jun 19 2009, 03:25 PM

317 posts

Mega Mendunggggggggg rclxms.gif
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 19 2009, 10:11 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(rickysay @ Jun 19 2009, 03:02 PM)
Kin Kin's Chili Pan Mee ftw. the Best i ever have. what vkeong said is untrue. Sure, there attitude kanasai but only towards their own workers but not towards their customers.
i dine with vkeong many times already and i belip him than u. i know what his tastebuds are like.
Makakeke
post Jun 20 2009, 12:42 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(rickysay @ Jun 19 2009, 03:02 PM)
Kin Kin is over-rated. I've been there once, will not go there again. 5 bucks for nuts.
yewbond
post Jun 20 2009, 05:01 PM

this is the best ..... restaurant 33 at taman bukit angrik, cheras....
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 20 2009, 05:25 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(yewbond @ Jun 20 2009, 05:01 PM)
this is the best ..... restaurant 33 at taman bukit angrik, cheras....
wikimapia pls
evad14
post Oct 13 2009, 01:03 PM

17 posts

u guys should try out Tasty Kitchen (Ru Yi) at bandar puteri (next to Ah Xian dim sum). Very good pan mee there especially the Dragonfruit pan mee.
stimix
post Mar 6 2010, 03:28 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

After been prompted by forumer on the best Puchong pan mee, me rushed there this Afternoon & tried & yeah it's good & better than previous best - Ansin of Puchong Jaya liao..summore wth 5 coloured panmee: Natural, carrot, spinach, dragon fruit & ..forgotten liao. the name of the restaurant Tasty Kitchen just 3 doors away from Axian Dimsum N 03 01.331 E101 36.991

They are famous in Kuantan i.e their HQ & vsisted by HK soap Opera stars- Nancy Sit kah Yin.. thumbup.gif The cousin of Puteri branch also opened another branch in Tg Malai (tmn Loke Yew)

SUSSyedBrix
post Mar 6 2010, 03:35 PM

51 posts

that looks gross
stimix
post Mar 6 2010, 03:37 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Tell that to Nancy Sit

QUOTE(SyedBrix @ Mar 6 2010, 03:35 PM)
that looks gross
SUSSyedBrix
post Mar 6 2010, 04:03 PM

51 posts

ok, which part of puchong does nancy sit stay ? i will go tell her
Putraskyline
post Mar 6 2010, 04:14 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

What is Pan Mee?
SUSSyedBrix
post Mar 6 2010, 04:18 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Mar 6 2010, 04:14 PM)
What is Pan Mee?
in plain simple english...... noodles.
stimix
post Mar 6 2010, 04:18 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Chinese M'sian invented Ramen. instead of pulling (Ramen) they use machine to make it flat..in Southern malaysia it's called Bihun Kueh.. now wth lotsa version..Tom yum dry,, bitter gourd & colourful noodle..

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Mar 6 2010, 04:14 PM)
What is Pan Mee?
Putraskyline
post Mar 6 2010, 07:10 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Owh....Original Pan Mee was clear soup based? Pork?
stimix
post Mar 6 2010, 08:22 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Pork yes, but probably there halal version n Food court mah..I think u can find halal version in some of the hypermart or KL Malls fooud courts...well not sure which one..last time Mid Vally food garden (Now the IT ctr) ada halal version..dunno go where liao after the IT Mall took over..
vey99
post Mar 6 2010, 11:58 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

Tasty kitchen i pass by many time liao but didn't come across as a pan mee place.

The pork free mid valley one is still there in the 2nd floor food court called oasis.
xander
post Mar 7 2010, 12:05 AM

Finally
836 posts

the one in chow kit? the one with bad attitude but still a lot of ppl go
Jenny de Jam
post Mar 8 2010, 11:11 AM

91 posts

not sure any of you guys had been to the one in Belakong.. near the pasar behind the community area!

the best i have eated plus with their 'sui jiao'!

nice...

dont quite like chili pan mee and face 2 face... overrated for a simply normal dish!
SUSSyedBrix
post Mar 8 2010, 02:25 PM

51 posts

super kitchen is not for human eat wan
puchong20
post Mar 8 2010, 08:59 PM

86 posts

always having pan mee at one utama foodcourt...
at old wing one...
love to eat dry pan mee...
then with soup...
nyam2...
only there i know halal pan mee..
hehehe...
missdream
post Mar 8 2010, 09:25 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Jenny de Jam @ Mar 8 2010, 11:11 AM)
not sure any of you guys had been to the one in Belakong.. near the pasar behind the community area!

the best i have eated plus with their 'sui jiao'!

nice...

dont quite like chili pan mee and face 2 face... overrated for a simply normal dish!
yeah..the one in cheras batu 11 right.. i like it too...very special and nice..
and reasonable price.

recommended. thumbup.gif
vey99
post Mar 8 2010, 10:52 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

Please give wikimapia link or gps coord
feralee
post Mar 10 2010, 04:06 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(missdream @ Mar 8 2010, 09:25 PM)
yeah..the one in cheras batu 11 right.. i like it too...very special and nice..
and reasonable price.

recommended.  thumbup.gif
at shop?
open at nite?

kucingfight
post Mar 12 2010, 01:02 AM

5,784 posts

the best so far tat makes my list (or rather the ones i've tried)

- USJ 4, beside persiaran tujuan..damn can't rmbr the kopi shop..
old aunty ...very good taste. mee is firm yet chewy, generous with mushroom n pork mince
HW-Racer
post Mar 12 2010, 07:22 AM

729 posts

got lots of good pan mee in puchong....try Jojo pan mee at bandar puchong jaya.... and another one at Jalan puteri 2/3 at bandar puteri
(next next to Axian dim sum)...forgot the name
stimix
post Mar 12 2010, 07:31 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Tht Puteri wan is the one I mentioned a page b4 this lah - Tasty Kitchen..

But hor u better dun sing too much on Puchong bcos forumers here dun like Puchong wan... biggrin.gif
QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Mar 12 2010, 07:22 AM)
got lots of good pan mee in puchong....try Jojo pan mee at bandar puchong jaya.... and another one at Jalan puteri 2/3 at bandar puteri
(next next to Axian dim sum)...forgot the name
vey99
post Mar 12 2010, 09:48 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Mar 12 2010, 01:02 AM)
the best so far tat makes my list (or rather the ones i've tried)

- USJ 4, beside persiaran tujuan..damn can't rmbr the kopi shop..
old aunty ...very good taste. mee is firm yet chewy, generous with mushroom n pork mince
i think the kopitiam is call Apollo. ya its one of the nicer ones in USJ, but its a popular lunch place also.
i think the beef horfun there also quite popular. at nite its the claypot chiken rice.
jimmyysk
post May 11 2011, 11:20 AM

62 posts

Remember when I was stayed in Kepong Baru during 1980's there is a very famous Min Fen Kuih called Tian Tian Lai. Still miss the taste with the soup full of mushroom smell. Can't find it nowdays. Is not Pan Mee and it is hand made.
WaCKy-Angel
post May 11 2011, 11:21 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

U should try the shop at Sri Sentosa at Old Klang Road. Super nice
SUSstinky
post May 11 2011, 11:24 AM

1,436 posts

BaoBao Pan Mee in aman suria not bad
jimmyysk
post May 11 2011, 11:35 AM

62 posts

BaoBao Pan Mee is not Min Fen Kuih. It is franchise pan mee had eaten many times at Pandan Indah Bao Bao. Will try at Sri Sentosa sound very tasty.
WaCKy-Angel
post May 11 2011, 11:37 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(jimmyysk @ May 11 2011, 11:35 AM)
BaoBao Pan Mee is not Min Fen Kuih. It is  franchise pan mee had eaten many times at Pandan Indah Bao Bao. Will try at Sri Sentosa sound very tasty.
Its at the shop row behind of SPORT TOTO.
stimix
post May 11 2011, 11:57 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Mien fen kao or beehoon kuih is pan mee what? Only Southern M'sian will called pan mein as Beehoon kuih.

Anyway, there is existing thread about pan mein here. Both halal & non-halal..Will be merging this soon unless TS, can confirm mien fen kao is 100% diff from Pan Mien..

BTW, no such name in China, Korea or Japan also..They called it Ramen there ..haha
jimmyysk
post May 11 2011, 12:11 PM

62 posts

pan mee mostly the noodles made from machine like normal noodles. min fen kuih normally homemade by hand. But if you say the same then I got nothing to say even name is different but you still said the same. doh.gif
goliath
post May 11 2011, 12:21 PM

5,532 posts

@jimmyysk : the dough is the same. the only difference is the cutting / tearing method.
stimix
post May 11 2011, 12:46 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha..TS you must be joking...Pan Mien also got Mit or tear version what..If you ask them to Mit i.e pull & tear, they will do it for you also...

It's just the name-lah..In M'cca, Johor & Singapore, they called it Beehoon kuih. In KL, Pan Mein.

Elsewhere..Ramen can dy..
etigge
post May 11 2011, 12:53 PM

295 posts

'Pan Mien' or 'Min Fan Cha Korr' or 'Mee Hun Kerr' or 'Mee Papan', they are the same thing larr. In those days all of them are handmade and they either roll it up and cut or they rolled it and tear with mushroom, anchovies, minced pork, sometimes 'muk yee' and 'shi chai choi'. Those days they use 'kow kei' but it was too expensive and changed to 'shi chai choi' and now also with spinach. The original soup was also boiled with a preserved vege called ' Tai Tow Choi' but alot has since omitted this important ingredient.

The thing they used to roll is an Italian apparatus for spaghetti and not really for 'pan mian'. They just simplify their process. Nowadays to simplify even further noodle manufacturers also start supplying pre cut pan mian, either fine or coarse and even spinach flavoured just like the italians' spaghetti. The readymade process is where the line is blurred in the argument in this tread. They are the same thing. icon_rolleyes.gif

Now there is another new variation called ' Crystal Pan Mian ' in SS2. They have a relative who learned from them and operated a stall in Sg.Long too. I suspect they used dough similar to
the dumpling skin ( kow chee ) so they appear translucent like 'kow chi'. They are rolled into balls first and then pulled into a longish shape like a kind of slug like shape. laugh.gif I seldom take pan mien but there is one very famous one in 11th mile Cheras near Balakong. The shop is on the road opposite Cai Yuan dim sum. Look for Am Bank and drive into the lane. It is on the left side housed in a dilapidated wooden shack. Prepare to wait also as they are busy. Fortunately they didn't omit the 'Tai Tow Choy' in their soup. So, quite authentic! thumbup.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
alicechan883
post May 11 2011, 04:02 PM

please, Ramen is not Pan Mee or what mee hun kuih

it's like saying gao zi is same as raviolli
jimmyysk
post May 11 2011, 04:13 PM

62 posts

roti canai is same as roti boom. doh.gif
stimix
post May 11 2011, 04:27 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes agreed abit xtreme to say that ramen is related to pan mee blush.gif diff style of cooking although the way making the noodle is the almost the same concept..i'e pull & gulung-gulung..But Bee hoon kuih & pan mee in malaysia shared common ingredient-lah as Unker Etigge mentioned earlier. Probably pan mein evolved from Chine la mien but bcos no expertise puling long-long, ended up only tear-tear biggrin.gif ..so do diff ingredient biggrin.gif

Even bee Hoon kuih in the South nowadays also using machine liao....It's just a matter of machined to thick type, fine type, or even tear type. still the same ikan bilis soup & vege..nowadays got fusion liao...dry chilli & even colourful style haha

Just like Pesembur in Penang called Rojak mamaka here, Laksa in Southern M'sia but Penang = Curry mee & etc.

BTW, for those KL & Northern ppl never heard of Mien fen kao or meehoon kuih before..judge for yourselve on whta dfii wth KL Pan Mee -Mit type biggrin.gif

http://www.opensourcefood.com/people/yaoku...up-mien-fen-kao

This post has been edited by stimix: May 11 2011, 04:48 PM
CarmenC
post May 13 2011, 07:59 AM

73 posts

Face2Face
munkeyflo
post May 13 2011, 08:35 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

I love mee hun kui.
Would normally go for Fei Lou Mee Hun Kui at Taman Berkerly in Klang.

Face2Face is overrated IMO.

Best is still homemade mee hun kui. thumbup.gif
stimix
post May 13 2011, 10:42 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The Tmn Berkeley mee hun kui also abit over-rated liao..waiting time so long atleast 30-45min wan
munkeyflo
post May 13 2011, 04:41 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 13 2011, 10:42 AM)
The Tmn Berkeley mee hun kui also abit over-rated liao..waiting time so long atleast 30-45min wan
True. But it's convenient for me and much better than those normal hawker stalls. Try not to go during lunch time. But sometimes around 9pm also a lot of people. doh.gif
Jiamin19
post May 14 2011, 03:36 PM

Validating

Pokemon Restaurant in Sri Sinar that only sells pan mee. smile.gif
jimmyay
post May 16 2011, 10:50 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 13 2011, 10:42 AM)
Waited 1 hour during the labour day holiday. sweat.gif

However, feeling satisfied.
vivienne85
post May 17 2011, 09:55 PM

360 posts

USJ 3 mee hoon kerr is awesome.
jimmyysk
post May 18 2011, 10:43 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(vivienne85 @ May 17 2011, 10:55 PM)
USJ 3 mee hoon kerr is awesome.
can give more details? I got try a famous pan mee at USJ19 near a chinese primary school. thumbup.gif
Food2Buzz
post Jun 13 2011, 11:24 AM

Miss that SS19 Pan Mee and to who interested this is the link:
http://foodtobuzz.blogspot.com/2010/11/hok...ubang-jaya.html

This post has been edited by Food2Buzz: Jun 13 2011, 11:24 AM
mc1224
post Jun 13 2011, 02:55 PM

32 posts

yaya... fatty mee hun kueh in klang berkeley

phythia79
post Jun 13 2011, 03:34 PM

398 posts

I like the lat char pan mee (dirty pan mee) at Lorong TAR (near Plaza GM, chowkit).

I call it dirty coz i remember years ago..that their pot were so black..and even the soup is pretty cloudy and dark.

Now..the pot is shinier and soup is cloudy but not dark..hehehe..not so geli to it. but the name stuck with me and my colleagues.
corniecorn
post Jun 13 2011, 05:19 PM

71 posts

there is a stall selling pan mee in Maluri, Manjalara.

I personally think the pan mee is very delicious, especially with extra minced meat.. thumbup.gif

Have a try if u guys happen to be around that area..
tanch78
post Jun 14 2011, 01:06 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jun 13 2011, 03:34 PM)
I like the lat char pan mee (dirty pan mee) at Lorong TAR (near Plaza GM, chowkit).

I call it dirty coz i remember years ago..that their pot were so black..and even the soup is pretty cloudy and dark.

Now..the pot is shinier and soup is cloudy but not dark..hehehe..not so geli to it.  but the name stuck with me and my colleagues.
Are you refering to Chili pan mee in lorong TAR??? There is two shop selling pan mee which is just opposite each other.

Long time never visit that place. blush.gif
phythia79
post Jun 14 2011, 03:10 PM

398 posts

No..not the kin kin pan mee..

this is the normal pan mee. i think to be exact..it's along lorong haji taib.
lexiqa
post Jun 14 2011, 03:30 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jun 14 2011, 03:10 PM)
No..not the kin kin pan mee..

this is the normal pan mee.  i think to be exact..it's along lorong haji taib.
super kitchen?
kin kin IS at lrg haji taib/chow kit lor.

i like the one at sunway damansara. (HOCHATZ COFFEE SHOP)
almost always there for lunch on weekends. wub.gif

This post has been edited by lexiqa: Jun 14 2011, 03:30 PM
phythia79
post Jun 14 2011, 03:40 PM

398 posts

Kin Kin is at Jalan Dewan Sultan Sulaiman 1,
off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur
..and is slightly further away from chow kit area

Lorong Haji Taib is just behind chow kit. let me go there again this week and get the right name and address.

It's a stall just near Plaza GM

Added on June 14, 2011, 3:45 pmgot the name..Tian Ya Ke Ban Mian...Lorong Haji Taib 4/5

Added on June 14, 2011, 3:48 pmhttp://www.dishwithvivien.com/2008/12/tian-ya-ker-pan-mee-chow-kit-area/

This post has been edited by phythia79: Jun 14 2011, 03:48 PM
lexiqa
post Jun 14 2011, 03:58 PM

525 posts

then i never been to that one. i only go to Kin Kin for panmee ard that area smile.gif
phythia79
post Jun 14 2011, 04:00 PM

398 posts

lexiqa..you should try..it's good.

And Kin Kin..i find it's overated..and very jelak..i eat once..enough..till the cravigns come in a few months down the road.

For this Tian Ya Ker..every day eat also no prob..damn! now i wanna eat it.
lexiqa
post Jun 14 2011, 04:14 PM

525 posts

the last time i went to kin kin few weeks ago, it's not as good ald coz the indo maids were the one making the panmee.

i don't crave for it. it's good but not good enough for me to go all the way to kl to eat it.

i prefer the kungfu panmee at dataran sunway @ Hochatz Cafe. smile.gif
Food2Buzz
post Jun 14 2011, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jun 14 2011, 04:00 PM)
lexiqa..you should try..it's good.

And Kin Kin..i find it's overated..and very jelak..i eat once..enough..till the cravigns come in  a few months down the road. 

For this Tian Ya Ker..every day eat also no prob..damn! now i wanna eat it.
Agree, Kin Kin is overated.. Used to work around there previously but rather take super kitchen spicy pan mee and Kin Kin simply because is not as nice as people rate it and the attitude cum service provide by the owner is rather impolite..

lexiqa
post Jun 14 2011, 04:54 PM

525 posts

most hawkers are like that when they make it big. :/

a lot of hawkers don't even care to work more than few hours bcoz they ald driving a merc. then they think they can be rude to everyone.
tanch78
post Jun 14 2011, 06:31 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jun 14 2011, 03:40 PM)
Kin Kin is at Jalan Dewan Sultan Sulaiman 1,
off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur
..and is slightly further away from chow kit area

Lorong Haji Taib is just behind chow kit.  let me go there again this week and get the right name and address. 

It's a stall just near Plaza GM

Added on June 14, 2011, 3:45 pmgot the name..Tian Ya Ke Ban Mian...Lorong Haji Taib 4/5

Added on June 14, 2011, 3:48 pmhttp://www.dishwithvivien.com/2008/12/tian-ya-ker-pan-mee-chow-kit-area/
Thanks for the direction. I will go to try this Thurday!!!! rclxms.gif

OT, your son is cute man tongue.gif
samlee860407
post Jun 14 2011, 07:57 PM

4,631 posts

Went to super kitchen few days back, it's good but definitely not something that I will miss and think wanted to go again in my future trip to KL

Kin kin is just opposite of super kitchen at jalan Dewan sultan Eula man, I go at around 9.30am, both shop is empty lol
tanch78
post Jun 14 2011, 08:28 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jun 14 2011, 07:57 PM)
Went to super kitchen few days back, it's good but definitely not something that I will miss and think wanted to go again in my future trip to KL

Kin kin is just opposite of super kitchen at jalan Dewan sultan Eula man, I go at around 9.30am, both shop is empty lol
I think my last visit to kin kin was 3/4 years ago. I can only remember the owner was very rude to us!!! mad.gif

This post has been edited by tanch78: Jun 14 2011, 11:58 PM
stimix
post Jun 14 2011, 08:49 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

haha just read this kin-kin by vkeong...Worst attitude ever

http://www.vkeong.com/2009/food-drink/kin-...-attitude-ever/
lexiqa
post Jun 15 2011, 01:47 AM

525 posts

Apparently, Super Kitchen's owner was Kin Kin's apprentice/ex-worker a long long time ago.
Then they had a big fight which resulted in ex-apprentice/worker opening right opposite Kin Kin LOL tongue.gif
phythia79
post Jun 15 2011, 09:37 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ Jun 14 2011, 06:31 PM)
Thanks for the direction. I will go to try this Thurday!!!!  rclxms.gif

OT, your son is cute man  tongue.gif
Let us know what you think about this pan mee..

I usually order big..my colleague would order 2 bowls of small.

Thanks for the compliment smile.gif
Food2Buzz
post Jun 15 2011, 09:50 AM

There dont have much resident around the area so during the morning not that much of people but towards lunch time will be pack..

Among all the Super Kitchen tasted, I still prefer the one opposite Kin Kin because they not just serve normal spicy pan mee but also LOH PAN MEE (Not sure still available now) which is something different...

Sky.Live
post Jun 15 2011, 02:15 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Pan Mee addict reporting in, I like some small shop now only.. specifically 1 near Bukit Angerrik shoplot restaurant call Ngen Ngen..

samlee860407
post Jun 15 2011, 02:20 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 14 2011, 08:49 PM)
haha just read this kin-kin by vkeong...Worst attitude ever

http://www.vkeong.com/2009/food-drink/kin-...-attitude-ever/
yea, upon reading that post, i never thought of going to kin kin and choose super kitchen. hence was quite surprise to see they are actually so near to each other lol

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jun 15 2011, 01:47 AM)
Apparently, Super Kitchen's owner was Kin Kin's apprentice/ex-worker a long long time ago.
Then they had a big fight which resulted in ex-apprentice/worker opening right opposite Kin Kin LOL tongue.gif
i see...haha

QUOTE(Food2Buzz @ Jun 15 2011, 09:50 AM)
There dont have much resident around the area so during the morning not that much of people but towards lunch time will be pack..

Among all the Super Kitchen tasted, I still prefer the one opposite Kin Kin because they not just serve normal spicy pan mee but also LOH PAN MEE (Not sure still available now) which is something different...
haha, yea. I always choose the perfect time to eat, the time where the crowd is at it's least!

then i can slowly enjoice, take picture, and no need to worry about bad attitude, slow service, and parking problem!
lexiqa
post Jun 16 2011, 07:05 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jun 15 2011, 02:15 PM)
Pan Mee addict reporting in, I like some small shop now only.. specifically 1 near Bukit Angerrik shoplot restaurant call Ngen Ngen..
where is this Bukit Anggerrik??? in Selangor or not?

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jun 15 2011, 02:20 PM)
yea, upon reading that post, i never thought of going to kin kin and choose super kitchen. hence was quite surprise to see they are actually so near to each other lol
i see...haha
haha, yea. I always choose the perfect time to eat, the time where the crowd is at it's least!

then i can slowly enjoice, take picture, and no need to worry about bad attitude, slow service, and parking problem!
ya man.. all the time i went to kin kin, i only went during weekends late lunch hours of after 2pm. so never had bad experiences with them before. the old uncle very friendly ley! tongue.gif
kobe8byrant
post Jun 16 2011, 04:00 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Just tried the Pan Mee at Mid Valley....bloody hell damn overrated lor. Some more soup is MSG ridden. I ate the kono pan mee cuz saw three ppl in front me ordered.

Should have eaten my Portuguese Grilled Fish. sad.gif
lexiqa
post Jun 16 2011, 04:57 PM

525 posts

kobe8byrant> MV foodcourt?

nothing much nice there. i alw ended up in kim gary although i don't like it so much in MV. don't know what to eat. too many fast food outlets and the normal food always too full of ppl. :/

this quite new jap restaurant at The Gardens (i think it's called Kita sthg..) is very nice but can be quite expensive.

i also like the purple chinese restaurant there but always forget the name.
bomberkia
post Jun 16 2011, 10:56 PM

There's an old auntie selling Pan Mee at Kampung Bahru Batu 9 Cheras. She sells it in front of her house. Simple, but the best I've ever had! =)
stimix
post Jun 17 2011, 10:51 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The soup so-so but the portion super bug for RM5.90. OK-lah for that portion can feed 1.5 pax..haha. The flour noodle also soft and as soft as the one in SS19 Subang Jaya. Anyway, SS19 Subang Jaya good bcos of the soft flour similar to MV. The souop also so-so nia biggrin.gif
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 16 2011, 04:00 PM)
Just tried the Pan Mee at Mid Valley....bloody hell damn overrated lor. Some more soup is MSG ridden. I ate the kono pan mee cuz saw three ppl in front me ordered.

Should have eaten my Portuguese Grilled Fish. sad.gif
KC Fam
post Jun 20 2011, 01:05 PM

There is one pan mee stall at Jalan Alor. It is located at the start of Jalan Alor near to the KFC restaurant. Located behind a stall selling mixed rice and coconut stall, it has one of the best chili sauce in KL.
I always go there once in a fortnight.
Forgotten06
post Jun 21 2011, 03:19 PM

2,950 posts

Used to try alot of pan mee stalls in Klang Valley and sad to say my mum's mee hoon koey is still the best.... sad.gif

0.7158sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:25 AM