actuarial science in local U?, can art stream enter ac.sc course in U?

TSmb005
post Jun 14 2009, 03:40 AM, updated 17y ago

24 posts

im now studying lower 6,science stream...
but recently,i found out tat i hav totally lost my passion towards physics and chemi...
im now wondering if i should change to art stream...

lets make it clear...
my aim is to study actuarial science in local U...
i found out tat oni Uniten,UM,UKM and Utar offer tis course...
my ideal choice is UKM ofcoz...

does any1 here know whether the ac.sc degree course in UKM requires science stream to enter or not??
most ppl says tat ac.sc in local U needs cgpa of 3.92-4.00 to be qualified to enter...
does tis cgpa from science or art stream?

any1 who can help is greatly appreciated.. notworthy.gif

if they would accept art stream,im definitely going to change stream...

This post has been edited by mb005: Jun 14 2009, 03:41 AM
randoll
post Jun 14 2009, 03:46 AM

506 posts

I assumed you study science stream in form 5, right? If I am you, I would continue to study in science stream.

1) In UM (I don't know UKM), actuarial science is a branch of Math, which is in Science Fac. Therefore you will need to pass your STPM in science stream.

2) Just in case you lose your passion towards actuarial science next time (this happens too often among my friends, say want this want that but in the end took others), you still got a lot of choices.
mrRighthand
post Jun 14 2009, 09:05 AM

437 posts

i dont think anyone here can give you a definite answer.
best to give the university a call. that way you can be sure of the answer.

imo, if you are able to obtain good result in science stream, best to stay with it.
the reason is as stated above, you can still do a science based subject if you decided to change later on.

if you obtained good result, you can also try apply for university in singapore.
tanjinjack
post Jun 14 2009, 11:35 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(mb005 @ Jun 14 2009, 03:40 AM)
im now studying lower 6,science stream...
but recently,i found out tat i hav totally lost my passion towards physics and chemi...
im now wondering if i should change to art stream...

lets make it clear...
my aim is to study actuarial science in local U...
i found out tat oni Uniten,UM,UKM and Utar offer tis course...
my ideal choice is UKM ofcoz...

does any1 here know whether the ac.sc degree course in UKM requires science stream to enter or not??
most ppl says tat ac.sc in local U needs cgpa of 3.92-4.00 to be qualified to enter...
does tis cgpa from science or art stream?

any1 who can help is greatly appreciated.. notworthy.gif

if they would accept art stream,im definitely going to change stream...
Uniten is not a public university nor it provides courses in Actuarial Science.
CGPA is sort of like a standardised benchmark. If an A in Physics yields 4.00, why not an A in History?
(I doubt if you were in Form 6 and have no idea about CGPA.)

Google works for me.
http://pkukmweb.ukm.my/~PSA/BI/Know%20Actu...AT-SYARAT_MASUK

Do the rest on your own.
TSmb005
post Jun 14 2009, 02:51 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jun 14 2009, 11:35 AM)
Uniten is not a public university nor it provides courses in Actuarial Science.
CGPA is sort of like a standardised benchmark. If an A in Physics yields 4.00, why not an A in History?
(I doubt if you were in Form 6 and have no idea about CGPA.)

Google works for me.
http://pkukmweb.ukm.my/~PSA/BI/Know%20Actu...AT-SYARAT_MASUK

Do the rest on your own.
i understand wat is cgpa...
juz dunno if 4.00 in science has a privilege over 4.00 in art stream when cums to actuarial science intake...?
tanjinjack
post Jun 14 2009, 03:26 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(mb005 @ Jun 14 2009, 02:51 PM)
i understand wat is cgpa...
juz dunno if 4.00 in science has a privilege over 4.00 in art stream when cums to actuarial science intake...?
I believe Economics would be more preferred than Chemistry for admission in Actuarial Science.
That's true overseas, not sure about Malaysia though.
OMG!
post Jun 14 2009, 04:10 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

Um only accept science students while UKM prefer art students(those taking acc and econ)..

well, to make things clear, acturial sc is not all about maths, it is more on finance, banking insurance and of course risk management...
macamtakada
post Jun 14 2009, 05:59 PM

1,360 posts

Let's make it clear, Physics and Chemistry generally have no direct connection with Actuarial Science. Economics and Accounting is preferable, as well as strong foundation of maths. However, some IPTA require you to have at least one Science subject in STPM. Don't ask me why. That's the way.

It is advisable for you to go Art Stream(PA, Maths S, Econs, Accounts) as Actuarial Science is about Statistics, Finance and Economics if you are firm with your decision. To play safe, I would advise you to take Physics as your 5th subject. In this case, Physics is preferable than Chemistry. But I'm not sure if STPM Art Streams students is allowed to take Science subjects. Better to confirm with your Form 6 teacher. Alternatively, you can drop either Physics or Chemistry and take Economics & Accounting / Economics & Further Maths T.

I think Science Stream is more preferable to gain admission for IPTA. You can continue in Science stream but than it is better to take Economics or Further Maths T as 5th subject. Further Maths T is highly regarded if you want to stand out of others. Anyway, you are just wasting your time and effort for studying Physics and Chemistry if you really want to be an actuarist.

Despite Arts or Science, RESULTS is the most IMPORTANT factors to gain admission to university.

I hope that you wouldn't end up "I have lost my passion towards Maths" or "I have lost my passion towards Actuarial Science" sad.gif

This post has been edited by macamtakada: Jun 14 2009, 06:04 PM
TSmb005
post Jun 14 2009, 06:38 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(macamtakada @ Jun 14 2009, 05:59 PM)
Let's make it clear, Physics and Chemistry generally have no direct connection with Actuarial Science. Economics and Accounting is preferable, as well as strong foundation of maths. However, some IPTA require you to have at least one Science subject in STPM. Don't ask me why. That's the way.

It is advisable for you to go Art Stream(PA, Maths S, Econs, Accounts) as Actuarial Science is about Statistics, Finance and Economics if you are firm with your decision. To play safe, I would advise you to take Physics as your 5th subject. In this case, Physics is preferable than Chemistry. But I'm not sure if STPM Art Streams students is allowed to take Science subjects. Better to confirm with your Form 6 teacher. Alternatively, you can drop either Physics or Chemistry and take Economics & Accounting / Economics & Further Maths T.

I think Science Stream is more preferable to gain admission for IPTA. You can continue in Science stream but than it is better to take Economics or Further Maths T as 5th subject. Further Maths T is highly regarded if you want to stand out of others. Anyway, you are just wasting your time and effort for studying Physics and Chemistry if you really want to be an actuarist.

Despite Arts or Science, RESULTS is the most IMPORTANT factors to gain admission to university.

I hope that you wouldn't end up "I have lost my passion towards Maths" or "I have lost my passion towards Actuarial Science" sad.gif
ic...thx for ur post yea..
i found out tat UM and another U,forgot the name needs science stream to enroll in
but i juz dunno bout UKM,cant findthe details...
gonna seek sum advice form skul teachers tomolow...

anyway do any1 hav info bout entry requirement for ac.sc in UKM?

i cant be sure bout my passions towards ac.sc in the cumin years...
but im now so sure tat i totally dun like science d...
feel kinda vomitting when facing those science equation and facts...

btw,
if art student A has cgpa 4.00 and science student B has cgpa 3.88,who's more preferrable to enter ac.sc course?

Added on June 14, 2009, 6:40 pm
QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 14 2009, 04:10 PM)
Um only accept science students while UKM prefer art students(those taking acc and econ)..

well, to make things clear, acturial sc is not all about maths, it is more on finance, banking insurance and of course risk management...
thx yea..
u sure tat UKM prefer art students?
tats wat i wanted to find out...
coz i cannot find info bout ac.sc in UKM at all..

This post has been edited by mb005: Jun 14 2009, 06:40 PM
macamtakada
post Jun 14 2009, 09:09 PM

1,360 posts

ACTUARIAL SCIENCE ATĀ  UNIVERSITI KEBANGSAAN MALAYSIA (UKM)

In Malaysia, actuarial science is offered by the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) at the B.Sc or undergraduate level. The University of Mara Institute of TeknologiĀ  (UiTM) is offering this course at the diploma and undergraduate level. In UKM, the Actuarial Science Programme is one of the programs offered by The School of Mathematical Sciences, Faculty of Science and Technology, UKM.

An actuary is a professional career. Thus, there are professional bodies which set and regulate the professional examinations. One has to sit and pass all these examinations before being conferred as a qualified actuary.

Source: http://pkukmweb.ukm.my/~PSA/BI/Know%20Actuary.htm

From the passage above, I deduced that UKM prefer Science Students because it is offered by Faculty of Science and Technology. Anyway, don't limit yourself to Actuarial Science in UKM. You might not get your preferable course and IPTA with STPM. Again, better ask UKM.

This post has been edited by macamtakada: Jun 14 2009, 09:09 PM
tanjinjack
post Jun 14 2009, 09:35 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(macamtakada @ Jun 14 2009, 09:09 PM)
Source: http://pkukmweb.ukm.my/~PSA/BI/Know%20Actuary.htm

From the passage above, I deduced that UKM prefer Science Students because it is offered by Faculty of Science and Technology. Anyway, don't limit yourself to Actuarial Science in UKM. You might not get your preferable course and IPTA with STPM. Again, better ask UKM.
I don't agree that UKM would prefer students due to the fact that it's under the Faculty of Science.
Actuarial Science is the study of risk using knowledge of mathematics, economics, finance etc.
Mathematics is the fundamental knowledge for the course.
Hence, it is very normal that they got classified under the Faculty of Science which usually holds a School/Department of Mathematics as well.

randoll
post Jun 15 2009, 04:35 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jun 14 2009, 09:35 PM)
I don't agree that UKM would prefer students due to the fact that it's under the Faculty of Science.
Actuarial Science is the study of risk using knowledge of mathematics, economics, finance etc.
Mathematics is the fundamental knowledge for the course.
Hence, it is very normal that they got classified under the Faculty of Science which usually holds a School/Department of Mathematics as well.
In UM (again I don't know about other U), to gain entrance to Math department, first you must gain entrance to Faculty of Science. for this to happen, you must be in science stream. after you successfully enter the faculty of science then only you can choose what major you wanna in.
tanjinjack
post Jun 15 2009, 05:05 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(randoll @ Jun 15 2009, 04:35 PM)
In UM (again I don't know about other U), to gain entrance to Math department, first you must gain entrance to Faculty of Science. for this to happen, you must be in science stream. after you successfully enter the faculty of science then only you can choose what major you wanna in.
Wow, seems like Malaysian universities have different way of admitting students.
TSmb005
post Jun 15 2009, 11:17 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jun 15 2009, 05:05 PM)
Wow, seems like Malaysian universities have different way of admitting students.
haiz...headached...

This post has been edited by mb005: Jun 16 2009, 12:19 AM

0.0181sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:39 PM