Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

michael9413
post May 26 2010, 12:06 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

according to your car spec la... mostly +/- around 2 PSI
if not mistaken my Vios should be 32 PSI Front and 31 PSI Rear, that is recommended spec...
michael9413
post May 26 2010, 12:10 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

look for the recommended tire pressure plate/sticker... at the driver's door or B Pillar or even the petrol lid... sure there is somewhere lying around smile.gif
michael9413
post May 26 2010, 02:42 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(inyuret @ May 26 2010, 12:33 PM)
Guys I want to change my Perdana V6 tyres.

All I care about is comfort.

I've been told that either the new Bridgestone GR-90 or Michelin Primacy LC is what I'm looking for.

Any thoughts ?
GR90 try that Primacy LC is quiet and comfort but wet grip is not that good for high speed as per feed back...
but GR90 no ppl feedback yet at the mean time...

QUOTE(@sd @ May 26 2010, 01:11 PM)
Guys, For myvi standard rim. Which better 185/60R14 or 185/65R14 and which brand? TQ
185/60 R14... try Falken 912, Michelin XM1, Yokohama A Drive... no Continental CC1
michael9413
post May 26 2010, 03:03 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

195/55 R15 then i recommend you Hankook V12 better than Falken 912 as it is Performance tire while 912 only comfort... both should be lower than RM200 smile.gif
michael9413
post May 26 2010, 04:07 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yes 912 will be more comfort smile.gif
michael9413
post May 27 2010, 10:00 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(@sd @ May 26 2010, 05:05 PM)
Thanks. Btw the price in Tyre Price List thread is updated?. Need to budget..
well the price list in the 1st page is not updated... refer to latest around pg 60 if not mistaken

QUOTE(yngwie @ May 26 2010, 08:39 PM)
now using ps3 all round. enjoying every moment of it.
haha well what to do, it is good tire for high speed driving... but take note lo next time u change to others performance tire u might rclxub.gif lo, coz wet grip is not as good as PS3 and also the handling & braking...
michael9413
post May 29 2010, 07:52 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

should be ok if you use it on the same axle smile.gif
michael9413
post May 29 2010, 05:22 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

i agree certis is good, but for long lasting then i think GY Durapluss is more but don expect it grip onto the ground like Michelin tires
michael9413
post Jun 1 2010, 09:37 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(boonykun @ May 31 2010, 07:25 PM)
Ok, now my car ... LOL

Iswara with 175/70/R13... Gah!!!! XM1 (19/08) soon botak again.. crap... Too much cornering + sliding + speeding + brakes = poor tyres sad.gif sad.gif

not sure what to get for my tyres now.. feel like getting less painful to the ass brands.. but any recommendations? allocated budget RM500-RM550 range for 4 donuts... or maybe change 2 units (so therefore could afford better ones) first then another 2 later >.<... Really pokai d after so many thing... Grr

no idea for this.. cos R13 should not have too much choice.. i believe >.<

A-drive / XM1 / ?
both is quite ok, my gf family car has both on the car A Drive in front and XM1 at the rear... or u can ask bro CheeAnn whether Certis have this size or not... smile.gif
michael9413
post Jun 1 2010, 10:47 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

bro CheeAnn... really again ar... die lo... cos petrol price increase???
michael9413
post Jun 8 2010, 09:02 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(odacava @ Jun 7 2010, 06:41 PM)
Hi All,
I own a vios and both front tyres are wearing out and am planning to change both. Currently using Bridgestone RE080 (it came with the car) 185/60R15/84. They seem to perform alright and satisfactorily quiet.

I am not too sure if i should stick to the same type of tyres (since the rear tyre are still alright.) or change to PS3 (i heard great reviews abt these tyres.) What say you all??

I was looking around at the tyre price list but it seems that the current tyre im using is not on the list.

And should i be looking at the same specs (185/60R15/84)?
tire spec is 185/60 R15 u can skip that 84 coz that is the weight of each tire can stand... if you plan to get a good and cheap tire then Falken 912 can give you that, then better tires is Hankook V12 (UHP category) and it is cheap also but it tends to roar more than 912...
then tires that above RM200 u can get comfort and quite tires like Michelin Primacy LC, Yokohama ES501; follow by others UHP category tire (Performance) Toyo T1R/DRB, Yokohama S Drive, Michelin PS3, Federal 595 Evo... those tires is recommended, u might be surprise y not Bridgestone, coz it's tires in the mid-range sucks... Continental is not that good either but skip Conti CC-1 by all means, newer CC5 i'm not sure but in my mind planted already with the bad CC1 tire that i am using for my old toy...
you has 2 category to choose only actually, u want better comfort or better handling??? noise for performance tire is a lil louder also so u need to choose a category which u prefer b4 jump into which tire you want to buy smile.gif

*FYI the cabin of the car is not properly insulated, happen on both newer version of Toyota and Honda especially the car price is below RM100k...
michael9413
post Jun 8 2010, 03:25 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

but frankly... all the comfort tire is not as good as performance tire (what i listed) in wet... if you are willing to try out Falken 912 is quite an all-rounder but the threawear is not that impressive as per feedback...
michael9413
post Jun 10 2010, 09:08 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jun 10 2010, 03:43 AM)
Just fitted Michelin PS3, the ride is so soft and silent, but sadly lacking in performance deptarment.  At high speeds the car does not seem as surefoted as it should be and can't really feel the limit on hard conners.  i had Toyo CT01 fitted previoulsy.  Well u can't have it all.
well CT01 is nothing compare to this, CT01 is comfort luxury but PS3 is Max Performance category which is errr 2 step higher that CT01... the limit of this tire is very very high indeed i tried stand on my brakes at 60~80km/h no ABS activated it stick onto the ground like a glue... after 100km then try to do some hard turning, it stick onto the ground easily... as some review even the rear tail rarely give way (slides) when you turn hard into a corners... do not under estimate this tire as it will give you more and more grip after u got 500km, 1000km or even 5000km brows.gif
in wet condition also it gives you more confident than you have with CT01... if you say lacking of performance compare to CT01 then u are totally wrong man sweat.gif ... u better test it properly, try to test some S-turn or the highway butterfly turn, u can accelerate faster when you going out of the corner

I quote some post that i extract from other forum for you wink.gif this user previously using Yokohama AD-07 which is top range of street tires which is very good in dry and ok ok in wet only...

QUOTE(Dickong @ Jun 10 2010, 06:31 AM)
Bro, that 84 is not the for weight, its for speed.
it is for weight... the H or V or W is for speed la... google urself to confirm it wink.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jun 10 2010, 09:26 AM
michael9413
post Jun 10 2010, 09:50 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

912 is ur choice, if not try to look for Hankook V8rs older model of V12... smile.gif
michael9413
post Jun 10 2010, 11:01 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

hard to say also coz it depends a lot on your driving style... but normally good traction tires will not last as long as those long lasting tires...
michael9413
post Jun 10 2010, 02:04 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well i should say V8rs although it is comfort but i don think it will give quiet drive lo as it is directional thread and it is a performance tire...
where as 912 is comfort range but u need to take good care of the tire's pressure coz it will cause premature side thread wear if under-inflated...
michael9413
post Jun 10 2010, 04:27 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

that is a comfort tire as from the name you will know... it cannot keep up with those performance tire la... BTW i skip conti i swear, after my experience on CC-1 :shake: not good at all, the side thread is easily gone maybe i corner a lot kua and although it grip is ok... the bi-lateral offset or the Donut is not round any more in layman terms, is a huge problem on this tire... yea they say they fixed it...

lastly skip it if you want to drive safely at 80km/h most of the time (dry/wet) as it is a comfort tire not meant to perform on par with better grade of tires...
michael9413
post Jun 10 2010, 04:33 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(platingirl @ Jun 10 2010, 03:26 PM)
Hi there everyone. Need some advice on tyres ..

driving a Perodua Viva. I think my tyres are 155/65 R13.

Mind recommending me a comfortable, safe long lasting tires wink.gif

Not too expensive la .. cannot afford. I read that someone recommend Michelin tyres ?
i do not think Michelin has ur size leh... sorry no much to search about from ur size but u can try to ask around. as for that size also not much good performance tire...
michael9413
post Jun 10 2010, 04:53 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

what is ur size??? performance tire is mostly from 55 series and below, 60 series and above is comfort

wow CC-1 on 130 on wet... hehe try to go thru a few puddles of water after ur tire about 50% thread only u will fly... and it has bulging problem big time problem even the tire is in the market long already they also did not improve it sweat.gif still sell to ppl as German Technology tire...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jun 10 2010, 04:55 PM
michael9413
post Jun 11 2010, 09:42 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Rascal Stitch @ Jun 11 2010, 08:51 AM)
there is 165/65-13 michelin xm1 for it~
if u can get it below rm400 pls do tell me cuz for tis size 205/45-16 my cost already at rm423 per piece~
so pls let me know where can get it below my cost n i'll go n get those tires cuz i'm out of stock~
well bro i know but there is some ppl say Klang around RM400 only... not below Rm400 la... smile.gif

26 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0595sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:50 PM