THE BROADBAND RANT SINK V3, Rant about anything and everything here!

calvin_yit
post Aug 29 2011, 01:47 PM

36 posts

This morning, i heard the dumbest excuse for a slow connection ever. I am trying not to be too cynical here. My adsl light went blink-blink on saturday midnite and i made the call the TM CS. Thankfully, they sent a technician over this morning. After confirming that it is their port problem and after having switched the port he came over to my house to test out the stablility and speed with his little yellow machine. Everything checks out and he asked me to test my speed with speedometer with my modem. When the speed is lower than those achievable as shown with his yellow machine, he said that maybe its because i had a lot of software n program in my pc which slows down the speed.

I am using a desktop pc btw. i admit my desktop screen is very messy with lots of apps n files littered throughout the screen. However, i tested the speed after just booting up my pc without opening any application. How that will slow down the speed defies logic. He proceeded to ask me test again with my bro's laptop which is conveniently placed beside my pc. The result is the same. As a last gasp measure, he pulled out his laptop supplied by tm for work use to test again. The speed is even worse. doh.gif doh.gif

I had to keep myself from smirking n laughing out loud so hard. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by calvin_yit: Aug 29 2011, 01:48 PM
calvin_yit
post Aug 31 2011, 03:43 AM

36 posts

He proceeded to blame my modem as the problem and went outside to his motorbike to take the TM "streamyx in a box" modem and did the aforementioned steps again. Still same result. He gave up and made up some excuse say he will go change the port and will come later to my house to try again. Has been 24hrs now. Still haven't heard from him. Will give the CS a call tomolo.
calvin_yit
post Jan 8 2012, 04:10 AM

36 posts

no quota for now. TM reserved the rights to implement one in the future. Rumour is, if when the quota is rolled out for the unifi, the screamyx users oso will get something similar.

This post has been edited by calvin_yit: Jan 8 2012, 04:10 AM

0.0177sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:19 PM