TAMIYA MINI4WD V5, TAMIYA MINI4WD CHAMPIONSHIP 09

iDIOT
post Aug 5 2009, 04:11 PM

Hi guys, I'm a noobie too, 3 weeks into this. See faces at TU but dunno who is who hehe...
iDIOT
post Aug 5 2009, 04:25 PM

<<<------- Nah, this one is me smile.gif

j/k

I've been going to TU quite often lately. See any new faces? Was there on Sunday after Lenka show.
iDIOT
post Aug 5 2009, 05:01 PM

What class? Maybe I attend for you, for a price ^^
iDIOT
post Aug 6 2009, 09:46 AM

Morning, need sleep... last night... tweaking car until late... motor cover broke T____T
iDIOT
post Aug 6 2009, 10:09 AM

Open/Close too much using brute force. The front plastic part that snaps into the main body both broken. After that my fren show me how to buka the thing properly only i learn.

This one not so big a problem. Can still hold it down with car cover + battery cover once it close. The other day worse, car flew out of TU towards parking machine. You all know what happen to my bumper la :/

Added on August 6, 2009, 10:14 amThinking of either buying new body + bumper OR reinforced gear cover (the screw-on one) OR buying new car to scrap for parts. What do you guys think?

This post has been edited by iDIOT: Aug 6 2009, 10:14 AM
iDIOT
post Aug 6 2009, 10:33 AM

MS-L don't come with bumper though... That's what's keeping me from buying it. Bumper sudah crack, front roller misaligned by 1mm mebbe. I can still do the straights and corners though.

Budget la budget. I think buying a new car makes more sense financially. Also, my current car the front gear is making a lot of noise. I suspect something to do with the chassis because when i swap both front gears with the back gears the noise still coming from the front. So thinking of buying new chassis oso lor.
iDIOT
post Aug 6 2009, 11:29 AM

Zomg... my fren just sent me a msg, saying hyper dash pro kenot use for race? Izzat true?
iDIOT
post Aug 6 2009, 01:22 PM

rclxms.gif

Wow nice... will probably go for 2 tone spray myself once I am done with the car...

But wait... nobody is ever done with their car right? tongue.gif

QUOTE(ShuangShengEr @ Aug 6 2009, 01:03 PM)
simple and nice...
iDIOT
post Aug 6 2009, 03:21 PM

Thanks for your reply sonic_cd. I will try and check again when I get home. The other day I put it in and it fits very well. Also tried to turn it slowly, seems it is harder to turn when it reach a certain part of the gear. I suspect it's the chassis but I cannot prove it until I get another chassis to test. Hopefully the new car won't have the same problem.

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Aug 6 2009, 02:59 PM)
i think you mean the gear teeth .
iDIOT
post Aug 6 2009, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(ShuangShengEr @ Aug 6 2009, 03:23 PM)
i thought he meant the gear shaft. haha.

Added on August 6, 2009, 3:26 pm
if it is harder to turn when it reaches some parts of the gear, then it might be the gear problem, in this case look carefully whether all the gear teeth are in good shape.
Thanks. I have swapped the gear to the back before and the noise isn't there. I will check the gears for alignment and deformity later.

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Aug 6 2009, 03:30 PM)
one method (temporary ) would be to jam some paper down the wheel , and put the shaft in .though , it will still fall off .
Haha reminds me of my schooldays when I put cellophane tape over the shaft then jammed the wheel in biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by iDIOT: Aug 6 2009, 03:39 PM
iDIOT
post Aug 6 2009, 04:32 PM

QUOTE(R3Ju7Ce @ Aug 6 2009, 04:10 PM)
two things ...

tranmission gear (green or blue gear) or pinion gear (purple or white gear on the motor) hmm.gif
either is damage or got sand inside of it ..
Then perhaps a wash and re-lube is in order biggrin.gif
iDIOT
post Aug 6 2009, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(gabz.85 @ Aug 6 2009, 04:41 PM)
hey idiot ( lol , that is so rude) , listen.. erm.. you can buy the 72mm shaft which T.U is selling...drill holes in the rim, when you put shaft into rim, excess shaft will come out from the other side and that can hold the rims firmly.. im already using that.
Errrr.... Actually do you mean the shaft for the wheels? I think this should go to polkiuj?
iDIOT
post Aug 6 2009, 05:36 PM

What's the 75mm shafts? Can't find it on TU webby.
iDIOT
post Aug 7 2009, 01:09 PM

QUOTE(gabz.85 @ Aug 6 2009, 11:27 PM)
dude, what's is ur real name? sorry, not 75 , 72mm shaft..it's not on site... site hasnt been updated since 07.. T.U is selling at shop
Hi there, name's Victor, what's yours? Went to TU last night, they no stock for the shafts smile.gif

Added on August 7, 2009, 1:14 pmWah... so many going tonight... I busy cannot go tonight sad.gif

Oh and thanks again to Apai for your advice, now thinking of how to DIY brakepad smile.gif

This post has been edited by iDIOT: Aug 7 2009, 01:14 PM
iDIOT
post Aug 7 2009, 02:18 PM

QUOTE(gabz.85 @ Aug 7 2009, 01:29 PM)
im gabriel..ppl call me gabz. i tot i saw it on wednesday
I saw got 60mm la, 75 dun have.

On the other hand, is having screw head underside of car but not the lowest point legal? Do I need to put the plastic ball cap thing?
iDIOT
post Aug 7 2009, 04:00 PM

Wah... 800 bucks for a motor...
iDIOT
post Aug 7 2009, 05:03 PM

What's the point of a car that doesn't run? smile.gif
iDIOT
post Aug 7 2009, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(ShuangShengEr @ Aug 7 2009, 05:12 PM)
it's for display... haha.

Added on August 7, 2009, 5:13 pm
he sold you the thundershot pink? i want one too... haha.
Like the one in your avatar? Must have space to display mah... and also people who can appreciate it hehe ^^
iDIOT
post Aug 10 2009, 11:09 AM

Hi guys, need some advice with this.

My motor's purple 8T pinion gear has been shifting inwards after heavy jumps/landings. It makes a grinding sound probably due to partial contact with the gear next in line. What I've done is fill up the space between the pinion and the motor with a plastic bearing and washer. See pic:

[attachmentid=1128432]

Is this good or bad? Will there be any problems with this later? Gear grinding/breaking etc. Thanks in advance.
iDIOT
post Aug 10 2009, 11:28 AM

It IS new smile.gif

0.0446sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:40 AM