TAMIYA MINI4WD V5, TAMIYA MINI4WD CHAMPIONSHIP 09

iDIOT
post Aug 11 2009, 02:57 PM

Hey guys, how do I sign up for this weekend's race? Go there only sign up is it?
iDIOT
post Aug 11 2009, 03:38 PM

Ok, thanks.

If I have an exposed FRP bumper facing the front but it has sponge at the bottom is it illegal? Because I suspect the front part is hitting the ramp before the bottom sponge hits it.
iDIOT
post Aug 11 2009, 04:35 PM

Don't have my car with me (@ work). here's a quick paintbrush job of the FRP bumper I using (sorry for the shoddy job) sweat.gif

[attachmentid=1130856]

The blue paint is where my sponge is. Red square is the part hitting the track. Comments?
iDIOT
post Aug 23 2009, 12:55 AM

Kantoi... this track... summore just bought a new hyper >< should have invested in a light instead :/
iDIOT
post Aug 23 2009, 11:11 PM

Brakes! Where to get more brakes? This track is fun but need to get me some brakes. Anyone selling?
iDIOT
post Aug 25 2009, 01:06 PM

Hi guys. Testing a bit only the other night, kinda difficult for me since I have crap brakes and very few dampers to play with. Must get more from David XD then see how to do setting. Btw how much weight are you guys playing with? 2 heavy and 2 light mass damper enuff?
iDIOT
post Aug 25 2009, 01:12 PM

Eh eh that night I saw your car got more ^^
iDIOT
post Aug 25 2009, 06:19 PM

Actually at first I thinking of doing it without damper, then crashing repeatedly taught me otherwise smile.gif
iDIOT
post Aug 31 2009, 04:47 PM

happy Merdeka to all!
iDIOT
post Sep 1 2009, 09:02 PM

So anyone else doing car without mass damper? With hyper inside? So far I tak jadi...

This post has been edited by iDIOT: Sep 1 2009, 09:02 PM
iDIOT
post Sep 2 2009, 04:06 PM

3.5 Big Ones... Hehe I also have a half dead hyper dash. Should I call it hyper-light?

Will keep trying with a lighter setup (no money to buy more mass damper). But of course the top speed is very limited. On the other hand, do you think a heavier car brakes better due to more normal force applied on the brakes?

QUOTE(szngszng @ Sep 1 2009, 10:02 PM)
a real hyperdash need 2 big mass damper and 3 small mass damper total 5 ... if that hyperdash perform well.... like my half die hyperdash no need mass damper ~~ hahahaha

Added on September 1, 2009, 10:10 pmas what i see a fast and stable car does...hoho... so many mass damper
iDIOT
post Sep 2 2009, 04:33 PM

Thanks for the reply. I understand the concept of inertia. However, I am postulating that the weight of the car, specifically the rear, should add to its braking capabilities. As always, there is a trade off, and in this case its the momentum of the car. The question here is, which one will override the other? Is there any extra braking at all?

QUOTE(junichi_nonis @ Sep 2 2009, 04:23 PM)
>idiot,

defintely yes if ur car is slow.. but if fast, i wont brake as good as light.. INERTIA.. Pinciple of Physics under Chapter 2: Force
@ Apai
Hehe how much ^^
iDIOT
post Sep 2 2009, 05:30 PM

I will smile.gif Just need to do more test. But my car coming apart, need to buy more bumper etc.

QUOTE(junichi_nonis @ Sep 2 2009, 04:54 PM)
>idiot,

as for which factor overide de other, u wud nd to carry out an experiment lor.. suggestion: go test out in de track..
iDIOT
post Sep 3 2009, 01:31 PM

I'm at work sad.gif
Going TU later smile.gif

Tried a variety of setups last night, all light cars with minimal damper. Can handle big humps so so... but the 4-in-a-row small hump, all kantoi, except when battery weak lar tongue.gif

Today try new car (thanks Apai for parts), hopefully can do a bit better biggrin.gif

QUOTE(h1dz1r @ Sep 3 2009, 10:37 AM)
guys,

am heading to TU now.......today kind of free a bit.

hope to meet some of the regulars there.

cheers.
iDIOT
post Sep 5 2009, 01:49 AM

Wah... hope it doesn't cost RM6x when it arrives here...

Wonder if it will be heavy...
iDIOT
post Sep 9 2009, 12:39 PM

Hi there smile.gif

If we're selling ready to run cars, we could probably set up a separate track for them to race in. If not, David will go gila having to face so many kids smile.gif

However, even if we attract plenty of kids, not all of them can be competitive, or have the budget to spend on competition. Maybe we end up running different class events by then?

Sometimes during competition we can draw a small crowd, we hear their reaction when looking at the cars. Imagine if during grand finals we do it upstairs we can see a lot more people. But at this scale we are doing it is O.K. for a start IMO. If we have more people join, more crowd, then is harder to control the crowd, harder to control the race itself also. Maybe we need some more volunteers eh? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Sep 9 2009, 12:28 PM)
1: Tamiya open more shops in Malaysia such as in Penang and maybe Johor ?
2: When do race or event, Tamiya should sell those READY TO RUN car nearer to the track so that small kids can buy it and play.
3: Tamiya should do bigger event ( like not just mini4wd event, combine RC , rc drift, so its much cheaper but bigger event)
4: Ask local newspaper to write story about us.
5: Do event not just in One Utama, maybe in Sunway or other shopping mall that can attract people.
iDIOT
post Sep 9 2009, 03:09 PM

Since every race we have 20+ people the entry fee shall be 1k+ per entry rclxms.gif

QUOTE(david tamiya @ Sep 9 2009, 01:32 PM)
hhmm upstairs rental will be around 20+ thousand for minimum 5 days
how much entry fee will i charge just to make back half of the rental

tamiya japan has nothing to do with our promotion or events
iDIOT
post Sep 9 2009, 03:31 PM

I think no need for official race every fortnight. Perhaps just shifting the track there every weekend is enuff for publicity. But to do that is a lot of work smile.gif

edit-fortnight into weekend

This post has been edited by iDIOT: Sep 9 2009, 03:33 PM
iDIOT
post Sep 9 2009, 04:10 PM

It's for publicity lar... notice more people stop to watch when we put it out there. They oso dun know it's a competition we're having what. We have no signage, no trophy on display oso.

If by showing that we are drawing a crowd every weekend then we are proving that it is progressing well... More competitions don't necessarily show that. In fact, having too many competitions or too often might be counterproductive?

QUOTE(junichi_nonis @ Sep 9 2009, 03:37 PM)
if no race, wat's de purpose of shifting the track ther? buat penat je..  might s wel juz leave it in the shop..

de purpose of having race is to show ppl tat this game is not outdated n progressing well.. some ppl are afraid to spend money then later, the game stop.. like those days..
iDIOT
post Sep 9 2009, 05:18 PM

Sorry if you guys have misunderstood me... I'm not asking for trophy and such. My point was that most people don't know if there is a competition or not because those things are missing. Hence competitions affect us who are already
playing mini 4wd, and not necessarily entice more people to participate.

Besides, don't we all race for fun? smile.gif

QUOTE(Matt4wd @ Sep 9 2009, 05:12 PM)
Haha... wrongly type... is twice a month....
We race not bcos of trophy..... this is hobby..... i race of fun...
I enjoy race and matching colour like this...
[attachmentid=1187231]
Rechargable not so fair la.... and i don own an rechargable batt..... sad... (takada wang)
How about re-use the used energizer if due to budget issue...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1131sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:16 AM