Vintage Camera tongue.gif

tanjq87
post Jun 5 2009, 01:36 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jun 5 2009, 01:34 AM)
Classic man!!!!
haha actually should pp to make it have more old feel..but dunno how to use photoshop haha
tanjq87
post Jun 5 2009, 01:41 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 5 2009, 01:38 AM)
tanjq87, the Brownie was probably using 127 film (very similiar in form to 120 film). However 127 film doesn't exist anymore as Kodak was the only one who made it in that size. They liked making proprietary film formats.
lol, albert, you're walking camera encyclopedia man....haha I wasn't even sure if it's a medium format, you pulak point out it uses 127 film =.=
salute notworthy.gif
tanjq87
post Jun 5 2009, 02:27 AM

483 posts

If I don't use flash, what white balance setting should I use if I have to go back and fourth from tungsten lit area to fluorescent lit area?
Sometimes I find the colour under tungsten lit area is too saturated eventhough the saturation level is 0, is it because of the white balance issue?

This post has been edited by tanjq87: Jun 5 2009, 02:28 AM
tanjq87
post Jun 5 2009, 02:45 AM

483 posts

everytime also have to change? as in in tungsten lit room use 1 setting, fluorescent lit room use another setting?
tanjq87
post Jun 5 2009, 09:57 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Jun 5 2009, 03:27 AM)
awb didn't work ma?
it works, but i just find the colour saturation not very consistent..
tanjq87
post Jun 5 2009, 10:29 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 5 2009, 09:59 AM)
alright, that means also have to pp..thanks =)
tanjq87
post Jun 6 2009, 01:35 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 5 2009, 10:47 AM)
tanjq87, the quick and lazy (but time-consuming) way is to shoot RAW and fix WB later.

The more tedious way is to make use of the Auto mode, which resets everything each time you use it.

Flourescent light flickers and so it's better you use a fast shutter speed and rely on the flash to light indoors. If not you get a greenish cast which is not consistent unless the shutter speed is slow enough.

Try 18mm F3.5 ISO3200 with drive mode set to burst mode. Fire away in a flourescent-lit room. See what happens?

Anyway, you can then set your camera to M mode with flash, with the WB set for tungsten light (anywhere between 2500-3200K). Now, turn to Auto. Notice how it changes to AWB? Now, turn to M. Notice how it remembers the WB setting earlier!

So that's one quick way to switch between two "profiles".

Alternatively, you could use a tungsten gel, and shoot in flourescent light at tungsten WB (but at a fast shutter speed and dark aperture to kill the flouro flicker) while using tungsten WB for tungsten light also. This doesn't require any switching modes.
thanks for your reply, looks like if i dun use flash, the best way is still AWB..
so sometimes if the colours were too saturated, is it because of wrong white balance?
tanjq87
post Jun 6 2009, 02:00 AM

483 posts

actually, i just found out that the oversaturated colour is always red, anyone got this prob?
tanjq87
post Jun 6 2009, 07:59 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 6 2009, 04:20 AM)
tanjq87: Yes, oversaturation or 'flat colors' are due to wrong white balance. Don't use AWB on tungsten, it's baaad. I'd still suggest Auto with AWB for flourescent and quickly switch to P/A with tungsten WB for tungsten.

Banzai_san: The A300 originally sold for RM2499 retail with single kit lens if I remember correctly.
oh ya doh.gif stupid me, didn't think of this method..can switch mode quickly!
thanks again..
tanjq87
post Jun 19 2009, 05:29 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Jun 19 2009, 05:08 PM)
where's the list for tele zoom? rolleyes.gif

Added on June 19, 2009, 5:11 pmand where's 1635Z and 2470Z?? vmad.gif
here tongue.gif

tanjq87
post Jun 21 2009, 11:30 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 21 2009, 02:25 AM)

jimlim007: tanjq87 won another F42 from the competition on Alphanatics. So that's why he's selling his.

ya, still saving money to get a700 or the replacement, so no jump ship!
friends around me all using nikon and canon but i don't seem to be poisoned by them, but if go to sony tt shakehead.gif must charge poison shield first
anyway, they don't have things like workshop, a dedicated official forum like 'alphanatics' and no monthly competition!
so there is no reason i should jump =)
alpha ftw!
like.no.others. tongue.gif
tanjq87
post Jun 21 2009, 11:38 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jun 21 2009, 11:32 AM)

wahh... how many flashes have you sold actually bro? pls remember when you're selling another one. I wan to reserve wink.gif
only 2 f42 cos i won one from the competition and i had one, so i sold both to fund for f58 and 50mm 1.4. of cos with top up..
tanjq87
post Jun 22 2009, 05:20 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jun 22 2009, 04:47 PM)
its albnok!!! haha..

using my dad's digital film slr... C&C...
looks like albnok's avatar haha biggrin.gif
tanjq87
post Jun 23 2009, 03:45 PM

483 posts

First try on macro!
C&C pls...

tanjq87
post Jun 23 2009, 04:10 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Jun 23 2009, 04:06 PM)
focus on his eyes or head bro.......

lol, i dare not go so close..bug phobia..haha maybe should try on other stuffs
tanjq87
post Jun 23 2009, 04:20 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Jun 23 2009, 04:17 PM)
lol... bug phobia... then go for flowers la...

or the most favourite macro subject on TT.....

haha sure, will try it out more when I am free.
tanjq87
post Jun 24 2009, 03:26 PM

483 posts

For today's

0.0184sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:13 AM