Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V27!, The Orange Legion

V12Kompressor
post Jun 8 2009, 10:21 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Sorry for the sucky pic quality. I'm using only my phone's camera.
V12Kompressor
post Jun 8 2009, 10:40 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jun 8 2009, 10:31 PM)
u bought it? nice...how is it compare to the old 1?
I didn't bought it. lol
I didn't even know how much it was retailing at. sleep.gif
But I do have the chance to play with it everyday. tongue.gif

So far, compared to the a300, I like this one better. This one has a better grip and IMO, it's smaller and probably lighter than the a300. The menu can choose colour also now. Default menu color is pink. sleep.gif Of coz you can change it to brown, orange and another one I've forgotten edi.

There are less buttons now since the burst shot button is integrated with the timer button. Those who changed to this from a300/350 will accidentally turn the machine off since the previous place which holds the place to adjust the ISO is now an ON/OFF switch. The ISO is positioned lower, as seen in this pic.

Oh, and this supports remote function. smile.gif

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 8 2009, 10:33 PM)
V12Kompressor: Finally, somebody has seen it! Gonna check it out tomorrow at Sony Style.
More for you. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Jun 8 2009, 10:41 PM
V12Kompressor
post Jun 8 2009, 10:49 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jun 8 2009, 10:45 PM)
how is the SAM motor? looks like the lens has better build now..lol.

supports SD now..good..
I only got the chance to test it with the 1855 lens. And not that PRO in detecting the smoothness of the SAM motor yet. tongue.gif

and yes, it supports either SD or Memory Stick Duo now. Can't use both as storage media. There's a switch to choose either SD or M2 as the preferred storage media. And there's HDMI out too.
V12Kompressor
post Jun 8 2009, 10:54 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

What compartment? blush.gif

noob here. blush.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jun 8 2009, 11:05 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jun 8 2009, 10:56 PM)
Oh yea..you are working at Sony Centre? nice..i always wanted to work there. haha.. laugh.gif but i still doubt the grip will be nicer than the a300. The grip is like missing the top part.. hmm..better go try it out myself when i have the chance haha~

Not Sony Center.
Dealers havent get it yet.

Added on June 8, 2009, 10:56 pm
oh i was replying Lehtung..hehe.. rolleyes.gif
oh.. blush.gif

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 8 2009, 10:57 PM)
V12Kompressor: Ah cool. Though not sure what you mean by the ISO thing and the burst/timer thing has always been in the same Drive button I think. The front dial looks a lot more substantial!
OOps... sorry. I mean integrated into the large round main switch users use to navigate through the menu.

This is actually a good move since a lot of buttons will only drive beginners rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Jun 8 2009, 11:15 PM
V12Kompressor
post Jun 9 2009, 08:06 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 8 2009, 11:54 PM)
What: TT session with ryzan76
When: 8pm, 9th June 2009
Where: Starbucks on first floor of Berjaya Times Square (below Sony Style) and also, Sony Style!

One of the objectives is to go to Sony Style to check out the new Sony Alpha 330. It should've arrived Times Square today already so we should be able to see it tomorrow!

Who:

1. ryzan76
2. albnok
3. millenia3000
It HAS arrived SS Times Square. biggrin.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jun 9 2009, 10:20 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(finalfantasty @ Jun 9 2009, 08:27 AM)
Alpha330 is light weight but not too small in size. But it's still smaller than Alpha200,300,350,700,900 if i'm not mistaken. I also quite interested to see how is Alpha330 look like. Maybe I going to SS time square to check it out at Thursday biggrin.gif
Yes, it is smaller than the a300 (the model it replaces)
V12Kompressor
post Jun 10 2009, 08:57 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Thanks to you guys, I earned another RM15. tongue.gif

Nice meeting you guys and thanks for all your views and feedbacks.
V12Kompressor
post Jun 10 2009, 03:57 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Jun 10 2009, 08:58 AM)
hey bro ur the sony style guy kan!
Yala. lol
No me no a330. tongue.gif

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Jun 10 2009, 09:04 AM)
V12Kompressor - errrr....??? why i didnt earn any last nite??  cry.gif  cry.gif
coz indirectly I am working while showing you all ythe camera. So I OT 2 hrs from there. XD
You guys has poisoned me man. I'm snapping pics with various lenses today with the new "baby" camera. Will post pics later when I get back home. So hard to make a shot with blurry surrounding (or izzit called depth of field? laugh.gif)

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Jun 10 2009, 03:59 PM
V12Kompressor
post Jun 10 2009, 06:48 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jun 10 2009, 04:05 PM)
since u r working in sony..u shd have more chance to try out all the lenses/cameras than any of us right??

Kenotlah. I doesn't sell only Alphas, but there are still more things to sell and I usually doesn't focus on alphas since it only contributes less than 5% of the total store sales.

anyway...the quality/area of blurring is called bokeh(jap word)..DoF is the one determines how big/large the area u going to focus..so shallow DoF = huge area of bokeh...and vice versa...
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 10 2009, 04:17 PM)
V12Kompressor, look for the Sony 50mm F1.4 (or 50mm F1.8 DT SAM when it comes) and put it on... you should get the shallow depth of field easily. Refer to the icon on the screen to figure out which aperture to use. biggrin.gif
actually f1.4, fx.x all these refers to what? rclxub.gif
I oni know lenses by 1855 / 25500 etc oni. tongue.gif
Only today have the chance to try out telescopic and macro lenses and know the difference and the appropriate condition to use them (and also the weight... -.-)

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Jun 10 2009, 06:49 PM
V12Kompressor
post Jun 10 2009, 07:02 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

muka macam kenal sajer... tongue.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jun 10 2009, 09:20 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(v1rtual @ Jun 10 2009, 07:13 PM)
just came back from sony style at times square
a bit disappointing that the new cam is put behind the glass
no chance to touch and play with it
like the carbon material a lot
Why so shy dint ask for assistance? laugh.gif

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jun 10 2009, 07:35 PM)
alooo guys..wanna ask.. now new a700 what price ar? and is it body only or got kit?
Got body only and also got kit too.
SRP is RM 3899 for the body only and Rm 5499 for the kit (Body + SAL18250)

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Jun 10 2009, 07:35 PM)
he is the inventor of milleNOX!~~
yesterday he join the molesting a330 session la bro tongue.gif

I knoe. tongue.gif
Sajer tanya.
The a330 sudah tak virgin.

telescopic lens?? WOAAHHH.. got pics??
Sorry, not telescopic lens. It's a zoom lens. SAL18250.
No pics for that. But got pics for the other lens.

This lens so heavy. sleep.gif
and so hard to "master" it.
Will post the result tomorrow since I left my pendrive in the office. My photography so noob sia. cry.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jun 10 2009, 10:20 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 10 2009, 10:06 PM)
V12Kompressor:

1) Put the A330 dial to P mode
2) Put the Sony 50mm F1.8 lens on
3) Take a picture of a person
4) Put the Sony 18-55mm lens on
5) Turn the lens to 55mm
6) Take a picture of a person

The difference between a F1.8 lens, and the 18-55mm, will become very very obvious. smile.gif

P.S. The Carl Zeiss 135mm F1.8 is one of the lenses I brought the other day. biggrin.gif

Oh and I've tried the Sony 50mm F1.8 DT SAM already! Report coming up later.
Oh, ok.
I'll try tomorrow.

QUOTE(Zicron @ Jun 10 2009, 10:10 PM)
50mm, very tempting. Do you know the price of it?
RM599.
V12Kompressor
post Jun 10 2009, 10:27 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

RM 200-500.

Bring it to the service center to get a precise quotation.
V12Kompressor
post Jun 10 2009, 10:45 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

someone posted here that dealers is offering PWP now.

Buy a330 with the kitlens and get the 50 F1.8 at 500 only.
V12Kompressor
post Jun 10 2009, 11:21 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

That one havent.

Some dealers got it first before Sony Style. lol

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Jun 10 2009, 11:22 PM
V12Kompressor
post Jun 11 2009, 08:18 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

This thing seriously has a very short lifespan.
1 block (Fully charged got 3 blocks) lasts only about 15-20 minutes on continuous operation. That day during the TT we at least on it then off it for a while then turn it on back and it could last for 2 hours.

However, there's another battery for this which is the FH-50AM. Maybe this has a bigger capacity. Will check it out later hmm.gif

V12Kompressor
post Jun 11 2009, 07:02 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Jun 11 2009, 06:05 PM)
how long will it take if send for cleaning ... ? Can get back in 1 day ?
Eventhough cleaning, it takes at least around 3-5 working days also.

0.0421sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:38 PM