increase strength for breakdance.

TSzheyuen
post Jun 3 2009, 11:27 AM, updated 17y ago

206 posts

i dno if this is the right place anot (its been a long time since i visited another part of lowyat other than kopitiam.) but how do i train appropriate strength for breakdance?

i dun wanna be supa strong with big muscles or so, just want some strength. and im only a 16 year old student. plz help out.
JonYeap
post Jun 3 2009, 12:35 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

u need lots of strength in ur core and also ur arms and shoulder.
basically, upper part of ur body.
gym is the best solution.
go for squats, deadlift, bench press, and also other exercises.
u need to train ur core as well.
this is the right place.
as u get stronger, u r able to support ur bodyweight.
therefore enable u to breakdance better.
-Dan
post Jun 3 2009, 01:08 PM

4,382 posts

Like Jon said, you need a very strong core and upper body.

And, hello shaun. =x
darklight79
post Jun 3 2009, 01:11 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

You should train like a mountain climber. They need to be light yet strong. Weighted bodyweight movements. Weighted dips, weighted pullups, etc. Leg presses. And you need to control your caloric intake to just maintenance level because you don't want to get too heavy.
-Dan
post Jun 3 2009, 01:20 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 3 2009, 01:11 PM)
You should train like a mountain climber. They need to be light yet strong. Weighted bodyweight movements. Weighted dips, weighted pullups, etc. Leg presses. And you need to control your caloric intake to just maintenance level because you don't want to get too heavy.
If I might add, a gymnast's training regime would be good too. They've got to be light yet strong, 'cause a heavy gymnast is being at a huge disadvantage. Also, there's minimal, or no need to buy equipment as most exercises use bodyweight.

This post has been edited by -Dan: Jun 3 2009, 01:44 PM
iamyuanwu
post Jun 3 2009, 02:37 PM

2,425 posts

For starters, I suggest this:
http://simplefit.org
It's sort of a strength and conditioning 2-in-1 programme. And add the planche and lots of plank/prone bridge into your training.

Woooh, gymnastic training!
Let me go find the link in my blog on how to do the planche (a gymnastic movement), something similar to break dancing. Ah, found:
http://www.dragondoor.com/articler/mode3/229/
(BTW, there's actually quite a lot of equipments needed for gymnastic trainings too. Just that those equipments are not iron and bars. =)

Don't have to worry too much about caloric intake. Break dancing (actually, any type of dance) will burn a lot of energy. I've yet to see any overweight/fat dancers.
But darklight's suggestions of exercises are good.

-Dan
post Jun 3 2009, 03:32 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 3 2009, 02:37 PM)
For starters, I suggest this:
http://simplefit.org
It's sort of a strength and conditioning 2-in-1 programme. And add the planche and lots of plank/prone bridge into your training.

Woooh, gymnastic training!
Let me go find the link in my blog on how to do the planche (a gymnastic movement), something similar to break dancing. Ah, found:
http://www.dragondoor.com/articler/mode3/229/
(BTW, there's actually quite a lot of equipments needed for gymnastic trainings too. Just that those equipments are not iron and bars. =)

Don't have to worry too much about caloric intake. Break dancing (actually, any type of dance) will burn a lot of energy. I've yet to see any overweight/fat dancers.
But darklight's suggestions of exercises are good.
What I meant was the strength and conditioning training part of gymnastics. Of course if you wanted to learn and perform actual gymnastic skills, the correct equipment is a must. Planches are FAR from easy to do. There is a lot of core and upper body strength required to perform them.

The reason I said there's not much of a need to purchase equipment for yourself, is that you can commonly find very very similar alternatives in parks of playgrounds. The two pieces of equipment which contributed the most to strength and conditioning training when I used to do gymnastics were the high-bar and rings. Most playgrounds will at least have some sort of a bar which you can hang from, thus allowing you the options of loads of different exercises. Some parks have designated areas with quite a bit of fitness equipment like bars, metal rings and parallel bars, or at least the ones I've been to. brows.gif

This post has been edited by -Dan: Jun 3 2009, 04:15 PM
iamyuanwu
post Jun 3 2009, 08:24 PM

2,425 posts

I wonder how long would it take me to get from my cacated state now into doing a full planche or cross. X^D

Well, I assumed the planche is a darn good exercises. And the link showed how to progress a step at a time. It's both fun and frustrating to even do a frog planche. I tried and gave up. =P
TSzheyuen
post Jun 3 2009, 08:40 PM

206 posts

is all the exercises that u guys suggest need gym and equipments?

any non-gym and equipments stuff for me to start out with.

and hi dan.

edit: i dun really noe wad is wad in body training...deadlift bench press..semua tak paham...lol.

can shed some light?

Added on June 3, 2009, 8:47 pmhttp://www.simplefit.org/bodyweight-exercises.html

i followed the link from iamyuanwu and this is what i found.

is this the one i shld be reading? but i dun really understand what it means.

This post has been edited by zheyuen: Jun 3 2009, 08:47 PM
JonYeap
post Jun 3 2009, 08:54 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

if u dont want to go gym then, do some plank, push up and pull ups.
the rest, i not too sure
iamyuanwu
post Jun 3 2009, 10:05 PM

2,425 posts

Apalah you. Youtube has got a lot of videos on how to do it.

Yes, that is the simplefit programme I suggested.
If you don't understand it, read the "detailed explanation" in the website. Please read the explanation. Link: http://www.simplefit.org/details.html
What lah, kasi explore the website a little lah.

Push ups is pumping that the pengakap/scouts/kadet remaja do all the time as punishment.

Pull up is to grab a bar, and pull yourself up.

Squat is squats lah. Google 'air squat' and watch the video. It should be by Crossfit.

Plank (also called prone bridge) is damn easy. Link:
http://exercise.about.com/od/abs/ss/abexercises_10.htm
Just hold that position for 1-2 minutes, rest then repeat for 3 times.

All no need equipment. Except the pull up... you can go find something to hang yourself. (not the hukuman mati. It's hanging like a monkey.)
JonYeap
post Jun 3 2009, 10:52 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

can pull up using monkey bar at any playground
dattebayo
post Jun 4 2009, 01:27 AM

5,366 posts

subscribe to this http://www.youtube.com/user/expertvillage

tonnes of video on various workouts, just put in the keywords

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jun 4 2009, 01:27 AM
pizzaboy
post Jun 4 2009, 10:26 AM

9,495 posts

Are you guys sure it's a good idea to prescribe squats and deadlifts? He wants to do breakdancing which I think is closer to gymnastic based movements. I'd think it's a better idea that he heads over to bwculture.com for an idea of how to train. Or Americangymnast.com or such sites.
-Dan
post Jun 4 2009, 11:54 AM

4,382 posts

Start with basic bodyweight exercises and exercises for developing explosive power, ie regular push ups, clapping push ups, etc etc. That's what's needed for gymnastics and breakdancing. Planks and if possible 'L-sit holds' for training your core. Regular squats and jumping squats for a bit of leg power. And now you've got a few simple yet effective exercises which you can do right at home.
iamyuanwu
post Jun 4 2009, 02:11 PM

2,425 posts

Dan,
No wonder you had such a good body and strength to kick start your body-building.

I'm trying to pick up a few simple gymnastic movements. Maybe I should start with the frog, aye?
BTW, do you know if the Bandar Tun Razak gymnastic centre still alive? I used to train for a very-very short time there as a kid, but missed out the selection because my legs were too scrawny. It was a damn fun place to play around.
-Dan
post Jun 4 2009, 02:26 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 4 2009, 02:11 PM)
Dan,
No wonder you had such a good body and strength to kick start your body-building.

I'm trying to pick up a few simple gymnastic movements. Maybe I should start with the frog, aye?
BTW, do you know if the Bandar Tun Razak gymnastic centre still alive? I used to train for a very-very short time there as a kid, but missed out the selection because my legs were too scrawny. It was a damn fun place to play around.
If you're trying to work yourself up to a full planche, maybe you could take a look at this for reference, along with the static holds in the link you posted.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvbLSgWMJec

You mean the one in the Maktab Perguruan place? I'm not too sure. Lots and lots of space in there. Used to train there too, till my coach opened his own small gym. thumbup.gif
aamry
post Jun 26 2009, 12:21 PM

Senior
541 posts

just try go learn gymnastic class like pizzaboy said
all in package, train strength, train muscle and at the same time u also become more easy to do breakdance moves
i think that one is the best idea
UnknownH
post Jul 1 2009, 11:54 PM

1,437 posts

kinda interested to watch ur breakdance..
babysiiaozz
post Jul 9 2009, 08:49 PM

342 posts

zheyuen, my bboy friends goes to gym every week ^^
some of them just keep on practicing their dance moves, didn't
do much of other training.

0.0198sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:28 AM