Left 4 Dead 2, Whole bunch of dedicated servers up

H@H@
post Jun 2 2009, 08:59 AM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

This news disappoints me tremendously...

Valve has always touted themselves as the leaders of PC gaming and one of that includes constant free updates for its games, which ensures that the playerbase doesn't move on and it keeps growing as time goes by (As evidenced by the huge runway success of TF2)

This goes against that idea COMPLETELY.

This reeks of consolitis (As much as I hate using derogative fanboy-esque terms, this one seems apt). A sequel for a multiplayer game a year after release? Only one free update so far? With practically only one new map?

Compared to TF2, its first major update brought in a totally new gametype and unlockable system. To add insult to injury, TF2 wasn't even a full priced game compared to L4D.

One of the best things about TF2 was its free weekends with each update. It always ended up bringing in newer players afterwards which resulted in the playerbase always remaining balanced between the regular and hardcore players. Plus, ppl felt confident that their purchases would be worth it despite coming in late.

Why Valve? Why?

Even if owners of L4D can get it at a discount, technically, this is akin to paid DLC for L4D... Which is NOT what Valve stands for (The most annoying thing about paid DLC in a multiplayer game is that it fragments the playerbase)

A part of me just died today...
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 08:45 AM

6,727 posts

God, are you ppl STILL raging over this? I'm as angry as the next guy (As evidenced by my post yesterday), but c'mon...

After my initial outburst and rage, I took the time to ponder and put it all into perspective. This isn't that big of a deal.

To those of you that are raging, "It should be DLC!!!" Why? Its got way more content than ALL the TF2 updates COMBINED. I'm not going to be so arrogant as to assume that all of this could be just appended to the current game engine (The new Director sounds spiffy)

To those of you raging, "I thought it would be like TF2!", Ok fair enough... Valve has spoiled us with the TF2 updates, but c'mon... its the exception rather than the rule. Its not like they DIDN'T provide any updates (However meager you believe the Survival pack is, its still a free update).

To those of you raging, "They're charging for a mod!" Why would you think this is a mod? Because it uses the same engine? Because it has only slight gameplay tweaks? Gears of Wars 2 says "Hello!". Yes, it does appear that Valve are being all money minded, but its not like they're the ONLY ones doing so.

To those of you raging, "But Valve lied to me!". Its not the first time... Remember Half-Life 2...

To those of you raging, "Meh, but L4D wasn't that fun". Way to justify your dismay by ragging on their game. Real classy there. If it really wasn't that fun, this frankly shouldn't be an issue at to you.

Ppl seemed to have suddenly forgotten that Valve make great games (Those of you that say L4D sucks, please go away, because you're obviously not the target audience) but often take forever to release them. At first, I was also all like "OMGWTFBBQ iz dis SHIT?!?!?!?!", but then I realized that "Hey, L4D was FUN and this new content sounds like FUN as well... and I won't have to wait another umpteen years for it"

I know I sound like a complete Valve apologist here, but now that I've thought about it, if priced right or offered properly, I probably will get this as L4D was buckets of fun and I look forward to this.

I've gotten over my entitlement complex, I hope you guys can do the same.

This post has been edited by H@H@: Jun 3 2009, 08:46 AM
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 09:01 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 3 2009, 08:59 AM)
Whatever Valve is doing with L4D2,it's all against their own philosophy,quality,support and promise.TF2 took 6-7 years to make so that we get that fun game we have today.HL2 EP3 still have little or no sign of it,as Valve wants to have a good ending to HL2.Same for Portal 2.Even CS 1.4 still getting support now.

If they are so money minded and not concern at all on quality,they would have HL3,TF3,Portal 2,CS:S 2 etc all out by now.

Why cant L4D2 be like those games?

Im not surprised at all if the players are pissed with it
So, since they have all this content ready, they should sit on it for a few years just so that they can maintain their record of "valvetime"? What kind of silly logic is that?
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 09:13 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 3 2009, 09:08 AM)
I dont see why those content couldnt be a DLC that will be released in a or 2 year's time? L4D1 have so little content and it's a standalone game.People payed a full priced game for it.Unlike TF2 where it comes with Orange Box that offer a solid single player experience.
Again, they have all this content READY... they don't really have an obligation to stagger its release (Though it would be nice if they did).

The new Director ALONE tells me this couldn't possibly be DLC (It actually alters the map and weather... That's a pretty big jump over the current one). Please find me another example of DLC that has altered the original that much.

Also, to those of you saying "OMG, its daytime, t3h lame!", remember this is Valve we're talking about. They're probably not going to do a simple "Let's just turn the lights on" but will probably think it through (Like how they did with nightfall in the original).
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 09:58 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 3 2009, 09:41 AM)
Burnout Paradise didnt have any weather effects when it first release to the consoles.Full day and night cycle,plus,weather effects were added in a DLC after a few months.Bikes were also added to the game in another free DLC.
Yes, Burnout Paradise is one of the shining examples of DLC done right, but c'mon... Its not much different. The weather and day/night cycles are pretty shallow changes (Rain doesn't actually affect your handling or visibility THAT much) and the bikes are very tacked on (Just solo races and nothing more).

The Director does seem to have heaps of new feature,but releasing a sequel now is not a good idea at all.Considering it's a multiplayer game,as  the new sequel will have a big impact on the community and fracture the current community.Besides,the sequel contradicts with Valve's promise to support the game for long term.Where are the L4D1 DLC? There are only 1.
Valve breaks promise... Sorry to disappoint you dude, but that's happened before, so no need to act all outraged anymore. At the end of the day they're a business and they need to make money. If you don't approve of this sequel, don't buy it. Trying to make a corporation feel guilty is like trying to make a bear feel guilty for mauling you.

As for DLC, its actually in line with the DLC release schedule for TF2 when it came out.

It could be a worthy sequel if they actually put more time in it by delaying it for another 1-2 years,as more features are added as time goes by to the sequel and more time to polish it.There is nothing to do with the Valvetime or Blizzard's "When It's Done" ™.It's just that,from past experience,if a devs rush out a sequel too fast,the sequel is gonna be shit.Whether it's full of bugs,or not enough new features.Games are getting more and more complicated these days,while the expectations from gamers are getting higher,i really dont see why L4D2 shouldnt be delayed as time is needed to make a worthy sequel.I rather see the new Director and heaps of new features in L4D2 than what is in the current one.The current L4d2 sound like a half assed sequel to me.
So you're assuming that since its this soon, it MUST be buggy and unfinished.

This is no different than CoD is releasing every year.Thank gawd,Infinity Ward renamed the sequel of CoD4.
Yes, because renaming it makes it all better... So if this was called "Right 2 Live: Not L4D 2", you'd be first in line to get it?

If they keep the community busy with a few DLC,while develop L4D2 for a longer period.It would be a win win situation for the community and Valve.
How is this a win-win situation actually? That just means the COMMUNITY wins.

Their reasoning behind TF2's free updates is that the free weekends often result in a sales surge and the continued life of the community promotes sales over a long period of time. This does NOT mean the same will apply for other games. Who's to say L4D managed to do the same with the Survival pack patch? Maybe it was so lackluster and Valve are forced to do this? Nobody knows really. It is incredibly daft to assume that since TF2 did it and succeeded, therefore EVERYTHING else should succeed as well.
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 10:02 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jun 3 2009, 09:59 AM)
i dont think L4D sux. but it feels a bit less in a sense. It is hard to describe. the game gets really boring after a while. champagne, versus, survival...they're all the same. So I thought ok, nevermind, it is valve, they could release a new update or two to spice up the game. then pooof...L4D 2 we have to pay. I don't see any company that do this so fast within a year.
Even the money minded EA with their battlefield series took some more time.
the cake is a lie.
Call of Duty, Guitar Hero, and ALL the sports franchises say hello!

H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 10:35 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jun 3 2009, 10:19 AM)
i dont know sport games have that much online MP players as compared to FPSs or RTS or MMORPG. (xfire stats for example).
call of duty, first itself it is a complete game with complete single player experience with full story.
I paid a full game price for a full game. so it is a fair trade.
and I never played the treyach version so CoD for me is always 2 years. which is good. The online experience is top notch and I don't feel it needs anymore DLC to spice the experience (exclude patch fix), other than a new release after things began to cool down. The timing is perfect.
Choosing to ignore a yearly sequel, doesn't make it any less of a yearly sequel. The company is still doing it.

L4D is a unique one. A full price for 4 online maps, limited gameplay and no proper SP mode. Unless people call that playing the game offline with bots = SP mode. It is the same shit with the online counterpart. If it was by other company, I won't buy it. But Because I thought/assume valve would continue updating the game to provide richer experience, I was wrong.
That's just semantics.
4 maps (Campaigns != maps)
Limited gameplay (Yes, because everything else is UNLIMITED)
No proper SP mode (Arguably, this is on the same level as SP games that integrate coop, because that's what its supposed to be)

I'm not trying to say you're wrong or anything, just saying its moot since what you want and what everyone else wants are different.
Demigod came with even less content than L4D and nobody's making a fuss about it. The original Battlefield games are also on the same level.

so yeah, my respect for the company has dropped. when they could do it once, who knows they wont do it the second time? since the reviewers, presses, gamers are lapping all over and shaking their tails. yeah, more money to come.
Gamers shouldn't treat Valve any different than other business entities. It would be foolish to do so. Yes, they are more often than not generous. But at the end of the day, they're still a business out to make money.
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 11:57 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Abyssio @ Jun 3 2009, 11:47 AM)
the problem is valve lied to his customers. Valve lied to all of us that he will keep the game updated like TF2. Valve always use the "free content updates" slogan to promote l4d, and which is this promise that drive ppl to believe that l4d will get free update instead of paid ones. This "change of plan" thing basically violate the trust of his customers hence the RAAAGE right now. Valve are still a business, and they do business by lying to their customers.

I have no problem with new releases, but valve shouldnt flat out lied to l4d fans. The timing is really off for l4d2 as fans are still waiting for free dlc.
QUOTE(Edison83 @ Jun 3 2009, 11:54 AM)
are we assuming that L4D will be updated like TF2 or did they mention about it?
Technically, they haven't renege on that promise as L4D has gotten a free updates (Albeit its only one major one at the moment)

Just because a company says it'll provide free updates, doesn't mean they'll provide it FOREVER (Which is what everyone is assuming)

And Valve HAVE lied to us before. They promised Half-Life 2 a full year earlier than when it was released.
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 01:52 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(radkliler @ Jun 3 2009, 12:14 PM)
That was because the source code leaked out and Valve had to redo the source code....causing a one year delay
Rubbish. Think about what you just said. The source code (For a non-multiplayer game I might add) was leaked and required the game to be delayed for a YEAR, not months.... a year. If it were any other developer, their publisher's would probably yell "GTFO" at them for it.

The game was far from complete when they showed it at E3 2006. Hell, even the stuff they promised in that E3 never actually made it into the game (I still remember this humourous video showing how you can't block a soldier from opening a door).

Valve aren't the gods of gaming. They're not perfect. There's no point in taking everything they said as gospel.
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 02:53 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Jun 3 2009, 02:46 PM)
And I will never forgive them for what they done to Vampire The Masquerade : Bloodline, even though the game came out buggy anyway.
Erm, as Deimos has said, this wasn't made by Valve... They merely outsourced the engine. So, yes misdirected hatred much here.
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 05:53 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Jun 3 2009, 05:51 PM)
Sex sells
Remember that
I think you mean racism in this context.
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 05:59 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Jun 3 2009, 05:55 PM)
Nope im just pointing x-blades
Yes, I know... I meant that in this case, SyncV9 was complaining that the chick is now black instead of white and hence making the game not worth caring for, followed by tehWateva's retort, which lead to.................

Ah screw it... BOOBIES!
H@H@
post Jun 3 2009, 07:16 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(strife_personified @ Jun 3 2009, 07:13 PM)
THIS!.

10kthxbai tongue.gif

honestly though, zoey's not THAT hot, especially when factoring her acne issues in. i mean, JUST because there's a zombapocalypse going on doesnt mean you should stop taking care of your face. tongue.gif
I think they're freckles.

Women aside, I'm curious as to whether the different characters will have varying gameplay mechanics, considering the massive differences in physique for all of them compared to the first game.
H@H@
post Jun 4 2009, 10:25 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(VonDrake @ Jun 4 2009, 10:17 AM)
Since this game got melee. is it gonna be more KF style? erhm u cant hit with right click anymore, and to hit u gotta press melee button to switch to melee weapon?
QUOTE(secondrate @ Jun 4 2009, 10:18 AM)
tongue.gif.

I wonder if the L4D community will be split in two. That can't be good right?

Ardi I think the melee weapon is counted as your primary weapon. So you have melee weapon, pistol, explosive, medkit and pills? Not sure yet though.
Yes, that's the biggest concern (And in my opinion the only one worth listening to) with the release of L4D2.

Also, I'm guessing they'll replace the pistols with the melee weapon. You'll still have the shove of course, but no unlimited ammo backup weapon.
H@H@
post Jun 4 2009, 10:35 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(radkliler @ Jun 4 2009, 10:34 AM)
Nope....u're swaping ur main weapons for the melee weapons
Wow, that's even better actually. Cue the whiners!
H@H@
post Jun 4 2009, 10:41 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 4 2009, 10:37 AM)
That doesnt seem like a good idea.
Well if they make the melee weapons as deadly as they are in Dead Rising (Sans the decay) it'll be a pretty good tradeoff actually.
H@H@
post Jun 4 2009, 10:45 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Jun 4 2009, 10:43 AM)
its good actually, if the melee punch still available after using a melee weapon. punch ~ chop
I'm hoping they make it have an alternate attack or something. For instance if using the chainsaw, "shoving" would cause you to spin 360 for moar damage.

Also, I'm hoping the new melee weapons have FF on for good measure laugh.gif
H@H@
post Jun 4 2009, 01:50 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jun 4 2009, 01:47 PM)
Chainsaw, etc... have lower chances lol.
Raeson is Killing Floor have those. That's why u see no such chainsaw nor flamethrower available YET.

Who noes, Valve are everything they are. doh.gif
I'm not really sure what the hell you just typed, but are you insinuating that Valve is ripping of Killing Floor?
H@H@
post Jun 4 2009, 02:42 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 4 2009, 02:26 PM)
eh.

how come chain saw is infinite ammo?

it powered by a nuclear fuel cell is it?

need gasoline to power the chain saw kan?
Well there are electric chainsaws now apparently. Also, the game takes place in the space of an hour... Most chainsaws can last a little longer than that.
H@H@
post Jun 4 2009, 04:23 PM

6,727 posts

Trust us a little bit

Hmmm, I'm extremely curious as to how they're going to "keep the community" together. That's my only concern really.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0223sec    1.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:22 PM