amd phenom 9850be + arctic cooling freezer extreme, prob...pls help

TSwarrenlee713
post May 30 2009, 11:53 PM, updated 17y ago

33 posts

Hi guys, just got an arctic cooling freezer xtreme for my phenom 9850, the temperature seems to be 60 degrees at idle, anybody facing this prob? can help me or not???
wch5274
post May 31 2009, 01:16 AM

Validating
532 posts

What the temperature when using stock cooler???...
Check back ur HSF installation.. cool2.gif
hiroki04030
post Jun 2 2009, 02:49 PM

Retired Member
995 posts

do u apply thermal paste correctly? or install the hsf incorrectly?
TSwarrenlee713
post Jun 2 2009, 05:18 PM

33 posts

yes...i used tuniq tx-2 ady...seemed like better...52 degree idle if at air cond room..din oc..casing open...but shud have better performance rite??
ah_khoo
post Jun 2 2009, 05:42 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

most important thing is.... did u try touchin d cooler usin ya hands? was it hot to touch or just warm? blink.gif
TSwarrenlee713
post Jun 2 2009, 06:15 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 2 2009, 05:42 PM)
most important thing is.... did u try touchin d cooler usin ya hands? was it hot to touch or just warm?  blink.gif
the cooler seemed warm....just that i dunno whether is the right temperature or not...anybody using this cooler??
hiroki04030
post Jun 2 2009, 06:45 PM

Retired Member
995 posts

is the fan spinnning
TSwarrenlee713
post Jun 2 2009, 11:22 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(hiroki04030 @ Jun 2 2009, 06:45 PM)
is the fan spinnning
lol..of cos spinning lor...or else my cpu sure burn liao...
wch5274
post Jun 3 2009, 09:24 PM

Validating
532 posts

QUOTE(warrenlee713 @ Jun 2 2009, 05:18 PM)
yes...i used tuniq tx-2 ady...seemed like better...52 degree idle if at air cond room..din oc..casing open...but shud have better performance rite??
yup
should be better.... <45C
what software u use to detect temp????
try check at bios ur cpu temp... i feel ur software read wrongly as u feel ur cooler only warm..
TSwarrenlee713
post Jun 4 2009, 06:40 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(wch5274 @ Jun 3 2009, 09:24 PM)
yup
should be better.... <45C
what software u use to detect temp????
try check at bios ur cpu temp... i feel ur software read wrongly as u feel ur cooler only warm..
juz checked...a bit hot...but won't sting ur hand lar...abt 60 degrees now..cos room oso quite hot...but does thermal paste matter or not?? i applied tuniq-tx2...dunno whether ok or not..
wch5274
post Jun 4 2009, 09:31 PM

Validating
532 posts

QUOTE(warrenlee713 @ Jun 4 2009, 06:40 PM)
juz checked...a bit hot...but won't sting ur hand lar...abt 60 degrees now..cos room oso quite hot...but does thermal paste matter or not?? i applied tuniq-tx2...dunno whether ok or not..
thermal paste does matter.. just a thin layer of it already enough
it increase a chance for heat transfer from ur IHS to HSF by creating more surface contact...
even the thermal paste ingredient also make a different...
of course metal one better (like tuniq and AC) due can transfer heat faster than normal paste just
need to be careful don't use too much as this thermal paste also can act as electrical conductor...
so excessive thermal paste can make short circuit on ur mother board if drop.. sweat.gif

currently im using AMD 7750 BE (3.1GHz) with CCF...
if my PC just started, the idle temp ~ 38C (core ~ 31C)
and if idle around 30min.. idle temp ~ 40C (core ~ 33C).. rclxms.gif
im using CM HTK002 thermal paste.. not the performance one but still acceptable..
what i can see.. if u just apply... the effect not max yet... it take maybe 12 ~ 24 hours...
like mine... when I apply... that time my idle ~ 47C...
now drop to 40C after 2 days...
quite a lot of improvement... thumbup.gif

oh yeah.. forgot to mention.. how bout air circulation inside ur case..
can take pic?

P/s : just read from another 9850 BE user... their idle temp 40~45C using custom HSF.. so thats ur target... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wch5274: Jun 4 2009, 09:39 PM
TSwarrenlee713
post Jun 5 2009, 10:51 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(wch5274 @ Jun 4 2009, 09:31 PM)
thermal paste does matter.. just a thin layer of it already enough
it increase a chance for heat transfer from ur IHS to HSF by creating more surface contact...
even the thermal paste ingredient also make a different...
of course metal one better (like tuniq and AC) due can transfer heat faster than normal paste just
need to be careful don't use too much as this thermal paste also can act as electrical conductor...
so excessive thermal paste can make short circuit on ur mother board if drop..  sweat.gif 

currently im using AMD 7750 BE (3.1GHz) with CCF...
if my PC just started, the idle temp ~ 38C (core ~ 31C)
and if idle around 30min.. idle temp ~ 40C (core ~ 33C)..  rclxms.gif
im using CM HTK002 thermal paste.. not the performance one but still acceptable..
what i can see.. if u just apply... the effect not max yet... it take maybe 12 ~ 24 hours...
like mine... when I apply... that time my idle ~ 47C...
now drop to 40C after 2 days...
quite a lot of improvement...   thumbup.gif

oh yeah.. forgot to mention.. how bout air circulation inside ur case..
can take pic?
P/s : just read from another 9850 BE user... their idle temp 40~45C using custom HSF.. so thats ur target...  tongue.gif
hey..thks for ur reply...i opened my casing...my casing inside quite packed ady...but open casing still ok gua??? cos can't reli afford those expensive casing wor..i bought tis fan bcos i thought it comes with the AM2+ bracket, damn...searched the bracket at LY for 2 hours...thk goodness its FOC one...cos my bracket leg patah...

thermal paste i apply a bit only... apply at the center of the CPU...tis is wat cycom technician asked me to do...at least better than before lar...btw..my room temperature is abt 26-28 degrees when switch on aircond...i'll upload the pics up this few days...thks for ur great advise smile.gif

Added on June 6, 2009, 5:06 pmhey guys..i found out the solution..now my temperature is 38 degrees when idle...damn cooling...here's a tip for someone who's using this fan on an amd processor:
when u install the heatsink, the copper part will not make contact with the processor core totally...tis is why u will find tat ur temperature keep on going up and up and eventually GG tongue.gif, therefore...this fan have 2 sides of locking...therefore one side will have to screw tighter and the other lighter..it makes the whole heatsink stick to the processor in a slopy way..therefore ur thermal paste must be concentrated on that part as well...yesterday when i find that the temperature is abt 60 degrees and i press down the heatsink...then got a shock..the temperature decreased straightaway to 48 degrees....thks for everybody's help..i finallly found out the solution...will start to oc if i have the time!!

This post has been edited by warrenlee713: Jun 6 2009, 05:06 PM
keeting89
post Jun 28 2009, 11:15 PM

=>S@f3 Tr@d3r W1th0ut S@f3 Tr@d3r T@g<=
1,390 posts

Juz apply one thin layer of the thermal paste ontop the the hsf..
don put too much it would affect the temperature result..Juz like mine last time..^^

0.0190sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:04 PM