What’s The Best Protein Available Right Now?

iamyuanwu
post May 28 2009, 01:58 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(macpro2 @ May 27 2009, 06:27 PM)
1. Whey is also natural. It came from cow milk. It's the additives that might make it a wee bit undesirable. If that's the case, get pure whey. Quite easily available.
If there are problems with commercial whey proteins, it's not the whey's problem... it's the manufacturer's problem. If a hemp protein manufacturer add additives and sweeteners and colourings to hemp protein, it will have the same undesirable product. It's not the food, it's the processing.

2. Whey is a complete protein too.

3. Just show the numbers with proper source to validate. These 2 important numbers determine the 'power-ness' of the protein: PER, biological value (BV). It is widely used, and it is scientific. If you can't find out, then what you said is nothing but BS.
Here's my thoughts on eating enzymes. Read it:
/

And whatever you said about enzymes in point 3 is flawed. It's marketing speak meant to confuse consumers. For scientists, it's BS.

4. No comments. Prefer to have numbers and proper source to validate it.

5. Alkalizing. Could be true if it contains minerals. But chlorophylls in hemp seed? Are you sure? And chlorophyll is not the main thing that is alkalizing-producing in our bodies. Minerals are.

6. Certain fibres are pre-biotic. Agreed (terms & conditions apply).

QUOTE(macpro2 @ May 27 2009, 08:56 PM)
1. YOur links are full of conspiracies. It's to be taken with a grain of salt (a spoonful is more appropriate).

2. Once protein is denatured, it means it's configuration/shape is changed and no longer active. That's all. All the amino acids are still there. Most protein denatures above 40 degrees anyway. For safety reasons, this is what your stomach is pH 2-3. To friggin' frag the protein until they 'die'.
You boil and egg, and the egg white turns to opaque+white from transparent <--- this is denaturation. When you cook your chicken, it turns from chewy and pink into white and easy to bite <--- this is also denaturation.

3. And the 120 degree is to kill bacteria (particularly [/i]C. bot[/i]). Would anyone rather die of botulism? It's a horrible way to die, and victims die within 1 day of infection/intoxication.

You want good bacteria? Eat yogurt, prebiotic & fibre and other properly fermented foods. You DON'T WANT ANY BACTERIA in your protein.

4. 'Alive' = BS. Like I said, you don't want any protein to remain active in your stomach. Imagine if a bacteria's proteins (or worse: bacteria/virus enzymes) are active in your gut. And those harmful enzymes working its magic in your intestines. If it's a small issue, you'll have a stomach ache. Worst case scenario: you could die.
This is a survival mechanism. You stomach do its best to denature all proteins (including enzyme) to protech you from harm.
If you want 'alive' proteins, go bite a piece of meat off a living cow/chicken, while it's still 'ALIVE'.

5. 'Electrically charged' = BS BS BS BS BS.
I could make all my protein electrically charged too! Just poke 2 metal rods on the meat/protein, then turn on the switch, yo! Not only it charges the protein, it can even cook the protein!
Me LOL'd so hard at me own funniest joke, me iz cannot to taip proper England languange. (sorry for the sarcasm, dude. I can't help it. tongue.gif )

6. BTW, whey is a by-product of cheese making. And it is COLD PRESSED! No heat involved (except spray drying to remove moiusture). So don't simply BS ah. Hemp protein would need heat to remove moisture too. So apa macam?

Let me clue you in about what food scientists actually know: whey is one of the best sources of protein you can find, especially true if you can get it pure (e.g. from 4Rings). Rat test for PER are always done using whey as the reference. It means it's the best, that's why it's the reference (whey & egg most of the time).
And I've seen the test first hand: the rats are healthy, fur is thick+smooth, and fit. Those that were fed with tempeh, tofu, god-knows-what-else protein... some died, some are skinny with patches on their fur.

7. I'm not saying hemp protein is bad. If it's a good source of protein, then it's a good alternative.
But your post provided too much points for dispute (so much, I have to use the uncountable adjective: 'much'). And your sources are not exactly trustworthy. Your points doesn't hold up to scientifically proven facts. Sorry.

0.0142sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:36 PM