6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

LYN FATSO Challenge v2, 25th May - 30th June

myremi
post Jun 15 2009, 10:37 AM

1,846 posts

1/4 of my goal is made when I realized about 1-2 weeks back that I had to put another mini-goal at hand.

Mini-goal : Do not get distracted by negative people on this forum and move forward. There are going to be people who will tell honest truth and cheer you on to improve and there are others who want you to fail completely because they don't think you have what it takes to succeed.

So. I'm doing this for me, myself and I. I made it this far and will continue to make it further. My health condition is not a stone tied around my neck and drowning me, preventing me to enjoy life. It is a challenge that I have to overcome and live with for the rest of my life.

There are no problems in life. Only challenges to face.
myremi
post Jun 15 2009, 10:40 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jun 15 2009, 10:35 AM)
Syd,

You've been running so much..any cramps?
Ive warmed up, drank loads of water....ate bananas and what not..

I get cramps around 1 hour 50mins ...14KM or so...

Sigh..just not enough training?
How is your potassium intake?
myremi
post Jun 15 2009, 10:58 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 15 2009, 10:39 AM)
Looks like we gotta reschedule this for tomorrow instead.

Unfortunately after the power safebox outside my house caught fire, I would now need to search for a fuse for my currently out of function speakers. Don't really want to spend RM1.5k just replacing it.

I will be back for weights training in 30th June 2009 with the new 30 mins jog instead of using the crosstrainer.

Still can't believe I can jog @ 8kmph on the treadmill for 45 mins though.
Ouch. I didn't think that it would cost that much to replace the power distribution box. But if you already had it catching fire, you may want to rethink avoiding the RM1.5k. If it's catching fire, it's a very big risk, especially since you know about it now.

And great work on the treadmill progress. rclxms.gif
myremi
post Jun 15 2009, 11:32 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jun 15 2009, 10:49 AM)
I took 2 bananas before the run

and 1 more in the middle of it.

and even of off days from running...e.g biggrin.gif like today hehe

Added on June 15, 2009, 10:58 amah let me be more specific

the cramps are on my CALVES. sigh. sad when i could carry on but my calves gives up on me 1st.
Hmm.... try asking at the Runners thread as well.

I'm thinking that maybe your body is lacking nutrients that cannot be provided by bananas for long and that your body is either not able to process the bananas fast enough to your thigh muscles or your body can only process so much before the nutrients are all sweated out (the theory of % efficiency on machines also works on the human body, simplified version smile.gif ).

I doubt that it's an issue about you not being fit because like you said, you feel it at the 14th km.

If it's cramp when you're not moving or the muscles are still tense, it can be due to lack of potassium. Are your calves very tense even when at rest? Some people don't feel it unless they press down on the muscle and actually feel that it's tense / tight. Taking calcium/magnesium tablets does help. Potassium tablets are issued by the pharmacist although I've never taken them.

Another thing is blood circulation to the muscles. This one, only massage will help. Well, regular massage that is. The blood system is like a huge transportation system to move nutrients from one end of the body to another.
myremi
post Jun 15 2009, 12:24 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 15 2009, 11:06 AM)
Thank you for the treadmill progress. Now, I need to try it at outdoors.

We were lucky to find out about the fire early because it was so closed to my dad's car. Need to get a proper fire extinguisher. Using water for electric started fire is really dangerous.

Thanks to TNB, they response within 30-45 mins and replace the fuses and most of the powerbox. Fortunately, everything was back to normal after that.

Hopefully I can find some electronic shops that sells the fuse for my speakers.
Ouch. Yeah, a proper fire extinguisher works but you'll also need to maintain it. Check the Yellow Pages for companies selling it. They usually will be able to help you service it (check quantity, BOMBA check) for a reasonable fee which isn't too expensive. The BOMBA check is a required for fire extinguishers just to make sure that the extinguisher is in good condition and that the service company is following their rules. It's something like RM5 or RM25 I think for the BOMBA check.

And you should be able to find your fuse in the hardware shops or electrical parts shops (not the electrical appliances). There is also online purchase but it's not cheap. http://malaysia.rs-online.com/web/

Added on June 15, 2009, 12:42 pmmetalfreak : I left the post window for too long and so when I finally posted, Syd G had already replied. LOL! What she recommends is probably your best solution. Try it out and see if it helps.

This post has been edited by myremi: Jun 15 2009, 12:42 PM
myremi
post Jun 16 2009, 03:00 PM

1,846 posts

Need some opinion guys.

I had some abrasion on my skin that turned out to be major and the wound is still healing. Got the wound on Friday last week. The outcome is that I cannot wear socks or sneakers for too long else it hurts too much from the abrasion, even through the plaster.

If I use a low cut shoe that has good support, will it be ok for a 45-60 min walk on a crosstrainer? This is short-term solution until the wound is healed.
myremi
post Jun 16 2009, 05:09 PM

1,846 posts

Syd G : LOL! Yeah, that's what I thought too but it's not quite a cut. Hmm...how to explain ah....

Hmm...imagine a blister bursting and you're still running. The blister is under abrasion effect by the shoe and ends up bleeding. That's the wound that I have.

It's not too deep but just painful.

kianweic : ok dokie. Will do that then.

metalfreak : errr..not I'd rather not because then metabolic rate not good again. I can walk lah. It's not at the bottom of my feet but on the top, above the heel level. Also, no weight loss so need to get some moving going going going.
myremi
post Jun 17 2009, 12:31 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Jun 16 2009, 10:41 PM)
myremi - cud you do some cardio in the water........like how the losers get worked out by JIllian in thebiggestloser...
1. Rain in evening. Else I would go after work. Believe it or not, it does rain a lot in Kuching. LOL! And has thunder lately too.
2. Swimsuit. I was hunting for one in UK but they change the style! Now it's kinda like a bikini but the top is like a camisole kind of thing.

See? Excuses. tongue.gif

Anyway, did about 20 min on the cross trainer with 15 min on difficulty 4 and remaining 5 min at 2. At 20th min, heart went badadap badadap quite hard so stop.

Trying again on Wednesday. Maybe should jsut put it at difficulty 0 and try to do 50-60 min on the crosstrainer. When the difficulty was at 0, I can do longer sessions on the crosstrainer.

Week 1 : Goal achieved. Drop 1 kg.
Week 2 : Goal not achieved. Maintain weight.
Week 3 : No more cheat meals and more regular exercise, no matter how late it gets. I found a nice show to exercise to : 7 pm National Geographic reruns on TV1. LOL!
myremi
post Jun 17 2009, 11:28 AM

1,846 posts

metalfreak : rub your feet. I do. smile.gif

I just checked out Oprah's site after hearing that she is also making it a point to get her life back in order.

Saw her exercise plan and diet plan. I eat less than her but also exercise less than her. BAD BAD BAD.

It's somewhere on her website. Can't access at work sadly. sad.gif
myremi
post Jun 17 2009, 07:49 PM

1,846 posts

pizzaboy, I think that is probably the tip of the iceberg. You may need to write more rather than just a one-side view.
myremi
post Jun 17 2009, 10:42 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jun 17 2009, 08:23 PM)
Which is exactly what I'm doing now. Studying more about this. Apparently, this hormone is quite easy for most people to take advantage of but, those that have always been morbidly obese, might not be able to take advantage of this because it's not because of the Leptin. It's because of their bodies insensitivity to Leptin. So despite Leptin overflowing everywhere in their bodies, their brains cannot identify Leptin and continue to add fat, thinking it's in a self-defense, hunger mode.
You also would know by now that this hormone was only recently actively research i.e. last 90s. So limited data around but the body builders really love this theory.

It's the theory that made Joel Marion his money when he published a book called "Cheat to Eat" and open up his website on "Cheat to Eat".

You may also need to think back a bit more about how to incorporate leptin and what are their limitations / downside of carrying out such a diet a bit more. Especially if it also triggers the body immune system to go out of sync.

Added on June 17, 2009, 10:43 pmThe other thing to note is that some research papers are free to look at on PubMed but not all research papers are in there.

This post has been edited by myremi: Jun 17 2009, 10:43 PM
myremi
post Jun 18 2009, 09:25 AM

1,846 posts

Hmm..if you want to do testing and all, you may need to make a matrix table to get an overview of the effects. I know that you think that this is analysis by paralysis yet it's a common tool for technical and business as well.

Do a comparison table to compare and get a bigger overview. I did one briefly because it was very hard to always remember what I had read or what assumptions that I had to rethink. Unfortunately, I threw the paper away.

It's tough work in the beginning but afterwards, it's easier. Plus, you are also more clear on what you know and what you don't.

It is true that too much analysis will paralyzed you. But not enough analysis will be equally detrimental. smile.gif

Having said that, there is a saying about engineers/science ppl : we are too detailed. tongue.gif
myremi
post Jun 18 2009, 12:43 PM

1,846 posts

pizzaboy : Hmm...ever thought of checking your thyroid glands?
myremi
post Jun 18 2009, 09:41 PM

1,846 posts

Hmm...this is the 3rd week. How is everyone doing other than the usual ppl who posts? It's like gotten dead quiet lately.

Not sure if this is a good sign. It's been 2 weeks since I lost weight. Went down to 92.5 kg this morning but the noticeable difference is that my bra size is now smaller. Last week, it wasn't that obvious or I wasn't paying attention.

Time to shop this weekend for new lingerie.
myremi
post Jun 18 2009, 10:47 PM

1,846 posts

I'm trying to put off buying new outer clothes atm. Everything is loose but not that loose. Also digging up old clothes in my closet that now fits!
myremi
post Jun 26 2009, 03:10 PM

1,846 posts

It's a good thing that I don't like durians. smile.gif

Hi folks! Been busy at work and spending time with Daddy on his trip here. Plus, bringing Granny around to the doctors.
myremi
post Jun 29 2009, 09:28 AM

1,846 posts

Grats Syd G and tengster. smile.gif

myremi
post Jun 30 2009, 09:43 AM

1,846 posts

Morning folks. How are you all feeling today?

I was looking around at the goals to recheck and realized that Syd G posted me at 90 kg at the start of the challenge! Hahaha!

I started out at about 94-95 kg I think. This morning the scale was very good. 90 kg. Phew!

My goal was to fit a dress. Unfortunately, still tight so I think it needs another 5 kg weight loss to fit it better. Geram....
myremi
post Jun 30 2009, 12:24 PM

1,846 posts

tengster : Of course very kancheong one. The dress is already a size 16 dress ok. tongue.gif What more, 25 pounds. Mahal lah. tongue.gif Only the hips need more shrinking as well as thighs.

Syd G : Yeah, the weight loss feels great and the clothes are starting to get loose. In fact, very loose that look a bit funny sometimes.

The thing that I have to put up with the most is that my Granny is always commenting on my arse and how much smaller it is now. >.<
myremi
post Jun 30 2009, 03:41 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Jun 30 2009, 01:12 PM)
normally fat burning start from the waist...then only it goes to hip thigh area.........
Sigh, I know. TBH though, my waist and upper body plus arse has slimmed down a lot. The thighs aren't so fast. Majority of my fat are around the thighs. Looks like tree trunks. Grrr....

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0302sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:01 PM