new Panasonic TH-P42S10K, latest Panasonic Full HD Plasma TV

pierreye
post Jun 10 2009, 09:54 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 10 2009, 09:29 PM)
we are third world and a dumping ground. We get the crap stuff usually.
True. Plus we always pay more for lower end product. Same as car. Always get the lower specs but higher price. Welcome to bolehland = suckerland.

One more thing on your source output. I think you need to set it to video level output. On my PY800, I can see it can't display blacker than black (btb) and whiter than white (wtw). I'm using HTPC full rgb and anything below 16 and above 240 will not display. Unless anyone know any setting in the TV that allow that.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Jun 10 2009, 09:57 PM
pierreye
post Jul 15 2009, 09:43 AM

1,308 posts

I'll redo my panasonic plasma calibration again. Looking at anfieldude result, I think previously I use nvidia video card and had no problem with the gamma curve although not perfect, is in the region between 1.9 to 2.3. Also, the greyscale is not stable in the first 200 hours.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 15 2009, 09:45 AM
pierreye
post Jul 16 2009, 01:43 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 15 2009, 10:04 AM)
Would appreciate if you could check. I had problems with the gamma. Ranged from 1.3 - 2.2. The worst offender was 90% gray, it was at 1.3. The low end was pretty good at 2.0-2.1.

The calibration thru the AC Ryan had a better gamma response from 1.9 - 2.2, averaging at 2.1 or something. Grayscale DE errors were less than 3 for 1976 DE. Colours were not so good but that is expected from Panny plasmas (DE1994 ranging from 1-6, worst offender being green).
I had manage to nail the 2.2 gamma in Panny service menu. The trick is to use All-Drv and All-Cut to adjust the gamma curve. As you mention, low end is around 2.0-2.1. So you need to adjust All-Cut a little bit down to reduce the luminance. As for 90% grey around 1.3, that's mean your All-Drv is too high (Too high luminance for upper greyscale). Redo the greyscale again after you adjust the All-Cut and All Drv. Look at your gamma curve and look at the color that is either above or below the targeted gamma curve. For eg, for 30% grey, if red is above the gamma curve 2.2, then reduce red cut etc... I think you will get the idea. Below is the final adjustment I got (took me 2 hours to get this almost perfect curve and good greyscale).

Note: ATI pixel is set at YPbPr 4:4:4 which will enable me to see BTB and WTW.

Updated. Must be too tired yesterday and just found out adjusting All-Cut will also reduce the brightness control so black crush do occur. After adjusting the brightness control again using the pluge test pattern, gamma shoot back to around 1.9 to 2.0 again. Looks like this is final result I can get but nothing too serious as your problem where 90% gray at 1.3. I think you set the contrast too high which is why you get this result.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 16 2009, 08:39 AM

pierreye
post Jul 16 2009, 01:41 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 16 2009, 08:43 AM)
Thanks for the charts. I believe one main difference is your contrast settings. I normally aim for a ftL of 34-37ftL on a 100% window. I believe your room is fully light controlled as you 100% window is at 13ftL. Yeah, I found that by reducing the overall contrast to around 20ftL I can get a better gamma. The AC Ryan media streamer I could get the 100% window at around 35ftL and still get a gamma of around 2.1.

Interesting.
Here's another option. If you use catalyst ver 9.6, it'll do automatic expansion from video to pc level so you only need to calibrate at pc level. I use AVS HD test pattern in MP4 format and use MPC-HC with VMR9 output (XP). Manage to get 2.2 gamma with catalyst color control. Set the gamma to 0.85 for both desktop and 3D. 100% White is 25ftL. Can't stand 35ftL as it's too bright for me. This should be as perfect as it can be.

pierreye
post Jul 16 2009, 02:33 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jul 16 2009, 01:56 PM)
Bro,
I am using ATI 4:4:4 setting, MPC-HC with VMR9.
Can share the setting in ATI Catalyst with me?  notworthy.gif
Or only set Gamma 0.85 for both desktop and 3D?
Many thanks.
I only change the gamma to 0.85. The rest of the greyscale tuning is done through the service menu.
pierreye
post Jul 16 2009, 02:41 PM

1,308 posts

Never try this but do the greyscale tuning done at 1080p 60hz will apply to 1080p 24hz?
pierreye
post Jul 17 2009, 07:01 PM

1,308 posts

basic calibration can be done quickly with test pattern without equipment such as brightness and contrast. This you can do first and redo again after 200 hours. As for greyscale, gamma and color tuning, better wait for 200 hours before tuning as it is very time consuming and cost you $$$ if you ask someone with the equipment to do it. If you ask me, I think the calibration alone worth at least RM500 for the service. For a tv, you need to tune for different input so that's min 2-3 hours of time spend. It's not just the equipment but the knowledge to get it done. I don't think an average joe know how to really tune the tv in depth. I spend almost 5 years in avsforum to learn calibration from those ISF certified sifu. The very first version I use is an Excel spreadsheet and it's a pain to use as Colorfact at that time cost USD6.5k. Now is more affordable with Calman + i1Pro around RM 2k plus.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 17 2009, 07:08 PM
pierreye
post Jul 17 2009, 07:12 PM

1,308 posts

Upgrade your Calman to ver 3.4. It's actually quite easy if you use the intermediate workflow which will guide you through the steps. Practice make perfect. I just loan a demo unit for Optoma HD82 from local dealer and I can tell you this unit is a keeper. The 3D pop is unbelievable. I feel the 3D pop is even better than my plasma. Kungfu panda looks so 3D it's like the 3D character pop out from the background.

0.0425sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:52 PM