iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

yuvanesh
post Apr 27 2010, 12:56 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Apr 27 2010, 12:39 AM)
Hi guys...I'm a Maxis iValue 100 subscriber and my contract will end this weekend and I'm happy enough to jump ship to DIGI when the time arrived. I'm desperately need to jump because for the past year I'd paid the RM100++ for nothing but some RM20++ worth of phone calls because there is no 3G coverage at my house / residential area. (I'm not from kampung tho but I stay in Taman Sri Nibong which is a stone throw away from QBM which is the biggest shopping mall in Penang!!! The situation never change even after complaints).

So I try to find a suitable plan for my future iphone usage; as u know I'll only spend around 20++ only on phone call every month so I can easily get any prepaid other than Maxis which after some surfing around the net I decided that digi prepaid will be the best choice. I bought a prepaid to try out the 3g coverage and it's good and  quite wide coverage with only the cons is the speed can't match the maxis one. I don't mind at all coz what I need is coverage not speed. The digi even come in RM5 maximum per day charge on data usage which is sweet coz I can even do a tether on my pc when the ever unreliable  P1 Wimax (which is next on my list to get rid of!!!) failed.

After 3 days of testing my nightmare begins : you know why?
Because I got charge RM5 for the last 3 days and only the 1st day I really use the data that much and after some finding I discovered that it's not Digi's fault....it's because iPhone will consume data even in standby mode when you are not launching any apps...as you may know the mail and safari apps are not kill able. In 5 to 6 hours time it's enough to consume 500KB which had let to RM5 charges on the data...and that means by doing nothing you'll have o pay RM 150 for a prepaid plan which don't even include the voice call!!! I'd try to turn off the data and even try to plug in the power (then the wifi will always ON) but it will still consume data on the iphone. The turn off data work out to be the best bet but by turning off the data you lost all the Push capability which will render your iPhone useless anyway...

Does it meant if you want to use iPhone you have to subscribe to those expensive data plan even in reality you don't even wanna use them that much coz wifi is ubiquitous nowadays. I'm puzzled and confused now coz there is no telco offering you mid range data plan in any kind of form. It's either 100KB or 3GB for u!
Hope that somebody with greater knowledge can give me some advice.
hi bro..i have read your problem..well its surprise to hear that maxis have 3g problem over there...than i would say is not worth using it..well you see there two thing you need to consider...its like one gain and one lose...1) im not very sure that digi have data plan on thier list but if they do like maxis try using them....but you need pay for it...2) call the respective telco and disconnect the data service(do not mention ur using iphone) so data you wont be charge for it..but losing end is the notifications..3) try jailbreaking then use sbs setting to off your data so that in wont be charge unnecessarily and use processes on sbs to make the mail and safari app to not work in the background...
yuvanesh
post Apr 27 2010, 11:22 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Apr 27 2010, 10:52 AM)
Thanks....will check om the package later and seems like this is the best bet for now.... blush.gif
Problem is RM68 is still out of my desired spending for monthly telco fees..
Thanks bro I actually using a jb iphone and sbsetting to turn off the data d but somehow while I'd scarifiedthe push capabilities I still got charged on the data.... rclxub.gif
since you dont need data...any only uses wifi..try calling the cs of maxis or digi..and disconnecting the data service for your line..then you dont need to worried of the data leakage.
yuvanesh
post May 23 2010, 11:49 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(dytechinc @ May 23 2010, 11:23 AM)
hello guys need help here..
currently i'm subscribing iValue 1
my data usage this month from the iphone is 452MB but my bill stated 574MB.
so i've been charged RM370.
is that accurate??
i'm lot on EDGE. turn on push. rarely utube.
don't know whats wrong..
somebody help me
there is sometime data will be use by your phone...which never been shown on the usage...
yuvanesh
post May 24 2010, 11:45 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 24 2010, 12:11 AM)
lol but me havent JB my phone lol
open frient only be connected if you loggin..just when you start the game..just disconnect from the server...
yuvanesh
post May 26 2010, 02:18 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(hakimi07 @ May 25 2010, 01:29 AM)
wah, i think digi come with unlimited data package... how to pay if like this??

Added on May 25, 2010, 1:33 amiam oso under maxis iphone plan....

but now waiting few month my iphone data package finish...

using maxis line with normal phone... no data or internet connection...

iam got free 3gb for i value2 but if i use sure overlimit...

with iphone iam using DIGI prepaid Broadband rm2 perday... hehehehe

and happy ever after
You mean bro on iPhone you can overlimit 3gb data!!!!!!!I meant without tethering..

Added on May 26, 2010, 2:23 am
QUOTE(hakimi07 @ May 25 2010, 01:29 AM)
wah, i think digi come with unlimited data package... how to pay if like this??

ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Added on May 25, 2010, 1:33 amiam oso under maxis iphone plan....

but now waiting few month my iphone data package finish...

using maxis line with normal phone... no data or internet connection...

iam got free 3gb for i value2 but if i use sure overlimit...

with iphone iam using DIGI prepaid Broadband rm2 perday... hehehehe

and happy ever after
You mean bro on iPhone you can overlimit 3gb data!!!!!!!I meant without tethering..

This post has been edited by yuvanesh: May 26 2010, 02:23 AM
yuvanesh
post Jun 14 2010, 02:01 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(eternal11 @ Jun 14 2010, 01:50 AM)
how to disable all my GPRS and 3G cant work in my iphone ?
try calling up maxis and cancel all the data connection..
yuvanesh
post Jul 23 2010, 11:13 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(Servantforever @ Jul 23 2010, 10:56 PM)
How to turn off the Cellular Data? There is no such thing on my Iphone...
bro..you can only do it on iphone iOS 4.0....which OS are you in..??
yuvanesh
post Jul 24 2010, 12:02 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(Servantforever @ Jul 23 2010, 11:48 PM)
I don't really lknow about the OS but mine is 3gs and the 3.1.3 firmware. Possible?
go to settings---general--about---firmware...thats where you see which OS are you in...
yuvanesh
post Aug 11 2010, 06:52 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(MiTiN_ReP @ Aug 11 2010, 02:55 PM)
I have an unlocked iPhone 3GS from Singapore, using Maxis postpaid plan without data plan.
I have called to the service center to disable the 3G, GPRS and EDGE function of my phone.
However, Maxis still charging me for data usage which i did not use intentionally or under my awareness.
They say that even i disable the 3G, GPRS and EDGE, the iPhone will still connect to the internet through
these stated connections, which charges will be applied.
I do not understand why... AND THEY CHARGED ME RM180++ FOR THAT... cry.gif

My question is, is there any thing i can do to prevent my iPhone from connecting to the internet, other than using the LAN wi-fi service.
And is that true even i disable the 3G, GPRS and EDGE function with Maxis, the iPhone 3GS can still use these services.

Thanks...
Since you are on iPhone 3GS then update to 4.0.1 there will be an option to off the data service on the setting..with that there won't be any data connection on your phone..
yuvanesh
post Aug 11 2010, 10:49 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

Well on iPhone 3G you can tether because the option there..well connect the iPhone to the com..by USB..ho to option on tether in the phone..slide on and choose USB only..make sure your 3G is on for fast connection and speed..the phone will auto connect and after a while you browse on your pc...the data charges is same as phone..for example 1kb is 3cents..so depends on your usage browsing how many kb download you use...
yuvanesh
post Aug 20 2010, 02:03 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(gorjesMe @ Aug 20 2010, 06:29 AM)
im not sure if here's the right place to ask.
Ive just upgraded my 3gs to os4 and all of sudden my Camera/Safari/Utube widgets gone!

so i did restore again and it used default iphone settings. the widgets cme back but all my contacts/data/photos missing. luckily ive sync my contacts to Y! addbook before that.

but yeah does anyone facing same problem when upgrading to os4?

i didnt jailbreak. its standard with maxis plan.
well since its already there try restoring your previous setting and so on...sometimes..it is because OS updated is incomplete with disturbance or lag..

0.0227sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:27 PM