iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

dinozilla
post Dec 19 2009, 10:54 AM

1,680 posts

yo Mr bomb
if ur app is paid, and it has ad...then u should "fire" the app developer for including ad on paid app
if it is free app, u cant blame that developer include it, coz u getting it free, and he will want some ad to support for that cost
usually the ad r short and simple, which i don think take up a lot bytes...not sure wat app u using, n u din state how much it deducted

personally thinking, there is no free meal, if u want use free thing, prepared to pay in another way

ur option is either complaint to developer, buy the paid version, don use the app, or let it be.
dinozilla
post Dec 19 2009, 01:59 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 19 2009, 10:59 AM)
@sexbomb,
I used my iPhone 3G for about a year without it automatically connecting to the internet.  Just go to unlockit.nz on ur iPhone Safari (if the website is wrong, please check the pinned threads cause I'm not 100% sure) and create a fake profile.

After that's done, ur iPhone shouldn't be able to connect onto the internet on its own.

@dinozilla,
Sometimes even paid apps have it; like connecting to their 'Achievements' site and all, etc etc. But obviously U can choose not to go.
those r in app function...which is on ur go...
i believe the question here is about the ad in app
dinozilla
post Dec 24 2009, 08:33 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 24 2009, 04:22 AM)
it great to kno tat u finally manage to solve ur probs smile.gif yup.. no need to change mms setting. actually can video call rite? my fren told me tat.. jz u haf to face the mirror wif ur phone..  cz d cam is behind n nt infront tongue.gif i'm nt sure bout tis cz i haven't try yet..

well.. normally ppl who own the iphone will use the 3g function.. cz they will be using d data. some forumer n my frens did mention b4, wat d use of having such a smartphone n we r nt fully utilized d function? saying tat having an iphone bt dun haf the flexibility to connect 2 d net anytime.. is no point.. better buy some other phone instead..  tongue.gif  bt who cares.. i like i buy..
i guess tats the point there....
iPhone is designed as a smartphone...which emphasizes on mobile data a lot....
i believe a lot of its apps/games would be taken that to note too...
be it for in App purchase, or in-App Ad, some of the app/game will likely has at least minimal of web access...

Perhaps if that's the case, u should feedback to Steve...telling him to release a strip-down version of iphone....
iPhone nano....no data, GSM only, all people need is app/game that don access internet, and the fancy touchscreen biggrin.gif

personally....i Jailbroken, utilization higher than ever, but i did not experiencing such unknown usage...
probably becoz i aware of wat app i install, if they using bandwidth...
so my advice is....scan through ur settings and apps, whatever that is possible allow network access, disable it, if not, remove it.
dinozilla
post Dec 28 2009, 12:20 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 27 2009, 02:48 PM)
I don't think it's as accurate as we would like it to be..
Anyway, less is always good right? biggrin.gif
so far mine not run off by 10MB
i bet if u hav ur app controlled well on data usage...it shouldn't far off...
most of the usual access is tracked
btw, if let say ur statement date is 1st, means the cycle starts at 1st
by right u should close ur cycle on 30th/31st end
but i don think it is done exactly tat time, may b possible on early 1st oso....
so vary by little is fine
this is wat i noticed of when my unbilled amount reset on web.
dinozilla
post Dec 29 2009, 08:11 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(fr33dom @ Dec 29 2009, 03:47 AM)
but cannot call out rite???
y not!!
keep up to date bro biggrin.gif
http://www.digi.com.my/internet/3g/index.html
now u can use 3G on digi, so u can voice/sms + 3G internet with them
dinozilla
post Jan 3 2010, 11:05 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Jan 3 2010, 09:55 PM)
how bout the coverage ?

i doubt will be as 'good' as maxis as maxis also not that good
very very limited....
imagine i can onli see EDGE in cyberjaya rclxms.gif

until they expand wide enof...i don think they are a good choice yet
unless u r in the covered zone, which should hav PJ, subang, Cheras...etc all these hot spots
dinozilla
post Feb 4 2010, 11:53 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Feb 4 2010, 10:38 AM)

- For this 1st month, I used about 150MB of data only with 3 weeks of billing cycle to go. I guess I need to turn on the 3G more, haha!
don get it wrong, 3G is the speed u get, not the amount of data
it get ur data download faster....onli if u access a lot data....
so ur key is not to turn on 3G more (u can always on, or turn on onli when u need it), but to use data access more rclxms.gif
dinozilla
post Feb 9 2010, 08:49 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(iphoneiphone @ Feb 9 2010, 07:30 PM)
well, just like what i said before, its just a from my own experience, bro. dont get me wrong.
and why JB is more efficient eh? tongue.gif i dont see also
and plus, i can say people who JB their always have a problem here and there.
but people who dont JB only have a minor problem which is a normal thing for an iphone. tongue.gif

Try not to put personal experience too much into it...as we really can't tell much how each other using the phone...

u don jailbreak...ur data usage is fine....
he jailbreak, and using sbsettings to control the usage....
i jailbreak, i din use anything at all to cap any usage....

all 3 not over-use and din hav excessive bill like some of those unlucky 1....

jz as fylon said, i really down to wat app u use, whether u aware wat app u use, the settings u hav....etc

most JBer face issue bcoz they jz jailbreak for the sake of free app n crack app, but they dunno what to go around with those config and settings, and the number is higher, bcoz unlocked phone r more prone, especially those app...

there is non-JB user who faces it too....so an over-use is not JB fault, but user problem....

some expert user here can giv u advice on how to manage/control/disable, but in the end, its all up to hw u use it, if u don understand wat u using, then nothing much others can help.

so try understand wat u hav, even u r not into it, at least u know and aware of.

This post has been edited by dinozilla: Feb 9 2010, 08:50 PM
dinozilla
post Apr 13 2010, 01:49 PM

1,680 posts

Yusvogue
to some, phone is not just about practicality, it is about trend too...
that's why problem hit on some who opt the phone not for the data/on-the-go service.

but by the way, good news for all is that, in iPhone OS 4.0, there will be an added feature to turn off cellular data, which means turn off data access on the phone to cellular network. that should help solving ur problem in the future... ;-)
dinozilla
post Apr 14 2010, 12:07 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(yusvogue @ Apr 13 2010, 02:30 PM)
Yes.. I know a few... Well, it's too bad and such a waste if you ask me.. Sorry my word, but it's really pitty to all who been charged too much!

Ooo about that turn on an off the cellular data.. My cousin who is not in any of the data service.. nor subscibe to any of it... have no problem at all with the data usage..
She off her Data and never been charged to the 3G..
She only use the wifi service at home and on the move..
So, I just wondering, why izzit some of us here have been charged eventho they have off the Data service? Pelik tau!
data on mobile is using phone cellular network to send/receive data packet, if u(or ur phone) request to send/receive, nothing can stop if the cellular network is still up, except the change of APN(protocol for both dif, done it right then u block the data), or u use the app tat does not access without notice, or not accesing, or u know app u using and din simple allow/enable the access.

and now, for OS4.0, we gonna hav iAd, i dunno how it works(ask the developer better), but if the Ad might sync via network, means data transfer on the go whenever u access ur app with ad(free app mostly) is inevitable.

not to target iPhone only la....blackberry, NexusOne, Android, etc too

again the words, if u don wish to utilize all these features, why use a phone that is build around these features...

Added on April 14, 2010, 12:10 am
QUOTE(raventah @ Apr 13 2010, 11:39 PM)
bro i use iphone 2G... already off all the setting

Added on April 13, 2010, 11:44 pmits iphone 2G suitable for new OS4?
iPhone 2G(first iPhone, 2007), iPhone 3G(2008), iPhone 3GS(2009)

2G will not be support, and you will not be able to update to OS 4.0

refer to this link: http://appadvice.com/appnn/2010/04/officia...port-iphone-2g/

This post has been edited by dinozilla: Apr 14 2010, 12:10 AM
dinozilla
post Jun 9 2010, 08:58 AM

1,680 posts

I think sort of app like this
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/at-t-mywire...d309172177?mt=8
would certainly benefit all here.....
sadly we din see Maxis/Digi releasing something like this for us....
infra cant? i doubt tat.....

if want, let's urge our telco to release such app to us...so that we can monitor our usage....

0.0462sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:21 PM