7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

tinkerbel
post Nov 24 2009, 12:38 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Cyan7,
Yes that is absolutely right, and also beware of the 1st month bill due to Maxis pro-rating your entire plan.

@max2k,
You don't have to FULLY maximise it; don't be kiasu lah - but assuming there's something you aren't doing with ur iPhone because you were afraid of the data charges, U can now just go ahead and do that without worrying about your charges going way overboard; you should act check if the Usage counter correlates with your bill; that way there's still an indication for you to check smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Nov 25 2009, 03:26 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Cyan7,
Hmm.. what I mean about pro-rating is that assuming your iValue/iData plan was activated 15th of the month and your bill cycle is 1st of the month, your plan will be based on 15 days and not 30 days hence your usage will be pro-rated based on 15 days *I thought I kinda explained it before; but too lazy to find the thread - hope this answers your question though*

@rattan,
What you're saying is not true; if someone is really doing heavy downloading the usage will definitely exceed 1.5GB; it all depends on what he's downloading. For example, I was out this evening and had to access M2U so instead of using the unsecured network, I Internet Tethered in using my i3GS; I was barely on for 5 minutes but I'd forgotten to switch off my download manager hence the stuff I was downloading kept downloading and by the time I realised and logged off, I oredi downloaded about 100MB of data.

@unioptom,
VOIP calls via Skype isn't available on the 3G network; U will need to connect to wifi to be able to use VOIP; hence it's not gonna take up any additional data tongue.gif If you don't use data much, go with iData 2; U won't regret it because in the long run you'll really be saving *smiles* I certainly am glad I swapped over from Unlimited RM99 p/month to RM50 for 500MB p/month.

@iphoneiphone,
I believe you're talking about iData 1 - there's no contractual period on that particular plan so you can stop it anytime you like smile.gif

@Shoki,
I don't believe your information is accurate; kindly recheck tongue.gif

@loumou,
Since we're on the same system the hourly pass speed is the same as those binded to a contract. The only difference is that those on a contract is probably getting it slightly cheaper (ie: RM50 for 500MB vs RM58); don't know about the reminder though but someone did post to say he got "spammed" by Maxis when he was on the hourly pass; Maxis kept sending some kinda reminder. I didn't bother to check with him and forgot which forummer that is tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Nov 25 2009, 03:27 AM
tinkerbel
post Nov 25 2009, 11:01 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@iphoneiphone,
iData 1 needs to be 'bought' together with an iPhone; if you haven't yet collected yours when you go pick yours up you just have to go tell them U want to go with iData 1 plan. If you've oredi collected your iPhone I don't think you're eligible or entitled to go with this plan anymore [am not 100% sure so u need to check with Maxis] - instead, U can opt for the hourly/daily/monthly pass.
tinkerbel
post Nov 26 2009, 07:33 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@iphoneiphone,
You're welcome. Maxis should be sponsoring this forum, or at least give me some free credits for all the help I'd been putting in tongue.gif

@unioptom,
RM250 would equate to uhm... 2500kb right?! It's still less than 500MB smile.gif

@fylon,
There you go ; now you know 500MB is indeed more than suffice *smiles*
tinkerbel
post Nov 26 2009, 11:42 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@fylon,
It's good to have the Internet Tethering feature/function for rainy days; it can be quite helpful.

tinkerbel
post Nov 27 2009, 02:34 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@iphoneiphone,
I no longer bother with fake APNs; 500MB is more than suffice, for now *smiles*
tinkerbel
post Nov 27 2009, 10:58 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@scofield,
If you're on a plan, the data rates are 0.5sen/kb. Also, the way the Maxis bill comes is that it'll charge you for your total usage but they'll credit it back. Perhaps U wanna double check with 123 Y you're being charged for data usage since 42MB is within the plan you're signed on.

@azim61,
Check out http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281 for the APN settings; if that fails, go to Maxis and tell them your problem. They will need to manually enable "something" on their system. Forummer nokia2003 reported the same issue and apparently Maxis had to do "something something" on their system; once that was done, he managed to get online *smiles*

PS: Don't ask what "something something" is because we really don't know! tongue.gif
tinkerbel
post Nov 29 2009, 06:27 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@zwanvedder,
Ah.. oKies doKies so "something something" is now to just enable 3G services; now that sure is easier to explain to newbies *smiles*

@azim61,
So.. does it work?

@iphoneiphone,
It shouldn't take up that much; text files are generally not humongous in size!

tinkerbel
post Nov 30 2009, 12:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@clautee,
Perhaps it's in the pipeline *shrugs*

@iphoneiphone,
If you're using your phone just for IM purposes, 500MB is definitely more than suffice smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Dec 11 2009, 11:54 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@wolverinc,
You actually can check your usage via Settings.
tinkerbel
post Dec 12 2009, 04:07 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@wolverinc,
Shocking it went overboard; as in the settings usage is not accurate or u used too much?
tinkerbel
post Dec 16 2009, 09:02 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Ken,
I'm glad but if you'd trusted us earlier U wouldn't have had to worry for an entire month before your bill came tongue.gif

@yvonnesoo,
Wifi isn't/shouldn't be charged. Wait for your Maxis bill to arrive and if it's wrong, put in a report.

@mingdynasty,
Go to a Maxis store and get them to enable 3G on your SIM / phone number.

@rasyid,
Yes U can. Read the pinned threads for more information.
tinkerbel
post Dec 16 2009, 03:47 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@coduosp,
It really depends on where you're located. HSDPA speed is possible at certain areas.

@sexbomb,
That's another solution but what's the point of having an iPhone when U can't make use of its other uhm.... benefits?
tinkerbel
post Dec 16 2009, 09:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@xpresside,
Honestly, in the 2+ years I've used an iPhone I haven't had any problems with Maxis over-charging me.
tinkerbel
post Dec 17 2009, 07:55 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@butterflydarling,
Just don't start downloading stuff; know how much data U have and keep to that limit.
tinkerbel
post Dec 19 2009, 10:59 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@sexbomb,
I used my iPhone 3G for about a year without it automatically connecting to the internet. Just go to unlockit.nz on ur iPhone Safari (if the website is wrong, please check the pinned threads cause I'm not 100% sure) and create a fake profile.

After that's done, ur iPhone shouldn't be able to connect onto the internet on its own.

@dinozilla,
Sometimes even paid apps have it; like connecting to their 'Achievements' site and all, etc etc. But obviously U can choose not to go.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 19 2009, 11:00 AM
tinkerbel
post Dec 19 2009, 03:14 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@theseller,
No problem - just won't be able to Internet Tether if you're on Celcom.
tinkerbel
post Dec 19 2009, 03:32 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@diegoadriadona,
Read the pinned threads:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1000739

tinkerbel
post Dec 19 2009, 06:47 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@sexbomb,
There's and TT session tomorrow @ KL Sentral and =Hanxz= has very kindly offered his services FREE plus U get to ask all sorts of silly questions we normally will 'tembak' u if u ask here so maybe U should avail urself if you can.

Get info on the TT at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1229732

@diegoadriadona,
Yes.. by default Internet Tether is OFF. Also, when you're tethering, u'll see a big blue box at the top so U won't be able to miss it!
tinkerbel
post Dec 20 2009, 02:55 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@theseller,
Yes once upon a time u would haf to change settings to Internet Tether but with the latest FW that might no longer be possible but hey technology keeps changing so we wouldn't know - I'm with Maxis so it really doesn't affect me hence I don't quite follow the news *gulp*

@Kain_Sicilian,
Yes.. upload & download count towards ur 250MB quota.

@sexbomb,
Please keep this thread to just the iPhone Data Usage Issues; TT session go to TT thread and talk; haf fun at the TT and see ya, maybe! smile.gif

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0380sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:13 PM