18 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v2, Everything you need to know about bass!

htkaki
post Oct 22 2009, 10:39 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Poison en route to PG. I receive encrypted msg that there will be a small gathering to 'taste' the poison tongue.gif

htkaki
post Oct 23 2009, 03:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 23 2009, 10:36 AM)
Will be eagerly awaiting the FR from the PG bros on the EQ1 smile.gif
and waiting to see waterfall chart too.

anyway, was surprised that Ketam opit closed for half day. Bajet? Stuck again sad.gif
htkaki
post Oct 23 2009, 11:51 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Frankly speaking, if this goes on, I better throw in the towel.
htkaki
post Oct 25 2009, 09:17 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

ROTFLOL...... laugh.gif

htkaki
post Oct 27 2009, 12:37 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 23 2009, 10:36 AM)
Will be eagerly awaiting the FR from the PG bros on the EQ1 smile.gif
if i do have a spare unit of EQ1, I'll bring the unit to you when I am in Ipoh.

I knew that you are after quality bass. Most ppl will notice that the 'oomph' is gone, no more in your face bass after running EQ1. Always an option to run it hotter than at 75dB. Not many will be going for neutral since majority running their subs hot. There is this guy who told me that he runs his at +5dB rclxub.gif Say bye-bye to details
htkaki
post Oct 27 2009, 08:53 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Forgot to add that his setup is in haywire too. It's like a disco in there. Just whoompa whoompa BOOM BOOOM. But he is darn happy sweat.gif And I am not referring to our fellow logit85 tongue.gif
htkaki
post Oct 27 2009, 12:24 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Because looking you are at powderful subwoofer that amplifier need big big watt. Only best the sub fits requirement your. Forgetting not shaking bass when listering. So, your class is him above smile.gif
htkaki
post Oct 27 2009, 04:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes. Just imagine what it could unleash when it is being run 'hot' even if it is SVS 12-NSD.

Will arrange the EQ1 for you test. Maybe when we meet up at Ipoh.
htkaki
post Oct 27 2009, 10:25 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Am I safe to say that you run your subs extremely hot? whistling.gif Not worry that the plaster ceiling landing on top of your head? tongue.gif
htkaki
post Oct 28 2009, 08:31 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Oct 28 2009, 01:08 AM)
i have ask him about shipping Elemental Designs Subwoofer
he said the shipping quote.  Just received.  Shipping for the two Elemental Designs A7-900's to your door in Malaysia will be $1350 USD.  That would make your total for the 2 Elemental Designs A7-900 $5850.00 USD total price to you.  I have been in the warehouse today helping the shipping department prepare one of the large shipments, and have not be available for chat.  I do apologize, as I would have enjoyed sharing this through chat with you.

Wow very expensive shipping sad  cry.gif  rclxub.gif
i like it 2 Elemental Designs A7-900's because i like to louder
Not bad for 2 of the best sub in around for the price of it.

So, it is about RM25,350 for 2 behemoth quality subwoofers. IMHO, not really expensive considering its performance over price ratio. Each would be almost equivalent of the price of an award winning 'ultra powerful' sealed sub that is available locally. Then again, I think it would be safe to say that it is a total massacre when A7-900 goes head to head with it whistling.gif The only winning factor : WAF since the other is of dimunitive size.
htkaki
post Nov 4 2009, 02:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Remy, are you free next Sun? Wanna come over?
htkaki
post Nov 4 2009, 02:27 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Nov 4 2009, 02:17 PM)
whats yr operating hour? might drop by this weekend
Bro, I am sorry as I will be in Ipoh this weekend to visit jchong and SVS customers' homes. And few hi-fi shops too. How abt next week?

Date? I have to work this Sunday 8th Nov. Bloody Maybank annual disaster recovery event  sad.gif

oh wanna come over as in your pad or mpyw?

Remy, next Sun lah. Not this coming Sun. Next weekend, will be going back to fine tune AS-EQ1 with SPL1200-Ultra.

You go to mpyw's pad 1st. Then, to my pad wink.gif Ask taikor s6xs9x whether want to tag along or not.

htkaki
post Nov 4 2009, 05:55 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Something for bass freaks whistling.gif :

TF2 : ROTF

IMAX opening sequence that let's you know you're in an IMAX theater
108db

Opening sequence up to the title transformation.
110db peak

First fight China
Big Decepticon with giant wheel transforms and punches the ground. Highest peak of the movie.
114db shocking.gif thumbup.gif
Optimus parachutes down from the plane.
106db
Fights with the monster Decepticon.
109db

Sam and Megan on phone. I took this as a reference to what normal speaking levels were at.
70db-75db

Bumblebee fighting the household appliances and destroying half the house.
104db

Optimus voice during military talk.
80db-96db

All spark retrieval. Some of the shots from the jaguarbot(don't know what it's called) on the government building holding a piece of the allspark.
104db

Megatron rescue
Diving
105db
Spark in chest
109db
Surfacing destroying the aircraft carrier
107db
Landing on the moon of Saturn the Fallen is on
107db

Fembot blows up door in the bedroom and when she enters the library.
106db

Starscream's and Megatron's footsteps in warehouse when they captured Sam and his friends.
105db

Battle to save Sam in warehouse where Optimus jumps over everyone while shooting. It felt like there will be some very deep bass.
105db-111db

Forest
First part of fight 103db-109db
Second part or fight 107db
Optimus gets killed and as he's falling there is some really deep bass.
106db-113db

Decepticons crash landing from space onto the aircraft carrier.
104db-107db

Ancient Blackbird thransformer
Transformation.
104db-106db
Falls down
104db-108db

Blackbird warp travel
Taking off from the field with the planes.
108db
Crash landing in Egypt or Jordan(can't remember which one).
108db-110db

Starcream
Shoots at bumblebee while they're driving to Optimus.
104db
EMP burst to knock out communication links.
105db

Devastator
Transformation
103db-110db
Sucktion and battle battle with twins.
103db-106db

Sam and Mikaela in the Arabic house. The footstep of the Decepticons and the house being blown up.
109db

Bumblebee fights red Decepticon usind the wheel belt as a whip.
103db-105db

The Jordan army helicopter crash.
105db-107db

Sam running from the blasts. Sounds like a heart beating.
104db

Scorpion blasts out of ground to attack Blackbird Autobot.
104db-106

Devastator killed by the secret super gun on battleship.
102db-104db

Fighter jet drops around 10 bombs on the Decepticons as the Autobots run for it. Huge explosion!
104db-110db

Fallen teleports in and takes matrix from Optimus's chest.
106db-107db

Fallen on the pyramid using his anti-gravity power to raise all the army vehicles into the air, then drops them. Sounds like a really good mix of bass frequencies!
105db-110db

Optimus vs Fallen
106db peaks

This is really a good torture for subwoofer. No wonder ronaldjoe mentioned that a lot of subwoofers bottoms out.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Nov 4 2009, 05:56 PM
htkaki
post Nov 5 2009, 08:40 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Sell it off and get the IMAX ver. Anyway, read postings in another forum that IMAX's audio is 4dB 'quieter' than the norm ver. Most of them saying AQ is the same. While only a few noted that the dialogue being a dB higher.
htkaki
post Nov 7 2009, 08:49 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Good article althought a lenghty one. Very informative.
htkaki
post Nov 10 2009, 10:38 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

It's almost a different thing. The norm Audyysey (except Pro) cannot effectively do correction for LFE. Hence, you need another application to do so. The sub EQ comes into picture. However, most of the subs' EQ have limitation; only taming peak to a certain degree or it is a single band EQ.

So, if you do need to have a very balance (flat) curve, you need more capable device to do that.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Nov 10 2009, 10:38 PM
htkaki
post Nov 11 2009, 10:59 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

FUYOOO....!!! Just like those HazMat containers. The display panel is darn big too. 5' wide.
htkaki
post Nov 15 2009, 10:40 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

There is a similar sub by Elac. Model is MicroSub 2010BT (iirc)
htkaki
post Nov 15 2009, 10:50 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 15 2009, 10:44 PM)
Taukeh how was the audition today? I missed it. Peasant got to work today.
Went on quite well. Near flat graph really need to get use too as robinlim did not particularly like it. However, bryanlee and his friend like it. They said that the 13-Ultra's bass is tight and powerful. Lazy to elaborate here. When you are free to come over, pls let me know.

htkaki
post Nov 15 2009, 11:13 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I will let you test 3 diff settings.

1. EQ1 on with Audyssey MultEQ XT Flat. All channels calibrated at 75dB

2. Same as above but 13-Ultra run hot; +3dB

3. W/o EQ1. Only AVR doing the job. Sub being set at 75dB.

Jz remember to bring along ur fav BDs.

18 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:43 PM