30 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

seantang
post Oct 3 2009, 01:36 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Oct 3 2009, 11:53 AM)
All i know is my aunty is married to a singaporean, work in singapore more than 10 years and she is still a employment pass holder. not sure whether she is not able to get PR or she didn't want to apply bcoz of the CPF deduction. But i am wondering what is going to happen to her when she retire... singapore will kick her out while all her family members are singaporeans?
Same thing for my uncle. He's not willing to give up Malaysian citizenship and can't be bothered to get PR. My aunty and all my cousins are Singaporean citizens. He's been given a long term social pass.

seantang
post Oct 4 2009, 05:17 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Oct 4 2009, 04:17 PM)
just a question, will it be wise to include your side business in your resume? Recently I was promoting my drinks at a flea market at sunway lagoon club and the MD of Sunway Lagoon Club & HR like my entreprenurial spirit and suggested that I send him my resume cause he knows that I am an auditor from Singapore.

Not sure will it show my potential employer that I am dedicated, resources, ambitious and entreprising aside from Sunway?
If the resume is intended for a general business management job (eg. MD, GM, Biz Development etc of a business or business unit), then yes. They are looking for someone with wider outlook, experiences and skillset. In many cases, the remuneration can match whatever profits a personal business can generate (adjusted for lower risk, of course), so they are not afraid of you suddenly leaving them to run your own business.

If it's for a line or operational job like dept manager, process leader etc... I wouldn't include it. Best case is it'll suggest that a line job is just a stepping stone until you're ready to leave. Worst case is that it'll suggest that you'll not give 100% effort to the job and are a high risk for possible conflicts of interest.

seantang
post Oct 5 2009, 11:34 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Oct 5 2009, 06:55 PM)
Manage to get an engineering job in Singapore. Would like to have some advice and opinions on renting room in singapore. My work location would be in Tuas and Jurong shipyard area. There would be a company transport pick up at Choa Chu Kang MRT.

I'm not pretty sure on the environment of the locations in Singapore. Maybe you guys can give me some recommendations on the location there.
Yeah, like chess gal mentioned... all the HDB towns in Singapore are quite homogeneous. They are planned to the last detail and are typically self-sufficient clusters within 10-15 minutes walking distance. So there'll be food courts or large coffee shops (like small food courts), mini-marts, a wide range of small shops (eg. phone shops, little makan places, bakeries, clinics, S$2 shops, fruitsellers, newsagents etc etc) within every cluster of HDB blocks.

Then for every HDB town (consisting of a bunch of clusters), there will be a hub. The hub will contain the largest commercial area in the town and is typically built around a MRT station and/or a shopping center / supermarket.

I recommend staying around the hub in CCK or Jurong / Jurong East... so that you're near the MRT station and supermarket. Stay in CCK if you really want to take advantage of the pick up, but I would prefer to stay around Jurong Point (commercial hub, decent shopping center and MRT interchange station). There should be regular buses going to your workplace.

I usually choose a HDB block that's within 10-20 minutes walking from the hub/MRT and with at least one bus route (preferably more) from my block/doorstep to the hub/MRT (in your case, place of work). A direct bus is important if you don't want to arrive at work all hot, wet and bothered... and potentially stinky by lunch time.

seantang
post Oct 6 2009, 08:29 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(siren @ Oct 6 2009, 12:29 AM)
I heard a speculation that in 2010, RM will strengthen against SGD.
Did you also hear why? I heard that in 2010, SGD will be RM3 or more.

QUOTE(siren)
Thus, should we convert all SGD to RM by 2009 or should we wait till a more favourable rate or potentially weaken SGD in the months to come.?
Why put all your eggs in one basket? Especially when it's based on something you 'heard'.

seantang
post Oct 6 2009, 11:46 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Oct 6 2009, 09:10 AM)
Assuming the reason you convert back to MYR is to earn a higher interest say 3% higher than what we get in Singapore, are you sure that MYRSGD wont fluctuate more than 3%?
Need to consider inflation rates in tandem with interest rates. If the real value of RM is depreciating faster than S$, then the slightly higher interest rate is a moot point. Also need to consider transaction costs to convert the funds from one currency to another.

seantang
post Oct 6 2009, 11:48 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(lisayp @ Oct 6 2009, 11:30 PM)
I just get a job in Singapore.. will be working at Defu Lane. Nearby Kovan MRT. Any ideas how to get a room without owners and Malaysian housemates?? and normally in SG they do not allow to bring people home to overnite for max 3days/mth?
As my mummy will be in SG for once a month.  blush.gif
Just tell your housemates upfront that your mother (mummy... indeed, on a public forum tongue.gif) will be staying with you often. Tell them that you will pay 2 shares of the utility bills.

seantang
post Oct 7 2009, 12:08 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(lisayp @ Oct 6 2009, 11:55 PM)
But if staying with owner, normally they don't allow tenant to bring ppl home.  sweat.gif
Of course. You don't expect the landlord who's living there, to allow to treat his house like your personal hotel, right? Then, try to find a place without the landlord living there.

QUOTE(lisayp)
Im not familiar with SG. Which area will be more convenient like nearby hawker stalls and MRT? Nearby Kovan or Hougang, Serangoon MRT??
Just stay near any MRT station and you'll have all the facilities nearby as well.

QUOTE(lisayp)
SG is so bored...  cry.gif  cry.gif
Why do you say that?
seantang
post Oct 7 2009, 12:23 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(lisayp @ Oct 7 2009, 12:15 AM)
Its bored to me as i'm new there and i don't have friends there.  sad.gif
Then it's you that's the problem, not Singapore. Make more friends.

seantang
post Oct 7 2009, 01:30 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Oct 7 2009, 01:20 PM)
Sigh, I thought after 3 years in audit and a PR would be easier to secure a job in Singapore.
Had lunch with a former colleague now at Citi. He says changes in the banks are still ongoing and very severe. People can be in one day and out the next. Right now they are not really looking for backroom or entry level. They are looking for people who can generate revenue, service high net worth clients and develop business... so mostly AVP level and above (8-10 years min, better if bringing your own clients).

Added on October 7, 2009, 1:36 pm
QUOTE(chess_gal @ Oct 7 2009, 12:24 PM)
I've just tested the market recently (last saturday) and to date, yet to receive any interview offer. Gosh, this is freaking me out.
Have you made senior yet? If not, it's better to leave the Big4 as a senior. Experienced senior or fresh AM is even better. It is compelling evidence that you are capable of standing out amongst your peers, who are already amongst the best within the wider finance & accounting employee population. Best of the best, so to speak.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 7 2009, 01:36 PM
seantang
post Oct 8 2009, 01:11 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(dveHetal3 @ Oct 8 2009, 12:11 AM)
Why so many ppl loves to work in the banks nowadays? Mind to share?
For finance and accounting graduates, investment banks simply offer the highest pay & bonuses - assuming the same years of experience and general aptitude.

I have coursemates the same age as me driving Lamborghinis, while I have to think long & hard when considering something much simpler like a VW or Honda. Of course only a small % of bankers drive Lamborghinis but the potential is there. For MNCs, I can assure you that none of us, even the bosses, drive anything more than a Beemer or Merc.

Then why doesn't everybody go for banking... well, demand exceeds supply for one. And although the rat race permeates all industries, some find that the rats in banking are bigger and meaner.

seantang
post Oct 8 2009, 10:37 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Oct 8 2009, 02:24 PM)
Assuming you're in your mid-30's (which I hope so) your friend must be working in a Bulge Bracket and at least a VP position. While I may be envious of his achievements, I believe they dont come by easily. He must have paid his dues and slaved like a grunt (at least he was given the opportunity to).
Most of them are VPs of some sort (AVP, VP or SVPs). Bonuses were terrific during the good times. Enough to pay cash for condos at The Sail or Sentosa Marina even.

Slaved... maybe not. Most of them joined the big boys as AVPs after 8-10 years somewhere else. Sure, they've got to keep their eyes out for stuff happening in the mkts 24/7 but I wouldn't term it as slaving.

Added on October 8, 2009, 10:44 pm
QUOTE(nky_kevin @ Oct 8 2009, 03:59 PM)
You are referring to finance and accounting graduates only? Or other graduates also can work in investment banks?  For business field graduates to achieve great things got to at least get a master or PHD in Finance or Accounting? Well, I'm a Marketing undergraduate in Malaysia and is planning for my next 5 years plan probably in Singapore. Please advice. ohmy.gif I'm poor in firgures!
IBs hire anyone who can help them make money. But it's a given that you need to be good with numbers. How can people trust you with millions of dollars in cash and investments if you can't count? Come on lah.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 8 2009, 10:44 PM
seantang
post Oct 9 2009, 08:10 PM

6,624 posts

WP company, PR sendiri mari.
seantang
post Oct 10 2009, 12:31 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(dveHetal3 @ Oct 9 2009, 11:44 PM)
Bad for us again for those working in Singapore.

RM is appreciating against SGD.
What's your source?

According to this forex site, the rate has been banding tightly between 2.45 to 2.46 for the past 30 days. I don't see the depreciation you mention.

seantang
post Oct 10 2009, 01:32 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Oct 10 2009, 01:24 AM)
let us know if you are planning for food hunting, we are sure to tag along.
IeatIshootIpost organises regular makan sessions around Sg. He has a group in FB as well, so quite convenient.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 10 2009, 01:34 AM
seantang
post Oct 10 2009, 09:40 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Oct 10 2009, 02:17 AM)
But the normal food found in Singapore are mostly sucks.
There is good stuff... but you need to know exactly which store, which location, what time etc... and that's quite difficult when we're not local and typically limited to places accessible by bus/train.

For instance, the best yong taufoo I've tasted is at the 6th floor at Lucky Plaza, Orchard. Their fried meatballs are pretty unique. They have proprietry sweet and chili sauces which match any yong taufoo you can find in Malaysia.

If you go upmarket a bit, Imperial Treasure in Ngee Ann City beats any dimsum restaurant in KL.

So, there are gems if you have enough local knowledge and personal transport to find them, just as you're able to find the best places back home.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 10 2009, 09:47 AM
seantang
post Oct 10 2009, 10:07 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Oct 10 2009, 09:51 AM)
Hmmm, will try the yong taufoo sooner or later haha. But of cause upmarket 1 should be ok la. Thank you.
Got another one... Tony Roma's here. Got pork... KL don't have. When my cousin from KL was here, he whack Tony Roma's twice before going back.

seantang
post Oct 10 2009, 11:55 AM

6,624 posts

Latest Facebook group posting from the foodie blog I mentioned. If you are the sort who must chase food... there ya go.

Happenings in October and Crab Fest
To members of ieatishootipost blogs Singapore Best Food!
Leslie Tay 10 October at 11:07

Hi All,

I know that some of you who have come for the Ice Cream session have been eagerly awaiting our Crab Fest which I announced will happen in October. Unfortunately due to the Asia Pacific Blog awards, I have had to push this event to November. But it is happening and I will be posting photos of some of the crabs that we are going to have next week in the blog.

There will also be a poll to find out how everyone likes their crabs starting next week as well. So look out for that.

Because of the tight schedule, I have not been able to organize Durian Degustation as well, unless we have it on Deepavali itself. There hasn't been much requests on the facebook group wall, so I thought that maybe interest had waned. If there is any interest in any type of events please write it on the wall and if there is sufficient interest, I will certainly get to work on it.

On Oct 20, ieatishootipost will be featured in pilot episode of Channel U's new series, Food Specialists. This will be a 15 minute feature on the blog and its kakis, so do look out for it.

We do have an informal lunch session coming up at Bismillah where I have told Arif to produce the Ultimate Briyani for the kakis. Because space is limited, I posted the event in the events section of the group page but did not send out an invite. If you would like to come for that one please register through the forum. http://ieatishootipost.proboards.com/index...lay&thread=1490

Thanks very much and see you at the next makan session!

seantang
post Oct 13 2009, 08:03 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Oct 13 2009, 12:07 PM)
I am hunting for job in Singapore again. The higher your position is, the more difficult for you to get a job. sigh sigh
Ah but then? What did you expect? The pyramid is of course narrower at the top.

The job market is like the army. You have lots of soldiers, then a big bunch of sargeants, some officers above them and right at the top, a few generals. Sense to reason that it's harder to get a gig as a general compared to a grunt.

seantang
post Oct 14 2009, 01:32 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Oct 14 2009, 12:50 PM)
It's a Maybank to Maybank transfer so not for everyone (hence Maybank Regionlink). And bank rates are always less than money exchanger rates.

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/business/paym...e=oft-msia-phil

Flat rate of SGD15 for up to SGD10k.

Having said that I have not use this service before though I think seantang have used it previously?
I remember reading a few posts by him regarding this.
Ya, I use this to pay my remisier in Malaysia. I transfer money from my MBB Sg account to my MBB Mys account and then into the stockbroking firm account. The funds are received in Mys the same day.

The exch/rate is about the same as airport or bank money changers, but probably RM0.01-0.02 less per S$1 sold compared to the neighbourhood ones. But I doubt many small money changers can do a S$20K cash transaction right here right now. And the convenience of being able to do everything online & the relative security is what I'm after.

As for money changers transferring the money for you... I heard of Western Union (for eg. at Lucky Plaza) but I don't know about the small money changers. What kind of guarantees do you have that they will not screw up the transfer or worse, simply screw you? Lets say you don't receive the money in your bank account in Malaysia... then how? Won't it be a big hassle to follow up with the bank and the authorities, eg. get evidence that the bank didn't receive the funds, get evidence that the money changer didn't transfer etc? I mean you can trace the funds flow via the banking system, but you will have to write a lot of letters, make a lot of phone calls and need to see a lot of bank officers on both sides of the causeway.

That's why I still prefer Maybank. I transfer the money online from my Sg account, immediately log on to my Mys account and I can see whether the money's there or not. Anything.., I call their customer service.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 14 2009, 01:33 PM
seantang
post Oct 16 2009, 04:00 PM

6,624 posts

PM button not working?

30 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0551sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:23 AM