Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

seantang
post Sep 17 2009, 10:36 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Sep 17 2009, 10:14 AM)
i miss him too. during his time there are so little shits happend compare to current state where the whole nation is drowning in shit.
I don't miss the old horse at all.

Why do you think all this 'shit' is happening? Who was the one laid all the foundations for the current problems? Who castrated the judiciary? Who made it a policy for all top govt servants and GLC appointees to be UMNO nominees? Who made the NEP "a way of life" in that all things from licences to scholarships to govt contracts to APs to job promotions always involved the primary first question: "tak ada Melayu yang boleh buat?"... before Chinese and Indians can even be considered? Who declared Malaysia an Islamic nation and opened the doors to the radical Islamisation of govt and public policy? Who changed UMNO's strategy to out-Islam PAS? Who initiated all the mega-projects which are nothing more than vehicles to distribute Petronas & EPF money to cronies?

Do you think the March 08 elections could have resulted in the Opposition breaking the 2/3s BN majority and taking 5 states (now 4 lah after Perak) under Mohd s/o Kutty? Most of the Opposition leaders would have been in Kamunting by Feb 08.

Kutty had the good fortune of exceptional economic growth and fresh crude oil to soften the impact of his Apartheid policies. But he is Bapa Apartheid Malaysia, no less.
seantang
post Sep 18 2009, 10:57 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Sep 18 2009, 10:42 AM)
well i dont know much about his policy etc during his time since i was a kid and not interested in politics. but i do miss the time where malaysia is in a much peaceful state compare to what we are having now, after badawi take over his place.
That's because you were a kid. Ask a kid today, is it peaceful? He'll still say yes. It's not like Malaysia is now like Lebanon or Iraq etc. It's just that things are now much clearer, and people are speaking up. Unless you're an adult who's politically aware and understand what's going on, for a kid... life still goes on as usual.

seantang
post Sep 18 2009, 01:37 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(BABIyat @ Sep 18 2009, 11:19 AM)
in my opinion...
the current PM can do well,
with a plus for appointing Idris to his office
i can see theres hope
One swallow does not a summer make.

If appointing Idris Jala as "KPI Minister" (whatever that is) is all you can come up with, then we're doomed.

If those responsible for the cow head incident are not imprisoned and whipped, and Utusan Malaysia is not banned and its editors detained under ISA, we have no hope.

seantang
post Sep 18 2009, 09:48 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(cubix @ Sep 18 2009, 09:42 PM)
what's the currency rate for Sin dollar now?
Too lazy to Google?

seantang
post Sep 19 2009, 01:41 PM

6,624 posts

Have a safe trip for those who're heading home for raya. Have a good holiday.

I'm at the budget terminal waiting for my flight back to Ipoh. Surprisingly, not too many people flying today.
seantang
post Sep 21 2009, 03:17 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Sep 20 2009, 10:54 AM)
does this mean that we are not allow to download drama in SG?
Intellectual property laws says that you cannot obtain, possess or distribute any intellectual content without the express permission of the rights owner. You need to download TVB dramas from a site owned or licensed by TVB or it's representatives, or possess formal permission from TVB to download it from some other site.

QUOTE(Lester1987)
can we bring them in from johor then?
Customs regulations state that all items imported into Singapore must be compliant with the laws of Singapore. If it is contrary to intellectual property laws, I don't think you will be allowed to bring them in.

seantang
post Sep 25 2009, 12:21 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Sep 24 2009, 11:56 PM)
1 more question to ask those sifus here. i see in the 1st page that we can drive our malaysia registered vehicle into sg. but what are the charges like driving into sg if we stay in JB. i know on weekdays we need to pay $30SGD if wanna go in as a tourist but what if we have work permit, do we still have to pay that? what are the charges like if we go in by bike? anyone can answer my question?
I think we've covered driving Malaysian vehicles in Singapore already. Earlier in this thread, with links to LTA and Onemotoring etc. Do a search of this thread.

seantang
post Sep 26 2009, 12:47 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Sep 26 2009, 12:36 AM)
anyone bought th 9m draw toto? Cant log into singapore pools to check for the result!
Put 20 bucks into the company pool. Hopefully can get something lah.

seantang
post Sep 26 2009, 11:30 AM

6,624 posts

Does anyone have any info or leads on whether/how we can export a 10 year old Singaporean car (ie. COE expired, to be deregistered/scrapped) back to Malaysia? Particularly the taxation, customs procedures for the export, and then JPJ inspection and registration.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 26 2009, 11:30 AM
seantang
post Sep 26 2009, 07:58 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(dveHetal3 @ Sep 26 2009, 02:02 PM)
Hope this thread may provide valuable info for you.

Check it out here.
Thanks, man. It was helpful. Damn,.. they still tax 10 year old cars.

Added on September 26, 2009, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(skysherly @ Sep 26 2009, 05:54 PM)
If I want to go there, I guess it's just the changes of environment only. Even though some times their pay is ok but the expenses oso quite high, right?
Right.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 26 2009, 07:59 PM
seantang
post Sep 27 2009, 11:43 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Sep 26 2009, 11:08 PM)
I tot ASEAN car tax won be high?
And there should be tax exemption if You brought a car which has been use by you for more than 4 years together with U when u come back to Malaysia Permanently?
There's a difference between AP used by corporates (ie. cronies) and individuals (ie. normal folks like you and me).

For those returning to Malaysia permanently, there is tax reduction, but not exemption due to the age of the car. Even then, our 1Malaysia concept will definitely ensure that a 'case-by-case' assessment is applied by the local customs and JPJ officials you are dealing with.

The only 100% exemption so far, are those under MM2H.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 27 2009, 11:44 AM
seantang
post Sep 28 2009, 03:55 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Sep 28 2009, 03:42 PM)
hehe, just got the job with Apple... will start on the 16 November.... anything to prepare before leaving to SG??
Congratulations. Are you working for Apple Inc or an Apple distributor in Sg?

Anyway, "anything to prepare" depends on whether & what relocation benefits Apple is providing you. The more they provide, the less you need to prepare.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 28 2009, 03:58 PM
seantang
post Sep 29 2009, 10:43 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Find The Way @ Sep 29 2009, 10:30 PM)
Yo guys, need advice here. Let say I am clearing my leave during notice period, and I got letter from HR stating that they are OK if I join/work with another company during this period, is it really legitimate by SG labor/employment law for me to join another company?

add on... I'm with PR status.
There is no law in Singapore or Malaysia or any other country that I can recall, that says you cannot work for two, three or four etc employers at the same time.

It depends solely on your employment contract,.. whether it says you cannot be employed by someone else while you are under the current company's employment. And even if it does, HR has already released you from such a clause.

seantang
post Sep 30 2009, 03:42 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(nky_kevin @ Sep 30 2009, 03:32 PM)
Hi people, I was wondering any Malaysians work in Singapore get company car to drive around? I must admit car is not necessity in Singapore. But I was wondering, is any company providing this fringe benefit?
My company provides a car allowance (enough to buy a S$70,000 car on 5 year loan) and 100% car interest subsidy to first level managers. The allowance goes up as your job level goes higher. According to our HR consultants, our benchmarked competitors do the same thing. Few companies actually buy a car as a company asset and let employees use it.

Personally, I reckon cash allowances are much better. I can choose whatever car I want, and if I don't want a car, I can use the cash for something else. It becomes like additional salary.

QUOTE(nky_kevin)
Also, regarding to the Tax.. Usually how Singapore Gov will tax foreigner that work there like us, Malaysian?
You are either taxed as a tax resident or tax non-resident., depending on the length of time you are in Singapore. Your immigration status doesn't matter.

seantang
post Sep 30 2009, 07:36 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(nky_kevin @ Sep 30 2009, 05:44 PM)
Wow, mind to tell me which line/industry are you in? Sales? Well, it is indeed nice benefit by your company, of course by working hard from a nobody to a first level manager is another matter. But what I can see here, the company wouldn't mind if you are a Malaysian or Singaporeans to determine what benefit you are entitled. I must say this is good. Isn't it?
If what our HR consultant tells us is true, then most Fortune 500 MNCs in Singapore offer some sort of car allowance to managers and above. So, it's not an extraordinary benefit.

In my company, the car allowance is given to any employee (ie. any function or dept) who is at the required job level. This is a benefit car allowance. Sales people are given a tool of trade car allowance which is available to all sales people regardless of job level.

It also doesn't matter what nationality or immigration status you are (citizen, PR, employment pass). As long as you're eligible, you get it. One of the reasons why I prefer MNCs compared to SMEs and small companies.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 30 2009, 07:36 PM
seantang
post Sep 30 2009, 08:28 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(nky_kevin @ Sep 30 2009, 08:10 PM)
Yup, thank for your advice. You have got your point there. Unfortunately, it is never easy to get into MNC regardless in Singapore or Malaysia. From the very beginning stages interview till entering the company, it is tough I must say. I have heard people complaining not even entering the second stage of the interview, what more working in MNC.
Not that hard lah. MNCs after all hire thousands of people. But of course, coming from a well known university and having experience at another global MNC or well known company helps a lot. Your interviewers could very well be foreigners (esp. in Sg) and having to explain why TAR Kolej is not spelt College and is not a university but can issue degrees... can be quite stressful.

QUOTE(nky_kevin)
Good that you are working in MNC. So, are you driving in Singapore? If let say you drive back to Malaysia, you got to pay the petrol yourself or company subsidize also?  laugh.gif
Driving on business, of course company pays. Driving for personal reasons, of course the company won't pay lah. No company in the world allows you to claim personal expenses. That's what your salary is for.

This post has been edited by seantang: Sep 30 2009, 08:29 PM
seantang
post Sep 30 2009, 10:38 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(nky_kevin @ Sep 30 2009, 09:52 PM)
What about UTAR? Is it recognized or known by Singaporeans?
No idea. Seriously, they have no idea what's UTAR.

QUOTE(nky_kevin)
Anyway is speaking wonderful English is an extra benefit working in MNC? If comparing interviewee A and interviewee B that are currently interviewing, if A speaks better English mean he stands higher chance even he came from so so university?
Fai wah. Of course good English is better than lousy English. But whether it'll be more desirable than coming from a well known uni... why would someone coming from a good uni speak worse English than someone from a so-so uni? Where got so clear cut +1, -1 kind of comparison in real life?

QUOTE(nky_kevin)
Since you are working in MNC, mind to share is it very heavy workload and serious organizational politics?
Yes and yes.

QUOTE(nky_kevin)
So, what car are you driving? Mazda 3?
Actually I don't have a car in Sg. But with the VW Scirocco and Kia Koup launched/launching this year... whistling.gif

seantang
post Sep 30 2009, 10:56 PM

6,624 posts

Didn't feel a dang thing. And my office is on a pretty high floor some more.
seantang
post Sep 30 2009, 11:35 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Sep 30 2009, 11:04 PM)
As expected.  cool2.gif
tongue.gif In my book, only interviewers and psychiatrists are entitled to expect detailed answers from closed (...Y/N) or impossibly open ended questions (can I survive in Sg?).

QUOTE(hkhk)
I at West coast of Singapore. I believe you are at somewhere at City Area? Seem like only those who are at west can feel the tremor?or ur office building have special design??
Ya, I'm at The Heeren on Orchard. Maybe it's because the West is closest to the point of origin in Sumatera. Or maybe buildings there sit on former landfills or reclaimed land.

seantang
post Oct 2 2009, 12:11 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Oct 1 2009, 11:39 PM)
See if your aunty got any friend acting as agent or not... help to find me a cheap cheap master room.
If cheap-cheap means less than market rate... why would any landlord want to rent out cheap-cheap? It's impossible, unless you want the agent to lie to the landlord about the market rate. In that case, the question becomes why will the agent lie for you? What can you offer him in return?

30 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0397sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:28 AM