30 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

seantang
post Jul 19 2009, 10:12 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(noelcantona7 @ Jul 19 2009, 09:38 PM)
IMHO, I don't really like the idea of cow and horse. Why? You hop in you must stay for at least 1 yr and have some projects completion before moving to another co. that alone "might" kill you. The reason being is that no co. will offer you higher with 6mths exp in SG, unless you are really lucky or you gain some cert. Or maybe really famous for your 6 mths stay.
Stay only as long as it takes to get his PR. Then he can move to any employer he wants without having to be sponsored for his EP/WP.

As for the 6 months or whatever Sg experience.., it's irrelevant. If 3.5K was already too low in the beginning, and 7-10K is the true range as you said, then the new company should be offering him 7-10K as that's what he should have been getting in the first place. Without needing any additional experience, he get double or triple his 3.5K. Not bad what.

The point is that he is apparently paid below the norm. If he can move, he can get the pay he deserves. The cow is his employer who gets him into Singapore, allowing him to get his PR. Once he has his PR, he can look for his horse.

seantang
post Jul 19 2009, 10:22 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(noelcantona7 @ Jul 19 2009, 10:16 PM)
lol, we are Malaysian!
So?

seantang
post Jul 20 2009, 06:11 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Jul 20 2009, 10:09 AM)
i'm looking for horse lo...
my cow seems a bit slow
Haha... I'm already riding a horse, but this recession, my horse behaving like a damn cow. Have put my resume out there again... just in case.

Added on July 20, 2009, 6:18 pm
QUOTE(TheMan @ Jul 20 2009, 06:00 PM)
Let's say if i get accepted by a company there, there will be a probationary period like one month or so right?
So if I have signed 1-yr contract for accommodation and 1 month later the company decides i'm not good enough, does it mean i'm screwed? has it occurred to anyone?
Therefore, don't screw up. Simple as that.

And of course it's occurred to us. Every time we sign a 30 year home loan agreement or 10 year car loan or simply have a family, we take a risk that we'll get screwed if we lose our jobs. A 1 year contract for a room or a flat is nothing in comparison. But that's life. Taking risk is a part of it.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 20 2009, 06:18 PM
seantang
post Jul 21 2009, 04:11 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 18 2009, 12:05 AM)
Maybank2u has the rate below for TT today to Mbb Mys.

Telegraphic Transfer Exchange Rate (Indicative) to Maybank Malaysia
Malaysian Ringgit Malaysian Ringgit  2.4260

The service charge is 0.125% or minimum S$20 (max S$100).
Mistake on my part. This is the TT service from Maybank.

Just used something else today, their Regionlink online money transfer. S$15 per transaction flat rate. Max limit is S$20,000 per transaction per day. If you do the transfer before 4pm, the money will be credited to your Malaysian MBB account on the same day. I got a rate of 2.426.

seantang
post Jul 22 2009, 10:38 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jul 22 2009, 10:26 PM)
an OT question...normally where you guys go for hair cut?? is it expensive??
I've been here for 4 years and I've never cut my hair here even once. I always go home to my favourite barber in Ipoh.

The cheapest is probably those traditional Indian or Malay barbers. Around S$8. But quite hard to find nowadays.

Next is the quickie cut places in shopping centers where they cut your hair very quickly and vacuum you all over afterwards, like a dog in a canine salon. S$10.

Then you'd have those salons. I hear it's about S$40-50 a haircut at places like Jean Yip. Cheaper if you go those Auntie or Ah Lian salons in the HDB estates.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 22 2009, 10:39 PM
seantang
post Jul 24 2009, 10:34 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 24 2009, 12:52 AM)
Anyone here working in business development?

Keen to join venture capitalist companies, any recommendation?
What exactly do you mean by "business development"? We've got a BD team in Sg but to me... honestly, I don't see them developing anything besides their golf swing.

Venture capitalists... you mean those private equity investors like KKR? Which side you do want to be on? The ones doing the investing or the ones asking for capital?
seantang
post Jul 25 2009, 03:56 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(aerisleo @ Jul 25 2009, 09:22 AM)
I am looking for a job in the banking sector in SG.
It seems that most employers(including MNCs)only want those with PRs....based on recruitment sites( jobstreet, JobsDB,Jobscentral,Monster SG)
For banking jobs, try efinancialcareers.com.sg

It's more focused on banking & finance.

seantang
post Jul 26 2009, 10:14 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(dveHetal3 @ Jul 26 2009, 12:00 AM)
Wah, what I can see in this thread is there are many Singapore supporters despite u guys are Malaysians.

If you guys visit Kopitiam or this thread move to Kopitiam, I am confident u will see many ppl bashing Singapore kind of replies.

There are many Malaysia bashing Singapore threads lately.
Malaysia will always be my home but I will of course support whatever's best for me, not some dubious social contract that someone's grandfather supposedly signed on my behalf.

Kiasu vs ketuanan... I'll take kiasu anytime.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 26 2009, 10:27 AM
seantang
post Jul 27 2009, 10:32 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(topmankl @ Jul 27 2009, 10:28 PM)
Eh... I know this may sound awkward, if HIV test turned out to be positive, does it mean I have no chance?
Of course. No country will consciously allow HIV positive people to migrate in, except for humanitarian reasons. Singapore is many things... but it is not a humanitarian.

seantang
post Jul 27 2009, 11:53 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Jul 27 2009, 11:37 PM)
And I came to SG for just 1.5 months and someone took off with my bag. biggrin.gif
Talk about luck.
Snatch theft?

seantang
post Jul 30 2009, 08:06 PM

6,624 posts

Something sent to me. American company and the sender seems legit in Linkedin. If anyone wants to give it a try, feel free to send your resume to the lady at her email below.
Hi, I work at AMB Property Corporation and we have an office in Singapore. We have an opening for a reporting manager and since I've never been to Singapore, I am hoping to gain some valuable contacts and networks with Linkedin and find qualified candidates for this opportunity.

I found your resume on Linkedin and felt you might know someone who would be interested in this opportunity. I have included the job description below. If you know anyone interested in this position, feel free to forward my contact - skim @ amb . com

Thank you in advance for any help and advice you can give me.

Cheers,

Sue Kim
HR Generalist
AMB Property Corporation

Major Responsibilities

Perform accurate and timely monthly and quarterly closing procedures.
Perform quarterly consolidation, analysis and preparation of reporting package for private equity fund.
Responsible for review of underlying financial statement information including acquisition, disposition, debt and ongoing operational activity prepared by accountants in Japan.
Ensure quality, accuracy and relevance of all financial and non-financial real estate operating information related to real estate assets for private equity fund.
Handle requisition from investors and investors’ auditor.
Work with Capital Partners on the administration of private equity fund.
Maintenance of Investment Level Returns for assigned portfolios.
Liaise with external auditors for private equity fund reporting in accordance with US GAAP and local statutory reporting in accordance with Singapore GAAP.
Work indirectly with in-house Tax Director and external tax agent to ensure timely and accurate filings of local country tax filing requirements.
Work with Singapore Controller to establish and maintain accounting controls, policies and procedures to ensure integrity of reports.
Provide guidance and supervision to subordinate.
Ad-hoc project as and when required.

Education/Experience
Graduate, ACCA or equivalent
6-7+ years of overall accounting experience, with minimum 2 years international accounting experience in private industry (Public/private mix preferred).
Has strong understanding and experience with consolidations and accounting for Long Term Investments.
Good understanding of international GAAP (IFRS) rules a must and U.S. GAAP rules preferred. Other Asia countries GAAP rules and real estate experience would be a plus.
Proactive, organized and independent problem solver.
Strong verbal and written communication skills.
Able to juggle several projects at once, work well under pressure and know how to prioritize deadlines.
Dedicated team player that is flexible and adaptable to change.
Strong computer skills (Excel, Windows, Word, Outlook, etc.)

seantang
post Aug 2 2009, 08:33 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Aug 2 2009, 07:46 PM)
May I know do u have this deal rite now? Really interested here. I may wanna rent the whole unit if below 1,000.
You're expecting yimyum to give up her flat to you?

seantang
post Aug 4 2009, 10:53 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 4 2009, 09:21 AM)
EXXONMOBIL  is recruiting. look at Sat Strait Times.
What kind of positions & in what depts are they recruiting? Their pay should be among the top MNCs, assuming it's not one of their local service center or JV operators.

seantang
post Aug 4 2009, 05:28 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 4 2009, 04:31 PM)
Process Engineers, Process Technicians, Chemists, Instrumental & Electrical Technicians , etc ...
Ahhh, I remember now. It all fits. Exxon Mobil has a plastics facility just started up in Jurong. Big new integrated cracker and also shifting their polymers from C4 to C6. Looks like all trains should be coming to full capacity in ~6 months time, judging from the fact they are hiring now. The expats who started up the new facility must be heading home soon.

If you have petrochem, straight chem or refinery & cracker experiene, this is an opportunity.

seantang
post Aug 7 2009, 12:11 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(dveHetal3 @ Aug 6 2009, 11:01 PM)
Wow, Singapore CPF contribution for employee portion is 20%... Tat's mean your take home pay is lesser and lesser..
The eligible salary is capped at 4500. This means the maximum that you will ever pay is 900 a month (20% of 4500).

QUOTE(dveHetal3)
Furthermore, unlike EPF in Malaysia, you can't withdraw all your funds once you reach 55, CPF Board will only release your savings to you by installment.
I suggest you do some research before shooting off a "factual" post.

For us (West Malaysians) who return to Malaysia, CPF will be essentially like EPF for us. We only get it ALL back when we turn 50 or 55. From the notes section in CPF withdrawal form CPF-MC (Application to Withdraw CPF by Malaysians Residing in West Malaysia)...

NOTES

CONDITIONS FOR WITHDRAWAL

To qualify for withdrawal under section 15(2)© of the CPF Act, a member must satisfy ALL the following conditions:

1. He is a Malaysian citizen.

2. He has left Singapore permanently to reside in West Malaysia.

3. He is either:
(a.) 55 years old or above, or
(b.) below 55 years old but above 50, and has not worked in Singapore in the two years before his application, or
(c.) physically or mentally incapacitated from ever continuing in any employment or is found to be of unsound mind.

4. He does not hold a valid Singapore Work Permit or Employment Pass.

If you satisfy all the conditions listed above, you may apply to withdraw your CPF savings. Please complete and return this form to CPF Board, Withdrawal Schemes Department, 79 Robinson Road, Singapore 068897 together with copies of the documents stated below. Copies of all documents must be certified true by either a Notary Public or an official from the Singapore High Commission/ the Embassy of the Republic of Singapore with his official seal/stamp duly affixed. Certifications by a Justice of Peace are not acceptable.

DOCUMENTS FOR WITHDRAWAL

1. Malaysian identity card (both sides).

2. Malaysian passport showing your passport number and personal particulars (if applicable).

3. Letter from the Work Pass Division confirming the surrender of your Singapore Work Permit or the page of
your passport showing the cancellation of the Employment Pass (if applicable).

4. The page of your passport showing the cancellation of long term pass/dependant pass (if applicable).

5. Letter from the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority confirming that you have renounced your Singapore
citizenship (if applicable).

6. Letter from the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority confirming the cancellation of your Entry Permit and
Re-entry Permit and the renunciation of your Singapore permanent residency (if applicable).

7. Doctor’s medical report dated within 6 months stating your current state of health, level of incapacity and
disability to work (applicable if you are applying on medical grounds).

8. Your bank passbook showing your name and bank account number, if payment is to be credited to your
bank account. If your CPF monies are to be credited to a foreign bank outside Singapore, please also
provide the full bank address and SWIFT code.

seantang
post Aug 7 2009, 10:46 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Aug 7 2009, 10:41 AM)
what do you mean? Is that u still contribute 900 if your salary more than 4500?
Yup, that's exactly right.

seantang
post Aug 10 2009, 10:12 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(freestyle @ Aug 10 2009, 09:19 PM)
is it true singapore fixed deposit rate is around 0.5% for 3 mths? why so low one? malaysia is 2%.
Yes it's true. Can get up to 0.8%. Why? Supply and demand. Singapore banks attracts a lot of cash inflow and the BLR also lower.

QUOTE(freestyle)
so where do you guys save your money if the interest is so low? wanted to put my money in the new amanah saham malaysia (can get 7-8%), but goin to work in singapore soon, any advise?
Besides bank accounts, buy shares (dividend or capital gain), put in trust funds or buy property.

I wanted to invest in those Amanah things too, but I can never bring myself to queue up like damn cattle the whole morning just to give someone my money.
seantang
post Aug 11 2009, 01:38 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Aug 11 2009, 12:10 PM)
i think not worth it coming to sg with tat kind of offer as u already earning RM3.2k and u have all ur frens n family here..
That depends on whether Malaysia or Singapore has more opportunities. If Singapore has more jobs and more importantly, more jobs that are larger in size and pay better - then it's really a very small issue if you're underpaid by a few hundred S$ for a year or two. Focus of what's the probable maximum pay you'll get in Singapore after say... 5 years vs the equivalent you'll get in Malaysia.

Take my case for example, I worked in my company in KL for 6 years before being transferred to Sg 4 years ago. After just 4 years in Sg, I'm already 1 level above the chap who hired me in KL. That would have never been possible if I insisted on remaining in KL. Furthermore, the highest finance job level in KL was the guy who hired me. The highest finance job level in Sg is 4 levels above me, so the room for growth is still huge. At least another 6-10 years before I have to look to a larger location with even bigger jobs like Shanghai or US/Europe.

seantang
post Aug 11 2009, 06:45 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(retnuoc @ Aug 11 2009, 04:11 PM)
Hi seantang, thanks for guiding a good path for me. Actually I am initially working as an EE engineer in an IT comp. But comp reallocate me to IT department due to company strategy. That's why I won't like to move. This company salary and benefit is quite good, my starting pay is 2.6k and they rise my salary to 3.2k after 1 1/2 yrs, so I am confused whether wan to accept or not. But I think is time for me to escape from my comfort zone
It's all about potential and room to advance.

If the Malaysian job is a dead-end, and/or the Singapore offers a stepping stone to great opportunities - then move by all means.

If both sides also neither here nor there... then you'd have to take a risk either way you decide. That's when all the stuff like parents, gf, use of a car come into play.

Btw... to that chap to mentioned opportunity cost...

- house: if you believe that property prices always rise long term... then it offsets the opportunity cost of paying the loan instalment and property taxes even though you don't benefit from staying there. Furthermore, if you save more (in RM terms) by working & renting a place in Sg plus paying the loan - then you are still better off on a net basis. That's the beauty of 2.4.

- car: sell the car. I sold my car when I left KL and put the sales proceeds into B.Toto. The current value of the shares plus accumulated dividend is enough for me to buy a brand new car (same model) if I come back to Malaysia today.

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 11 2009, 06:47 PM
seantang
post Aug 11 2009, 11:40 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(retnuoc @ Aug 11 2009, 11:31 PM)
By the way, nice job for your Bjtoto. But for my opinion, if aim high dividend there are still alots high dividend stock which have capital gain potential also.
Which ones? Share abit lah. I simply go for the sin shares (entertainment/gambling/drinking/smoking). In Cantonese, piu toh yum chui.

30 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0548sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:56 AM