QUOTE(seantang @ May 4 2010, 04:10 PM)
Perhaps July will be GE? Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups
Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups
May 4 2010, 04:13 PM
1,695 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
May 4 2010, 05:45 PM
May 4 2010, 07:36 PM
I believe life bored bcos all of us no car.
This is why I bought an OPC car in Jan 2010, then every now and then I can go here and there and life wasn't bored anymore. |
May 4 2010, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(bigmoneymaker @ May 4 2010, 07:52 PM) Added on May 4, 2010, 8:49 pm wow, how much the opc car there cost??? is it a second handed car??? your monthly salary is much enough to cover the purchase of a vehicle? I bought the Kia Cerato Forte ori price is $51K, then OPC minus $17K = I just need to fork out $34K. and the monthly installment only $320, and bcos my company give me a fixed traveling allowance of $240 a month bcos I been transfered to Tuas, so I just need to pay $80 per month for the installment. and now I can drive all day long around the islandwide during weekends and dont feel bored anymore. If in Msia, really cant afford this as the price for this car is RM85K. |
May 4 2010, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ May 4 2010, 10:51 PM) The coupe looks really good man why didnt u get it ? Not that pain.yea, getting a car is one thing, but maintaining is another story. The painful part is the ERP and Parking. Whenever u park u need to put coupon. The 50cents coupon seems very cheap but if u need to park for few hours then its gonna hurt. I wanna ask if any of u actually cheat on the coupon or not, lol My car comes with 3 years or 100,000KM free maintenance, after 3 years I may sell or retain it. As for ERP, I seldom pay it as I usually drive it during weekends or after 7pm during weekdays as there are fewer ERPs. In the end, only petrol that I need to fork out. Having said that, the cost is only slightly more for taking MRT and bus to Tuas which cost me approx $5 per day. Unlike KL, you will kena toll 365/24/7 non-stop and still need to stuck in the jam. |
May 4 2010, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ May 4 2010, 11:36 PM) Still have road tax (albeit discounted) and insurance. Ya, true.. but the savings in my installment is enough for me to cover such expenses.Maintenance is not 100% free. Consumables (ie. wear and tear items) like tyres, brake pads, non-service fluids, off-interval lubricant changes, air cond servicing are not typically covered under the free maintenance deal. Overall, I still find it much more cheaper to own and drive a car in SG compare to MY. |
May 4 2010, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ May 4 2010, 11:54 PM) My stumbling block to buying a car is not the cost of purchase. It is the limitation of the years of ownership ie. 10 years before you have to renew the COE... and in most cases, the COE renewal is more than the residual value. It all depends on oneself, if you really enjoy driving or speeding on the nice roads in SG compare to driving in KL with roads full of holes, then one may pruchase a car.I get a nice car allowance and 100% interest subsidy on the loan, but I still can't bring myself to buy a car. Just feels so much more 'worth it' to use the cash for savings or to buy shares. If your interest is to own a dream bangalow in Msia when you retire, then one may save or invest your money rite now and purchase a dream house after you reached 55. For me, my interest is to reach any of my destination in style compare to taking MRT or buses especially during weekends. |
May 5 2010, 02:02 PM
May 6 2010, 02:14 PM
Any one have any idea on this?
Mum = Malaysian PR Dad = Malaysian PR But their baby born in SG, so the baby will be Singaporean or Malaysian? |
May 6 2010, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 6 2010, 02:43 PM) I can answer u this. Singaporean. Unless when the Baby reach 21 years old and decided that he wants to be a Malaysian, then he need to nego with Malaysian gov. U mean the baby is not recognised as a Malaysian at birth?So, the only way is to let her mum to go over to JB and give birth? BTW, will it make any difference if his dad is a Singaporean citizen? This post has been edited by Jurlique: May 6 2010, 02:47 PM |
May 6 2010, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 6 2010, 03:03 PM) ok, i know smth about this bcoz my cousin is a mix. Dad = Singaporean, Mom = Malaysian WP holder (until today not a PR), She is staying in Singapore since she was born. and my aunt told me, she need to choose which country's citizenship u want to hold when she reach 21 years old. and guess what? if she choose Singapore, she have voting right here, if she choose Malaysia, she can vote in Malaysia. Wah, cant imagine such racist attitude still occurs in Malaysia's society today. It is so unfair.Not trying to be racist, but i guess if both Parents is PR and Child born in SG and if the parents is non-bumi, i dun think Malaysia will accept the child as a malaysian. editted, My cousin was born in Malaysia My situation now is one of my relative, ie both parents are Malaysian PR resiting in SG and her mum is going to give birth perhaps in Aug 2010 and they prefer their son to become a Malaysian. Both the parents are Chinese. So, the only way is to go to JB to give birth rite now? On the other hand as per your case, I wonder why your cousin husband's wife cant be a PR? I tot if either husband or wife is a native Singaporean, then its spouse can easily apply for a dependent PR? |
May 6 2010, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(cks2k2 @ May 6 2010, 03:33 PM) Definitely not Singaporean. You don't get citizenship automatically by being born there anymore. but AFAIK, SG now encourage ppl to become their citizen bcos the birth rate of native Singaporeans remain low.My cousin is Malaysian with SG PR. Her husband is Filipino with SG PR. When she gave birth, they had to choose between Malaysian or Filipino citizenship for her baby. They chose Malaysian, and registered with Malaysian embassy in SG. Then they registered with SG govt to get dependent PR status for the baby. What happens a lot is ppl forget to register with the embassy, then get into trouble. This is why SG gomen attract couples to give birth more by granting 4 mths of maternity leave. |
May 8 2010, 02:10 AM
May 9 2010, 11:08 AM
May I know does M1 cap their RS download limit?
May 10 2010, 01:45 AM
May 10 2010, 10:34 PM
Anyone signup for the World Cup package?
It seems reasonable at just $66 for 64 live matches... = $1 for 1 match. I am going to signup tomorrow to enjoy my HD world Cup. |
| Change to: | 0.0617sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:59 AM |