Need advice on buying GENUINE DS games., I'm very desperate and not feeling safe.

TSLKH9
post May 17 2009, 10:29 PM, updated 17y ago

18 posts

Anyone with experience please give me some important hints on what to look for when checking a brand new Nintendo DS game cartridge. I'm from Ipoh, and there are no places that carry genuine DS carts, only R4 cards. I've been doing a week of homework through the net and learnt quite a bit about pirated carts, like GOLDEN 'nintendo' logo, serial number font, etc. But the case is, I've never touched the real thing, so in a real situation, I really can't differentiate them for sure. Because nowadays pirated DS carts are already quite good with the looks and the manual contents, no more like those in the 2006's.

So now, I ordered a cart from a shop in Ipoh Parade over here and paid RM 50 as deposit. The guy says he's ordering it from KL. I seriously told him that it MUST be original, he says yes. I just can't trust them all, the salesperson maybe doesn't even know what's really original. I'll go and collect the ordered cart this weekend. So, I need some practical tips on this. I must own this game!

Buying Nintendo games is not safe and easy. The price actually doesn't matter as long as it's original, just not pirated copy sold at original price as 'original'. Even those pirated 10_in_1 gba and gb games are being sold at RM100+!

This post has been edited by LKH9: May 17 2009, 10:35 PM
gundamalpha
post May 17 2009, 10:33 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

The best way to tell is whether the serial on the sticker matches the back of the game cart.. Other than that I can't really help because I haven't got any fake yet. Or alternatively you could buy from some reputable sellers like kyoyagami from this very same forum nod.gif
PhoenixByte
post May 17 2009, 10:40 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

kyo n ooj are ur safest bet smile.gif
TSLKH9
post May 17 2009, 10:41 PM

18 posts

I've read something about that too, but, on the sticker?, isn't it the black code on the back?? I couldn't search for detailed pictures about those. I always believe this is the most practical way, can you provide some pictures about the code on the sticker and on the box?

I don't have credit card, so can't order like this. blush.gif
gundamalpha
post May 17 2009, 10:45 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

The front sticker on the cart should match the black printed code on the back of the cart. Kyo and ooj accept bank transfers, you don't have to use credit card if you were to buy from them.
hafez13
post May 17 2009, 10:45 PM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

there good to see that theres 1 more ppl in the light side laugh.gif
anyway,

u may wanna see this article
click here,different betweek ori and fake
dario_julius
post May 18 2009, 01:27 PM

50 posts

Another safe bet is to make sure your game is sealed and in front of the packaging you can see KPDN's (?) silver sticker just like how you can see on many covers of ori CDs or DVDs. If you're buying a used product, check the code at the back of the cartridge and make sure it matches the one in front. Hope that helps.
Pr1me_Minister
post May 18 2009, 01:45 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(dario_julius @ May 18 2009, 01:27 PM)
Another safe bet is to make sure your game is sealed and in front of the packaging you can see KPDN's (?) silver sticker just like how you can see on many covers of ori CDs or DVDs. If you're buying a used product, check the code at the back of the cartridge  and make sure it matches the one in front. Hope that helps.
No no, even pirated anime VCD/ DVD have the "tulan" sticker, and not all original distributors bother to get those pointless stickers. Unfortunately if the print quality of the box cover is good enough, the only way to verify it is to open the box and check its content.
  • Instruction Booklet - Pirated ones are often very thin and missing a few pages, check the page number. And games published by Nintendo will always have its booklet printed in full colour.
  • Health and Safety Precaution Guidelines - A must have in every DS games
  • Gold connector for the game cartridge - Gold are resistant against oxidation which is ideal for electronic contact points
  • Nintendo Power/ Club Nintendo leaflet - Contains serial number which can be used to redeem points on Nintendo's website, only for Nintendo published games.
  • Various promotional leaflet/ poster - Optional

This post has been edited by Pr1me_Minister: May 18 2009, 01:46 PM
Kyoyagami
post May 18 2009, 02:02 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

In the case of anime, that's more like legal piracy.

We won't know what companies really do, but the cheap ones being sold here, normally the anime is just the anime. example, my Bleach movie.

btw, I'm kyo, the guy who sells original Nintendo titles. tongue.gif
zorocaster
post May 18 2009, 04:02 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ May 18 2009, 01:45 PM)
No no, even pirated anime VCD/ DVD have the "tulan" sticker, and not all original distributors bother to get those pointless stickers. Unfortunately if the print quality of the box cover is good enough, the only way to verify it is to open the box and check its content.

• Instruction Booklet - Pirated ones are often very thin and missing a few pages, check the page number. And games published by Nintendo will always have its booklet printed in full colour.
  • Gold connector for the game cartridge - Gold are resistant against oxidation which is ideal for electronic contact points
  • Nintendo Power/ Club Nintendo leaflet - Contains serial number which can be used to redeem points on Nintendo's website, only for Nintendo published games.

I would like to add that the game manuals for pirated Nintendo DS games tend to be reviews lifted from review sites like IGN or Gamespot. I know cause I have two of them sitting at home.
Johnathan Sia
post May 18 2009, 05:57 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ May 18 2009, 01:45 PM)

Just one amendment: Not all games (even Nintendo published ones) have this leaflet with the serial number. Wikipedia has a listing of DS & Wii games that have these numbers.
Pr1me_Minister
post May 18 2009, 06:06 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ May 18 2009, 05:57 PM)
Just one amendment: Not all games (even Nintendo published ones) have this leaflet with the serial number. Wikipedia has a listing of DS & Wii games that have these numbers.
Really? All my Nintendo published games have one. I guess I'm lucky to choose the games that includes the leaflet.
TSLKH9
post May 18 2009, 06:55 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(zorocaster @ May 18 2009, 04:02 PM)
I would like to add that the game manuals for pirated Nintendo DS games tend to be reviews lifted from review sites like IGN or Gamespot. I know cause I have two of them sitting at home.
This is what I'm worrying about too, because as I said, nowadays pirated carts tend to be quite 'official' looking. From my research in the net, some of those pirated carts do have a complete booklet! Very dangerous... I believe the serial number on the fake cart tends to be square looking. About the Nintendo leaflet, I think it's only for games made by Nintendo itself will have it, like Mario. The game I ordered is by Konami, so it won't have it I suppose.

Ok, ok, one more thing I forgot to ask. How does the plastic seal of a brand new game look like? I read that the official plastic shrink seal can no way be imitated, it's very special looking I suppose. While the fake one can be done even at home with a hair dryer, so it looks very cheap. When I go there, I'll open and check the whole thing thoroughly, if fake, then refund my deposit and yell at the salesperson.

Actually, I don't have a DS yet, when I successfully own this game, then I'll buy one. I played it in emulator, but my mind tells me that I must get the real thing coz I love it very much. Emulator and ROM is just not real, already stopped playing it.

One of the many pages of my research.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/flavios/sets/72157617483070248/
http://72.14.235.132/search?q=cache:juvacb...n&ct=clnk&gl=my

This post has been edited by LKH9: May 18 2009, 07:05 PM
Kyoyagami
post May 18 2009, 07:06 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

The booklet should only contain information on the game. That's all. I find reviews to be quite a shocker in a booklet.

Well, the next time you need any help, let me noe. I'll do whatever I can to help out.

btw, what title is it that you're ordering?
TSLKH9
post May 18 2009, 07:08 PM

18 posts

Castlevania, Order of Ecclesia. I want a DS just because of this.
PhoenixByte
post May 18 2009, 07:09 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

just order from kyo or ooj..both of them are trustworthy n can accept bank in transfers.
Kyoyagami
post May 18 2009, 07:14 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Ah, order of ecclesia! Should've told us sooner. biggrin.gif nvm2. Do your best to get from the guy you ordered from. If it fails, you let me noe. biggrin.gif
viledante
post May 18 2009, 07:19 PM

414 posts

in my places, the pirated version have a white transparent cheap type of box, while the original have is black box with inside have a nintendo ds logo beside the cart.

Pr1me_Minister
post May 18 2009, 07:41 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ May 18 2009, 07:19 PM)
in my places, the pirated version have a white transparent cheap type of box, while the original have is black box with inside have a nintendo ds logo beside the cart.
European DS games uses this kind of packaging. But it's also common for pirated DS games in Malaysia.
gundamalpha
post May 18 2009, 07:48 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ May 18 2009, 07:41 PM)
European DS games uses this kind of packaging. But it's also common for pirated DS games in Malaysia.
Not all.. In fact I don't even have one with clear case so far and I buy from Europe pretty often

0.0199sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:41 AM