Upscaler/Deinterlacer, Common or uncommon?

TSgundamalpha
post May 17 2009, 01:08 PM, updated 16y ago

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

I'm just wondering, how many people here use such a thing? As we are moving to the HD world, old sources like Astro and video games sure suffer a lot in terms of PQ. If you do use one, care to share the model, review and where to get?
anfieldude
post May 17 2009, 02:45 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ May 17 2009, 01:08 PM)
I'm just wondering, how many people here use such a thing? As we are moving to the HD world, old sources like Astro and video games sure suffer a lot in terms of PQ. If you do use one, care to share the model, review and where to get?
There are a 2 ways to achieve this. One of the cheapest ways is to use the deinterlacer/upscaler that is available on mid to high level AVRs. The better ones like Onkyo/Denon/Marantz usually have HQV Reon/Realta/Faroudja chips that can do the job. The other way would be to buy stand alone one like DVDO, Anthem or Lumagen to name a few.

I have used the HQV Reon before and found the improvements for Astro subtle. This is because of the compression rate on Astro signals is phenomenal. There is nothing much a video processor can do to improve them. I hope to have my hands on a standalone highly rated Lumagen by the end of the year and will feedback on the results once available. On the other hand, the Reon did improve the DVD signals pretty well. This is because it is a clean and proper signal unlike what is being broadcasted by Astro now. Garbage in garbage out.
TSgundamalpha
post May 17 2009, 02:53 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

I'm very interested in getting a DVDO for myself.. but can't find it anywhere around here
aegis`-
post May 17 2009, 02:55 PM

1,480 posts

oh there is a upscaller for astro as well?
where can i get this and what are the price like

TSgundamalpha
post May 17 2009, 02:56 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

To be more precise, DVDO VP50 Pro. Any idea who carries this in Malaysia?

Added on May 17, 2009, 2:58 pm
QUOTE(aegis`- @ May 17 2009, 02:55 PM)
oh there is a upscaller for astro as well?
where can i get this and what are the price like

I'm not sure about the local price, but one normally goes $800 ~ $2000

This post has been edited by gundamalpha: May 17 2009, 02:58 PM
anfieldude
post May 17 2009, 03:19 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ May 17 2009, 02:56 PM)
To be more precise, DVDO VP50 Pro. Any idea who carries this in Malaysia?

Added on May 17, 2009, 2:58 pm
I'm not sure about the local price, but one normally goes $800 ~ $2000
If you are using it only for Astro why not get the DVDO Edge? The VP50Pro would be better utilized if used with a projector to maximize benefit.

I don't think anyone carries it in Malaysia. You might need to order from US direct. BTW The VP50Pro will be close to USD4000 if I'm not mistaken. The Lumagen Radiance is ~ US4500. DVDO Edge is cheaper at USD500 I think.
TSgundamalpha
post May 17 2009, 03:22 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

No, not for Astro. I have other sources with 240p/480i running through RGB itself nod.gif Just need to do some cable mods from the sources
mpyw
post May 17 2009, 03:45 PM

3,603 posts

Mediaplex is the dealer for DVDO products.
But the services sucks!
I've asked for prices a few even when myself presented in the store (MVM) and with the products in the store but they cannot give me a price!!!
They promised to call back but no call had been receive for at least 3 times they taken down my handphone no.
Maybe I just looked not rich enough to be their customer....
Maybe u wanna try your luck there...
TSgundamalpha
post May 17 2009, 03:46 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Mediaplex in KL right? sad.gif
mpyw
post May 17 2009, 04:04 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ May 17 2009, 03:46 PM)
Mediaplex in KL right? sad.gif
Yup...
I think they hv outlet in KLCC & Mid Valley
megatron007
post May 17 2009, 05:14 PM

4,000 posts

same...i walked in also they dun layan me

macam "hollow man" sad.gif
htkaki
post May 18 2009, 12:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ May 17 2009, 04:04 PM)
Yup...
I think they hv outlet in KLCC & Mid Valley
KLCC outlet was closed down months ago
xchris
post May 18 2009, 09:32 PM

136 posts

with this sort of "good service" sure close down...
TSgundamalpha
post Feb 5 2010, 12:16 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Finally found a Videon Omega HDP, just what I'm looking for deinterlacing 480i/576i sources smile.gif
anfieldude
post Feb 5 2010, 01:44 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Feb 5 2010, 12:16 PM)
Finally found a Videon Omega HDP, just what I'm looking for deinterlacing 480i/576i sources smile.gif
How much is it?
TSgundamalpha
post Feb 5 2010, 03:13 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

I bought it 160euro.. very good built quality as it was suppose to be a $1600 machine when it first came out
braveheart
post Feb 10 2010, 10:08 AM

208 posts

Using a VP30 now. So far so good.

Still got a unit of HD+, thinking of giving it out to be used but it's a bit cranky off and on. Intermittent nuisance problem. No service centres here except Mediaplex.
mpyw
post Feb 10 2010, 11:41 AM

3,603 posts

I think the new DVDO EDGE is very good at USD520 (Amazon price)...add in USD100 for shipping....at RM2200, u get what's selling for RM8k just 2 years back.....and it's new!
braveheart
post Feb 10 2010, 12:07 PM

208 posts

Yeah the Edge is a good buy for the price. And the best part is it can output to 2 panels. Only obstacle is to have to dig a hole thru the wall to connect the room unit and a longer HDMI cable.
TSgundamalpha
post Feb 10 2010, 12:13 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Eyeing DVDO Edge now, still waiting for better deal now

Added on February 10, 2010, 12:26 pmAnyone heard of Optoma HD3000 before? Wonder if that's available locally icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Feb 10 2010, 12:26 PM

0.0210sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:42 AM