Drums Dummring Feel, Help me T.T
TSdarkripper214
May 15 2009, 08:41 PM, updated 17y ago
I know i am abit silly to ask this question...
Recently... i am being scold by my drum teacher for not putting my feel when i plays the drum. I tried my best to feel it but still end up being scolded... Do any 1 know how to get the feel? or ways to focus?
again, how to improve double bass on single paddle fast ? ( like what kind of practice?)
Thanks ^^
reza.o
May 15 2009, 08:51 PM

get in the 'pocket',try to groove wthout doin any fills,just groove like quarter notes on snare double 16th notes on kick/floor,quarter on the hi-hat...try maintain this way remember no fill in,just lock in that groove and once you lock the groove add some accents on the hi-hat,just keep on goin,just kick,snare and hi hat...keep practicing doin this for like 30 mins to 1 hour,in four or five days time not only you understand what 'feel'is,but you also get to know what 'pocket'is..if you have metronome set the tempo at 90bpm. and one more thing,dont forget to maintain your dynamic at forte ie loud/strong
This post has been edited by reza.o: May 15 2009, 11:24 PM
nimrod2
May 20 2009, 06:44 AM
lol the feel of music is like the hardest thing to learn. any robot or person can play notes. only great musicians get out the feel of the song in a snap
little ice
May 20 2009, 11:36 AM
walao...scold you because cannot bring feel to your drumming?  you can listen to lots of youtube stuffs (or any CD). only listen to those which can move you, like you'll shake your body or nod your head when listening to their drumming. close your eyes, and pay attention to the sound than the drummer. next time when you practice your drum, try to virtually play the drumming you heard from the song inside your mind, and then try to put the same thing on the drum. you'll have to match the sound you hear from your drumming with the sound you hear in your brain. the concept behind is that you have a "goal" in your mind that you want to achieve, so you have a target. you'll have to match the sound you hear, with the sound in your mind, eventually your brain will adjust your hands and legs in order to achieve your target.