dota/wc3 hang/ black or green screen, any fix?

TSbeetch
post May 14 2009, 11:46 AM, updated 17y ago

429 posts

everytime i play dota, i get a black screen then the sound stutters to a hang. can't press anything on the keyboard.If im lucky i can play 30-40 mins before hang, but most of the case 10 mins already black screen.

i've tried everything,latest drivers,rename movie folders etc but to no avail.anybody sufferin` same thing here?

specs are C2D 2.2ghz cpu,geforce 8500gt card,8gb ram, vista 64bit and creative x-gamer live sndcard.

stephenrave
post May 14 2009, 11:49 AM

133 posts

check your fan . maybe is temperature overhead issue
jackdaniel
post May 14 2009, 11:55 AM

as above...

try open ur casing and put a big fan beside to fan it... see still hang a not..

This post has been edited by jackdaniel: May 14 2009, 11:55 AM
TSbeetch
post May 14 2009, 11:56 AM

429 posts

im using intel c2d with factory fan+heatsink. those chips are known to be super "cool" unlike amd ones. dont think its issue with overheating.

Added on May 14, 2009, 11:58 ambtw, my casing is open and my room aircond is on 24 hours a day so its a really "cool" room, sometimes feel like genting, super cold at night, so...not issue with heating im very sure of that.

This post has been edited by beetch: May 14 2009, 11:58 AM
r312
post May 15 2009, 09:01 PM

127 posts

ur PC spec is more then enought for that game , cous it a very light game
ok 1st thing ur program might have crash , if it's true reinstalling might solve the problem ..
2nd- i assuming ur playing those AI maps that's are unstable so it causes FATLE error
3rd - you are not giving enought source to help u out ..mind giving some screen shot or anything eles we dont know ..
TSbeetch
post May 19 2009, 09:16 AM

429 posts

i'll try re-installing that game but hate the part of inputing my cdkeys, gawd so mafan.

btw,it dont crash on normal game.it only crash in dota on battlenet. I dunno if theres cheat out there to crash ppl's pc but my friends dont have issues of crashing at all. Unfortunately i cannot take screen shot coz the pc just hang with black grey screen, can't see mouse or keyboard indicator just totally grey screen but the monitor is still on.

if i use my geforce 2mx card, the game never crash! if i use fx5200, it will crash, if i use geforce 8500 it crash as well. maybe not enuff power supply to the card?my drivers are all up to date.
Impale Lion
post May 28 2009, 09:51 PM

sometimes in Cyber oso like tat. korrupted or sometin. i alt tab then sometimes can fix.
kingkingyyk
post Jun 13 2009, 10:54 PM

15,694 posts

Swt, my friend also have same problem wif Core 2 Duo 2.0 + Sapphire 3470 512 ddr2. But my AMD 64x2 5200+ + Asus 8600gt magic acts good.

0.0132sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:05 PM