Discussion Glory Hunter, How you'd define one?

corez
post May 12 2009, 07:13 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

CoreZ reporting in thumbup.gif

Opps, I thought this is a thread where all Glory Hunters can spam together. blush.gif

corez
post May 12 2009, 09:51 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ May 12 2009, 09:44 AM)
I would like to stress, DO NOT discriminate glory hunters. They are also human who deserve respect. They have done nothing illegal. They help to increase the popularity, income and support for the club.
I like that thumbup.gif , be a Glory Hunter that buys original merchandise.
corez
post May 15 2009, 08:21 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ May 15 2009, 02:05 AM)
And if i may add, i totally disagree and disgusted everytime somebody talking about: 'Your football club' first, family comes second. I don't think everyone should prioritize football more than the other important things in your life, family, friends and religion for example?
QUOTE(Monstar @ May 15 2009, 07:57 AM)
I disgust you then. Liverpool IS my religion in a way. Its heritage serves as a beacon to me when leading my own life. I listen to Liverpool songs when I am down. I have Shankly's picture and quotes posted on my wall in front of my study. It motivates me. It guides me. It keeps my heads up and shows me the light at the end of the tunnel. It is as important as my family. It is one of the most important things in my life. My friends know that, my family knows that and my girlfriend knows that. None of them complains.
Why don't we just agree to disagree on this issue. This involves individual faith and we don't wanna to derail this thread sweat.gif
corez
post May 18 2009, 09:29 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(Zan81 @ May 18 2009, 04:53 PM)
Dude... You're in a room... Thousands of km away... If you turn off the TV, the only person who will feel the pinch is ESPN or the companies that advertise during that timeslot. But its also their loss la the game turns out to be a Liverpool-Milan Champs League final thing...
I think coarse language in stadiums are much worse than that, with the English's liberal use of the F word. The chants can be sarcastic but admitedly sometimes it does go a bit overboard. But in England compared to most other countries, they take it as banter and sometimes, it can be quite funny as well. I was lucky enough to catch a game there vs Boro, and the home fans were chanting "You'll never play here again", whcih was quite funny when you're in the moment. I'm sure the Boro fans were pissed, but heck, its all part of the game.

I suppose at the end of the day, you must be able to take it, but when it comes to your turn to give it, make sure you give kao kao!!
thumbup.gif Best reply ever thumbup.gif This is not the same as leaving the stadium where the players will see your action.

Added on May 18, 2009, 9:34 pm
QUOTE(Monstar @ May 18 2009, 08:39 PM)
Aboogee:

Argh. LYN had to crash when I have typing out my response. Its all gone now.

Nevermind. I am not going to go through the whole thing again. I just let you know my POV and you interpret it as you see fit.

THIS IS NOT ABOUT LIVERPOOL MAN U! I want to make this clear from the start. Man U people have this thing on jumping on everything that Liverpool fan says and turn it into a club rivalry thing. Yes, I am generalising. Go back analyse my post and twist my words. Deep down you know its true.

Anyway, back to my POV. I am a man of traditional values. I believe in unquestioned respect, undying loyalty, honour, dignity, honesty and everyone working for each other. I am a slight socialist at heart. Is not that I do not want trophies, but I believe that the values I mentioned and winning trophies are not mutually exclusive. And if they are, well, I would rather us maintain our pride and dignity then to work for the devil (no pun intended).

You see, I would be what is known as a middle of the road supporter. I am not the most hardcore in any sense. People go through greater lengths to support the club. And when these people gets screw over, I get pissed. I know people that have been match-goers for ages. They had to give up their ST because of the prices. And good luck trying to get a spare if you are not going to get a hospitality package or whatever. Most of the tickets are all allocated to worldwide fan clubs and sold on ebay to some rich kid from London which see supporting the club as a way to start conversations in fancy cocktail parties. But hey, its business. This people fly in, spend a bundle in the shop. It makes good business sense. But I just think that is unfair. The fans are the club. And fans that went through greater lengths for the club should be treated with more respect and consideration. But are they? Hopefully they are and I just don't see them.

Anyway, the bigger question, is the club selling its soul just to make that extra bob or 2? You have fans that puts on a jersey and yells the club's name only when they feel like it. You have fans that are more interested in the glory that hovers around the name of the club. You have fair-weathered fans that bothers when they are winning and can't be arsed to support when they are losing, knowing very well the that exact opposite is needed. You have fans that thinks they deserve the right to be called fans and go around bragging and taunting just because they buy a jersey every season. You have fans that think that its only a game when to some is more than a game. Is the club selling it's soul? Where does that leave the proper fans that were always there but are pushed off the spotlight because of these new 'fans'?

I am not against others being part-time supporters, it is a free world. Do whatever you see fit. All I am asking for is a little respect for those that really put their life's into it. For some it is a way of life, for some it is their life. Respect that. And no, part-time supporters are not going to be and shouldn't be respected as proper supporters. That is because they aren't.
I think we don't have problem with your POV, its just your original/first response to Abogee POV.

He just stated that he would not buy any fake merchandise because his club would not gain any financial gain from it. If that's his way of showing his support, who are we to say otherwise?

This post has been edited by corez: May 18 2009, 09:34 PM
corez
post Jan 27 2011, 07:14 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Jan 27 2011, 03:14 PM)
the purist definition is, you must support the team where you are or where you come from.. no question asked... if you ask any football fan in England, especially at the pub, not to mention the Kop, that what they will tell you... that's how they are brought up..
One of my friends attends a primary school in Manchester in the 80' told me that most of his classmates supports Liverpool due to their dominance that time. So they all are gloy hunter since they support a team 50 Km away? Even Beckham comes from London but if he were to asked whih teams he support in England what you think his answer will be? Giggsy comes from Wales so he must support a Welsh club? What about an expat son who was born in Selangor and stays here till his teenage years? Must he support Selangor?

While I agree that purist would like only locals to support their football club, technology has crushed these geographical barrier.

How about in USA where team are franchise and move across city. The fans have to move too? So those support wimbeldon have to move too?

What about United and City? Those in surrounding area of Old Trafford can only support United and those around Maine Road can only support city?

QUOTE(ProbMan @ Jan 27 2011, 03:32 PM)
I think this discussion is getting boring, long winded and out of topic. First of all MU fans are of course glory hunters, secondly this stupid thread prolly been started by MU fans who wants to give himself a convenience or reasons to accuse all people who support foreign clubs are glory hunters. Thirdly, even if this Glory Hunter term has not been coined up, most ppl will still think that MU fans are the most annoying in this world. period.
Still butthurt from our win at Blackpool? laugh.gif

corez
post Jan 29 2011, 12:19 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 28 2011, 02:50 PM)
I was at the stadium, your point being??
Pics or GTFO. Koh koh.
corez
post Jan 31 2011, 04:39 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 31 2011, 03:01 PM)
I think it's kinda cute that he's trying to justify himself, being the free-changing, multiple club supporting supposed fan he is. Don't you think so??

BTW, sorry couldn't join the meetup on Saturday, pyro. Would've liked to. Pongkes invited me actually. [b]But was busy jamming it up and making noise in corez's house.[\b] keh keh keh...
Pics or GTFO
corez
post Jan 31 2011, 05:36 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 31 2011, 05:13 PM)
Right, right. So the reasoning is, it's okay to show loyalty to an international brand, give them your money, help them fund whatever current or future projects despite there being local products you can buy and local movies around which you can go and see in order to support local.

But it is not alright to support a non local Football Club as there are local equivalent which operates in the same industry??

Well, I'm sold!!!

Talk about twisting situations to suit an argument ehh...
Dah la woi layan budak tu.

Kekawan tengah tunggu kat KLCC nih. Ais kerim dah nak cair.
corez
post Feb 1 2011, 03:03 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Feb 1 2011, 02:54 PM)
everyone points la, but like this:

Isnt that what Mr. BENCHMARK here asked us to do? point to ourselves and proudly call ourselves glory hunter. So yeah, why dont just everyone just admit we are glory hunter, and call it and end.

I start first:
Sorry if my format karangan is not right  blush.gif
You're late, I've started this years ago in this thread

QUOTE(corez @ May 12 2009, 07:13 AM)
CoreZ reporting in  thumbup.gif

Opps, I thought this is a thread where all Glory Hunters can spam together. blush.gif

corez
post Feb 1 2011, 05:20 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Feb 1 2011, 05:05 PM)
most of locals in manchester support manchester city instead of united... get my point ??   brows.gif
What's your prove? Source

Interesting facts
- United have had a higher average attendance than City EVERY SINGLE SEASON since 1947.
- When City won the league in the 1968, they had the 6th highest attendance in the country. United had the highest average attendance of 57,552, more than 10,000 higher than any club that season.
- When United were playing in Division 2 during the 1974-1975 season, they still had the highest average attendance of any club in the country, including Division 1.
- City have had a higher average attendance ranking than they have average league position every decade.
- Between 1946 and 1949 United played at Maine Road whilst reconstruction work was being done on Old Trafford after the bombings in the war. In the first season, when City won the league, United had an average attendance of 4,662 more than City at their own stadium. In the second season, United had an average attendance of 12,165 more than City at their own stadium. In the third season, United had an average attendance of 10,109 more than City at their own stadium.
- United have a higher average attendance than City for every decade since the 1940’s.
- Between 1947 and the year before the Munich Air Disaster, there was an average of almost 7,000 more United fans attending games than City.
- City were a more successful club on the pitch than United in the 1970s, yet there was a difference of over 13,000 in our average attendances, with United the best supported club of the decade.

In the 1950s…
City’s average league position: 15th
City’s average attendance position: 10th (1 year in Div 2 – position not included)
City’s average attendance: 30,028
United’s average league position: 3rd
United’s average attendance position: 4th
United’s average attendance: 35,667

In the 1960s…
City’s average league position: 18th
City’s average attendance position: 13th (3 years in Div 2 – positions not included)
City’s average attendance: 27,823
United’s average league position: 7th
United’s average attendance position: 2nd
United’s average attendance: 45,199

In the 1970s…
City’s average league position: 9th
City’s average attendance position: 6th
City’s average attendance: 35,178
United’s average league position: 11th
United’s average attendance position: 1st (1 year in Div 2 – position not included)
United’s average attendance: 48,328

In the 1980s…
City’s average league position: 20th
City’s average attendance position: 5th (4 years in Div 2 – positions not included)
City’s average attendance: 26,866
United’s average league position: 5th
United’s average attendance position: 1st
United’s average attendance: 43,090

In the 1990s pre Premiership/Sky…
City’s average league position: 8th
City’s average attendance position: 6th
City’s average attendance: 27,846
United’s average league position: 7th
United’s average attendance position: 1st
United’s average attendance: 42,654

EDITED: So, this is long before the glory fans rolled in. Even when United played at Maine Road after our stadium was being reconstructed following the bombing, more fans came to watch United play than City. So, what happened to all these Mancunians? Does it make any sense at all to believe that all these people coming to watch United in the 40’s changed allegiance and passed down a different team to their kids? Lunacy.
Regardless, it’s interesting to note that in City’s Europa Group stage match against Juventus, currently 9th in Serie A, only 35,212 fans bothered to show up, meaning the ground was less than 3/4 full.
The obvious excuse is the expense, however, with City all but giving their tickets away, in the vain hope of appearing to be the MASSIVE club they’d like to see themselves as, City fans could attend all three group stage matches for a total of £50, which works out at less than £17 a game. Tickets were on sale today for this game alone at just £10!
Useful information for the next time somebody tries to tell you all Mancs are blue.
Oh City are a massive club. http://therepublikofmancunia.com/all-mancunians-are-blue/

This post has been edited by corez: Feb 1 2011, 05:22 PM
corez
post Feb 1 2011, 05:32 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Feb 1 2011, 05:29 PM)
wow....so fast come out with facts... just my observation when I was there...
How long you were there? I stayed at Old Trafford doing my degree for 3 years. You can not be more wrong on your observation.
corez
post Feb 1 2011, 06:23 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

I've posted about this a couple of years ago about the MYTH of more Mancunian are City fans rather than United fans.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=24451292

QUOTE(corez @ Mar 18 2009, 07:15 PM)
Someone has done an analysis on the Man Utd and Man City Season Ticket Holder in Manchester itself. I know this is not a study of a club supporter itself but we could argue that number of Ticket Holder in a region will somehow related and proportionate to the Supporter itself.

‘Do You Come From Manchester?’: A postcode analysis of the location of Manchester United and Manchester City Season Ticket Holders, 2001 (Attached)

Important Points

- Perceptions about football support in Manchester centred around a popular, but contested, stereotype. This stereotype portrays Manchester United as unconnected to the city, with few local supporters and a fan base which is more national and international than Mancunian. Such portrayals also have Manchester City as a more locally focussed club with a strong Manchester supporter base.

- We were given access to the 2001 season ticket databases of both clubs.

- This is an analysis of Season Ticket holders only - we do not make any comment on the wider fan base (see ‘Further Research’).

- This is an analysis of data held in 2001 and both datasets will have changed since then (this is especially true of Manchester City, who now have considerably more Season Ticket holders).

There are lots of numbers in there but I just skip to the conclusion.

- In terms of the importance of football - and these two clubs in particular - to the city and region, these findings suggest that both retain strong local links and remain embedded in their host areas.

- This evidence also suggests that, despite the huge changes in football’s finance, organisation and consumption in the last decade or so - processes which have suggested to some that football has become ‘gentrified’ and has lost its association with ‘place’ - hard core support for both clubs remains strongly regional and local.

- Further, despite the contrasting fortunes of both clubs since the formation of the Premier League, patterns of Season Ticket holder location remains strikingly similar.

Link to the research
corez
post Feb 3 2011, 09:40 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Feb 3 2011, 07:47 PM)

In my case it was a certain mercurial Frenchman who got me attracted to the club with his suave football, which from then on got me attracted to United..

not because united are glamour and favourite to win most fooball matches week in week out and gurantee of good quality football ? lets say Cantona stayed at Leeds and they sucks and get relegated... would you support Leeds?

How sure are you he meant Cantona? It could be Obertan for all we know.

0.0419sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:32 PM