Discussion Glory Hunter, How you'd define one?

aboogee
post May 13 2009, 12:25 AM

1,090 posts

To be fair to the TS, the direction of this thread has gone wayward (As it is always expected when there is a neutral titled thread introduced)

The title of the thread was Glory Hunters. Id assume that one would discuss why do people become one, or what are the attributes and habits of a glory hunter. But the thread has gone on to become each and everyones own definition of a Glory Hunter, and it becomes pointless.

Find the definition of Glory Hunter from a neutral source, then discuss it from there, instead of being hypothetical with all the assumptions you can pick out from the sky.

What I do know about a majority of us, even in a microscopical sense, is that we are all Glory Hunters at one point or at a certain degree. We all claim that we loved the playing style, or the sheer heart and passion of the team and supporters, or the culture of the club, or the ancestorial origins etc etc but we forget to mention the trophies that we celebrated when we loved the same.

That goes to United supporters, Liverpool supporters, Chelsea supporters, Arsenal supporters (at least during their hay-day), id dare say Newcastle supporters (when they were challenging), Blackburn supporters (when the won the title) or even Nottingham forest (they won the european cup before me thinks)

This post has been edited by aboogee: May 13 2009, 12:28 AM
aboogee
post May 15 2009, 01:18 AM

1,090 posts

I admit, i switch off the TV when United are down 2 or 3-0 ... but i dont think it makes me a bad fan or a glory hunter... In fact the analogy of leaving your girlfriend/best mate/ etc etc when they are in need is completely out of context! Its watching bloody television. I still brood and mourn when the team loses, but to term me or ppl like me who switch off the telly as Glory Hunters just because we're losing, is preposterous and absurd

Maybe its human nature? You've watched liverpool drop so many points and lose or play crap every season to Arsenal when they went on their invincible run!! Wudve been much easier! And to you, id be a loyal supporter! LOL !!!

I passed by a pasar malam just now and they were selling all sortsa goodies of the Big 4, and i saw cute keychains etc etc and i thought to myself, i want to get these! But i didnt! why? Cos that means im not buying original United goods, and that doesnt help my club. Some might call it stupid, others might call it die-hard loyalists ... and im the same guy who switches off the telly when my team is being throttled, and the same guy who doesnt read soccernet for a week when they lose and the same guy who doesnt look at the back pages when we drop points etc etc

But to put a measure of our loyalty to the club, on the basis of watching their game, is derogatory if you ask me.

Im studying for my exams in less than a month away, so i didnt watch the game against Wigan last nite, in that context, it makes me worse off as a supporter? Puhleeez.

This post has been edited by aboogee: May 15 2009, 01:22 AM
aboogee
post May 17 2009, 03:53 AM

1,090 posts

QUOTE(verx @ May 15 2009, 01:19 PM)
So you turn off the TV when your team is losing, you stop reading soccernet news for a week (either because you're too embarrassed or you're brooding/mourning or whatever) and you find it preposterous and absurd when someone calls you a glory hunter? Look I'm not trying to offend you or anyone else here. To me the term glory hunter isn't even derogatory. And I believe that anyone who supports a big club are glory hunters in some measure even if they've stuck through the club through barren years and such. I just find your post kinda amusing actually.

And I agree with Monstar that merchandise, fake or original, should never be an indicator of how strong your support is. And your example about not watching due to your exams is out of context. Of course you have to be responsible enough to know when you have to skip watching football matches sometimes (because of work or study or family matters etc). I myself haven't watch every single Madrid match this season. But it's about the times you do watch and you see your team getting hammered. What do you do? Your actions define you. For the record I watched Barca's mauling of my team on home ground till the very last minute.
The correlation between buying the original merchandise and supporting the club is in the economic nature itself. Its like buying pirated dvds and not contributing back to the ppl who put in effort to make the movie, to which the inclination would be pure injustice to the ppl who put in the sweat and tears. I saved the same 5 bucks on that crap of a keychain and id contribute it to a fund to buy an original jersey. I distinctly remember when there was a heated debate on buying a fake jersey/AAAAAAA jersey and an original jersey. Fundamentally the contribution heads back to the club. On that basis, i find myself being a better supporter. Maybe to satisfy you, id have to go to Old Trafford every week to catch the game, then id fit the definition of a "REAL" fan since merchandise is the WORST manner of showing support to your club! Watching the telly during the game doesnt contribute to the club materially, going out and getting the goods does. You dont like it? Then next time send an email to Liverpool or Real Madrid and congratulate them instead of buying the jersey...

Ive never for one moment been embarassed if my team has lost, even in the most humiliating manner. Infact after i posted my last one here, only then did i remember after the 4-1 mauling to the hands of Pool which i watched at home via Livescore cos i switched off the tv at 3-1, i actually wore my United jersey to the mamaks and i wore it with pride, and i met my pool mates ! LOL! turned out to be the best thing cos i took a bet with him, that night itself when United lost to them, that United wud go on to win the league. Now i get to burn his Liverpool Jersey biggrin.gif

With due respect to your beliefs on the appropriate traits of a "REAL" fan, I dont think switching on the tv or switching off the tv wud make a difference to the way the match is being played or the final outcome. Neither do i believe that I have to sit and swamp myself in public whenever the team plays immaterial of the result. Its not about what you're doing during the match that counts, its your stance after the match.

When United lost 4-1, 2-0 consecutively, not once did i say that the team was rubbish, that we're going to capitulate in immense proportions. I stuck by my club...i will continue to do so, just as i said after we had gone 2-3 years on a barren run. (I cant be blamed if they havent gone on a barren run for 20 years so i can show my loyalty ...)

So for some of you, you can take the piss on whether sitting down and watching a football match is a measure of ure loyalty to the club, to me i think it counts for shite. So the likes of MariMo, you can laugh and roll on the floor laughing, but its the way that i support my team, whether theyre being mauled, or whether theyre dishing out the beating smile.gif

Verx - this post was originally intended for ya, but the nasty nature in it is towards the Pool fans who think theyre the worlds greatest lot. So extrapolate the necessary context and leave the tone smile.gif

This post has been edited by aboogee: May 17 2009, 04:04 AM
aboogee
post May 17 2009, 09:14 PM

1,090 posts

QUOTE(Monstar @ May 17 2009, 09:00 PM)
I have an idea for you then. Buy all the merchandises. Fook the games. They mean shite and are not important. Prepare 'supporting' keyboard warrior stance to be posted on forums after the game. Tadah, uber supporter! Oh, and remember to gloat at Liverpool supporters. That is a must as well. More important than cheering your own team on. Like I say, fook the game. Repeat process, buy jersey>claim undying support>fook the game>taunt Liverpool fans>brag to others after that. Whatever you do, just make sure you don't call the team rubbish.

And no, Liverpool does not have the greatest supporters in the world. Based on what a supporter is according to you, majority of us aren't even supporters. I am looking for a new term for us. Will keep you posted if I find one.
Thats all you got? You cant even refute the fact that what i said is accurate when it comes to contributing back to the club. Also you go on to add the 'gloating' and 'bragging' as one of the characteristics that i endorse, is a cheap shot on your part. If it makes you happy claiming that all United fans are poster/plastic fans, then go on and rock your boat mate... probably helps you sleep better at night.

But just because you've stuck through 19 years without a title or from whenever it is that you started supporting them, it doesnt make you a better fan than me. Just because you sit in front of the telly, week in and week out, regardless of the result, doesnt make you a better supporter than me. Thats my take, and you have your own.

On your claim that "liverpool does not have the greatest supporters in the world", id recommend u keep a close watch on the pool thread here in LYN and keep track of how many times your posters over there have laid claim to that title of Best Supporters In The World. Just because everyone sings YNWA at decibels not reached by many, or singing when ure losing, doesnt make you the Best of the lot ...

I probably shouldnt be arguing with you, because to you, all I am is a manc, and we're all glory hunters in your book. You can label me or the fellow United posters here as Keyboard Warriors, or Balls-less Forumers or Fans Without A Stand, and you can shag yourself silly thinkin of names for us, but i dont give a shite abt pool and their fans and what they label us. Live ive always said ... Pool fans... their like roaches, they only come out when theres dirt.
aboogee
post May 17 2009, 09:42 PM

1,090 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ May 17 2009, 09:26 PM)
No offense.But if he is generalizing, you are doing exactly the same thing he did. wink.gif

I wanted to add a disclaimer, throwing in Fyrekat and Duke as the exclusions, but i realised i dont need to do that. The proper football fans know they are proper football fans. Its a "siapa makan cili, dia rasa pedas" kinda thing biggrin.gif

But questioning the way that i support my team, and then going on to label us that which i detest, since all United supporters are on the receiving end of this Glory Hunter labelling crusade, is abit too much for my own liking. Those who dont like it, can go fly their grandmas kites...

I have tons of Manc friends that I like. I am in Manchester after all. Is just 'supporters' like you that makes me sick. You wanna talk about contributing to the club? I tell you what is contributing to the club. Not eating proper meals for 2 week just to get to a game to support your team. That is helping your club. Sending in letters to the club voicing your concern or support for the club, that is helping your club. Buying merchandise so that the money unnecessarily go to the yanks? Like I say, I don't care if we don't win anything. I want a proper club. A people's club. Not a fooking NY Yankees of Europe. I don't want a brand. I don't want a franchise. You might want one, but that to me is just against the very core of football clubs. Is people like you that made Manchester United in to a commercial entity rather than a club. Manchester USED to be quite a working class club you know. Nowadays? All the real fans are priced out. Only superfans that buys merchandises and them southern fairies goes to OT. You have a boutique. The games feel like a kids carnival. All these because of the great marketing people and people like you that thinks that because I buy a jersey I am the best even if I don't watch us when we lose. How is that helping the club? Unless your only concern is for the club to make more money to buy more players so that they will win the Galaxy's cup as well. Wait, that would make you a glory hunter though... You are not, you are the best supporters in the world.

On your claim that "liverpool does not have the greatest supporters in the world", id recommend u keep a close watch on the pool thread here in LYN and keep track of how many times your posters over there have laid claim to that title of Best Supporters In The World. Just because everyone sings YNWA at decibels not reached by many, or singing when ure losing, doesnt make you the Best of the lot ...
Lets us have our own fun. As long as we don't rub it in your face whats the problem with that? And if they do, go argue with them.

AND this is not directed at MU. I hate MU. But I am not blind. There are decent MU supporters out there. A lot of them are my friends. Is just this bunch of fans that buys into the fooking marketing thing and that calls themselves a real 'fan' that pisses me off. What does that leave the real supporters? I guess we don't matter cause we don't buy enough merchandises for the club to care anyway.
So? Just cos you're there gives you the divine right to judge fans for the way they support their clubs?

The same economical effect that ive gone on to defend is the exact reason behind what your beloved manager uses to hide behind his failures. He keeps on ranting abt Uniteds buying power etc etc. Im sorry that pool had to be on the receiving end of Rick Parry's rubbish and ineffective commercial enterprising, but dont blame United or the culture that we preach just because we have the dosh and fans contribute to that.

Like i said, to you, for me to be a good a fan as you, i have to give up my friends and family and career and studies and religion, so that i work the extra quid to fly over to OT to watch a game. Its more important that i spend all my money doing that then buying merchandise right?? In the same point, you're contradicting yourself. First u say, its better to not eat proper meals for 2 weeks and get to the game to support the team, then u say that only superfans and southern fairies go to the games. So which is it? Or have you confused yourself out of the equation???

Just because you lot are ineffective at commercialising yourself, makes you the peoples club ?!?! You're having a laugh mate! So United fans must be dogs and zebras for supporting them. We have a culture of our own, and a tradition of our own. If we're all just glory hunters you generalise us to be, then we'd be Cristiano Ronaldo United FC, since hes a sizeable factor to bringing us the goods.

I really cant help but laugh at your ongoing rant that United have fantastic commercial stance, and fans who support that are 'southernfairies'. LOL! and you must be the same guy thats hoping that the Kuwaiti billionaire comes in to buy the club and finance the players! Football isnt abt the money and supporting them doesnt make me money so quit using that as the basis of your argument cos its bloody rubbish! Even AW believes that the club needs to be run like a feasible economical entity or the club itself ceases to exist, cue Leeds!

AND you tell me let you have your own fun! Youre also claimed that you dont claim yourselves to be Best Supporters In The World. God, you're either really confused or your articulation is just rubbish. At the start of the sentence, u said Let us have our own fun, at the end of the sentence u say go argue with them. Sort yourself out.

Amongst all the rivals we have, i hate pool the deepest. But its not because of their admirable culture, im not one bit envious of anything in Pool. But what fuels it is their supporters who claim theyre the best. And why shudnt they?? Calling it as i see it! Pools won 18 titles and 5 CL and no one shud forget history. But to not give credit where credit is due...that United at this point are really better than you lot, or at least in the last decade, has performed immaculately, thats what pisses me. The due respect is not reciprocated. Thats just purely delusional.
Bask in your past glory, i dont mind. Bask in the general characteristics of your supporters, i dont mind. But dont be a cheap pariah and hone down on rival supporters just because you have a holier than thou attitude.

I dont give a damn abt what you think abt fans who 'buy into the whole marketing gimmick' ... first of all, it shows that you cultivate narrow minded thinking. For you, theres the fans who die to get the extra quid to go see the game, and theres the fans who spend their daddys trust fund to get the scarf. You're a typical Pool fan ...

This is the end of the debate for me. Its pointless debating with you. You wont have respect for the way the rest of the world preaches and practices, neither do i believe you have the rational capacity to adjudge the context of what ive written so its the same as me talking to the wall. Get rid of the 'im better than you in every way' attitude, then theres a microscopical possibility that you might be able to understand what ive written.

End of.

This post has been edited by aboogee: May 17 2009, 10:10 PM
aboogee
post May 18 2009, 05:32 PM

1,090 posts

QUOTE(Zan81 @ May 18 2009, 04:53 PM)
Dude... You're in a room... Thousands of km away... If you turn off the TV, the only person who will feel the pinch is ESPN or the companies that advertise during that timeslot. But its also their loss la the game turns out to be a Liverpool-Milan Champs League final thing...I think coarse language in stadiums are much worse than that, with the English's liberal use of the F word. The chants can be sarcastic but admitedly sometimes it does go a bit overboard. But in England compared to most other countries, they take it as banter and sometimes, it can be quite funny as well. I was lucky enough to catch a game there vs Boro, and the home fans were chanting "You'll never play here again", whcih was quite funny when you're in the moment. I'm sure the Boro fans were pissed, but heck, its all part of the game.

I suppose at the end of the day, you must be able to take it, but when it comes to your turn to give it, make sure you give kao kao!!
Theres proof that theres sane ppl in this world after all ... LOL

0.0334sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:07 PM