5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Discussion Glory Hunter, How you'd define one?

Duke Red
post Jan 27 2011, 04:40 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(ProbMan @ Jan 27 2011, 04:36 PM)
Whatever u think smartass, and if u wanna argue just go ahead. I'll just be on ignore mode that's it.
Ignoring means not posting dumbass.
Duke Red
post Jan 27 2011, 04:50 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jan 27 2011, 04:43 PM)
aha dont really need to bother about him, obvious douche is obvious
I like debates/discussions because there is an exchange of opinions and at some point you come to a stalemate, because everyone sees things differently. There is no right and wrong. In the end, we have to respect the fact that we won't always see eye to eye. What pisses me off is someone who criticises your opinion without offering one. I remember some of his posts in the Liverpool thread (actually had to google them again), and its the same each time.
Duke Red
post Jan 28 2011, 09:37 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 27 2011, 06:49 PM)
Couldn't have it put any better..  thumbup.gif

They wont understand..they live and die United,Liverpool and have lost the ground where they came from.
I guess they are more happy to see England beat Malaysia in an international due to they find England have more qualities and what politic n rasuah this Kop guy mentioned earlier.How stupid..despite how i against the government policy these days i'm a malaysian and i do not need to chose which team i have to support bcos it is already by default which team you belongs to.Same to the state team.You should have no right to choose but instead what you belongs to.The reason you go for another team it should be they are  big 3 or 4 team then.HENCE..glory hunter!

(to be precise..liverpool king of 80's,everton,arsenal in the 80's also,united king of 90's,blackburn newcastle arsenal n then united liv arsenal chelsea till now )

Now before you kops and glory united again asking what a glory hunter looks like,first ask your self again why choose that team to support then? it is sumthing to do with glory or past glory i believe and you can only be label as a 'loyal glory hunter' if you are still with that team that's all.
You choose to comment only on posts supporting your weak argument backed by nothing but your own shallow opinion, whilst at the dame time, ignoring numerous other points brought up by posters. If you want to support your local team because of their rich history and culture, that's your prerogative but don't knock something you obviously can't comprehend. Something millions of football fans around the world can.

You keep harping about how everyone is obligated to only supporting his hometown whilst ignoring posts pointing to the fact that the world is shrinking by virtue of technological advancements. You point out that there is no way any fan from abroad can feel and affinity to a team hundreds of miles away whilst ignoring my post on what Indonesian Reds do during Hillsborough.

Your definition of glory hunter isn't someone who doesn't know about the club, switches clubs regularly and has no affinity to it. Your definition is limited to the narrow scope of geography. So Korean BBoy groups don't understand hip-hop although they are amongst the best in the world. We know nothing about the American fast food culture. John Wayne Parr knows nothing about Muay Thai etc. if you refuse to embrace change but don't put down others for doing so.

You're becoming desperate and thus have started to form new terms with your own definitions. Tell you what. You go on creating new terms if you want. Fact of the matter is that your views are narrow. How so? Simple. Instead on discounting arguments posed to you backed by references or not, you continue to try to drive your point through.

There isn't a point in telling you how any of us started supporting foreign teams because A) there is already a thread on it, and B) you've already decided not to listen.

Duke Red
post Jan 28 2011, 10:21 AM

6,112 posts

You've missed a lot. The latest argument put forth is that you must support your local team ie Selangor, KL etc and if you support a foreign team you are a glory hunter. It's because you can't build and affinity with a team hundreds if miles away hence my argument on globalization and examples of how we have already adopted foreign cultures. That about summarizes it I think.
Duke Red
post Jan 28 2011, 05:03 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Jan 28 2011, 01:04 PM)
hey, don't you disrespect Alessandro. He is one of the respected die hard local football fans in this forum, and he is more rational than most of foreign league fans here. Your foul language sound desperate too.
The term, "glory hunter" is a term a lot take offence to. Some are, others aren't. "Talking out of your arse" isn't foul language incidentally. Foul language would have been censored. If you mean abusive language then do also take into consideration that one or two on your camp have also done the same.

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 28 2011, 01:06 PM)
When Glory hunter are being pointed out they butthurt..very obvious from the manner they replied.

Don't give yourself so much credit. It isn't hurtful that you are calling anyone who supports a foreign club "glory hunter" because you clearly have your own definition of the term. Your inability to counter arguments posed against you comprimises your credibility. Posters like me are not hurt by your labels as much as we are frustrated at your inability or reluctance to comprehend arguments which I imagine is why you don't counter them, with anything other than a "I don't buy it because that's the way I am" approach.

Actually in conclusion im just against people saying that if you fancy a few team you are a glory hunter.And you proudly says all your life have been supporting only one team so you are genuine..that is what beyond me!

Hah! Finally you have a point here. I'm against someone who says that if you support a foreign team, you are a glory hunter. Do not however confuse the "real fan" and "glory hunter" arguments. The "glory hunter" argument is posed against fans who jump clubs depending on who is winning. The "real fan" argument is against fans who don't know about their club and who don't think history is important. Saying you are a genuine fan just because you support one club isn't credence enough, you are right here. Everyone claims to be a hardcore fan these days.

To reply back this statement that's why i brought up all you who supporting One big club all your life are also glory hunter in fact.

This is where your reluctance to accept that there are people who support one club and who have been supporting it for up to 30 years or so, is a glory hunter regardless of why they have remained fans. So if you supported a top club then, and they are shit now, you are not a glory hunter. If they are still a big side now, you are?

A simple glory hunter is just a person who last year supported Chelsea while this year supported Manchester United. Because he chasing glory with the current glory team.End of story.

No arguments form anyone I believe.

So to a bunch of LOYAL BIG TEAM fans earlier who bash that fella who claim he likes Chelsea and Bayern at same time plz realize this.You have no rights to question people who likes more than one club bcos first of all you yourself is a glory hunter for being a big team supporter even how loyal yourself proclaim to be.

Did you even bother to read all the reasons stated? A lot of people follow other teams. In the past I used to follow Newcastle, Man Utd, Arsenal and West Ham games but there is only one team in my heart. Just because I am a Liverpool fan however doesn't mean I don't like watching the way Arsenal play. You can't however profess your love for two clubs. Do you think it's right to profess your love to two women? No, you pick one, marry her and you work on making your decision right. Please READ and more importantly, UNDERSTAND.

My argument stops here.We are all Malaysia fans afterall that you cant escape and avoid.
And try go to stadium and cheer out your local team even how louzy they are.
Slowly you will find your soul and the joy and the authencity what you belongs to. icon_rolleyes.gif
Again, you choose not to understand why so many stay away. How many Chinese do you see go? So all Chinese are unloyal cunts despite our forefathers dying fighting against the communist to protect our shores then? Geeze, the problem is bigger than you make it and just willing for it to go away, isn't going to address the issue.

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Jan 28 2011, 02:09 PM)
i dont deny his right to mourn to any international tragedy of his choice... but i found it ironic that an Indonesian  being sentimental about what happened to a group of Englishmen 20 years ago when it still pale in comparison to the number and magnitude of tragedies that hit Indonesia in the past 5 years alone... hmm.gif

So you're saying that they same guys aren't sad a tragedy hit their shores? Are you even certain they didn't do something similar just because I didn't bother to google it?

Even if you are right, it is testament to what I've been talking about. That someone can feel a deeper sense of connection to something miles away. You may not comprehend or understand it but it doesn't make it untrue. What I've been trying to do all this while is to make your camp realise and perhaps even be open to the possibility that we may have a point.

People who judged people who only support their local team as "katak di bawah tempurung" are the very reason why the term glory-hunters come to existences...

Again you fail to understand. I'm not calling someone who supports his local side "katak di bawah tempurung". I'm using that term to describe someone who isn't willing to accept that just because he doesn't know something, doesn't mean it isn't true. I'm using it to describe someone with narrow viewpoints and instead of trying to accept new information, is adverse to it. I'm using it to describe someone who doesn't want to admit that the world is changing amidst globalisation. I've already posted so many examples of how we have already been influenced. I'm NOT using it so describe someone who supports his local team. If you are adamant that I did, please cut and paste my statement and I'll gladly apologise for it.

i have been there in you place outside of your tempurung. I started my fandom to football as a foreign football suporter as well. At my heights, i can recite every first team squad for each of 20 teams in EPL and Serie A and numerous time got cought by the worden because sneaking out to watch France League Highlight at 3.00 am alone at the only TV in the big dark hollow school hall. my love for a foreign team of my choice and my idol was overflowing that it defines my indentity. You would notice my rather peculiar european-sounding nickname would be out of place for a farcist-nationalist local football fan. its a remnant of my former allegiance to my favourite european club.

but as my interest in football culture goes deeper. i started to question what i am doing. in my time, watching 3 european football match back-to-back does not even flex my attention stamina, but now i cannot watch 30 minutes of a EPL match wihout my hands reaching for the remote... i need more reason to do it..

What I'm saying is that some of us have found that reason. If you haven't fairplay. I have a friend who got me starting to support Liverpool but he doesn't follow the team any longer. If you've lost or never found that reason, then by all means move on. Do not however assume that just because you didn't, everyone else can't.

it occurs to me that we have been bombarded with foreign football marketing from the time open our eyes until we close it at night... from the day we are born until we are sent to the grave.. by the tv, radio, newspaper, the-border-chrushing-technology, sigboard and walking-billboards around us who walks around with those imported jerseys... EPL spends hundreds of millions of pounds each year for marketing alone..

could it be that the foreign football marketing are the actual "tempurung" that limits our thinking. What if we flipped the "tempurung" over ? you will find that actual football fans does not support their team because they are marketed to do it. They find other pure reason to support teams. Certainly not by using "information" they received by using the "border-chrushing-technology". its not about information or knowledge at all. Football supporting is about celebrating and supporting your identity with your like-minded peers. This usually defined by a geographic location as where you are or where you come from defines your identity a lot. But if your ancestral family base want to create a football team and you support it because of that, it can work also..

Which is why fans join fan clubs or even start their own. To be with their like-minded peers. MyRAWK for example started when a group of us met on RAWK (LFCs alternative forum - a UK based one). We gathered for a game and grew it from there.

Yes, there are fans who buy jerseys because they want to be associated to anything cool, even if they don't watch the team play but you cannot lump everyone into one category.

the question is does the team you support represent your identity..or are you just marketed to do it..

Why do you question those who claim the former?

in my opinion , the international-conglomerate that is EPL is no different to the Machine in the movie Matrix.. they put us to sleep using their "tempurung" and sucks our energy for their benefit while we are smiling in our dreams..

its need a big leap of faith to get out it.. a bit of redpill-bluepill scenario.. only then can we cut our resources supply from them and use it to our own good.. the real us...

who is "katak bawah tempurung" now?
Yes, and Terengganu lets you watch games for free. Kelantan doesn't sell merchandise.

Your point that we are being suckered by clubs is moot. Why? Do we question the motives of clubs before deciding if we should support them? Should I ask what a beggar is going to do with his money before giving him some? I do so because I want to, because I believe in what I see they stand for. If someone wants to take advantage of that, how does it make me a glory hunter? Don't kid yourself into thinking that no one is in it for the money. You don't local clubs want you in their stadiums simply because they want to see your smiling face? If it were so, your tickets would be free. The MSL can be watched on ASTRO. If they didn't want to make money, why not just leave it on free tv? The EPL has evolved into a major marketing machine. Mark my words when I say our local league is heading in the same direction. Clubs will be privatised, and commercial directors will be brought in. It is already in the motions.

QUOTE(hidzwan @ Jan 28 2011, 02:57 PM)
my point being try to respect other's opinion and don't bash them as though u are the only one who are mr. know at all in here..
So it's ok for someone who doesn't understand why people support foreign teams to lable them "glory hunters" then? Claiming to know it all when not knowing at all is ok then?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jan 28 2011, 05:09 PM
Duke Red
post Jan 28 2011, 07:20 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 28 2011, 05:34 PM)
i need you to understand i dont reply to most your post bcos it is too long and im working.Evey one can see you are over long winded and i dont intend to do the same which doesnt mean i got no point to defence my view.

Supported Liverpool for over 30years doesnt make u part of the club still.
You are glory hunter 30years ago and congrats you are still loyal and din advance into glory hunter stage 2.That is wat credit left for you.
No time and yet you find it in you to come back. Tell you what. Take all the time you want to respond. It's the weekend. No one is asking you to defend your viewpoint. I'm asking you to disprove mine. Don't use the lack of time to compensate for your inability to do so. Long winded? It happens when all you see are texts you can't make sense of.

If your definition of glory hunter is anything to go by, heck yeah! I'm one. Oh new term now. "Glory hunter stage 2".

Added on January 28, 2011, 7:29 pm
QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 28 2011, 05:43 PM)
Eh i thought i already admitted proudly and loudly that i am a glory hunter for supporting loads of european team.. i think i love Arsenal and Leeds and Milan and Napoli and Real Madrid.. if you ask me i can tell you loads of history of these clubs.better than one man u fan who claim he is MU fan lol But despite many of the club i fancy .. the real thing which really bring you real feeling is go to stadium week in week out support your home team.
All these p0eople talk cok here i believe willl never understand the feeling.
We use to walk to the stadium to watch the state team every week for league games,to watch the national team in tourney like those pesta bola merdeka etc then..Just wat the English fan you seen walking to stadium week in n out...which all you Sateliite tv fan will never understand whats it about.That is why you thought liverpool have quality than selangor so u choose satelite tv.lol

My rawk , a community that gathers liverpool fans can about bring you those feel..near but never will be the same.sadly even they supported for 30years..they have no soul and will never be part of that genuine fans that go to stadium where the local clubs play.
You dont pay a dime (wat fans do and why they said a club belongs to fans!)
You got no right to say anything in fact..glory hunter u lots

Wot a Pity!  rolleyes.gif
Yup you're a stand up fan for being able to walk into a stadium week in and out. Pity some of us will never have that chance. Wanting to go but not being able to makes us glory hunters, your definition of one anyway so that's cool. Much easier supporting a club you seldom get to see play than one you do week in and out of course.

Ah moving the goalpost I see. First we're sad bunch because we have no one to watch games with and we do so at home alone, miserable and all. Yes, surely that makes us lousy fans. I mean it's much easier to gather the strength to watch a game alone that it is jumping up and down with the rest of our mates. Oh but then you find out that some of us do gather and now you say it isn't the same and we have no soul. Yup, it's much easier to find mates online, look for sponsors so we have stuff to give away during viewings, source locations to negotiate food and drink packages than it is to buy a ticket. We don't pay a dime? You pay for your ticket so the club belongs to you? Gee didn't know you received dividens. How many fans fit in your stadium? So the population of Terengganu aren't really fans for not buying tickets, preferring instead to watch the game on telly?

Save your pity mate. What's pitiful is that you look through a very narrow straw and you don't even realise it.

Added on January 28, 2011, 7:38 pm
QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 28 2011, 05:48 PM)
WTF??
Lol now there is no arguing with such powerful logic is there?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jan 28 2011, 07:40 PM
Duke Red
post Jan 28 2011, 10:57 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 28 2011, 10:09 PM)
By opposing to that statement tell us very much your knowledge about how clubs are being run.
Imagine without fans you think Liverpool afford Torres wages or Arsenal afford to pay the stadium? So it seems you are against my statement that "club belongs to fan".. you seriously undermine your knowledge too!
At first i thought u know alot but is obvious you knows nothing indeed.
Doesnt surprise me a bit for a fan who talk about technology satelite tv and never have chance to spend a penny to buy a ticket to support your so called 'your club'.Just bcos u never experience it...And have never got a chance go to stadium... Pityness
I have been to Anfield ignoramus. Another unfounded assumption you've just made.

Yes I do know clubs need fans to make money. Thought I made that pretty clear in my reply to arresandro. I really don't see how I can make it much simpler for you.

"Club belongs to fan" means to me that the fans have a voice, preferably on the board for better or for worse. It means to me that the club also acknowledges it's fans when they make their opinions known e.g the groundshare with Everton and the appointment of Dalglish. Did the fans do it on their own? Of course not but they dis influence it. To you it means spending on the club. If it were that alone, the richer you are, the more the club belongs to you? I see. Well I'm not that rich. I buy what jerseys and merchandise I can. I suppose you want to compare receipts now to see who has more ownership over his club.

You seem to think it's a competition of sorts. Yes I obviously know much less about how a club is run than you. Your insightful posts justify that claim.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jan 28 2011, 10:58 PM
Duke Red
post Jan 29 2011, 12:11 PM

6,112 posts

@minority, good post.

I don't however think that any fan wants to call another a glory hunter just to exert seniority. Monster is an example of a fan whose posts show maturiy beyond his tender age of 22. He hasn't been a fan as long as some but took it upon himself to catch up on terms of knowledge. All anyone can expect is for any new fan to want to do the same and not claim that history isn't as important as watching games. I've not come across a single poster on any UK forum telling the locals that history is irrelevant. I personally visit RAWK to read and learn more than I do to post.

I do take offense however to fans who know nuts and make accusations that we live in the past because the past is unimportant. With information so freely available these days, there is really no excuse for not knowing about landmark moments in your clubs history unless you don't know how to use google. If you don't want to read up, FairPlay but never discount it's importance. I have friends who don't watch games let alone are able to name 5 players in the starting eleven, who support rival teams and gloat when they beat us. I have no guilt labeling them "glory hunters".

On watching local sides, I do agree that standards have somewhat improved again. With the MSL looking now at commercial angles it's only a matter of time before sponsors come in bringing a much needed injection of cash. We are hopefully looking at privatization of local football clubs in the next decade removing them from the jurisdiction of the state FAs but it will take time. Look at the ABL who now have privatized teams. Each team is now responsible to market themselves and look for sponsors. There may be only 6 teams now but there have been interest from teams in Australia and Indonesia to participate next season.

Watching your local side play and feeling a connection however don't often come hand in hand, which is why I do not agree that feeling a connection with a foreign side over your local one means you are a glory hunter. Forcing a connection is short sighted and temporary, all push strategies often are.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jan 29 2011, 12:12 PM
Duke Red
post Jan 30 2011, 10:33 AM

6,112 posts

I'm off the opinion that if you support a team, you support what it represents. I believe that most start out supporting their local team by default, since they can identify with their respective home towns. I myself used to follow Selangor religiously before the league turned pro. It was a combination of two factors, perceived or not that I stopped following local football. First, I discovered Liverpool and over years, I grew more and more in what the club stood for, something I won't elaborate on. Sure they welcome fans because they need our cash injection and they capitalise whenever they can but so does any other club or stadium tickets would be given out for free. As my interest for Liverpool grew, my interest for Selangor declined. This brings me to my second point. I no longer liked what Malaysian football as a whole stood for. Greedy politicians looking to fill their coffers, taking for granted that fans would always flock to stadiums despite a failure to inject cash back into the game for developments sake, preferring instead to use clubs as a channel of revenue for the state and themselves. This coupled by the fact that these very same politicians represent a party whose policies I do not agree with made me give up on local football. You can say that I should support my local side regardless, but I find it hard to force myself to support something I don't believe in. Am I wrong? I'll let you be the judge. All I ask is that people try to understand before being so judgemental.

This doesn't however affect how I feel about our badminton team. I was at Stadium Negara when we last won the Thomas Cup back in 1992. The team back then represented a united Malaysia. I still have in my mind vivid scenes of Siti Hasmah standing on her feet next to Roland Choi. She never took a break, she was and still is badminton's no.1 fan. As Punch Gunalan led the squad out, a chorus of "Inilah barisan kita" broke out and we drowned out the hundreds of Indonesia fans. The team comprised of Rashid Sidek, Foo Kok Keong, Pang Chen, Razif & Jailani Sidek, Soo Beng Kiang & Cheah Soon Kit. Soo Beng Kiang's winning smash brought a nation of different races together as Malaysians who were strangers hugged on another. Some claim that the Chinese abandoned football because there isn't enough money involved. Well, how much does a badminton player earn? Insiders tell me that a top player like Lee Chong Wei earns a meager allowance of RM 2,000 - RM 3,000 from BAM. His cash winnings are also split with the BAM so one can imagine how little backup shuttlers like Darren Liew earn. So now, is it really about the money or something else? Maybe there are people out there who feel the same way I do.

I like the Malaysia I see in badminton more than the Malaysia I see in football. I don't ask for anyone to agree with my point of view, I merely ask that you respect it because of the reasons I gave. I cannot support obvious bias. I cannot support racist policies i.e. the NEP. Does this make me a bad Malaysian? To want that all Malaysian be treated as Malaysians, or does it make me a better Malaysian if I just suck it all up and support it despite the injustice I see?

Moving forward, I mentioned before that privatisation of the league will be underway. Kelantan have just signed a sponsorship deal with Happy, a product from DiGi Telecommunications. As the back of their kits, you'll notice two more sponsors, both companies belonging to Tan Sri Annuar Musa. No more blanket sponsors although Maxis have bought their way into sponsoring the MSL. When more and more teams become privately owned, you'll see more and more sponsors come in especially since the MSL has signed a deal with ASTRO no doubt part of their rebranding exercise. If you look at the MSL committee, it comprises of young individuals with a vision, led by Tan Sri Annuar Musa (http://thestar.com.my/sports/story.asp?file=/2010/8/24/sports/6906345&sec=sports) What you won't see on the list of committee members there is that the CEO is a friend of mine and he's only in his early 30's. This is positive as Tan Sri has already begun to realise his vision through Kelantan, being the Chairman of KAFA. If they had a commercial team, they would have assigned sponsorship values to everything in the manner more developed footballing nations have. You'd have to pay to have your name on the dugout, the scoreboard, a-boards, etc. When this happens, football teams will be removed from the jurisdictions of the states. I'm not saying this will make it any less political because only the rich can afford teams and many politicians are rich. You'd also likely see your AKs and TFs of Malaysia come into the picture. KJ already did with MyTeam. When the rebranding is complete, and funds are made available to improve individual teams, the standard of football will go up against and just maybe, clubs will have their own identities and not be a reflection of our politics. Now I may not know a lot of about local football, but I am definitely not completely ignorant as was suggested earlier.

This is a summary of how I feel about supporting my local side once again. If you cannot identify with anything I've said, fairplay. The point I wanted to make is that I simply cannot put this all aside and support my local side blindly anymore. Some can, well I can't. I don't ask for your consent. I ask for you understanding.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jan 30 2011, 10:43 AM
Duke Red
post Jan 31 2011, 05:32 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 31 2011, 11:23 AM)
Talk so much is still GLORY HUNTER lol!

let me give u a simple reason why i call you as one.

there are 20 teams in EPL dont you see 90% of us abroad fans only fancy about 4 teams..precisely Man u,Arsenal,Liverpool n Chelsea.The balance 10% made up by other teams due to some other factors.

So can i ask why there are no regular supporter on the other 16 teams that compete on premier league each season?
Then who suppose to support these teams? Why still have thousand of stupid fans still seen on stadium support these teams like fulham or wolves who you rarely seen a die hard malaysian fans supprt them?

The asnwer is bcos they are local! No matter how louzy their team they support the local team.I think they can still fancy some of the big teams across europe why not..as a football fan.But local must be prioritize still.
But today i branded you as Glory hunter bcos you put those club that not belongs to you as your priority.
Dont have to worry ..you are not alone...its already a culture where most of the people follows EPL than local football.
But all i can say is Glory hunter still.

Oh yeah and i just want to tell you this season i think im going to support Udinese due the exciting football they are playing currently.Im a glory hunter i wont deny.What is the shame..why do you need to write 5 page of nonsense just to worry you are being brand as glory hunter?LOL!
You are no matter what if you support any football team which its not your origin...a glory hunter indeed.

Added on January 31, 2011, 11:35 amJust to add one more thing.
Your argument will never be valid unless there is a fair share of all 20teams that we Malaysian support.Then you can say you love a team for their culture their place and so on.
The actual fact is there are only 4 GLORY TEAM all you glory hunter is looking upon to...
In our eyes you might not be one bcos most of us are in the same category..but in their eyes you are one..at least in the eyes of the other 16 PL teams and the rest of the England other divisions teams...You are plastics! Glory hunter!
Seriously I could give a rats ass what you want to brand me because your utter disregard for comprehending posts makes you as brilliant as a door knob. If you want to label yourself as a glory hunter or imbecile that's your choice. It's just annoying that people throw loose terms around without knowing what they mean.

The questions you've posed have already been answered, you're just too stupid to notice, hence why you see 5 pages of nonesense.

If you want to keep behaving like a petulant child, go ahead. If you feel you can hold your own in a discussion, do it face to face.
Duke Red
post Jan 31 2011, 06:20 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 31 2011, 06:03 PM)
Speechless right? so Easy!
As long you are supporting the so called big 4 you are PLASTICS!(if you are not born in North London,merseyside,manchester and south london.

To answer you guys the only team im proud supporting is KLFA my state team and even i quite long havent gone to the stadium - thats the originality i believe what belongs to me.

Same like you guys i follow EPL too ..we are not condemning it at all! No need to question do we watch foreign movies! i watch EPL or Serie A more than local football due to its quality yes!

But the debate now its about your belonging to where.. Your originality.To me these teams you think you are so attach with is never going to belongs to you.
And im pointing out you guys are plastics bcos while you treat those are your team but in the eyes of the whole world you are nothing but plastics glory hunters!!!

Support just 1 team?loyal to one team? live and die one team?..but is not your team!!!  .. lmao! PLASTICS!
Dont be such a disgrace by proclaiming so and then being insult by the English if you are there!
Speechless? Hardly. I've just realized that there isn't much point in presenting arguments anymore because you choose to ignore then and instead continue to hurl childish insults. Put together a well constructed counter argument to any point I've raised and prove me wrong. If you want to keep throwing insults let's not do it on the net. I'll let you so it to my face
Duke Red
post Jan 31 2011, 07:41 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Jan 31 2011, 07:09 PM)
Haha..Nice one Duke. Macam debat between BN and PKR. laugh.gif
I like debates. Responding with insults isn't debating.

Added on January 31, 2011, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Jan 31 2011, 07:09 PM)
Haha..Nice one Duke. Macam debat between BN and PKR. laugh.gif
I like debates. Responding with insults isn't debating.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jan 31 2011, 07:42 PM
Duke Red
post Feb 1 2011, 09:12 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Feb 1 2011, 08:48 AM)
Actually there shouldn't be any argument at all.
This thread is about how you view a glory hunter..and thats my view.

To me is you guys who self proclaim a supporter of big team in Europe are Glory hunter because you choose them and believe in glory.
As simple as that.
You dont choose lesser team because you less believe they can achieve glory.Just like Tores he said he use to support Liverpool but he wanted glory and now signs for Chelsea.

This is why you chose the big 4 team bcos they have a fair share of success in the last decade.And you wanted to be part of the glory so you are either one of them..explain why i view you guys as Glory hunter!

There is no shame about it..really.We all wanted to be part of a big team and see them success.But i just want to remind you are not part of it no matter how well they do.
By watching on the tv or owning the shirt doesnt make you part of the club.
You remains a glory hunter or just an armchair fan the english call it.

Go google it wat means by armchair fan.. The english belive people who not going to stadium but watch on TV is never part of the club bcos u are not supporter and aren't able to contribute anything.(mainly ticket/season pass&vocal support)
And they are right to call you Man U,Arsenal,Liv or Chelsea fans as asian plastics!

Technology?Satellite tv?LOL LMAO! you guys dont even understand the ground of a fan so dont talk S.. i even subscribe to astro beyond just to watch live game and i wake up middle at night..but so? that dont make me a club supporter.that wont makes me belongs to Man utd or chelsea etc !Never will
Thanks for the insight again. You are right, that is YOUR view. Glad to see so very few share it.

Once again, stop hiding behind the keyboard if you want to persist with name calling.
Duke Red
post Feb 1 2011, 09:37 AM

6,112 posts

Different. Players change clubs. They don't always play for clubs they support. Its a career so it's natural to move for more money. All you can ask is that they be upfront and honest.
Duke Red
post Feb 1 2011, 09:51 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Feb 1 2011, 09:40 AM)
This i agree is business..Club of cos encourage more fans worldwide just like the globalization you guys are talking about.Of cos the more part of the world buying their stuff the richer they are..so its globalization and purely on business.Again you never part of it by owning the merchandize.

Be original!
Did you or did you not say earlier that the club belongs to you because you spend money on tickets? So which is it now?
Duke Red
post Feb 1 2011, 10:24 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Feb 1 2011, 10:20 AM)
That is on merchandize..its different from the gate receipt which is the core fund the club needs to run the team.The game attendance comes with the vocal support you able to contribute as a real surporter.
Buying the merchandize anyone can do so ..a non football supporter can just buy it for fun.

You still cant accept you will never belongs to the club lol.. face it man
Even you tattoed in your heart is still not your club.You are there purely looking and chasing and hunting for glory.
And you're still a name calling cowardly incoherent keyboard warrior who is too chicken shit to call me names to my face. Prove me wrong.
Duke Red
post Feb 1 2011, 10:48 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Feb 1 2011, 10:26 AM)
im really blurred right now. What u mean by "owning the club" unless u can throw 700m out, im pretty sure non of us here can "own the club"

edit: okay sry, read wrongly. early morning eye still blur
He means that you contribute to the club's coffers and they then reinvest this money, hence you actually "fund" transfers etc in some way. Hard to make sense of his incoherent arguments but this is what I understood.

Suddenly however it is different if you contribute via tickets or merchandise. Not surprising since he likes to change his arguments to support his last cause. Let's see. Some have saved to go watch one game in England. Total cost of the trip would be say RM 6,000? How many local tickets does that buy you? So one trip overseas means a local fan would have to go to the stadium 200-300 times to be the equivalent? Once again his point is moot but I'm sure he'll skirt the issue and focus again on bring childish and hurling insults over and over. Seems he's found out how to use the "copy & paste" function.
Duke Red
post Feb 1 2011, 10:58 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Feb 1 2011, 10:55 AM)
Call names? which part? calling you glory hunter? there is no name calling beside ehh i call you GLORY hunter which is justified!
Thanks for reaffirming what I think of you.

All the caps and the exclamation marks are deceptive I see.
Duke Red
post Feb 1 2011, 12:49 PM

6,112 posts

Nope it's because your spineless and only talk tough because you know you're sitting behind a keyboard.

You are incredibly thick aren't you? You're a child because you'ven proven yourself incapable of disecting and answering questions posed to you, preferring instead to continue with the name calling. Ask anyone if that is a trait of a child. Sometimes and just sometimes when 9 out of 10 people call you an idiot, it may be true.

As for being a true Malaysian, yes, wanting to better the country is so unpatriotic of me. Instead being ok with mediocrity is. I wonder who the patriot is. It's because of people like you that we haven't yet reached our potential. Your unwillingness to see things in a different light and inability to counter arguments is unfortunately, too commonplace. I'd elaborate if I thought you'd understand but you seem incapable of adult discussions, probably why you ignored my invitation to post your thoughts of posters being un-Malaysian on the Real World Issues forum.

Go on. Post another macho sounding reply to compensate for being a spineless squid.
Duke Red
post Feb 1 2011, 01:46 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Feb 1 2011, 01:31 PM)
It is not macho or not.. but i think yourself by now realize the reason you actually supported Liverpool back in those days have to be Glory reason which you are looking for.
You dont have to twist the story about who is childish or what i look like..the question is back to yourself why you supported on of this big team.
And the opther poster comments here dont counts AT ALL..bcos i believe everyone here are one of you..same category in supporting either Man U,Chelsea Liv or Arsenal..In their eyes (all you guys) no one is glory hunter here..bcos your perception is you stay loyal with United or Liverpool for decades.
So can you see yourslef a glory hunter now? I pointed you out particularly and that makes me a kid..haha very bright of you.Just make yourself looks more immature.

Forget our arguments..thinks back a second why you started with Liverpool.
One of the point i believe is this team used to have glory and you just want to be part of it forever.
In conclusion you are not as worse as those jump ship around but yet nothing much more than a glory hunter still! get it now Mr.Glory hunter?
I know you dont like to be called this name..BUT YOU ARE originally nothing more than a glory hunter!
I've just explained why I think you're behaving like a kid and you still don't get it. You still think it's merely because you're calling me a glory hunter.

Ok so posters like you who support your local teams are the only true fans and the rest of us are glory hunters whether or not we've stuck with one team or have switched teams along the way.

The pitiful thing is you think you've actually debated the issue although you've skirted so many points that were raised, preferring instead to adopt a "I'm right because I said I'm right" approach. Statements like " you can't relate to those clubs because you aren't born there", backed by no substance make you feel like you've put up a decent argument?

So the conclusion is that only you and arressandro are true fans here because you said so.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0346sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:36 AM