Bank Account Inactive

SUSahjames
post May 11 2009, 01:21 PM, updated 17y ago

My Name James
1,337 posts

I got a RHB akaun, i never use 1 yr+. inside still got some money.

So i try my atm card, cannot use, i try online banking also cannot. then i search whole house cannot find my passbook...

how to activate back? i sked take leave go to the branch they ask me do polis report or something....
keeseng12
post May 11 2009, 01:54 PM

346 posts

all you need to do is just bring yourself and your IC to RHB bank and let them know that you want to activate your account.

only thing that you need to scared of is that they have deactivate and the balance of the money in there is not retrievable. This is valid under law of Banking in Malaysia that once your account has been idle for certain period of time. Before they do so, they will normally send a letter to your mailing address when you registered the account to notify u that.

bring your ATM card just in case.
SUSahjames
post May 11 2009, 01:58 PM

My Name James
1,337 posts

ok i still have the atm card and its only inactive 1 yr+.
this one i use as saving akaun, but cos income less, i stop transfer money here and also use up most of the money in this akaun also sad.gif

i think still got few hundred ringgits there sad.gif
Serpentarius
post May 11 2009, 02:00 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(keeseng12 @ May 11 2009, 01:54 PM)
all you need to do is just bring yourself and your IC to RHB bank and let them know that you want to activate your account.

only thing that you need to scared of is that they have deactivate and the balance of the money in there is not retrievable. This is valid under law of Banking in Malaysia that once your account has been idle for certain period of time. Before they do so, they will normally send a letter to your mailing address when you registered the account to notify u that.

bring your ATM card just in case.
+1

IC is ACTUALLY already enough ...
need bank book is extra .. but the clerk still want the bank book for verification ... but you can insist to reactivate your bank account (customer right) ... since the IC already showing the correct person ..

but normally they wont allow it ..... bising bising like you're some kind of suspicious person ...
worst come to worst ... you can close the bank account ... take back your money ...

HSBC wont have such problems like this ... local bank services are shitty
yeezai
post May 11 2009, 02:07 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

your funds still retrievable dun worry...
FirezZ
post May 11 2009, 03:42 PM

Naise kukUpi
1,993 posts

guess u need to do some transaction .. bank in some $$ and then withdraw some again ...
tis is to show that u are still alive and the account will be active in no time wink.gif
i heard they said the account will be officially closed onli after 7 years it stays inactive wink.gif

HughieRmX
post May 11 2009, 04:16 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

There is nothing to worry .. Just get yourself an off day and head over to the RHB bank outlet and inform them about your situation. Maybe they will deduct some maintenance or service charge for re-activating your account. smile.gif

Normally for PBB, its better to head back to the outlet where you created the account with. Cheers ~
keeseng12
post May 11 2009, 04:45 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Serpentarius @ May 11 2009, 02:00 PM)
+1

IC is ACTUALLY already enough ...
need bank book is extra .. but the clerk still want the bank book for verification ... but you can insist to reactivate your bank account (customer right) ... since the IC already showing the correct person ..

but normally they wont allow it ..... bising bising like you're some kind of suspicious person ...
worst come to worst ... you can close the bank account ... take back your money ...
HSBC wont have such problems like this ... local bank services are shitty
Thanks. smile.gif
IC will do actually. ATM card is just an extra. Bank book, you can just let them know that you don't know where it has been. That's normal. Some banks don't even provide bankbook in the beginning. For e.g., last time when I opened my bank account for work purpose, they didn't give me the bank book at all.

QUOTE(yeezai @ May 11 2009, 02:07 PM)
your funds still retrievable dun worry...
Not to disagree your statement fully on this. Just to let you know that the bank has the right to terminate your account and "eat" your money as compensation. (ops, not "eat", take is more appropriate) tongue.gif
Reason i'm saying this is i have a Maybank account and it was unactive for quite some times. They sent me a letter saying that my bank account is going to be deactivated and asking me to activate the account by doing transaction of any amount. Fail to do so will result in terminating the account and the balance in the account is unretrievable. Well, this is for Maybank (one of the shittiest bank in Malaysia due to other poor service mad.gif )
DarReNz
post May 11 2009, 06:20 PM

7,496 posts

if your money goes to unclaim department, u can still reclaim it back ....
babychai
post May 11 2009, 06:56 PM

I go to work because my name is not in Forbes list
779 posts

it's happen to me few times oredi. no passbook also nvm one. juz bank in some money then withdraw back then automatically will activated back.
alien0110
post May 11 2009, 08:52 PM

272 posts

Happened to me once on the ambank account, the account becomes dormant, I ask the bank, they tell me fill up a deposit form to deposit some money, then it becomes active in no time. When the account is dormant, you can't deposit money to ur account using atm machine or internet banking, so must use bank book.
Xer0
post May 11 2009, 10:02 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ May 11 2009, 06:20 PM)
if your money goes to unclaim department, u can still reclaim it back ....
unclaimed money - only after 7 years.
Winning11
post May 12 2009, 01:07 AM

283 posts

if they want to close your account due to your dormant account, they will send you a letter to inform you to withdraw the money.
ivan8671
post Dec 3 2010, 08:45 PM

hi all,

Today planning want to withdraw some money from RHB ATM Machine there but after log in the password n enter check balance inquiry..suddenly the resit print out n show "your transaction cancel"....Is it my account already inactive?what should i do for next step?
ronnie
post Dec 3 2010, 11:16 PM

Not enough stars
21,327 posts

QUOTE(ivan8671 @ Dec 3 2010, 08:45 PM)
hi all,

Today planning want to withdraw some money from RHB ATM Machine there but after log in the password n enter check balance inquiry..suddenly the resit print out n show "your transaction cancel"....Is it my account already inactive?what should i do for next step?
Walk to any RHB branch and check lah
ekestima
post Dec 4 2010, 07:57 AM

930 posts

That's why local bank are so lousy in serving customers.

Sikit-sikit, policy, policy. But tats true, my fren working in local bank told me that they are juz like being both hands tied and have to attend customers summore.

If u attend to customers request, u r caught by policy, later get warning letter la, bla, bla, bla

If u follow policy, later customer complaint, u also kena.

So how then, they are juz merely trying to do their job.

I think management should be flexible, if its genuinely the owner why not right ?
MilesAndMore
post Dec 4 2010, 04:53 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Dec 4 2010, 07:57 AM)
I think management should be flexible, if its genuinely the owner why not right ?
What are you referring to ? Account going dormant or something else ?

cckkpr
post Dec 5 2010, 05:28 PM

4,518 posts

Beware on the usage of the ATM. Some of these ppl who work overseas come back and open a savings account and get an ATM card and pass it to the wife or the kids to use it.

Some of the ppl have several such accounts and they used these accounts for them to send monies back from overseas. Some banks will bar you from using your ATM card if it is inactive for more than one year and you can only activate the account by being present at the bank to activate it again.
ekestima
post Dec 5 2010, 09:53 PM

930 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 5 2010, 05:28 PM)
Beware on the usage of the ATM. Some of these ppl who work overseas come back and open a savings account and get an ATM card and pass it to the wife or the kids to use it.

Some of the ppl have several such accounts and they used these accounts for them to send monies back from overseas. Some banks will bar you from using your ATM card if it is inactive for more than one year and you can only activate the account  by being present at the bank to activate it again.
Ya agree. If ATM card kena bar, then I think the card owner have to be present to activate the card only.
joylay83
post Aug 27 2014, 12:36 AM

854 posts

sorry to revive an old thread... my sibling have a dormant PBB account (no transaction for 3years) and not returning to M'sia anytime soon. Is there any possible way to close the account or reactivate it? If they provide an authorization letter, will that do?

0.0211sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:58 PM