PS3 Hardware Defect Problem, discussion on YLOD, lense problem, etc
audiopus
Nov 3 2009, 02:33 AM
My brother's out of warranty 80GB model (but upgraded to use 160GB) PS3 just got YLOD. Any place around Melawati/ KL area he can go to get it repaired? How much does the shop charge?
I already searched the thread but did not find any working links about it.
If you have experienced with doing the repair, please let me know if the repair work was good (e.g. didn't break down again after 1 week)
audiopus
Nov 3 2009, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(sunn @ Nov 3 2009, 08:45 AM) yeh lor monyetbesi, I placed ny PS3 phat vertically in air-cond room. Always shut down only when fan slows down. Also kena YLOD Bought it 31/3/2008 died in 15/10/2009. Sg 40gb set. Now got PS3 slim but my Warhawk mappack hapis, COD5 mappack hapis.  i hear lots of problems with placing PS3 vertically. I did that for a while and somehow something inside the disc slot got misaligned some of my game discs now have circular scratches on the label side. The scratches were so deep that if you flip it over to the data side and hold it up you can see light going thru the scratches. Fortunately still under warranty so it was fixed for free. dunno which psn acct you are using, but for US psn store accts you can re download your online purchases up to 5 times on different ps3's (just for situations like this) just make sure you login to psn network using same acct u bought those map packs! This post has been edited by audiopus: Nov 3 2009, 09:55 AM
audiopus
Nov 4 2009, 06:43 AM
QUOTE(ferricide @ Nov 3 2009, 06:34 PM) Heat escapes better at vertical... well, not everyone's getting the same results then. My brother's ps3 YLOD about 2 weeks ago and he also had it vertical for a while. I upgraded his HDD to a Maxtor 160gb in march, but I made sure that it was a 5400RPM HDD because i heard rumors that 7200RPM runs hotter so it could be problematic. So now I'm curious, anybody with YLOD had actually upgraded their HDD prior to that? What brand is the HDD because maybe these HDD just runs hotter even at 5400RPM and contributes towards the YLOD? Anyways, anybody know where I can get his out of warranty Ps3 repaired and how much? KL/Melawati area preferred.