PS3 Hardware Defect Problem, discussion on YLOD, lense problem, etc
arc_archive
Aug 29 2007, 02:53 PM
i believe that im the first person opening thread bout ps3 BD ray lens failure...its like early 2007...juz bought it for 2 or 3 months but the lens insist any media.
i ve played some pirated dvd and somehow the play back kinda hicup while in the middle of movie..but after dad...i played BD Games, it still working..
after a few days ive played my ps3 non stop like 17hours..NON STOP!!the BD keep spinning..and i tot thats the main reason my lens kaput..
most interestingly,the lens somehow had a mood to play BD...when i try at my room (normal temp)...it wont detect any media...but when the console send back to the shop (aircond temp)...test it and it work flawlessly!!!
ohh..i hate my ps3...tried asking the shoopkeeper,he said that they can repair it for me.but till now..my ps3 collecting dust...not yet repaired..
dunno exactly is it caused by the temp or the kaput lens or the firmware....
arc_archive
Aug 29 2007, 03:28 PM
im so lazy edi...huhuhuh thinking of buying another one...but it juz a tot only  when first im bringing the console to the shop,they say that i need to send to singapore and all the expenses + time will be beared by me!!! wut the hell!!but after few months later,i ask them bout the repair..they say now can repair at penang edi..so dunno when to send for repair yet..so lazy la to bring those 6kg console on my back... xD
arc_archive
Aug 29 2007, 03:48 PM
no la...not service center..but one of the shop if not mistaken Mario...sumthing like dad..do offer console repairing service...
dunno either really can repair o not coz i myself didnt indulge the effection of my ps3 being repaired there...
maybe i will send..but donno yet when...
arc_archive
Aug 29 2007, 04:19 PM
i dunno bout the sg sony center but if not mistaken,the item wont be repaired by sony but some technician from sg if i caught the shopkeeper words rite..
dads y rite now they can offer the service here at penang..they got some sort of technician repaired the machine and most probably not sony xD
anyway @miri...600 for shipping cost or all of em shipping+repairing??
arc_archive
Aug 29 2007, 04:25 PM
u bought it from sony center huh??
arc_archive
Aug 29 2007, 04:32 PM
i believe that the cost effective solution is buy buying the lens and install it yourself.. u bought the lens yet??or maybe u gonna walk to the expensive solution huh??
arc_archive
Aug 29 2007, 05:56 PM
ya ya...can change for me wif half price!! xD
arc_archive
Aug 30 2007, 12:22 PM
after watching that video..im itching to open up the console ....xD
but still,juz to see wut inside is not worth reason to spoiled this baby (if any)..
to miri...hope ur project will run smoothly and finaly ur ps3 recover....n dont forget to post the update ya!!
anyway..u will be there when that "SOMEONE" disassembling ur PS3??if u were there,take some pic la...the lens and all the anatomy of ur PS3!!
arc_archive
Nov 24 2008, 02:46 PM
Actually..ive already encountered such disaster long ago..my HK 60GB had first run into media reading failure.ive already replaced the lens, 2 of em!!still yet to be no avail.but suddenly mine fall again with the YLOD problem..and ive managed to revived it..until now,my first ps3 can be booted up but cannot play any media disc..such a waste..
to conclude the above matter happened bcoz of PS3 overheating, it might be the case.ive played my PS3 in enclosed room where no such good air ventilation exist..where i can felt the room temperature is menacing high.it is better to place ur ps3 in a well ventilated room where the present of window to provide fresh air from outside..
to TS,if u r interested i might try to use my method to help u revive ur ps3..anyway,its all about luck.
arc_archive
Dec 1 2008, 07:51 AM
it seems more and more people encountering such problem..
arc_archive
Feb 8 2009, 06:12 PM
Juz a bit info bout those YLOD.
even though you have fixed it,in future the problem might come back and haunt your ps3 again.
as of my experience handling the problem,i can say that when ps3 being left long enough in bad ventilated area, the problem might happen.
juz to say that,when your ps3 got this YLOD prob,then it will happen again in future.also,pls be careful when stripping your ps3 casing(troubleshooting work)..do not left it long enough 'ON'...as you might get yourself another type of problem if you are unfortunate.
to relieved when your ps3 recovered from YLOD is not the happy ending yet..unless you really know how to recovered it up when the prob occur again..
juz my 2cent, arc_archive
arc_archive
Feb 11 2009, 09:33 AM
When u experiencing slight delayed when playing any games (mostly on LOADING sumthing either a figure of a car as an example,or a human figure or juz anything that unusual) from BD,my advice is to stop playing that game ASAP as, the much more u keep trying forcing the ps3 to read the data...the probability your lens will die is high.
for games that can be install directly into ur hard disk, don't hesitate to install it as it will reduce the load needed from your lense to read the data from BD.
arc_archive
Feb 11 2009, 12:57 PM
actually there is some game that will pop up msg when u 1st time play..an option to install the game into hdd..but this does not meant that every single data from the BD will be installed into the hdd..but some of it..to offload a small amount of burden,the lens to read BD..well at least,the lens got a small bit of time to rest.. ive encounter slight delay to loading the figure of my car when playing NFS Pro Street...after that,i dare not playing the game anymore..well at least b4 the slight delay happen again,still try play a bit.. till now,my ps3 working well...so pay attention when your loading time is abnormal when playing games..do not force ps3 to read it coz,it might be the last breath of your lens..
arc_archive
Feb 11 2009, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(Cwz90 @ Feb 11 2009, 01:05 PM) Today when i wan play my ps3, so i on the the ps3's power, when i press the power button, it turn green, and turn red immediately. Why like this? But after i try few times until I unplug it out and plug in again, it only work as normally. Is this a serious problem? Should i warranty it? Thanks for help.....^^ This is several symptom before YLOD happen..juz keep your ps3 in well ventilated area..do not place the ps3 in small room without proper ventilation.. If im not mistaken,if you did not properly turn off the ps3 (somehow when playing game,the loading screen hang and ps3 did not response for quite sometime, then u decided to force turn off the ps3) the chances of the ps3 will kena YLOD is there..
arc_archive
Feb 11 2009, 02:10 PM
even though your ps3 equipped with 2 external fan..that doesn't count as much of your ambient air is hot..your ps3 fan will scream to full speed for the heated air being sucked in and out from your ps3,only to be sucked in again and again into your super heated ps3..
so it is pointless of being armed with external blower but your ambient air is pretty darn hot..wut i do meant by well ventilated room is; the fresh air can get into your room and the hot air produce from the ps3 will go out..