The NYC Kirim Thread + AH1N1 Update, *Detected AH1N1 on MH091*

TSstringfellow
post May 21 2009, 12:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Futura @ May 18 2009, 05:40 PM)
Boss, still can place order or not? Currently I owned a iPhone3G(Maxis), Macbook Alu, PS3...Can recommend me something to buy? LOL...seriously I have no time to survey around...if you found any kangtao over there please let me know or post here... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Aiyoh boss, I cant be telling you what to buy, can I? tongue.gif I have a few things I'm planning to buy myself. Panasonic DMC-GH1 Micro Four-Third camera, Palm Pre(if Best Buy stocks them early), inFamous PS3 game, tons of Nintendo Wii games, tons of NDS games, a long list of Blu-ray titles, among other things. List still not finalised yet.

QUOTE(dawn152 @ May 19 2009, 03:37 PM)
ah, nwm string... i've changed my mind. so nothing for me. on the ot side, how AWESOME was the Lost finale? They're all pawns I'm telling ya' smile.gif

anyways, have a fun & safe trip biggrin.gif
AWESOME does not even begin to describe the epicness of the finale! Mark Pellegrino (Jacob) walking around TOUCHING each of the Losties in their lives , and that conversation he had with Esau/BlackShirt/EvilEntity in the beginning, is simply poignant and awesome! I dont think they are pawns, they have been used yes, but in S6 Jacob's plan will include them in the fight against Esau/BlackShirt/EvilEntity.

If you watched the very first Pilot episode of Lost in S1, Charlie and Lapidus basically said the same thing when they both encounter the Smoke Monster and dead Locke body respectively, they both said "Terrific". I love these little nods and links these character have, showing that the Lost writers dont just simply throw these ideas around randomly, they had planned all this all along! Roll on S6!

Added on May 21, 2009, 12:44 pmI have to add this disclaimer for this, in lieu of the current events happening right now:-

I will be with the team piloting the plan on MH090 and MH091 going to, and coming back from New York for this trip. As you all have read in the papers, the flight MH091 which came back from New York has been home-quarantined for a week in regards to the two passengers found carrying the AH1N1 Influenza virus. If such thing occurs to me when I get back on the 3rd of June next month, I may be stopped from any outside contact, placed on house quarantine for a period of 1 week. If this happens and does not suit your preference on retrieving your items (you want your items ASAP, for example), then I cannot help you. If nothing happens and the flight is clean, then it is business as usual, they will most probably give a minimum of 5 days off after such a long trip for crew rest. We can arrange pickups of your items within that period.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 21 2009, 12:44 PM
frozzbyte
post May 21 2009, 06:58 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Hey string,

The Palm Pre is not tied up to Sprint contract? Looking at the specs, the pre is only single band and using EVDO. Can work here ka?

USD850 ... Wohoooo what a hefty price tag.
TSstringfellow
post May 21 2009, 11:25 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

So far only contract-basis. Pre goes to "someone else" in LA. tongue.gif
tishaban
post May 21 2009, 11:42 PM

3,615 posts

string I sent you a goodie over email. Hope you get a chance to do Great Adventure again!

I'm so tempted to get more Wii games which I know I shouldn't!

cRazYee
post May 22 2009, 12:13 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 21 2009, 06:58 PM)
Hey string,

The Palm Pre is not tied up to Sprint contract? Looking at the specs, the pre is only single band and using EVDO. Can work here ka?

USD850 ... Wohoooo what a hefty price tag.
i tot is USD 590 without contract?
TSstringfellow
post May 22 2009, 12:13 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ May 21 2009, 11:42 PM)
string I sent you a goodie over email. Hope you get a chance to do Great Adventure again!

I'm so tempted to get more Wii games which I know I shouldn't!
shot you an email back, goodie fail to decompress. sad.gif

Buy buy buy! Bila lagi? laugh.gif

Just got my next month roster.......Osaka gadget/game shopping on the 8th-10th, baby! And Amsterdam for the first time, at the end of the month! Always the big boys at 747 conquer this destination, now it's our turn. Sexay laydehs behind glass windows? Check! Hash bar? Check! Tulips and windmills? Check! rclxm9.gif
tishaban
post May 22 2009, 01:01 AM

3,615 posts

Stringfellow, not many tulips in June in the Netherlands! Out of season lah biggrin.gif Stuff to do (as if you didn't know): the Segway tour of Amsterdam, Spido in Rotterdam, stroopwaffels, fresh chocolate in Brussels...

btw I want to add a few more items to my list if you go to B&H/Adorama:

1. Tiffen 77mm Haze-1 filter ($11.90 B&H# TIUV77)
2. Tiffen 52mm Haze-1 filter ($7.25 B&H# TIUV52)
3. Grado SR60 sponge earpads (already stated earlier)

Thanks and enjoy the trip(s)!

This post has been edited by tishaban: May 22 2009, 01:03 AM
TSstringfellow
post May 22 2009, 01:11 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ May 22 2009, 01:01 AM)
Stringfellow, not many tulips in June in the Netherlands! Out of season lah biggrin.gif Stuff to do (as if you didn't know): the Segway tour of Amsterdam, Spido in Rotterdam, stroopwaffels, fresh chocolate in Brussels...

btw I want to add a few more items to my list if you go to B&H/Adorama:

1. Tiffen 77mm Haze-1 filter ($11.90 B&H# TIUV77)
2. Tiffen 52mm Haze-1 filter ($7.25 B&H# TIUV52)
3. Grado SR60 sponge earpads (already stated earlier)

Thanks and enjoy the trip(s)!
Oh FRAK, they HAVE THAT!? shocking.gif Must go! I'm such a nerd. laugh.gif

As for your list, noted. What are those Tiffen thingy?

dawn152
post May 22 2009, 03:12 AM

419 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 21 2009, 12:37 PM)
AWESOME does not even begin to describe the epicness of the finale! Mark Pellegrino (Jacob) walking around TOUCHING each of the Losties in their lives , and that conversation he had with Esau/BlackShirt/EvilEntity in the beginning, is simply poignant and awesome! I dont think they are pawns, they have been used yes, but in S6 Jacob's plan will include them in the fight against Esau/BlackShirt/EvilEntity.

If you watched the very first Pilot episode of Lost in S1, Charlie and Lapidus basically said the same thing when they both encounter the Smoke Monster and dead Locke body respectively, they both said "Terrific". I love these little nods and links these character have, showing that the Lost writers dont just simply throw these ideas around randomly, they had planned all this all along! Roll on S6
Sorry to barge in on more Lost OT-ness. smile.gif. BIG SPOILER ALERT to whoever that follows Lost but hasn't seen the latest eps yet....

My fav finale is still the season 3 flash forward finale. That was such a 'ZOMG' moment. I do hope Jacob has BIGGER plans for the remaining Losties, don't want them all to end up like Locke (RIP *sobs*). I hope Juliet survives, I like her character. What do you think happened in the end?

I've concluded that there are 4 possibilities:
a) the bomb worked. They're all back where it started, at LAX. Not knowing one another.
b) the magnetic field + nuclear bomb = Losties flashed to the present time, much like when the Island was flashing into & out of time in the the first few episodes of the season. This way they'll be reunited with Sun, Ben & Co. Bad news, Juliet might be dead as she carries her injury with her much like Locke with his bullet wound.
c) the bomb went off but it didn't work, it just countered the magnetic energy creating the supposed 'incident' and they're all still stuck in the 70s.
d) the bomb didn't went off, but jacob's death created some anomaly of events.

Oh yeah, I've given it some thought smile.gif. I'm not big on the Jacob/'Esau' war (I mean, isn't Ben vs Widmore kinda enough?) since they're both clearly supernatural beings & I was hoping that Lost will be more 'science-centric', at least in terms of answering most of the mysteries. I'm a little hesitant to embrace the 'mystical' aspect of the show, though I expected it, especially after I was thoroughly disappointed by BSG's series finale. Too many 'God Did It' answers, which felt more like a cop-out rather than thoughtful plotting. Hopefully Lost will be much better.

Sorry, long OT post. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dawn152: May 22 2009, 03:18 AM
she57
post May 22 2009, 03:53 AM

151 posts

Bro, can I kirim u fridge magnet and coke?
TSstringfellow
post May 22 2009, 04:31 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(dawn152 @ May 22 2009, 03:12 AM)

Juliet, a.k.a Elizabeth Mitchell is confirmed by the Lindelcuse/Darlton that she wont be a series regular come Season 6. She is tied as a regular character on J.J's other project , "V", which is projected to replace Lost after the final season next year. Usually, when that happens, just like Claire/Charlie/ or any other "ghostly apparitions" characters, that means they are dead. After all, "Dead is Dead", just like what Ben Linus says.

As for my prediction, there is this interesting theory on the Lostpedia forum regarding what will happen on Season 6. I like this theory, so I'll echo what the original theorist says about it.

QUOTE(she57 @ May 22 2009, 03:53 AM)
Bro, can I kirim u fridge magnet and coke?
Fridge magnet I understand, but Coke? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 22 2009, 04:31 AM
TSstringfellow
post May 22 2009, 07:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

First AH1N1 update, detailing steps and precautions I've taken towards making sure this NYC trip remains healthy and virus-free.

Got flu vaccination shot at the MAA in Kelana Jaya today, only for frontliners , supplied by Novartis. Conditions were at least 48hours before the next flight, and not allergic to egg- or egg byproducts. Jab on the shoulder, and was advised that due to the reaction by the body itself, may vary from slight mild temperature rise to am actual fever itself, as the body scrambles to produce antibody to combat the flu virus. The vaccine itself is of course a modified flu-virus, designed to encourage production of antibody within the injected person. That way, it provides self-immunity, but only definite immunity towards the flu-virus on which that vaccine is produced from. This is not a vaccine for the AH1N1, I'll still be susceptible to the virus and flu itself if I dont maintain a clean hygienic practices like washing hands before/after eating, and most importantly. not to poke your fingers into your nose/eyes/mouth that would allow transmittal of drop infection of the virus.(Carrier sneezes, or wipes nose, fluid from sneeze or runny nose gets onto your fingers, and you poke it into those cavities where fluid transfer is possible).

Next AH1N1 update will be once I'm in Stockholm, as we prep for Stockholm-NYC sector. Hopefully the info provided may help others in demystifying the flu itself, or help in any other way.
harmeet15
post May 22 2009, 10:19 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

bro...apa khabar...
hope da flu n all doesnt affect u...
i wanted 2 noe if u'll be able to be on the lookout for contour fusion, black preferable...
let me noe ya
thx
TSstringfellow
post May 23 2009, 12:57 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ May 22 2009, 10:19 PM)
bro...apa khabar...
hope da flu n all doesnt affect u...
i wanted 2 noe if u'll be able to be on the lookout for contour fusion, black preferable...
let me noe ya
thx
Link, and where to get, would help me look it up for you.

Just got my flu shot today, so common Influenza strain I should be immune. AH1N1? Stay away! tongue.gif
Balok
post May 23 2009, 02:38 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

bro wanna ask how much NDS lite there? tongue.gif

still hunting best price for NDS lite tongue.gif my dream gadget since 2006 laugh.gif

never had a chance to buy it though -.-

googling found out the price is around $129. any chance go cheaper there since NDSi started selling? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Balok: May 23 2009, 02:42 AM
TSstringfellow
post May 23 2009, 02:47 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ May 23 2009, 02:38 AM)

still hunting best price for NDS lite tongue.gif my dream gadget since 2006 laugh.gif

googling found out the price is around $129. any chance go cheaper there since NDSi started selling? brows.gif
All, this as per my first post, have to be researched by you. I'm there to get the item only. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on May 23, 2009, 3:06 amOT: To Dawn, this is the series that is projected to replace Lost on ABC once it ends in 2010. "Juliet" , a.k.a Elizabeth Mitchell from Lost is featured prominently in this, so like I said before, she would not survive the hydrogen bomb in the Season 5 finale.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 23 2009, 03:07 AM
TSstringfellow
post May 23 2009, 05:40 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Last chance to get the iTunes Gift card, the physical gift card, if anyone requires, to recharge your credit for purchases on iTunes Store.

They will be sold at Apple Stores in denominations of USD15, 25, 50 and 100. I myself will be getting 2 x USD100 for my future iTunes purchases.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: May 23 2009, 05:40 AM
bidfordun
post May 23 2009, 07:51 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ May 23 2009, 02:38 AM)

Buy ndsi lo. definitely cheaper than getting it here.
harmeet15
post May 23 2009, 10:53 AM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 23 2009, 12:57 AM)
Link, and where to get, would help me look it up for you.

Just got my flu shot today, so common Influenza strain I should be immune. AH1N1? Stay away! tongue.gif
fusion

apple link

any chance of getting the iTunes Gift cards?
one of 50 n two of 15s
let me noe ya
thx
tishaban
post May 23 2009, 11:10 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 23 2009, 05:40 AM)
They will be sold at Apple Stores in denominations of USD15, 25, 50 and 100. I myself will be getting 2 x USD100 for my future iTunes purchases.
Don't forget the NYC sales tax (8.375%)...

stringfellow, the Grado sponge pads may not be available at B&H, it's a wild guess if you're midtown at B&H. Come to think of it, J&R will probably have it, not B&H. The tiffen stuff are camera filters for the lenses, small stuff about as big as a coaster.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:49 PM