m3er
May 8 2009, 06:05 PM

first know the basic - key sign, time signature, the notation itself
get familiar with the rhythmic part first ( tail ) - triplet, quintriplet, off beat. (if u check out guitar mag, they use tab with the tail to help reader with the rhythm.
the note of course represent by the dot. not the hardest part for me. only need to be memorized.
i'm still prefer tab for my notation, don't know when would I concentrate on reading notation. but yes, sight reading is an advantage for guitarist. but u need to work on it.
m3er
May 9 2009, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(Layman-kun @ May 8 2009, 11:22 PM) I ve known all the basics(well, quite). But I didnt know those octaves, riffs and harmonics. I do refer some theories through internet and how to read sheets however its complete opposite when I look at those sheets particularly on chinese songs in those chinese web. The guitar almost couldnt produce when i strum it using barre chords goin down the neck. I got listen to those songs i would like to play to get the tempo with the chords given but cant produce the melody as the song does. Any advice, sir? Added on May 8, 2009, 11:25 pmYep, some are upside and downside. although the section is 4/4 but got so many "taugeh" with I dont really noe how to get the beats rite.  it's better if u state what u want to know then
m3er
May 10 2009, 12:00 AM

ok for me some part of it is essential for all guitarist to at least know about them.
for example, the rhythmic pattern. even if u read some tabs out there, they still come in rhythmic notation (tail).
why is this important? to help you precisely play your your notes on time of course.
help you practise with metronome and other thing. it all came from the notation.
and is it important to master sight reading? if you ask me, my answer is yes and no.
if youre on a band which everyone rely on notation to put things together (should be really serious band lah this, or maybe sessionists band) then it's important to sight read.
but if you are on a band that simply play cover which u can rely on tab (which 90% u already know the arrangement, your line) then it can be pretty optional to have the ability of sight reading isnt it.
so i guess, the first is to know in what scenario are you now.
after all that's what i think lah. maybe it doesnt goes everyone's way.
m3er
May 10 2009, 09:55 PM

lol, i tot what was the problem. like xMika said lah, hear the song. big part of music is hearing, not reading