SAD-Mission Team Dog Rescue, RIP Sabrina Yeap, FFF
Yukaeshi
Jun 1 2009, 12:19 AM
Nice update Joyce  Now someone is going to pwn himself again XD Ming you better be there next week to help me la  Squish you with dog food and rice hahaha. BTW, I have inquired for stainless steel choke chains at Petsmore earlier. I will be getting a rough estimate of the price by tomorrow. Will keep you guys updated. Any estimated budget for the chains? I chose stainless steel choke chains because 1. they're stainless steel, and are therefore better and more hardier and 2. according to the more senior volunteers, some of the dogs bite off their cloth/normal collars, so choke chains would be the best option IMO, but then it's also subject to everyone's agreement.
Yukaeshi
Jun 1 2009, 03:22 PM
The older volunteers and Sabrina said that if possible, choke chains be used for the dog's collars, because some of them tend to bite the thick ropes and will spoil them. That's why I asked for the prices of choke chains instead  My old dogs used to use them too. Thick ropes also have a possibility of becoming smelly and worn out from old age too.
Yukaeshi
Jun 1 2009, 08:13 PM
But who's going to pay for dadarouch's neutering le? I think we could squish him with rice and dog food. You know, accidents happen. When we rearrange the storage cabin we can convieniently plant him somewhere and pile the dog food and rice on him
Yukaeshi
Jun 1 2009, 08:42 PM
Got speak bad meh? SAS = Special Air Service in the UK. Kind of like the SWAT team in the US http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_Air_ServicePetsmore still hasn't gotten the quotation for me yet. Most likely tomorrow. Will try to get prices ASAP. All I know for now is that they are giving 15% off the purchase of the collars. I'm trying to get exact prices for the collars, though, so we can all come up with a budget or something. This post has been edited by Yukaeshi: Jun 1 2009, 08:52 PM
Yukaeshi
Jun 1 2009, 09:17 PM
Why should I be the one to neuter dadarouch? D: Contaminate my knee only wor T_T espada90 help me hold dadarouch I knee him OK?
Ya... dadrouch likes self-pwnage. So kesian... tsk tsk.
Yukaeshi
Jun 2 2009, 01:15 AM
omg... now how am I going to neuter dadarouch when got a picture of him like that T_T Not going to look at him the same way again.
Yukaeshi
Jun 2 2009, 10:29 AM
Nice and good person to dogs only... not to team mates. Neutering temporarily put on hold but then still tentative  What special ops so secret le... share later la
Yukaeshi
Jun 2 2009, 11:33 PM
Birthdays shouldn't be too hard for the newer arrivals, as we can log in their date of arrival as their "birthdays"... but the older dogs will be more problematic  I suppose we can also keep a log book of the dogs, with photos too... sounds like a good idea. BTW, the choke chains I inquired will not rust. Estimated price RM 4+ for one, and if we're getting 150, the manager will give me a good discount
Yukaeshi
Jun 3 2009, 02:51 PM
RIP Princess.
When I heard the news from my mother yesterday I was shocked too, and in disbelief. I'm sure that she's in a better place right now.
Yukaeshi
Jun 3 2009, 02:57 PM
BTW, some updates on the choke chains.
I was given a rather incredibly useful (IMO) idea. Since we cannot be sure of the proper length of chain for each dogs, I was suggested to buy a whole length/roll of choke chain, and then cut them to size and attach the ends using those industrial keyring holder circle things (Not the thin ones like our keyrings), like choke chains. Estimated price? About RM 200, and it can definitely cater to more than 150 dogs.
Princess' death is sudden and unexpected, but then again, I hope that everyone wouldn't be too disheartened about it. As mentioned, there are still the other furry friends looking for love. I'm sure Princess knows, that in her time at FFF, that there are people who love her and miss her.
This post has been edited by Yukaeshi: Jun 3 2009, 03:16 PM
Yukaeshi
Jun 3 2009, 07:39 PM
Heard there were ang mo girls. Too bad not guys, us girls cannot cuci mata  There's going to be volunteering for FFF for about 2 weeks, from what I've heard too. This post has been edited by Yukaeshi: Jun 3 2009, 07:42 PM
Yukaeshi
Jun 4 2009, 02:13 AM
I don't want to cuci mata by looking at Louis la... that one is not cuci mata... that one will make me have no appetite eat got la @_@ Anyway, thanks Louis and Joyce for helping my mother out! Really appreciate it
Yukaeshi
Jun 6 2009, 12:36 PM
Anyway, here are the proposed tag designs for the S.a.D. team. Once the designs have been approved, I will improve on them- these are just very simple designs thus far. Design 1: Design 2: Design 3: Design 4: So far, these are the unanimous votes for the design: Design 1: 1 Vote Design 2: 4 Votes Design 3: 0 Votes Design 4: 1 Vote Yeah, Adrian has been banhammer'd from FFF for a week This post has been edited by Yukaeshi: Jun 6 2009, 12:37 PM
Yukaeshi
Jun 7 2009, 05:55 PM
My baaaack x_x
Yukaeshi
Jun 8 2009, 12:39 PM
Personally, I don't think it's wrong to go a little OT sometimes in the thread. The members are not oblivious to it, and we do try to keep it to bare minimum. What's the point of volunteering and being part of a team, if we cannot have some non-serious discussion and fun? It would be boring if it was all seriousness- no personal connections or rapport between the team.
Yukaeshi
Jun 8 2009, 11:03 PM
chibi_tenko took the words right out of my mouth.
Yes, we do go OT on the thread, but we are not oblivious to it and do realise it, and we try to limit our more personal chit-chat to other mediums such as MSN. We talk a lot, but we work more.
As a group we are very committed to our cause of helping the furry friends, and because of this commitment, we have grown from complete strangers (For most of us) to a more close-knit bunch. Imagine if we're serious all the time, would we be able to develop such good rapport with one another? Would our performance be better if we're constantly serious? It's because of our ability to click with one another and be bonded by this cause, and our ability to be non-serious, that we are able to do more together.
All in all, please don't judge a book by its cover. Try to follow us on one of our outings to FFF, see what we do, and take a step in our shoes.
This post has been edited by Yukaeshi: Jun 8 2009, 11:05 PM
Yukaeshi
Jun 9 2009, 12:23 PM
The team will be taking a break this weekend officially, as we have been there 3 weeks straight. The team usually goes there once every 2 weeks as we have pledged. @panasonic: Sure, no problem XD Feel free to pass me the rest of the money anytime, I don't mind  @Joyce: Good luck with the competition!
Yukaeshi
Jun 10 2009, 03:52 AM
I might make it as well, to help out. Either Saturday or Sunday, depends on my schedule. Is it going to be at main block, KPD or Wisma, BTW?
Yukaeshi
Jun 13 2009, 02:33 PM
No wonder some people cannot find FFF... all give different different confusing locations lol  BTW, got the choke chains for the doggies from Michelle already.
Yukaeshi
Jun 13 2009, 07:57 PM
I was thinking about dropping by tomorrow too  If all agrees, then a meeting on Thursday then.