Fallacy about long fund, hedge fund & fund manager, 90% fund managers do worst than you!

kokofai
post May 8 2009, 10:17 PM

53 posts

I would say that, it varies from one another when comes to self-investment. your up-bring would lead u to how u perceive things around u. In other words, it depends on how good is your "eye-sight" in choosing an investment and how smart are u in absorbing information that are not going public so fast.

When comes to investment world, no one can really claim themselve as "GOD" <--- Warren Buffet is exceptional? (You really think so? But he made darn a lot of money. What can u say?)

I personally would say that the element of luck is also very important when comes to investment. Hedge fund managers, yes no doubt they have the knowledge and skills, but afterall it's still undeniable that if u think u can't manage ur own money, and u really wanna give it a try. Why not?

you wouldn't know how pain it is until u fall down. but it's an experience to make us a better person isn't it? smile.gif
kokofai
post May 8 2009, 11:09 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(rockcrawler @ May 8 2009, 10:25 PM)
Thanks!

My point is: If you dont know how to play, Dont Play! Cos it is your money, dont put your life at risk cos Money only comes in 3rd or 4th in one's life, after Family and Health.

I never think WB is a God.  His existence was a legadary At His Time.  It was by chance someone could also do that by given such a chance at that time, here comes WB.  If you study him and his life thoroughly, he has not special wisdom and skill than the majority.  To me, I adapt Soros more than WB if you want me to choose a true investor with conquer skills and intellectual to face the wave of time.

Comes to gambling, of cos, Luck is critical.
But the fact is, when WB says something, everyone seems to believe in him so much. In other words, everyone treats him just like a GOD!
Yeah he might not be that good as u said, but the fact is, he made billions of billions. he's rich, he's brilliant, he's so influential.

This is a FACT. What can u do to prove that he's not good? WE CAN'T! coz... it's the fact. he's GOD. We don't have any "right" to comment on him.

yes u can...
U cannot prove him wrong until u become the world's richest man one day. smile.gif
kokofai
post May 9 2009, 12:12 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(rockcrawler @ May 8 2009, 11:55 PM)
WB is influential doesnt make him a God.  Is Dr M our Malaysian God who has been influential to our country history in the past decades, even influenced the people, we particular, our whole life?!  Dont simply mention God, the greater power.  What the majority think doesnt mean it is correct, it can only be seen as a influence force, but no statement indicate that it is correct thing to do, or I should.

What i tried to share is that:  Not all of his theories work or he would have been doing greater than his younger times.  The reason he is 'great' now simply bcos it was from His Time as I stated earlier.  Put him to us now in our time, he is not an shinny investor anymore as compare to many others.
Understand your point. But as i've said earlier... who are we to comment on him? lolxx... He's the God of investment means he certain has the power to make the financial market up side down. He has the power.
kokofai
post May 9 2009, 12:47 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(rockcrawler @ May 9 2009, 12:29 AM)
You may comment, critize or praise on anything or anyone you like. It is the right of speech
ya that's right in US, not in msia lor.. later u kena catch by ISA then u know... LOL~ shhhh xD rclxm9.gif
kokofai
post May 10 2009, 04:31 AM

53 posts

rock, do u know that there are actually funds which outperformed the market when it was down?

And, I actually find that it would be pointless u ask ppl not to be another fund manager nor invest in them.

Afterall, it depends on people. If there weren't so many funds out there, do u think that the economy can be stimulated? People would just keep their money in bank or even dig a hole at the back of their garden and bunge it! Imagine if u do not invest, the economy will just move slow like a snail.

And u can't deny the fact that not everyone also has the finance knowledge. Some do still think that they can earn a profit when they invest in funds.

If u do not agree with me then explain to me why there are still so many people buy lottery? smile.gif

This is life, so give fund managers a break! smile.gif Peace~

Added on May 10, 2009, 4:33 am
QUOTE(MakNok @ May 9 2009, 10:45 AM)

Added on May 9, 2009, 10:53 amDon't understand why people worship warren buffet so much..

Can we be like Warren Buffet?

we have our own brain which can analyse what is wrong and right...read more...see current trend....invest wisely...which is basically all we can do now.
It is more important how well your investment portfolio fare during good and bad times.

What i meant is that fund manager don't promise this and that.
Of coz you can be like warren buffet, provided that you can do it at the right time, right place, and with the element of luck. Which has one of a million chance. How many people are there on this earth?

Of coz nothing's is wrong if u try to be like him. Even if u can't but i guess what u learnt would transcend a lot of people. Which makes u a better person, or perhaps, wealthier? smile.gif

This post has been edited by kokofai: May 10 2009, 04:33 AM
kokofai
post May 10 2009, 12:57 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ May 10 2009, 10:12 AM)
Rich, middle-class and poor are choices that one make.
Everyone can be rich but not many choose to do it.
By paying attention to their word, you can spot their choices.

To be like WB, is not to do what he do.
It's to be a WB then do as WB and finally having what WB have.
Be, do and have.

The words we say are our being-ness. The Be part.
Most people just want to do and have. Most of them would not be rich.
To be rich, change our vocabulary.
sounds so 高深莫测 hehe. But I agree that not all choose to be one.

0.0240sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:39 PM