Broadband Problems PAP Authentication FAILED, Can't connect to streamyx

TSsk8erloon
post May 7 2009, 12:55 PM, updated 17y ago

68 posts

After i restarted my modem (DLINK DSL-2640T), I can't connect to the internet anymore.
The ADSL light is stable and not blinking, but i just cant connect.
When i checked the log in modem website, it shows "PAP Authentication failed"
anyone know what does that mean?

here is my log
Attached File  savelog.txt ( 6.14k ) Number of downloads: 119

This post has been edited by sk8erloon: May 7 2009, 02:32 PM
soultaker
post May 7 2009, 02:15 PM

1,323 posts

have you try dial manually?
TSsk8erloon
post May 7 2009, 02:30 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(soultaker @ May 7 2009, 02:15 PM)
have you try dial manually?
ya i tried but same

mercindustries
post May 7 2009, 02:58 PM

162 posts

PAP Authentication failed means that the username/password combo is incorrect. Try to reconfirm the correct combo otherwise call up TM to check whether your account status is active.
TSsk8erloon
post May 7 2009, 03:05 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(mercindustries @ May 7 2009, 02:58 PM)
PAP Authentication failed means that the username/password combo is incorrect. Try to reconfirm the correct combo otherwise call up TM to check whether your account status is active.
i'm sure that my username and password is correct.
i din change it in the modem.
it juz turned to be like this after i restarted my modem.
i've called them to check my acc status and its active, ofcuz it is cuz i juz paid the bill but two hours later my connection down mad.gif

chikern
post May 7 2009, 03:47 PM

489 posts

Call TM to refresh your account.
TSsk8erloon
post May 8 2009, 04:34 PM

68 posts

i called 100 and a technician came.
he checked all my setting and line and he said everything is ok.
he asked me to call 100 again to reset my account
but when i call the fellow said my acc is active so its not my account problem... wtf...
suddenly i'm back online... not sure if my acc was refreshed...
but my IP now seems to be stucked in 218.111.20.xx

chikern
post May 8 2009, 04:48 PM

489 posts

Of course they already refresh your account.

Try restart your router at midnight around 11 pm - 12 pm .. than you will get different IP.
TSsk8erloon
post May 8 2009, 05:14 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(chikern @ May 8 2009, 04:48 PM)
Of course they already refresh your account.

Try restart your router at midnight around 11 pm - 12 pm .. than you will get different IP.
connection down again and i called 100 ... they din refresh my acc juz my port...
dunnno why dun they juz refresh it vmad.gif
chikern
post May 8 2009, 05:17 PM

489 posts

if i were u, i just go to TM point and scold them. Wait there until they solve your problem. XD
TSsk8erloon
post May 10 2009, 01:47 AM

68 posts

OK everyone i can online after i called 100 and asked them to reset my password.
I wonder how their system works?
y it suddenly cannot authorize my account to connect?
now my IPs now stucked in the range of 218.xxx.xxx.xxx as i can see in Speedtest.net the ISP is Telekom Malaysia Berhad.
Previously my IPs stucked in the range of 115.xxx.xxx.xx which the ISP is Core IP Network Develxxx as you guys can see in my signature.
Which one is better actually?
dummies
post Jun 16 2009, 10:43 PM

268 posts

i have the EXACTLY the same issue, PAP authentication failed error even I DID NOT change my password and my account is ACTIVE as what the TM NET customer service told me

later a long troubleshooting processs which they asked me to perform those stupid step like change DNS, refresh port and etc...end up they give up and they just reset my password, then now i can go in again, apparently something very wrong is in the TM NET exchange or server and they don't know what was going wrong and just trial and error to get the issue fixed ! WTF and lousy service !!!
fabianz03
post Jun 19 2009, 07:48 PM

4,649 posts

I have the same problem too.
I need like 1mins to get authenticated.
XxJiaQianxX
post Jun 19 2009, 08:44 PM

134 posts

u guys have any problem with connecting to window live messenger ???

and surf the website like friendster and facebook?? i cant get to these website...

izzit the ip address problem??? keep stuck around 124.x.x.x
GregPG01
post Jun 19 2009, 10:44 PM

4,966 posts

I am having the same issues too . I thought that it's my splitter or some hardware on my side. Takes from 20 mins to 30 mins when I have this "- PAP authentication failed" . After calling TM and they reset, I could connect after like 10 mins...

Strangely, it only happens at night. Afternoon I can connect within 45 seconds.
MX510
post Jun 19 2009, 11:18 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Happened to my 4 Mbps n manage to get it fix solutions by our members Suk
TSsk8erloon
post Jun 20 2009, 11:17 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Jun 19 2009, 11:18 PM)
Happened to my 4 Mbps n manage to get it fix solutions by our members Suk
Wat was the solution ?
MX510
post Jun 22 2009, 01:23 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

PM him and he will tell you
Suk
post Jun 26 2009, 12:03 PM

2,330 posts

U still have the problem now ? ?? ?
TSsk8erloon
post Jun 28 2009, 12:11 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ Jun 26 2009, 12:03 PM)

U still have the problem now ?  ?? ?
Now I can connect to the Internet.
Really dunno wat's d problem.
Sometimes after i restarted my modem the problem occured and i hav to wait for around 30mins to get connected.
but few days back it wont connect so i called 100 to ask.
i was told that my port was having problem and they will send a technician to change the port.
the following day a technician called and told me he ady changed the port.
then I on my modem to see if it can connect to Internet.
unfortunately the situation became worst... it's connected but TOTALLY CANT SURF... even google
when i check the down rate it's only 64kbps mad.gif
i called the technician immediately and guess wat he said ?
"Sorry ah bang i tak tau u 4mb jadi i bagi u 1mb punya port" rclxub.gif WTF
then he changed back the original 4mb port and seems no problem now
but i dun dare to turn off my modem cuz i scare later cant connect again

0.0227sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:26 PM