QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Oct 14 2009, 10:22 PM)
I got two 17" at my house. lolOne is used for my father's PC and another one is wrapped with cling film and currently collecting dust.
INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!
Oct 14 2009, 10:35 PM
2,141 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Muddy Banks |
Oct 15 2009, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(powerwoot @ Oct 15 2009, 12:59 PM) I got 2 units CRT which is still working, 1 is LG 17" flatscreen LG brand but there are hole on top of it caused my kid step on it. Seems very ugly due the hole I bought another 1 a 17" under Multimax brand. Now those 2 resting under the bed giving the way to the LCD pulak. RAM wanna sell a not? Sometime I am thinking to assemble another 2 units of s478 rig pc as I currently have 2 units of working monitor 3 pcs s478 - 2.6ghz, 2.8ghz and 1.6ghz processor 2 pcs of working mobos supported HT , 800fsb 1 pc 1gb DDR1 ram 2 pcs 512mb DDR1 ram and few pcs 256mb ram 1 pc of AGP 8x ATI radeon X1300 256mb and reserved to ravewar 2 pcs of 80gb IDE HDD, 1 currently in use for my linux 1 unit 400w PSU cables, mouse, keyboards are all sufficient to complete the rig except no casing available at the moment. |
Oct 17 2009, 02:02 AM
Oct 17 2009, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 17 2009, 04:01 PM) MPC Home Cinema 8 series and above?you must be using NVIDIA GeForce 8 series and above , not quite sure for ATI users Depends , if its uncompresssed even my Pentium III can handle HD movies. H.264 is a compressed format , if you let it to be RAW , pretty much these CPUs can handle it Too bad for old school users. The best for AGP I ever saw is only 7800GT. Mehh... I'll leave the 1080 playback to my other more capable rigs. QUOTE(Jcsy @ Oct 17 2009, 07:05 PM) haha make sure its the latest PS3 Slim A bit of OT, but I'll still explain nonethelessanyways, PS3 got really high maintenance for movies and games , especially in Malaysia.. cost of these things are really high here Sony knows games costs a limb (or maybe limbs in our country) and thus PS3 got demos for users to download FOC for them to try out first before buying it. If computer games are made like PS3 games, which is anti-copy, then the cost for PC gaming is more or less similar to owning a PS3 as well. |
Oct 19 2009, 10:43 AM
Oct 19 2009, 11:53 AM
I just increase CPU Clock...
Am I doing it rite? and lately my C2D always bluescreen when boot. So I reset the whole setting. Now at stock clock. |
Oct 19 2009, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(powerwoot @ Oct 19 2009, 12:11 PM) Depending on mobo how it called and how it works, my bios called it as fsb i.e 200 multiplier of 12.5 = 2500mhz default. To overclock it I am increasing the fsb from 200 to 240 x12.5 = 3000mhz, the highest stable I can succeed was 270 = 3375mhz, higher than that windows not so stable edi. My pci voltage are currently locked. Maybe in your case your mobo does not so friendly in oc, time to change to new one hehe Owh.Coz sometimes I saw a lot of thing like increase voltage etc but I couldn't find any at my G31 chipset P5KPL/1600 The only thing that increase my clock speed and FSB is the CPU Clock. No need to change to new one bah. I didn't feel any performance difference when I am at 3.33GHz, 3.16 GHz and 2.80GHz (stock) also. The only difference it makes is my Windows wont boot when I am at 3.46GHz. But I did realize the increase of FPS when I OC my GC from 580MHz to 700MHz. |
Oct 21 2009, 12:12 AM
Oct 21 2009, 09:53 AM
Oct 21 2009, 10:06 PM
Put in only lah.
I've seen people with 1.0 score for graphics and yet they still using it without complains. |
Oct 22 2009, 10:52 PM
Windows 7 Starter is very very basic, more basic than 7 Home. Mainly used for netbooks.
Oct 23 2009, 12:26 AM
try downclock and start again?
I kena this before and I downclock my processor and this solves everything |
Oct 23 2009, 12:37 AM
got try change PSU with your bro?
Oct 23 2009, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(dlwl @ Oct 23 2009, 12:46 PM) windows 7 definitely. i think the driver support inside win 7 is much better compared to vista. besides the better performance, the interface is also much improved best thing about drivers for win7 is Win7 will automatically search in the internet for the hardware drivers, saving users the hassle of goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooogling*. *the O represents the timing needed tos earch for drivers especially old hardwares |
Oct 25 2009, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(dlwl @ Oct 24 2009, 12:49 AM) yeah, i didn't even need to install any drivers for my mobo, gc and audio actually when i first installed win 7, but of course better to install back the actual drivers I've tried for a very long time searching for the driver for my Logitech wheel but all those drivers I found are either linked to a broken link, XP compatible only and suspected malware. I almost give up, but then suddenly the windows taskbar pops out "Your hardware driver has been installed successfully" and I was like lolwad? the driver searching thing also helped a lot, as v12 said, no need to waste time googling here and there searching for the right one. However there are still flaws. My audio driver is mixed up. Microsoft go install some other audio driver, so I have to reinstall my VIA HD Audio Deck from the CD. Sound is so much better bow. lol and the driver for my 9800GT in Windows Update cannot be installed till now. So I have to download it my own and it comes with some 3D Vision softwares now. No time to explore the content and the purpose BTW, to Win7 users, does your desktop ahs the "shake" function? |
Oct 25 2009, 01:44 AM
Anyway, I am making my P4 into a "server" now. Just for downloading 24/7 and as network storage place.
I am thinking to downclock it back to 2.4, add in another 1TB hard disk next month and another 1TB the following month. Anymore recommendations? |
Oct 25 2009, 11:29 AM
Now I am kinda divided between Win7 and WIn XP only. If I would like to put in WIn7, I'll have to buy a decent graphic card since my 7300GT already kaput.
and I am still on RAM hunting now. ~.~ |
Oct 25 2009, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Oct 25 2009, 11:58 AM) @V12Kompressor, get Win XP to be installed in the server there cause currently is the most popular and stable. Win7 is still in RTM version,not sure the retail version has reach our shore here. On the GC,maybe you can get a decent HD4650 from Sapphire. Has a forummer here selling this card at RM250 only. It is an AGP slot. Retain version edi reach our shore. So do OEM. However, retail version is not for sale yet. ![]() 4650 is like wasting resources only. Perhaps I'll forgo GC since I am planning to stick to XP. Now is RAMs. ~.~ 1GB modules are rare and rare comes with a huge price tag. This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Oct 25 2009, 11:55 PM |
Oct 26 2009, 12:16 PM
That's very expensive. According to Viewnet pricelist it is still under 110 for DDR400
Oct 26 2009, 02:13 PM
| Change to: | 0.0560sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:47 PM |