Looking for a good weight scale

TSkotmj
post May 3 2009, 08:58 PM, updated 17y ago

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

Those at Fitness Concept are expensive and pathetic! They have many models, but all are from the same manufacturer (so as to have a high purchasing volume, thus lower purchasing price and administrative complexity). I'd press on them, but the needle moves jerkily, and reproducibility is bad. The digital ones are mounted on the same "chassis" as the manual ones, and I don't imagine them to be better. Besides, they're out of my budget. I think the shit there has a precision of +/- 1.5 kg.

Ikea has one for a mere RM 25. I happened to have a half-finished bottle of mineral water with me (about 300g). I gently placed it on the scale, and the needle budged a tad. I gently removed the bottle ... and the needle returned to it's starting point. I repeated that. Same thing. Great reproducibility! Great sensitivity! Then I put the bottle at different points on the scale -- at the center, at the edges, etc. -- perfect reproducibility at very low ranges over the entire measuring surface.

But, and this is a big but: The smallest gradation represents 1 kg! 10 kg is represented on little more than 1 cm of scale! For someone like me a gain of 0.5 kg is cause for jubilation! Months of gorging on unearthly amounts of food, hours of f*rking intense exercise at near 90% RM three times a week at 7 a.m., two litres of full-cream milk a day (to the wonderment of everyone in the office) ... all that compressed into 1 cm of scale.

Surely, there is a better scale out there. Please recommend me one.
encikcam
post May 3 2009, 09:06 PM

178 posts

walk to the nearest hospital, stand on their weighing scale. FOC
TSkotmj
post May 3 2009, 09:09 PM

3,802 posts

I intend to weigh myself in the nude right after the first pee of the day. Can't do that anywhere else but at home.
tengster
post May 3 2009, 09:14 PM

5,612 posts

there is someone who sell weighing machines (all sort) in garage zone...do check it out...I dont know him/her......
jchong
post May 4 2009, 01:01 PM

5,989 posts

I would suggest Tanita scales. Reputable brand and some models have 0.1 kg gradations.

I bought mine from Singapore, then discovered this seller on LYN: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=886276 I've bought a kitchen scale from her before.
redninja
post May 4 2009, 04:36 PM

165 posts

I agree. I've bought three times from the fitness stores with bodyfat%, water% but both times the scale just breaks down for no reason (once brought home, open, place on floor and never move) .. usually right after 1 year. They're also not cheap like RM 200 - 300. The warranty from these stores are only 3 months only.

I never tried Tanita yet but if it lasts more than a year I'd like to give it a try.
TSkotmj
post May 4 2009, 07:49 PM

3,802 posts

Hey, thanks for pointing out to me this seller. I think I've found the ideal scale.
tenno
post May 4 2009, 07:58 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

I bought a digital scale at Carrefour late last month for RM45.90 I think. 0.1kg increments, pretty solid built. There's also another more expensive model with glass surface, like RM70++ I think.
zedstat
post May 4 2009, 07:59 PM

is in the Manic Phase
1,114 posts

QUOTE(redninja @ May 4 2009, 04:36 PM)
I agree. I've bought three times from the fitness stores with bodyfat%, water% but both times the scale just breaks down for no reason (once brought home, open, place on floor and never move) .. usually right after 1 year. They're also not cheap like RM 200 - 300. The warranty from these stores are only 3 months only.

I never tried Tanita yet but if it lasts more than a year I'd like to give it a try.
tanita is the brand used in most hospital in malaysia for their dietician smile.gif
and its known worldwide
i dream on having one. but since im student nearby.. i jz come and timbang every month to view my progression of diet
squall3377
post May 4 2009, 08:41 PM

Y bother...
793 posts

since here is about weighing...
wanna ask, when is the best time to weigh yourself?

morning? night? after meal? before meal?
Logica
post May 5 2009, 12:44 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ May 3 2009, 08:58 PM)
Those at Fitness Concept are expensive and pathetic! They have many models, but all are from the same manufacturer (so as to have a high purchasing volume, thus lower purchasing price and administrative complexity). I'd press on them, but the needle moves jerkily, and reproducibility is bad. The digital ones are mounted on the same "chassis" as the manual ones, and I don't imagine them to be better. Besides, they're out of my budget. I think the shit there has a precision of +/- 1.5 kg.

Ikea has one for a mere RM 25. I happened to have a half-finished bottle of mineral water with me (about 300g). I gently placed it on the scale, and the needle budged a tad. I gently removed the bottle ... and the needle returned to it's starting point. I repeated that. Same thing. Great reproducibility! Great sensitivity! Then I put the bottle at different points on the scale -- at the center, at the edges, etc. -- perfect reproducibility at very low ranges over the entire measuring surface.

But, and this is a big but: The smallest gradation represents 1 kg! 10 kg is represented on little more than 1 cm of scale!  For someone like me a gain of 0.5 kg is cause for jubilation! Months of gorging on unearthly amounts of food, hours of f*rking intense exercise at near 90% RM three times a week at 7 a.m., two litres of full-cream milk a day (to the wonderment of everyone in the office) ... all that compressed into 1 cm of scale.

Surely, there is a better scale out there. Please recommend me one.
Just go get a digital weighing scale from your local supermarket...Carrefour has variety...

QUOTE(squall3377 @ May 4 2009, 08:41 PM)

morning?  night?  after meal?  before meal?
Preferably morning...or anytime but if you are tracking your weight,you should weigh at the same time of the day...
jchong
post May 5 2009, 09:58 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(squall3377 @ May 4 2009, 08:41 PM)

morning?  night?  after meal?  before meal?
It is best to have a consistent time to weigh yourself. The recommendation is to weigh in the morning after you wake up before breakfast.
leongal
post May 30 2010, 02:04 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

sorry to bump this old thread, i am looking for a new weighing machine, any recommendation on the brand?
decypher
post May 30 2010, 03:21 PM

低头族
864 posts

Please don't revive old threads! Let the zombies rest in peace.

BTW, I just bought an Omron digital body weight scale from Caring pharmacy at RM99 (promotion price, NP: 120++). Quite reliable. Shows precision up to 0.1 kg.
lexiqa
post Jun 12 2010, 06:34 AM

525 posts

why can't revive old threads? some of us are new here and interested to participate in a supposedly on-going discussion. i has a sad every time i see a thread i wanted to chip in was closed. tongue.gif

tanita is a very good brand. my mom's been using the weighing scale for baking since forever. we have a tanita scale my dad bought almost 20yrs ago. still working damn well.

omron is also very good. all the health freaks and bodybuilders i know swear by it.
hackwire
post Jun 12 2010, 12:01 PM

4,256 posts

why u need to weigh yourself if you know oily food is fat and exercise is good.

i mean just have to eat moderately and do some exercise and you probably don't even have to know everyday.

look at china and japan. do they care about weighing themselves? they walk to work and just know the body system and diet they are taking.
they even eat small portion.
cracksys
post Jun 12 2010, 12:10 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

why you need to see yourself in the mirror if you knew that beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder?

or shit like that. yeah, that's a bummer
lexiqa
post Jun 12 2010, 06:46 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jun 12 2010, 12:01 PM)
why u need to weigh yourself if you know oily food is fat and exercise is good.

i mean just have to eat moderately and do some exercise and you probably don't even have to know everyday.

look at china and japan. do they care about weighing themselves? they walk to work and just know the body system and diet they are taking.
they even eat small portion.
for ppl who are trying to lose weight, can track their progress mar.

just bcoz u eat well, doesn't mean ur body fat % will be at good range. must see where u start from what.

what u saying is like saying "no need to check mirror when u know the road u driving on is straight" sweat.gif

hackwire
post Jun 12 2010, 08:58 PM

4,256 posts

i think u can ask many japanese that they don't do that lo. or koreans.
when they see us here all with the belly, they will even said right in front of u , u r fat my fren. u don't need a weighing machine or mirror .

with the scale or without the scale not a matter lah...

the japs already immune to eating the right way and they hardly lift a dumb bell.

if u guys like to bullshit yourself with stories like mirror and car mirror , i don't have anything to say. just pure bullshit to yourself.

This post has been edited by hackwire: Jun 12 2010, 09:00 PM
juicerer
post Dec 13 2010, 02:25 AM

54 posts

reviving a slightly old thread

so can anyone recommend a good, accurate scale that measures body fat percentage along with other things?

0.0198sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:02 PM