How do you think about MUET?
Standard? ~ need only Band 2 to enter into University, is it a wise policy?
Is there any better system that should replace MUET?
MUET, ~ discussion about MUET
May 3 2009, 06:03 PM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
16 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Melaka |
How do you think about MUET?
Standard? ~ need only Band 2 to enter into University, is it a wise policy? Is there any better system that should replace MUET? |
May 3 2009, 06:12 PM
300 posts Joined: May 2008 |
band 1 is enough la...
MUET is the most stupid paper... concentrate on ur STPM , nobody will care of ur MUET Band |
May 3 2009, 06:47 PM
1,276 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: PJ |
QUOTE(poilam @ May 3 2009, 06:12 PM) band 1 is enough la... I thought minimum was band 3?MUET is the most stupid paper... concentrate on ur STPM , nobody will care of ur MUET Band anyways yeah, noone's gonna give u a scholarship for a band 6. For self satisfaction and bragging rights mostly. Aim for atleast a band 3. |
May 3 2009, 07:03 PM
331 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Somewhere |
I'm currently doing my foundation studies, but apparently I have to do my MUET this year before I move on to my degree next year. I wonder what it's like.
May 3 2009, 09:26 PM
110 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: KL |
QUOTE(tineagle @ May 3 2009, 06:47 PM) I thought minimum was band 3? Yezz minimum band is 3 ..anyways yeah, noone's gonna give u a scholarship for a band 6. For self satisfaction and bragging rights mostly. Aim for atleast a band 3. and i totally agree on ur thought of MUET They should have asked us to take Cambridge paper and hire teachers to teach us at school , gives a Far Better ability and HIghly competitive edge..i wonder why the Education ministry does'nt think of such things.. |
May 3 2009, 09:27 PM
291 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
MUET is quite a good english paper, it is not easy to score a band 6.
If you apply for competitive courses from Singaporean Universities, they usually only accept students with band 5 or 6. PS: The government has limited funds to improve their public school teacher's English. How would you expect them to import teachers from Overseas to teach Cambridge level English. This post has been edited by pinknotebook: May 3 2009, 09:30 PM |
May 3 2009, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(pinknotebook @ May 3 2009, 09:27 PM) PS: The government has limited funds to improve their public school teacher's English. How would you expect them to import teachers from Overseas to teach Cambridge level English. They do not have to import teachers from overseas. We have MANY well versed qualified english teachers in our own country.Just that many of them teach in the private sector(eg. private colleges) simply because they pay well. Which leaves our public schools with most of the (sorry to say) reject grade english teachers. What can the government do in order to offer a higher and more recognized english syllabus? They need to recognize the importance of students in public school learning GOOD english and increase recruitment and pay of english teachers, period. |
May 3 2009, 10:38 PM
288 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Here |
I think MUET can be replaced by a better test. But they've got a new format already so the standard should be slightly higher than before.
It won't be anywhere near a matter of life and death if you get Band 1. I saw some requirements for public universities and it says require Band 1 only. I personally got a 6 and so far it hasn't influenced me in any way significant. I think minimum Band 4 is necessary. |
May 3 2009, 11:22 PM
12,291 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
muet is a heavily structured and prescribed exam, which is the biggest fault, and which is why it is difficult for those with natural good english to get band 6......
you have to FOLLOW the prescribed format tightly to score, as the marking is closely structured, to minimise marker variability........they had to do that as there are not many good quality markers......so minimise the marker variability by fixing the format of answering, and the format of marking....... any variation out of the fixed format is marked downed......that is why those who are naturally good in english will tend to write/answer based of their natural english, which can be (and is usually is) different from the required format........ it is best suited for those who have reasonable english, learnt as a 2nd language, and heavily coached in schools on the format......these people are those who score band 6......... many natural english users who scored 8 or 8.5 in ielts end up with band 5 due to this....... Added on May 3, 2009, 11:46 pm QUOTE(zhihong @ May 3 2009, 06:03 PM) How do you think about MUET? You do not need muet to 'enter' uni.......just to graduate......as required by lan........Standard? ~ need only Band 2 to enter into University, is it a wise policy? Is there any better system that should replace MUET? and most unis need only record that you have sat for it........the grade is irrelevant........you can graduate with band 1......... so it is a bit of a farce really...... This post has been edited by limeuu: May 3 2009, 11:46 PM |
May 4 2009, 12:02 AM
537 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Ya,Muet they dun see.
U wan go in Uni with band 1 also can. |
May 4 2009, 12:09 AM
16 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Melaka |
As i heard a private U top management officer said:
" you say, Hello, good morning, how are you ... then you can get Band 2 already"... So, if the university requires us to have band 1 or 2 only, is it means that english is actually not so important as a U student? |
May 4 2009, 02:43 AM
2,275 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: 192.168.200.45 |
Some uni band 1 can ad but better if you get a highter band but yeah MUET has changed its formats since end of last year i am sitting for the new format now
May 4 2009, 03:10 AM
1,602 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: KL |
band 1 is minimum requirement for entry
but in certain uni, they need at least band 3 to graduate means band 1 is ok for entry but to graduate, need to retake MUET with at least band 3 to grad |
May 4 2009, 09:45 AM
128 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Ipoh,Perak |
wonder Is MUET easy to score at least band 3?
May 4 2009, 12:21 PM
2,275 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: 192.168.200.45 |
May 4 2009, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ May 3 2009, 11:22 PM) muet is a heavily structured and prescribed exam, which is the biggest fault, and which is why it is difficult for those with natural good english to get band 6...... I couldn't agree with you more, well said.you have to FOLLOW the prescribed format tightly to score, as the marking is closely structured, to minimise marker variability........they had to do that as there are not many good quality markers......so minimise the marker variability by fixing the format of answering, and the format of marking....... any variation out of the fixed format is marked downed......that is why those who are naturally good in english will tend to write/answer based of their natural english, which can be (and is usually is) different from the required format........ it is best suited for those who have reasonable english, learnt as a 2nd language, and heavily coached in schools on the format......these people are those who score band 6......... many natural english users who scored 8 or 8.5 in ielts end up with band 5 due to this....... When I sat for the exams back in 2007, we all were shock with the ones who managed to get Band 6. Like you said, they didn't have an exceptional command of the language or anything. They just answered the examination based on the standards and formats required; and voila! Band 6! Only a handful of student managed to attain a Band 6. Many of my english speaking friends, including myself only managed to pull in a band 5. But its ok, to anything above band 3 is just a matter of bragging rights and self satisfaction. You'll see those that got band 5 wanting to resit and they still end up getting band 5. I have a friend who even got LOWER the second time compared to her first attempt. This post has been edited by tineagle: May 4 2009, 03:22 PM |
May 5 2009, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(tineagle @ May 4 2009, 03:15 PM) I couldn't agree with you more, well said. Being a natural English speaker doesn't mean one is generally good in English already and expected to get a Band 6 in MUET or any other English tests/exams.When I sat for the exams back in 2007, we all were shock with the ones who managed to get Band 6. Like you said, they didn't have an exceptional command of the language or anything. They just answered the examination based on the standards and formats required; and voila! Band 6! Only a handful of student managed to attain a Band 6. Many of my english speaking friends, including myself only managed to pull in a band 5. But its ok, to anything above band 3 is just a matter of bragging rights and self satisfaction. You'll see those that got band 5 wanting to resit and they still end up getting band 5. I have a friend who even got LOWER the second time compared to her first attempt. I only picked up English during my secondary years and my English is better compared to those who spoke English from young. I believe I have a better grasp in English in terms of pronunciation, spelling and grammars. Just that I don't speak as fluently but generally I can speak without much pauses. But I'm not saying I am good enough already because I realize I have so much more to learn. My point is, natural English speaker is not necessarily more superior than those who are not. This post has been edited by joe_89: May 5 2009, 01:26 AM |
May 5 2009, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(joe_89 @ May 5 2009, 01:12 AM) Being a natural English speaker doesn't mean one is generally good in English already and expected to get a Band 6 in MUET or any other English tests/exams. this is not about 'superiority', but about techniques in answering questions in muet........you are a perfect example of an english as a second language user, taught and couched in the exam techniques of muet........I only picked up English during my secondary years and my English is better compared to those who spoke English from young. I believe I have a better grasp in English in terms of pronunciation, spelling and grammars. Just that I don't speak as fluently but generally I can speak without much pauses. But I'm not saying I am good enough already because I realize I have so much more to learn. My point is, natural English speaker is not necessarily more superior than those who are not. generally, 2nd language users will find problem with creativity, use of simile, sarcasm, etc the nuances of a language native speakers use........it is called '1st language interference'.......... |
May 5 2009, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ May 5 2009, 08:33 AM) this is not about 'superiority', but about techniques in answering questions in muet........you are a perfect example of an english as a second language user, taught and couched in the exam techniques of muet........ It was implied that it's about superiority.generally, 2nd language users will find problem with creativity, use of simile, sarcasm, etc the nuances of a language native speakers use........it is called '1st language interference'.......... I know too I am THE perfect example I dont have problems using similes, idioms, creativity etc etc. |
May 5 2009, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(joe_89 @ May 5 2009, 08:43 AM) It was implied that it's about superiority. yes, the muet tests results would suggest someone who scores band 6 is superior than someone with band 5...... i am just pointing out that the difference between them is just exam techniques, which 2nd language users are better at........ |
May 5 2009, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ May 5 2009, 08:51 AM) yes, the muet tests results would suggest someone who scores band 6 is superior than someone with band 5...... I didn't mean the test result suggests superiority. I was referring to the comment before mine i am just pointing out that the difference between them is just exam techniques, which 2nd language users are better at........ Anyway, I know what you mean. You have a very good understanding on the way MUET is structured and all. |
May 5 2009, 10:10 AM
258 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(tineagle @ May 4 2009, 03:15 PM) I couldn't agree with you more, well said. Are you trying to put the blame on MUET since those who did not have a good command of the language managed to pull through MUET with Band 6 but you and your English-speaking friends only managed to get Band 5?When I sat for the exams back in 2007, we all were shock with the ones who managed to get Band 6. Like you said, they didn't have an exceptional command of the language or anything. They just answered the examination based on the standards and formats required; and voila! Band 6! Only a handful of student managed to attain a Band 6. Many of my english speaking friends, including myself only managed to pull in a band 5. But its ok, to anything above band 3 is just a matter of bragging rights and self satisfaction. You'll see those that got band 5 wanting to resit and they still end up getting band 5. I have a friend who even got LOWER the second time compared to her first attempt. In case you have forgotten, MUET does not consist of Speaking ONLY. So even if you and your friends have fluent spoken English it does not mean that you will get Band 6. MUET does not work that way. You still have to listen, understand and write well. You made a pretty sweeping statement here: "You'll see those that got band 5 wanting to resit and they still end up getting band 5". In my school, nearly all of those who resit MUET after getting Band 5, ended up with Band 6 in their second attempt. |
May 6 2009, 12:41 AM
291 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(tineagle @ May 4 2009, 03:15 PM) When I sat for the exams back in 2007, we all were shock with the ones who managed to get Band 6. Like you said, they didn't have an exceptional command of the language or anything. They just answered the examination based on the standards and formats required; and voila! Band 6! Hello there! Only a handful of student managed to attain a Band 6. Many of my english speaking friends, including myself only managed to pull in a band 5. It would be lovely if you could explain these magical standards and formats which give automatic Band 6's, you know, for the benefit of future MUET takers. I sat for the mid-2008 MUET paper and the format was: Reading/Comprehension: Objective (Choose the best answer, shade it in with a 2B pencil) Listening: Objective (Choose the best answer, shade it in with a 2B pencil) << I heard there's a new format, but it still sums up to the same thing) Speaking: They give you a topic, you have very limited time to elaborate your topic individually and then debate it among your group and agree with the best opinion. Marks given not only on content and eloquence but also body language, active communication (they minus marks if you dominate the conversation) and eye contact. Writing: (1) Read the essay, understand it and summarize it based on what you think the key content is. (2) Write an essay on a given topic - Content, Elaborate, Example + Creativity. I personally feel that yes, this format is useful for students to know exactly what they look for in the marking scheme. Yet, I highly doubt that there is a step-by-step guide to teach students the "format" of getting a band 6. This is not SPM's EST paper.. As far as my understanding goes, MUET is not judged by the flamboyance of one's vocabulary nor their creativity with the language. MUET judges a person's ability to use the English language to carry a subject/point across clearly and accurately. I agree with ISFJ that it is a sweeping statement to say that MUET is just a format based question which 'english speakers' can't score in. My personal observation is that most 'natural English speakers' underestimate the MUET paper .This thread alone is proof (from earlier comments) that MUET is not as important as STPM etc to aim for the highest possible result. Most people are content with anything above band 3 to get inside a University. So they would do their best, but would not go through the hassle of many practices, exercises and exposure to MUET questions and work extremely hard for their band 6. Most of these good-command-in-English Band 5'ers also mostly loose marks in the Objective section. Mainly out of carelessness because the objective answers are quite tricky if you don't do it slowly and carefully enough. I base this fact after comparing my friend's MUET results, all of whom speak English on an everyday basis. This is just a general statement - and oh sometimes they just have bad luck too (fierce looking examiner, nerves etc) My 2 sens |
Aug 9 2009, 01:43 PM
618 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Skudai, Johor |
hai.. i am studying at ipta right now.. i have ielts, but the university still want me to take the muet.. so is there any way i can use my ielts to replace the muet?
Aug 9 2009, 02:52 PM
1,397 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Peaceful Island |
I have known several international students who are taking IELTS or TOEFL, but most of them have to sit for MUET -The compulsary english test if you want to step your foot to study in IPTA.
Aug 9 2009, 02:59 PM
owh god. i hate to attend the language class again.
Aug 13 2009, 02:40 PM
69 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
i have taken already for my MUET in MID-Year 2009 but i did not achieved any band..i got "X" at my slip result and what suppose it means?Previously..i had not been seated for MUET exam in part of "Speaking" and yet i'll rather confused..is it that i have failed..?But now in process i have to take back for my MUET and will be seated on this October for speaking.Now, i'm just self-study for preparation taking MUET exam that will be running on October..started with "Speaking" papers.So my question is, what a minimum band should i obtain that qualify a person to enroll at local university?i have intended to continue my study at local university next year..i hope.Because i had reads so many times admission on local university, it says the student should has a muet at least band 1.Now, i'm just waiting for my diploma convocation but has been postponed for H1N1 disease.I am taking diploma in engineering..and many of my friends and colleague talked that for engineering courses, the person should obtained at least band 3 because a lot of references in university mostly in english..i'm not deny about it.so..plzz help me!
Aug 14 2009, 07:28 AM
hey, i heard band 1 will be accepted.. huhu.. that's what i know after googling whether ielts can replaced muet..
Aug 14 2009, 02:48 PM
69 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Aug 14 2009, 11:53 PM
65 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Hello all. I took MUET 2008 paper, and sorry to say, I like it very much. Really.
Maybe Im just one of the lucky students who like to read English novels and my class was fortunate enough to have a bright, bubbly young graduate as our English teacher. Some of my classmates hate MUET, others natural, a few like me doesnt mind it much. I especially like our Speaking practices because it gave me opportunity to hold a mini debate with my friends. Since Im not exactly an outspoken person, this gives me the chance to think fast and speak out my mind, while being fair to others by listening to their POV as well. Im one of the better English user in my class, even though I have to admit my grasp of the language is not as good as I hope it is. As pinknotebook pointed out, sometimes students, especially natural English speakers, tend to underestimate MUET. I did, too. After all those extra exercises and practice, I went for all 4 papers feeling nervous and came back a happy person. I though I scored them for sure! I thought wrong. In my result paper it seems Id made a lot more mistakes than expected. Really burned a hole in my heart, but I moved on anyway. Taking MUET makes me a better English thinker. I can think and speak fluently in the language amongst my friend, but when it comes to formal speaking (interviews, speech etc) my mind turned mushy and my words are not very coherent. I blame it on my nerves. P/S If you squint your eyes carefully you might find some mistakes in my little 'speech'. Care to correct it? |
Aug 15 2009, 10:46 PM
2,188 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
I won't go too long on this one, but it is inaccurate to say that students who use English as their First Language would be under-rated in MUET, thus getting a Band 5 or so.
The trick is simple, use simple English. Let's make a simple comparison with Tolkien's "Lord of The Rings" and Rowling's "Harry Potter" Series. How many people would spend the time to really read Tolkien's work Word by Word? How many who do it for Rowling? This does not mean that those who read Harry Potter has a poor command of the language! People who read and understand what the author is saying has a certain level of English that enables him or her to survive in an English Speaking community! You speak well. Good. You write well. Good. But are you sure the other person who is reading your work or listening to you understands what you are saying? The main purpose of a language is communication, and if what you say appears to be garbled messages to the other party, a language has failed its purpose. MUET is there to test whether English is used as a language efficiently, not a benchmark of your vocabulary. At this juncture, if I have offended anybody, please don't be as it was not intended. ------ Dear TS, to answer your original question, it would be advisable to get a Band 4. That would mean you have a standard of English which is more or less acceptable for normal use. I agree though that MUET has its shortcomings and can be a better gauge of a person's mastery of the language, but there is no need for it to be replaced. After all, if you get a Band 5 or 6, you have shown a good command of the language, and it IS recognised in other countries, even though IELTS and co. would be way more prestigious, no doubt. ~Cheers! |
Jan 5 2011, 07:01 PM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
I think there is a corruption happening in Majlis Peperiksaan. Most of my friends good in speaking and writing. Today we check our MUET result, we only got band 2. MPM lowering the grade so, student will have to retake again muet. Hence, money masok poket lorrrrrrrr !!
Jan 5 2011, 07:15 PM
3,336 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Pluto |
QUOTE(faili @ Jan 5 2011, 07:01 PM) I think there is a corruption happening in Majlis Peperiksaan. Most of my friends good in speaking and writing. Today we check our MUET result, we only got band 2. MPM lowering the grade so, student will have to retake again muet. Hence, money masok poket lorrrrrrrr !! Nah. I don't mean you, but I personally think that some M'sians speak so darn fast and smooth in English, but sometimes forgot to use the correct grammar and such (or adding slangs or "lah" at the end). And remember, speaking and writing are not the only components in the exam. |
Jan 6 2011, 12:11 AM
4,541 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(faili @ Jan 5 2011, 07:01 PM) I think there is a corruption happening in Majlis Peperiksaan. Most of my friends good in speaking and writing. Today we check our MUET result, we only got band 2. MPM lowering the grade so, student will have to retake again muet. Hence, money masok poket lorrrrrrrr !! depends as well some are good speaking casually and this way of speaking may not be right grammatically or your points didn't make sense when speaking and just being good in writing doesn't cut it in MUET there are certain ways the essays must be written as and don't forget there are also reading that can be quite confusing and listening with the usually bad sound system used in MUET. |
Jan 6 2011, 09:51 AM
98 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
what cn i do to improve my muet within a year?
Jan 6 2011, 11:33 AM
1,000 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(passionboy @ Jan 6 2011, 09:51 AM) u have to do more practice, for all the 4 parts to score a better band ... muet isn't testing ur language only but also ur maturity of thought . dun think that u can write well then u should get band 6 .... if u write all rubbish with bombastic grammar , u will get a lower band too ... plz follow the format , dun be stubborn |
Jan 6 2011, 07:21 PM
341 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: pahang/kl |
QUOTE(passionboy @ Jan 6 2011, 09:51 AM) definitely practice. language is not something u can master over a day like maths, it needs to be nurtured and instilled inside slowly. last minutes practice doesn't yield good results as u will speak/write more unnatural. any experienced examiner can detect this i think. take it slow day by day and if u practice constantly on all skills (listening, writing, reading) I'm sure you can be better in one year. here's some of my way in improving english: speaking: talk aloud by yourself everyday. if got a partner is better. this will make u less nervous and more confident when speaking in public. sometimes i feel myself nuts because i spoke aloud to myself too much. listening: doesnt have to be formal. just watch some english movies without subtitles and try to catch up to what they say. preferably british-based movies or dramas as we commonly use british english. american also can but choose ones with a quite proper language writing: i can't say much, but i think a lot of reading can help. in fact, reading can help in all three skills mentioned here. don't forget to buy books on muet too to help u with the formats and other stuff. hope this can help. i just taken muet last year's october. got band 5. |
Nov 16 2011, 10:36 AM
338 posts Joined: May 2008 From: johor bahru, johor |
imma trying to achieve muet band 6 on my first go next year. kinda sucks they change the format of listening. no more fully objective question on that section. any idea what the difference between "false" and "not stated" in the reading. i get confused with that.
Nov 16 2011, 04:22 PM
759 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Izumi's Residence |
which is easier to pass band 3 ?
taking Muet exam by uni or by self ? |
Nov 16 2011, 06:36 PM
Nov 16 2011, 06:50 PM
709 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Nov 16 2011, 10:33 PM
250 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
i heard ppl say take during whereby it run together with the STPM students. Then there is chances the question will b "ABIT" easy than the other 2 times..cz the other 2 times normally for independent candidate and uni student..my 2 cent
Nov 16 2011, 11:06 PM
Nov 17 2011, 12:11 AM
Nov 17 2011, 07:11 AM
Nov 17 2011, 12:39 PM
15 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(kona|kona @ Nov 17 2011, 07:11 AM) I GOT band 5 for my MUET test.i went to tuition with ms tang. she is a very professional teacher. help me a lot.. from band 3 to 5.. exercise and speaking... PM me if you need her contact. |
Nov 17 2011, 12:47 PM
Nov 17 2011, 03:34 PM
88 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Take MUET at university or high school??? I don't which one to choose. Some of the people said that take MUET at school are more easier compared to University...
Nov 17 2011, 06:33 PM
3,037 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 6-feet under |
band 8.5 in ielts or band 6 in meut got more bragging rights?
Nov 17 2011, 06:36 PM
Nov 17 2011, 11:11 PM
Nov 18 2011, 12:37 AM
muet actually no need to go for classes/tuitions.... study casually on your own or with friends are enough.
Nov 19 2011, 02:32 PM
94 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
who sat for muet exam today? My friend said the end-year MUET was difficult.
haha.. I dont need to retake because band 4 is with me already. which sucks. |
Nov 20 2011, 01:35 PM
Nov 20 2011, 01:56 PM
Nov 21 2011, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(kona|kona @ Nov 20 2011, 01:35 PM) I don't really know because my friend does. However from my experience,better prepare for paper 3. Need lots of exercises for this section and Writing part(paper 4). next year,MUET will be held earlier and 3 times a year. so get yourself prepared if you haven't This post has been edited by juri: Nov 21 2011, 07:58 PM |
Nov 21 2011, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(juri @ Nov 21 2011, 07:55 PM) I don't really know because my friend does. Reading bro....Where got paper 3, paper 4........Score reading is a brilliant move....However from my experience,better prepare for paper 3. Need lots of exercises for this section and Writing part(paper 4). next year,MUET will be held earlier and 3 times a year. so get yourself prepared if you haven't |
Nov 21 2011, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 20 2011, 01:56 PM) lol that why i have to retake QUOTE(juri @ Nov 21 2011, 07:55 PM) I don't really know because my friend does. eh the end year muet when to register ?However from my experience,better prepare for paper 3. Need lots of exercises for this section and Writing part(paper 4). next year,MUET will be held earlier and 3 times a year. so get yourself prepared if you haven't coz i miss the uni one . lol |
Nov 22 2011, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(Makira @ Nov 21 2011, 08:00 PM) same la! paper 3 is reading. paper 4 is writing. @kona|kona Im sitting for STPM this month. So for next year system I dont know. Because next year will be held much earlier than this year. Better check at Majlis Peperiksaan Malaysia website for updates when they open for registrations. |
Nov 22 2011, 11:52 AM
943 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
never took muet during my pre graduate time
Dec 15 2011, 09:35 PM
2,283 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Any idea when's the next muet? I registered but I'm not sure if it's february or march.
Dec 15 2011, 10:09 PM
53 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
March.
Dec 16 2011, 01:38 AM
325 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Jan 13 2012, 02:27 AM
19 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
does any1 noe how to retake MUET??did i have to purchase d BSN pin no. again??...did i have to take all over d 4 papers again to fix my results???
Jan 16 2012, 01:51 PM
8 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(zhihong @ May 3 2009, 06:03 PM) How do you think about MUET? u interested to attend muet intensive class?Standard? ~ need only Band 2 to enter into University, is it a wise policy? Is there any better system that should replace MUET? that teacher is very good.. 12 lessons.. n very effective... pm me for detail |
Jan 16 2012, 01:55 PM
3,081 posts Joined: May 2011 From: ▁ ▂ ▃ ▄ ▅ ▆ █ 100 % |
muet,just participate when it comes to discussion part,dont just sit and listened,or just agreeing . make it like a coffee table where you talk with ur friends like lepak2
Jan 18 2012, 09:36 PM
32 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
who must take MUET ?
i am still new just finished spm |
Jan 18 2012, 11:10 PM
598 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Jan 26 2012, 12:43 AM
7,617 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hi guys. I never heard of this MUET thing and i need to take it before i graduated with a result of band 3.
may i know what is this all about? is it like a lecture calss and tutorial? how is the exam like? normal writing essay is it? |
Jan 26 2012, 11:31 AM
3,037 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 6-feet under |
eh guys, need to practice for MUET? I just need to know the format. Where can i purchase exercise books? I tried popular, MPH, Borders, TImes, all to no avail.
Jan 26 2012, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jan 26 2012, 12:43 AM) hi guys. I never heard of this MUET thing and i need to take it before i graduated with a result of band 3. How come you've never heard of it? wow, lol.may i know what is this all about? is it like a lecture calss and tutorial? how is the exam like? normal writing essay is it? There's no class or tutorial, unless your lecturer or uni is rajin to make one. The exam consists of 4 parts: reading comprehension, essay, oral (discussion), and listening. Band 3 should be really easy, even without any classes. |
Jan 26 2012, 07:23 PM
4,893 posts Joined: May 2008 |
MUET is easy, just need to brush up your speaking and writing skills.
for me, MUET is another requirement to graduate from uni, so didnt bother much and never study shiet for it.....err dont be like me ok? on my first test (speaking), i went in half asleep and hantam every thing that comes out of my mind for the topic, didnt use the paper and pencil provided to mind-map or brainstorm......i just listen. 2nd test (listening, writing), i went in 25mins late and simply do. result: band 4 This post has been edited by JonSpark: Jan 26 2012, 07:25 PM |
Jan 27 2012, 01:46 PM
14 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
hi guys...can i know the format about MUET writing paper section A and section B..
Jan 27 2012, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(hirano @ Jan 26 2012, 06:18 PM) How come you've never heard of it? wow, lol. because when i was in diploma no such thing as MUET.. only when i enter bachelor only gotThere's no class or tutorial, unless your lecturer or uni is rajin to make one. The exam consists of 4 parts: reading comprehension, essay, oral (discussion), and listening. Band 3 should be really easy, even without any classes. |
Jan 30 2012, 01:19 AM
652 posts Joined: Dec 2011 From: Kuantan,Pahang |
Well MUET is just a requirement to enter degree level or higher.Even the jobs.Not many people are that good in English,so the qualification to pass is only BAND 1.It is just a communication language but important to many people around the world.So it is better like that.
Jan 30 2012, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(sojiroseta @ Jan 30 2012, 01:19 AM) Well MUET is just a requirement to enter degree level or higher.Even the jobs.Not many people are that good in English,so the qualification to pass is only BAND 1.It is just a communication language but important to many people around the world.So it is better like that. I feel it's pretty stupid to put entry requirement as only Band 1 in some uni, and not requiring them to re-sit back muet until they can at least get Band 3. |
Jan 30 2012, 03:40 PM
464 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Des Plaines |
QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jan 26 2012, 07:23 PM) MUET is easy, just need to brush up your speaking and writing skills. +1for me, MUET is another requirement to graduate from uni, so didnt bother much and never study shiet for it.....err dont be like me ok? on my first test (speaking), i went in half asleep and hantam every thing that comes out of my mind for the topic, didnt use the paper and pencil provided to mind-map or brainstorm......i just listen. 2nd test (listening, writing), i went in 25mins late and simply do. result: band 4 Its easy. lolx. No need to feel scared or panic. Just treat it like an English test or something. MUET consists of 3 parts - Writing, Listening and Speaking. If you're used talking in English in your normal everyday life, no preparation is needed to take MUET. no I'm not kidding. Its that easy. Few tips though, during the speaking test make sure u talks a lot. Don't just listen. If possible, try to be the centre of attention. During my time, it was me and this one girl who do the talking, we voiced out our opinions on the topic given and argue a lot. Writing and listening was pretty easy too. Result: band 5 |
Jan 30 2012, 10:46 PM
Jan 31 2012, 12:30 PM
338 posts Joined: May 2008 From: johor bahru, johor |
muet listening damn teruk la.. ><!!! sometimes i cannot fully remember the answers....
Feb 19 2012, 04:14 PM
Feb 19 2012, 10:55 PM
93 posts Joined: May 2011 From: [Floater] |
it is compulsory for those who want to take degree right??
Feb 19 2012, 10:56 PM
692 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Feb 22 2012, 02:57 PM
93 posts Joined: May 2011 From: [Floater] |
can someone tell me what is the difference between A-Level and MUET?
This post has been edited by fuhrer_69: Feb 22 2012, 02:59 PM |
Feb 24 2012, 01:21 AM
A-level wass a pre-u course while MUET was just a english qualification,no similarity at all!!!
Feb 24 2012, 01:24 AM
1,727 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Planet Earth |
Damn i lost my muet cert then i download the form to request for a re-issue and it require to fill in the code given when taking muet ....how the hell i can remember the code since my cert already gone
This post has been edited by cofin: Feb 24 2012, 01:25 AM |
Feb 24 2012, 09:07 AM
3,799 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: All Over The Place |
Actually it's quite of a hassle to get the MUET cert re-issued. I am actually searching for mine somewhere within my room. I sure hope I didn't throw it away by mistake.
Feb 24 2012, 07:44 PM
265 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
about the speaking test,shudnt it be fair if it is all done in 1day, hv the same Q? coz some of the Q is kinda quite different from other days
Feb 24 2012, 08:08 PM
3,799 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: All Over The Place |
I think it's pretty fair for what it is now. It helps the students think critically with their general knowledge.
If everyone has the same question, I am sure they will start cheating. You know nowadays with the available technology |
Feb 28 2012, 04:36 PM
244 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: KL, Malaysia |
For what it's worth, I got a Band 6.
I feel that many who don't do optimally on the paper fail because they underestimate the test; this is common especially among those who speak English daily. The paper is not "hard" in the sense that you have to know Shakespeare or use fantastic vocabulary, however you must write in an organized and clear pattern, be good at understanding what you read and not make silly grammar mistakes. All this can be done by familiarizing oneself with the test paper beforehand and paying close attention on the test. For the writing portion, don't go for anything fancy. Write a "standard" article and be sure to make no mistakes. The presentation should be well organized (3 paragraphs, summary at the end). Then for listening, I would suggest watching more English movies to practice. For comprehension, you need to be good at verbal logic, just do more exercises and you will get the hang of it. The oral component is where many good English speakers get caught up due to nervousness or unfamiliarity with the format. It's not difficult at all, you just need to present your point clearly when it is your turn and that's that. When I was doing it I told my three teammates to follow my direction, then I would use hand signals to indicate who's turn it was to speak. All of us did well except this girl who contracted stage fright. In the final analysis, staying calm is the most important factor. Just remember, you don't need flowery phrases or a vast vocubulary to do well in MUET, just be prepared and stay calm. |
Feb 29 2012, 11:03 PM
156 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(zhihong @ May 3 2009, 06:03 PM) How do you think about MUET? It's not easy to score a band 6.Standard? ~ need only Band 2 to enter into University, is it a wise policy? Is there any better system that should replace MUET? But the requirement varies in different courses. Normally u'll need at least band 3, but for some courses lik medicine u'll need at least a band 4. If u're searching for a higher system, then maybe u can go for IELTS and other tests offered by overseas instead of taking MUET. |
Mar 16 2012, 12:33 AM
75 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
haha me only score band 3 the test is hard as FUUUU
| Change to: | 0.0455sec
5 queries
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:49 AM |