37 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

when is ASTRO going digital (HD) ?, beyond 720p

Jack28HT
post May 21 2009, 05:35 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ May 19 2009, 11:23 AM)
Astro has already begun looking for testers for their HD broadcast whistling.gif
Gundamalpha,
Care to share how to be a tester? Am interested for it. Thx.
apexg2
post May 21 2009, 07:52 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

i think it has been done la...
Qash-M
post May 21 2009, 07:42 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

Can anyone show the screenshot of quality of Astro HD? (when available?)
lamusiqa
post May 22 2009, 05:27 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 20 2009, 10:28 AM)
I seriously doubt prices of LCD/PLASMA/LED will be be affected in anyway even if ASTRO goes HD. Even if it does, more likely it'll go down, as distributor can order larger bulk at cheaper price. But again, i must stress, ASTRO is too insignificant to have any impact on the global TV market.

Anyway, you guys can wait all you want. I'm already enjoying commercial free HD movies and TV series rip RIGHT NOW...at no extra cost.  brows.gif

I can guarantee ASTRO will charge sky high for their HD service. Definitely nothing cheaper than their SD service.
Anybody can enjoy your so-called commercial free HD movies and TV series. It's called "pirating". The whole point of people wanting Astro HD is to watch their favourite shows and movies legally without requiring any storage. It also has that advantage of showing you contents that you had never seen before and wouldn't have thought about seeing. Through Astro, I came across a lot of great movies and tv shows that I never thought I'd search for.

People just love random stuff and surprises. That's what makes TV so great. Plus, you can't watch live streaming sports HD broadcast online using local broadband.

WE WANT HD FOOTBALL! hahaha

This post has been edited by lamusiqa: May 22 2009, 05:32 AM
fir3f0x
post May 22 2009, 05:31 AM

447 posts

maybe after measat 3a launch? but i heard tht they're now slowly trying to go for "tapeless era".
apexg2
post May 22 2009, 07:45 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

measat 3 oledi launch rite?maybe there will launch measat 3a..hehe........after that we can enjoy HD astro..

btw, as u noticed, if u click channel 130(mustika) on astro, the PQ there quit impress, is it HD?2cent question..
lamusiqa
post May 22 2009, 02:17 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ May 22 2009, 07:45 AM)
measat 3 oledi launch rite?maybe there will launch measat 3a..hehe........after that we can enjoy HD astro..

btw, as u noticed, if u click channel 130(mustika) on astro, the PQ there quit impress, is it HD?2cent question..
Sorry to disappoint, but no. HD viewing requires at least a component cable to display 720p. If you're watching Astro(which is limited to 480i), then no, it is not HD.
SUSMatrix
post May 22 2009, 03:28 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(lamusiqa @ May 22 2009, 05:27 AM)
Anybody can enjoy your so-called commercial free HD movies and TV series. It's called "pirating". The whole point of people wanting Astro HD is to watch their favourite shows and movies legally without requiring any storage. It also has that advantage of showing you contents that you had never seen before and wouldn't have thought about seeing. Through Astro, I came across a lot of great movies and tv shows that I never thought I'd search for.

People just love random stuff and surprises. That's what makes TV so great. Plus, you can't watch live streaming sports HD broadcast online using local broadband.

WE WANT HD FOOTBALL! hahaha
Well, not everyone likes the same thing you do. I don't give two hoots about sports. All i care are movies and tv series.

As for "pirating", there's a gazillion threads on this issue in these forums, so we should not start any more on those.

apexg2
post May 25 2009, 08:21 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

erm..so now we are "enjoying" the los res astro rite..
amduser
post May 25 2009, 10:06 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(maxcheam @ May 19 2009, 10:36 AM)
hi guys,

My Samsung FullHD TV doesn't come with a S-Video port, how to I optimize the ASTRO PQ? Please enlighten me. Thanks in advance!
next time choose your TV wisely

the only thing you can do is play with the settings, or else, switch from 16:9 to 4:3 aspect ratio, at least it helped a bit.
apexg2
post May 26 2009, 08:09 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

QUOTE(maxcheam @ May 19 2009, 10:36 AM)
hi guys,

My Samsung FullHD TV doesn't come with a S-Video port, how to I optimize the ASTRO PQ? Please enlighten me. Thanks in advance!
got model that didn't come in with s-video?i think its all equiped....how about use player that have hdmi and link to tv..i think it oso help..but player with hdmi port quit expensive(not like ordinary player price la) rclxub.gif
megatron007
post May 26 2009, 08:15 AM

4,000 posts

or ur AVR can do s-video upconvert out to HDMI lo

it helps smile.gif
apexg2
post May 26 2009, 12:24 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 26 2009, 08:15 AM)
or ur AVR can do s-video upconvert out to HDMI lo

it helps smile.gif
even its not perfect but i think it helps...but extra electric charges la...for more entertaining, use external speaker(i mean sound system la) that can plug with ur player...so, better picture and sound osos...my 2cent icon_question.gif
torreto
post May 26 2009, 09:54 PM

659 posts

Digital or not at least made it to 16:9 ratios instead of 4:3... watching astro in widescreen tv really made the people and things become fat and short.
arremie
post May 26 2009, 11:54 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

and some "things" get bigger shocking.gif ....nice! drool.gif laugh.gif
apexg2
post May 27 2009, 07:56 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ May 26 2009, 11:54 PM)
and some "things" get bigger shocking.gif ....nice! drool.gif  laugh.gif
i think i got ur point...me drool.gif too....haha!!!
twL
post May 27 2009, 05:21 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

im also one of the samsung lcd tv user that doesnt come with s-video input, is it all latest samsung lcd doesnt support it?
amduser
post May 27 2009, 11:52 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ May 26 2009, 09:54 PM)
Digital or not at least made it to 16:9 ratios instead of 4:3... watching astro in widescreen tv really made the people and things become fat and short.
if it broadcast on 16:9 then it definitely benefits for LCD TV user, but sad for CRT TV user, 4:3 screen will have letterbox resize lor....

if broadcast 480i in 16:9, at least the picture quality will be slightly better because the image dont need to stretch to much

QUOTE(arremie @ May 26 2009, 11:54 PM)
and some "things" get bigger shocking.gif ....nice! drool.gif  laugh.gif
yes.....at least some good things by stretching 4:3 to 16:9 brows.gif

QUOTE(twL @ May 27 2009, 05:21 PM)
im also one of the samsung lcd tv user that doesnt come with s-video input, is it all latest samsung lcd doesnt support it?
my series 6 got S-video and VGA input, and also 4 HDMI and 1 headphone jack, but it doesn't support optical in and optical out sad.gif
MyDevil
post May 28 2009, 10:42 AM

7,480 posts

There is a setting in Astro to change the ratio but I guess there is no effect at all.
twL
post May 28 2009, 11:16 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 27 2009, 11:52 PM)
if it broadcast on 16:9 then it definitely benefits for LCD TV user, but sad for CRT TV user, 4:3 screen will have letterbox resize lor....

if broadcast 480i in 16:9, at least the picture quality will be slightly better because the image dont need to stretch to much
yes.....at least some good things by stretching 4:3 to 16:9 brows.gif
my series 6 got S-video and VGA input, and also 4 HDMI and 1 headphone jack, but it doesn't support optical in and optical out sad.gif
currently im using series 4 with 32 inches(senq said it's latest and exclusive in msia), it comes with 3 HDMI and 2 components(if i don 4get), 2 composite(one of the video is shared with component, means i will less a component input if using 2 composite), and a vga, but all i need is s-video or astro going to support HDMI, haha..

QUOTE(MyDevil @ May 28 2009, 10:42 AM)
There is a setting in Astro to change the ratio but I guess there is no effect at all.
i hv changed the setting of normal/wide to wide, but it is no effect, even i change back to normal mode, the picture quality r still same.

every month pay more than RM100, but this is the only quality we can get...

37 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:29 PM