when is ASTRO going digital (HD) ?, beyond 720p

IcyDarling
post Jun 11 2009, 09:11 AM

1,372 posts

digital as in what ar?

Btw, when the hell is astro going to fix the problem with rain? Everytime it rain, we cant watch astro.

apexg2
post Jun 11 2009, 09:34 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

anybody have tried hdmi converter.....how about the price...sorry if the question have been ask before..
Mov_freak
post Jun 11 2009, 09:57 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jun 11 2009, 08:14 AM)
i think they will sell it separately...ur choice....like astro max..

* a little info...
today(11 June), NST got article about measat-3a...i think this satelite will bring good signal.....n i think we can get the "Digital Astro" soon..hehe!! rclxub.gif
The answer is no, I've asked..... vmad.gif
DigitalTech
post Jun 11 2009, 10:07 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 11 2009, 09:57 AM)
The answer is no, I've asked.....  vmad.gif
Heard that the new astro decoder comes with component connection.

Anyone is using the new decoder? Is the picture quality better or near HD?

Please share.
apexg2
post Jun 11 2009, 11:02 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 11 2009, 09:57 AM)
The answer is no, I've asked.....  vmad.gif
so, it is compulsory for new registration....sorry if im wrong..
SiriuslyCold
post Jun 11 2009, 11:13 AM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Jun 10 2009, 09:43 AM)
It will be highly unlikely astro goes digital within 3-5 years.

I thought the below was true...

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ May 2 2009, 03:25 PM)
astro has been in digital since the launching la...all vid being compressed to MPEG2

but if u mean HD...datz another story la
moomoos
post Jun 11 2009, 11:16 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Jun 11 2009, 09:11 AM)
digital as in what ar?

Btw, when the hell is astro going to fix the problem with rain? Everytime it rain, we cant watch astro.
to fix this problem, there is a gadget available RM50 only, it improves the signal but the funny thing is ( even i myself dont understand) rclxub.gif the satellite signals blocked by dark clouds and the blanket of rain i was told that it works,

i am going to purchase it to test, if it works........ you'll read from me ...haha.... ( the guinea pig )

well its worth the try as it will benefit all thumbup.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Jun 11 2009, 11:42 AM

1,976 posts

I thank you in advance
fujkenasai
post Jun 11 2009, 11:50 AM

1,137 posts

Arghh screw Astro with HD Im happy with watching just Bloomberg, al jazeera and other news channels with current quality on a CRT TV. For HD just get other sources, even if Astro introduces HD they wont be providing 1920X1080 quality pictures anyway.
z3171600
post Jun 11 2009, 02:00 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jun 11 2009, 11:50 AM)
Arghh screw Astro with HD Im happy with watching just Bloomberg, al jazeera  and other news channels with current quality on a CRT TV. For HD just get other sources, even if Astro introduces HD they wont be providing 1920X1080 quality pictures anyway.
I think even HD shows in the US 720p only. But still way better than current SD format.
apexg2
post Jun 11 2009, 02:20 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Jun 11 2009, 11:16 AM)
to fix this problem, there is a gadget available RM50 only, it improves the signal but the funny thing is ( even i myself dont understand) rclxub.gif  the satellite signals blocked by dark clouds and the blanket of rain i was told that it works,

i am going to purchase it to test, if it works........ you'll read from me ...haha.... ( the guinea pig )

well its worth the try as it will benefit all thumbup.gif
rclxms.gif me oso thanks in advance....

yanhui95
post Jun 11 2009, 11:31 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

i've been told that astro is digital now, but not HD, u try watching MTV and Starworld the PQ is quite nice
Mov_freak
post Jun 12 2009, 07:45 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jun 11 2009, 11:02 AM)
so, it is compulsory for new registration....sorry if im wrong..
Sorry for my One Liner

I explaiined this in the previous page

The New Astro Decoder comes with Component connection and supposedly has DNR (Digital Noise Reduction) and/or Digital Upscale (upscale from Astro source *Sheesh*)

If you are a current Astro subscribe, they DO NOT have an upgrade option

You have to unsubscribe your current Astro subscription after they have disconnected your service and reapply again to get the new Decoder

THERE IS NO OTHER WAY

I'VE ASKED

*Sigh*
DigitalTech
post Jun 12 2009, 10:27 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 12 2009, 07:45 AM)
Sorry for my One Liner

I explaiined this in the previous page

The New Astro Decoder comes with Component connection and supposedly has DNR (Digital Noise Reduction) and/or Digital Upscale (upscale from Astro source *Sheesh*)

If you are a current Astro subscribe, they DO NOT have an upgrade option

You have to unsubscribe your current Astro subscription after they have disconnected your service and reapply again to get the new Decoder

THERE IS NO OTHER WAY

I'VE ASKED

*Sigh*
I got a friend tested the new astro decoder with component connection.

The picture quality still sucks. I guess the source is still analogue, even with component connection.

So, I don't think a reason to change the decoder. That's why you don't hear hoo haa from astro on the new decoder.
SiriuslyCold
post Jun 12 2009, 02:27 PM

1,976 posts

As has been mentioned many many many times in this thread, ASTRO TRANSMISSION IS DIGITAL.

it's just heavily compressed, is all.

And last I checked, component video connection is analog.

---

meanwhile US goes digital nationwide today Gizmodo posted this

This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: Jun 12 2009, 10:18 PM
fujkenasai
post Jun 12 2009, 04:30 PM

1,137 posts

When a solar storm hits all of these will be irrelevant even analog. Probably analog will be a bit better off.

http://www.space.com/scienceastronomy/myst...day_031027.html
SiriuslyCold
post Jun 12 2009, 10:14 PM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jun 12 2009, 04:30 PM)
When a solar storm hits all of these will be irrelevant even analog. Probably analog will be a bit better off.

especially if using satellite

the reason for digital transmission is NOT quality, it's bandwidth - in the bandwidth required to transmit one analog channel, you can compress video and go up to 6 digital channels. Unfortunately transmission bandwidth is a limited resource - and you cannot get more; so you have to go digital to get more TV channels
fujkenasai
post Jun 15 2009, 03:58 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Jun 12 2009, 10:14 PM)
especially if using satellite

the reason for digital transmission is NOT quality, it's bandwidth - in the bandwidth required to transmit one analog channel, you can compress video and go up to 6 digital channels. Unfortunately transmission bandwidth is a limited resource - and you cannot get more; so you have to go digital to get more TV channels
Haha yeah so true esp when satellites are involved. I wonder what will happen to our GPS and our astro when this happens.

Probably we should start a fiber optic TV service in malaysia to ensure 720p and 1080p quality pictures.
Qash-M
post Jun 15 2009, 11:13 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

Did anyone see the PQ of Muzik Aktif, first RTM digital channel?
armourone
post Jun 17 2009, 02:11 AM

108 posts

really? singapore TV5 already got HD program
Astro still....

37 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:59 PM