when is ASTRO going digital (HD) ?, beyond 720p
robertngo
Dec 1 2009, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(myqd @ Nov 30 2009, 06:28 PM) Not say to praise Astro too much but it's really SUPERB when watch with 50inches Panasonic Plasma ( not fullHD ). It's in FULL SCREEN at ratio 1.185:1,not like some BDs which still see black bar on top/bottom at diff ratio. the aspect ratio of BD most of the time is the same with what you see in the cinema, it is the aspect ratio the directory intended for the film to be the view in. changing the aspect ratio to 16:9 to fit the tv sometime made the image look a bit unnatural.
robertngo
Dec 1 2009, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Dec 1 2009, 02:52 PM) Get update from this... CODE http://www.measat.com/services_broadcasting_hdtv.html that is the channel measat is carrying on their satelite, does not mean astro will have them on their HD broadcast.
robertngo
Dec 2 2009, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Dec 2 2009, 06:53 PM) hmm.. i think 720p just enough for the trial service...720p will really2 have different pic quality than their current system maybe after customer feedback, they will upgrade to 1080i.... but for 1080p (full HD).., wah.. it's too far if i'm not mistaken, TVB HD jade in HK also broadcast in 720p only.... maybe it is prograssive scan of 720p made it better for sport channel like espn?
robertngo
Dec 3 2009, 04:03 PM
robertngo
Dec 3 2009, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 3 2009, 08:03 PM) As far Astro is concern giving the Boxes free is an investment, surely we will subscribe and that wld cost at least RM100 per month right ! the early adapter are doing promotion for astro, when you friend or family come over to your house and see the quality of HD channel, they may be tempted to finally upgrade to a HDTV and a HD astro package.
robertngo
Dec 4 2009, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(aneip @ Dec 3 2009, 11:43 PM) if I only got documentary need to pay RM20 also? Only 2 HD channel should not be the same price with 5 HD channel. Really hate this monopoly in practice.. Consumer will not win.. if we can pay just RM 20 for the 5 HD channel, astro will be losing money because those channel are the main selling point for their different package. why would i want to get the learning, movie and sport package if i can get the HD version of their best channel at RM 20?
robertngo
Dec 6 2009, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 6 2009, 11:06 AM) Plasma tvs obviously as better and deeper black levels,better motion rendition and of course better viewing angles..Thus,plasma tvs trumps LCD or these so called LED tvs in PQ people still have perception that plasma have burn in problem, but almost all the plasma produce in the recent years have included technology to prevent burn in.
robertngo
Dec 10 2009, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(kianwee @ Dec 10 2009, 12:51 PM) Can you stream live HD Premier League? live event is still the killer app for Astro, the other movie and TV content people can get higher quality stuff faster than it when on air in Malaysia. Added on December 10, 2009, 4:07 pmQUOTE(_ion @ Dec 10 2009, 03:22 PM) How can only astro supersports, national geographic, ESPN, HBO and History go HD There are so many more HD channels on Measat sat. Like Voom HD, All Sports Network, Classica Asia, Nat Geo Wild... How about them See: http://www.lyngsat.com/mea91.htmlthose channel carry by measat for other company lah. some have been there for more than one year already. This post has been edited by robertngo: Dec 10 2009, 04:07 PM