♥♪,Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" V14 ♥♪, [Update] V21 Firmware FOTA & NSU

myliew
post Apr 27 2009, 03:25 PM

259 posts

hi, im using a AP set 5800, can i upgrade my software to V20 or V21? how about installing Garmin?

please advice.

Thanks~

This post has been edited by myliew: Apr 27 2009, 03:32 PM
myliew
post Apr 27 2009, 03:34 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(keivin1991 @ Apr 27 2009, 03:32 PM)
sure can! but you must wait till the official release of the v21 firmware.
difference between ap and ori is the period of warranty only.
Cool~ thanks i will looks for someone to help to upgrade it. then im sure, installing Garmin is not a problem lor izzit?
myliew
post May 2 2009, 01:16 PM

259 posts

just got my reb tube. Testing with wifi now.
myliew
post May 4 2009, 10:15 AM

259 posts

hi, can i know how i can set my tube for this few funtion?
1:- Auto detect bluetooth handfree without turning ON bluetooth at tube?
(My old Motorola V3 use to auto detect)
2:- Reminder BEEP sound for any miss call or SMS, instate of just a blicking light.

please advise.
myliew
post May 4 2009, 07:10 PM

259 posts

Added on May 4, 2009, 10:24 am
1. when the hp bt is off it cant detect any bt device
2. not possible

[/quote]

Thanks.......(how i miss my motorola that can auto synchronize during i turn ON the Bluetooth handfree).

myliew
post May 5 2009, 08:53 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(echo.Garden @ May 4 2009, 07:26 PM)
@attention.... once u pair ur BT devices with ur phone, it'll have a default device on ur BT... that means when ur BT is on.... it will automatically connect to your phone on default.... so you dont have to do the connect manually....

It can automatically connect when in hidden mode... smile.gif
do you mean i dont have to turn ON my BT at my tube and just by switching ON the BT handfree it will auto connect???
i know my old phone can be done, but i try many times at my tube seem nothing happen.
can u please show me the way of doing it in my new tube?

Added on May 5, 2009, 8:58 am
QUOTE(tachlio @ May 4 2009, 08:13 PM)
For those whose as about 3g and 3.5g question,

I just now on dual mode, in my office i get 3G connection when i back home now i get 3.5g connection

So it depend on ur location to get 3.5g connection
i read somewhere befor, our tube can safe battery consumtion by changing connectivity to GSM.
is not 3 or 3.5G, but i still revice MMS and video call. funny.... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by myliew: May 5 2009, 08:58 AM
myliew
post May 5 2009, 09:16 AM

259 posts

FYI, here is some price for 5800 at the market last week.

ORI = RM1230 at PJ SS2
ORI = RM1300 at PJ SS2 (c/w Nokia BT hnadfree)
AP = RM1150 at Sg.Wang (no extra styles but c/w V20 support chinese)
AP = RM1030 at Sg.Besi (c/w with everything with V20 eoru spec do not support chinese)

NOTE: the RM1030 is my friend tumpang someone to buy it at Sg.Besi, got no idea where they get from.

Added on May 5, 2009, 9:19 am
QUOTE(greyPJ @ May 5 2009, 09:00 AM)
if the bt on the handset is OFF the handset cant connect to any bt devices.

so you have to ON the bt in the hp (juz leave it ON all the time) and when you turn on the bt handfree it will auto connect, juz set it to "authorized".
aiya.....will that consume lots a battery?
but anyway thanks for the info.

love you guys.... wub.gif

This post has been edited by myliew: May 5 2009, 09:19 AM
myliew
post May 5 2009, 10:18 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(myst3 @ May 5 2009, 10:01 AM)
To access the bluetooth page, i just click at alarm symbol (tiny bell at top right besite batery indicator), than click connectivity beside the digital clock.  icon_rolleyes.gif
thats what i did. thumbup.gif

Added on May 5, 2009, 10:21 ami have some photo file that cant be delete?
try delete by using h/p but it show "unable to delete".
try using the PC, but it does not shown the file at all.

Please advice.

Thank you

This post has been edited by myliew: May 5 2009, 10:21 AM
myliew
post May 5 2009, 02:38 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ May 5 2009, 10:24 AM)
try y-browser or x-plorer kind type of app.

have u tried file manager?
Y-browser & x-plorer??? er........OMG im loss..... rclxub.gif
where can i get it?
any step by step guide???

sorry, im abit slow.
myliew
post May 5 2009, 02:43 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(mynokia5800 @ May 5 2009, 02:16 PM)
Try to restart your phone. Sometime the files are stored in memory, so basically it doesnt exist. It will go away once u restart the phone.
Hope this will help.  smile.gif
restart???? you mean ON and OFF phone???
i try this b4, the file still remain.....is just like a dead body inside my tube.... cry.gif

Added on May 5, 2009, 2:46 pm
QUOTE(Niuminoid @ May 5 2009, 01:09 PM)
Vibrate is on sad.gif only will vibrate when SMS received.
Anyone had this problem before?

Added on May 5, 2009, 1:12 pmafter restarted the phone then it works.
what happened huh?
i do this as well and it works.
under silent mode, put ringing type to "ringing" and ringing tone "off".

This post has been edited by myliew: May 5 2009, 02:46 PM
myliew
post May 5 2009, 02:50 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(myghimh @ May 5 2009, 02:41 PM)
check my blog tongue.gif
http://myghimh.blogspot.com and look on the right hand side menu...
or search on the top left box
er.........check your blog......but dont know which to click.
any direct link..... biggrin.gif
myliew
post May 7 2009, 07:49 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ May 5 2009, 10:10 PM)
Refer to post #7.

Basically you need internet connection (wifi or 3g)
Press *#0000#.
Press option>update
im a AP user, try checking by FOTA. V21 avelable to download, but im worry.
izzit safe? is there any region code to check befor update for AP set?
update--- after checking product code provide by GothFebrio notworthy.gif ,
my AP red tube is from British Isles Red, so izzit safe to update using NSU?
now my V20 support chinese, will delete of the chinese?
please advice.

Added on May 7, 2009, 7:50 am
QUOTE(greyPJ @ May 6 2009, 06:50 AM)
yes it helped alot, thank you.
many ppl have prob with the lcd. go get it change, hope yrs is ori, ap doesnt have any hope in changing the lcd.

Added on May 6, 2009, 6:52 amand i long press * and it didnt change to +.
worked for voicemail and browser, but not the +. why arr?

Added on May 6, 2009, 6:54 am
juz saw this:

files not deleting-nokia 5800
thanks for the link, checking it now. will update soon

Added on May 7, 2009, 7:57 am
QUOTE(kowkl @ May 6 2009, 08:38 AM)
Hi Bro,

Can you let me know where I can get this in SS2 ? I'm working in DJaya. Is this price inclusive of Garmin ? Coz I've negotiated about 1 weekago with a shop in Atria offer RM1350 with Garmin but without handsfree. Hope to get the info soon.

Tks.
rclxms.gif
at ss2 shop name call Atlantis if im not mistaken. you can check the address from the 1st page of this furom.
RM 1300 include Nokia Bluetooth. you may ask them to FREE install Garmin for you. Sg.wang is charging RM50~80 for Garmin installation doh.gif . you can get it FREE from the 1st page fo this forum, but you need to install it your self.

Added on May 7, 2009, 8:00 amis Garmin FREE to use for 5800? someone told me there are charges in some funtion and some are free.

please advice.

This post has been edited by myliew: May 7 2009, 08:32 AM
myliew
post May 7 2009, 09:51 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ May 7 2009, 09:22 AM)
Garmin is not free, but u can try it before u buy it. check first page for installation method.
else bring ur phone to 5800 gathering, i m sure that other will help u to 'install' garmin smile.gif
better download and install it using the installer (get it from first page)
u might need new serial number as well.
how is the charges? if just using "View Map" or search for "Point if Interrest" izzit free???
myliew
post May 7 2009, 11:28 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(hellwaker @ May 7 2009, 10:21 AM)
view map is free but voice navigate is not. Better get garmin lah

Added on May 7, 2009, 10:26 ami dont think that's possible. I m sure system file will need to update as well. It's like you directly copy windows from 1 pc to another, i bet it wont work.
im using Garmin Version 5.00.30s60.9
so viewing map is free how about serching "Point of Interest"?
how is the charges for voice navigation?

sweat.gif
myliew
post May 7 2009, 11:29 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(reezs @ May 7 2009, 11:09 AM)
anyone knows any free pdf reader for 5800xm??
happy.gif
im also looking for PDF reader.
myliew
post May 7 2009, 11:32 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ May 7 2009, 11:20 AM)
the trial version will last u for 14 days (if not mistaken)
then u can follow the first page to install it (refer to section 14.2.3 Q How to install garmin? Now Garmin is Fully COMPATIBLE WITH TOUCHSCREEN)

cant say fully free as Garmin will transfer some data using ur carrier, so is depend on ur usage.
i m looking for one also...dont want to 'hack' my phone
blink.gif er....i start using it for 5 days ago, why my Garmin never say anything about free trial for 14 days ger..... cry.gif
myliew
post May 7 2009, 11:51 AM

259 posts

after checking product code provide by GothFebrio ,
my AP red tube is from British Isles Red, so izzit safe to update using NSU?
now my V20 support chinese, after up grading will it delete the chinese support?

please advice.

Added on May 7, 2009, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(konspiracy @ May 7 2009, 11:49 AM)
searching for POIs are free. so is the voice navigation
your Garmin should pop up a screen when you turn it on telling you its a trial bla bla bla wan
the only charges that occur is when you use the A-GPS function which enables Garmin to have a faster lockon time. your service provider charges bout 10 cents for the lockon. after lockon, no more charges ad biggrin.gif
rclxm9.gif yahoo~ that means using all fucntion is FREE?
the cost is 10cent per lock-on for Garmin?
izzit all charges apply to Maxis, Celcom & Digi?

sorry ar....am i asking too much?

This post has been edited by myliew: May 7 2009, 12:00 PM
myliew
post May 7 2009, 12:27 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(konspiracy @ May 7 2009, 12:08 PM)
yes, all function is free smile.gif you might want to fix your 14 day trial thing though

about 10 cents lidat. the charges go according to how much data is being transferred but its not much. yes, to all telco
lets say im using the voice navigator from cheras to Damansara or KL to Penang.
any idea how much the data transfer and the cost?
myliew
post May 7 2009, 12:29 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(wootootoo @ May 7 2009, 12:24 PM)
any of u guys are using MS dictionary viewer?

it seems to face a problem, i cant type in my word for search, is s/w not compatible with v21?
oya....regarding the dictionary, is there a dictionary funtion in SMS? i cant look for it ler...
myliew
post May 7 2009, 12:31 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(konspiracy @ May 7 2009, 12:29 PM)
voice navigation is totally free la. only charges are for initial GPS lockon
hm....some said there will be a small charges, some said is totaly free.....any solid answer?

0.0614sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:05 AM