16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V2, unveal the secret underwater world

the_catacombs
post Jul 26 2009, 10:45 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(SengCheong @ Jul 24 2009, 04:49 PM)
got any lates pic for the shrimps tank ?one of my fren tank was also infested by BBA ,can show me how your tank was infected  hmm.gif ?btw wanna to know how to clean them effectively without use any chemical substance icon_question.gif
still havent clean up the BBA... change water weekly... BBA growth slow down... but didnt disappear yet... blush.gif

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Jul 24 2009, 05:49 PM)
bump up c02, have sae, though I suggest excel is the best method biggrin.gif

Drew
dont have co2 or sae for my shrimp tank ar... excel works to kill BBA??.. but overdosage of it will kill shrimps??... unsure.gif

QUOTE(number8 @ Jul 26 2009, 12:42 AM)
guys... a few noobie questions...

1) i've just set up my aquarium... filled up with tap water & pour in the anti-chlorine... can i put in the fishes or i have to wait for 1 @ 2 days?

2) does this waiting period aplicable after pouring anti-chlorine due to changing water?

3) my room temprature is usually <20'C due to aircond... is this ok for the aquarium & fishes?

4) if i want to add some live aqua plants, does adding CO2 necessary as if compulsory? btw, i'm puting small white pebbles as my base of the aquarium...
1. if can wait 1 or 2 days good lo... if not, its still ok to throw ur fish in...
2. most water conditioners available does not need u to age the water... depending on what water conditioner u using... if none, wait a day or 2 lor...
3. waa so cold... u stay in highlands ah??... its ok i guess...
4. co2 is not compulsory... but if u want ur plants to grow better (or grow high demand plants), u need co2...

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Jul 26 2009, 12:37 PM)
will puffer harm my shrimps?cause they kill snail easily i think there wouldnt be a problem for it to kill my shrimps...u mean dwarf puffer?
yes...
the_catacombs
post Jul 26 2009, 11:16 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Jul 26 2009, 10:54 PM)
@ catacombs,

That's why.. if your shrimp tank has no c02.. just leave them be. My shrimp breeding tank is very ugly lol. No c02 no fert tank.. algae everywhere haha.

Drew
yea... shrimp tank ugly nvm... as long as the shirmps survive and breed... wuakakakkaka...

jz got my co2 tank from MAC forumer.... when i came back home jz now saw many hair algae growing from my riccia... got BBA also... tomolo go buy SAE first....
the_catacombs
post Jul 30 2009, 09:07 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(number8 @ Jul 30 2009, 07:36 AM)
guys... need help.. some of my freshwater fishes are showing signs of swelling near their mouths... red and white in colour... what's the cause and how to help them? or is it maybe i mistakenly put in a small amount of saltwater before? even one of the fish has died after 5 days in the tank...
why put saltwater inside freshwater fish??
the_catacombs
post Jul 31 2009, 01:47 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(blinded @ Jul 31 2009, 12:20 AM)
Hi guys.
An update on my lame low tech tank. Took out the betta for spawning, put in a few tetras and reset the tank last week.
I also trimmed down the Wisteria and added a 2 inch DC fan.

The Java moss is a dirt magnet  sad.gif

sorry for the sub-standard photo.

Thanks. smile.gif
ur water filter abit too small for ur tank size ar....

anyway, got myself a 2L pressurized co2 tank d.. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

but normal regulator only... not solenoid one...

the_catacombs
post Jul 31 2009, 02:12 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Jul 31 2009, 01:45 PM)
how much u bought it?
200 sweat.gif
the_catacombs
post Aug 2 2009, 01:32 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

i'm running mine 24/7... but at less bps...

but i dont have bubble counter mounted yet... agak2 saja... tongue.gif
the_catacombs
post Aug 4 2009, 06:31 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(happy_gal @ Aug 4 2009, 03:09 PM)
urm.. nt sure if this is the right place for me to ask this bt i dunno where to put my Q..

anyway i want to buy fish as a present to my bf cause he love fish. The thing is, he has 3 tanks .. Top tank is arowana, second is empty, 3rd are some small fish i dunno called what.. some indonesian cat fish or something lah  .. the water for all 3 tanks are using the same water cause at the side he had some filter to filter all those dirty stuff from the water..

i plan to buy some fish to populate into the 2nd tank bt i want to know what kinda fish will be suitable.. his "honeY" is his arowana in the top tank and i dun want to buy a fish that will sorta dirty the water and then kill his arowana.. hehe.. or is this scenario even applicable?.. i have no idea...

i cant afford arowana too exp.. what kinda fish can i buy that is not too expensive (and nt too cheap like gappi) and is easy to maintain ah?.. most importantly wont distrupt the water cleanliness too much ah..

thank thanks..
buy colorful cichlids can adi la...
the_catacombs
post Aug 5 2009, 01:00 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(blinded @ Aug 5 2009, 12:59 AM)
That is what I thought. Thanks for pointing it out smile.gif
My friend is selling his Resun HOB BioStream Filter 360L/H for RM25. Should I get it. Its only 3 month old BTW.
but since u only have betta inside, should be ok... betta hate strong current...
the_catacombs
post Aug 5 2009, 01:23 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(blinded @ Aug 5 2009, 01:03 AM)
hehehe...I've already taken out the betta for spawning and will put him in the SU845 jar later on. Now I have 6 neon tetras in the 5g tank.
neons need larger filtration lo
the_catacombs
post Aug 5 2009, 06:07 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(number8 @ Aug 5 2009, 07:58 AM)
i started this hobby last 2 weeks... add 10 fishes... 1 died... and some fishes shown to have red swelling on the mouth, white spots and swelling on the fins... can't even flip the fins... only move the tail... so based on advice, i add black water extract, aquadine general aid special and some aquarium salt... then, last 2 days, bought some more new fish... today 1 died... why is it? any other medications that i can / should use? or how to stablize my fishes? or just keep on experimenting? sad.gif
waa... so many fish... how big is ur tank??..

got de-clorin ur water or not??... u use tap water or aged water??... should be water problem la...

QUOTE(red_dream83 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:24 AM)
how to prevent the fish jumping out the tank for open air tank? my tank temp is 28 c.
how many fish u have and how big is ur tank??.. overcrowded tank will cause the fish to stress and jump out... bad water quality also will cause the fish to jump... many reasons....

QUOTE(shylock @ Aug 5 2009, 01:37 PM)
hi there!!!!!

Im newbies here...i want to noe when the rite time to on and off the light. n 1 more if i build my own co2 reactor, using yeast n sugar..how to make it stop..or just let it contribute co2 24/7 in the aquarium.???can it(co2) harm my fish. tq..
photoperiod should be around 8 hours daily... up to u when u wanna switch it on... i prefer mine to switch on at night as i can see my fishes... but some experts say u should switch on the lights in the morning...

as for diy co2, u can jz leave it on 24/7... dont try to stop the supply as the pressure build up will explode ur yeast mixture bottle... if ur co2 bps is too much and u cant control it, add air bubble at night (or when off photoperiod) so ur fish and plants get sufficient oxygen supply...
the_catacombs
post Aug 5 2009, 10:49 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Aug 5 2009, 08:00 PM)
Well it is written over the net that it is advisable to light up your tank during the day plainly because. well, When your lights is off, and it's during the day.. your tank would somehow or another get light from the sun.. this may lead to slight algae growth or slunted rotala growth IMO.

Drew

Added on August 5, 2009, 8:01 pmOh, not only rotalas.. any other stem plant could be seen slunted towards a light source.. Many who light their planted tanks at night have reported of such cases.

Drew
my slow growing plants dont see much difference... hehe... yeah, agree stem plants till slunt towards light source during the day even lights are switched off... had similar experience last time when i had some fast growing stem plants....

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Aug 5 2009, 08:19 PM)
Bro playseeker and chuppy,

thank you guys for the information. really apperciate that, past weeks i have taken ur suggestion and chk out and compare LFS in penang, CTY, KW and Fishop. I have to agree with u guys that the Fishop guy really very helpful and knowledgeable, very willing to help. But actually there's one guy that attended me in CTY also very helpful, even give me his hp # if i need help or info. Anyway, i have decided to get my first tank and fish frm Fishop as the shops has everything that i'm looking for, will drop by again this weekend to make purchase. Planning for a 2ft planted setup with guppy and tetra.

any other "aquatic life" that i can add in my tank? was tinking of shrimp....

btw, for hardware stuff is the price in Fishop reasonable compared to KW? i know KW is quite cheap for the hardware stuff.

thanks alot guys.
careful of what fish u have inside ur tank if u intend of keeping shrimps... some fish does feed on shrimps... u'll notice ur shrimp population decrease dramatically... laugh.gif
the_catacombs
post Aug 6 2009, 03:53 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(red_dream83 @ Aug 6 2009, 09:03 AM)
my tank is about 1 feet. i just got 10 Rabora and 2 oto fish week by week 1 rasbora jumping out the tank. now got 2 only sad.gif
i don measure the water parameter but my tank water is always crystal clear.
is rasbora like to jump out?
could be water problem... crystal clear doesnt mean suitable for fish... tap water for example has a lot of harmful chemical inside which is dangerous for ur fish....
the_catacombs
post Aug 6 2009, 06:01 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Aug 6 2009, 05:20 PM)
got my sulawesi today...

share some photos.

freshwater or saltwater??... i've seen similar one but saltwater.... hmm.gif

how much u paid for it??... rclxms.gif
the_catacombs
post Aug 8 2009, 12:18 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

yea lucky i buy co2 tank d... but diffusion not nice... big bubbles... some more not distributed properly around the tank..
the_catacombs
post Aug 8 2009, 02:10 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Aug 8 2009, 12:25 AM)
means the tablet really no effect at all ? 1 more thing.. the light for plant.. need how many watt above ?
3 watt per gallon... if not mistaken...
the_catacombs
post Aug 8 2009, 06:39 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

damn my housemate override the light timer... left it switched on for dunno how many days adi.... fark... now my hair grass all covered with BBA... riccia covered with hair algae.... green spot algae all over the tank glass.... @#$%^&*()
the_catacombs
post Aug 8 2009, 08:32 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Aug 8 2009, 07:30 PM)
nuke it nuke it nuke it
use what and nuke??.. later plan to unroot all infected hairgrass... aih... my riccia pearling... but pearling in between hair algae... damn... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
the_catacombs
post Aug 8 2009, 10:26 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

possible... make sure its kept at room temperature... if hot spring inside confirm die...

Added on August 8, 2009, 10:30 pmpulled out almost all of my hair grass... my glosso also occupied by hair algae... throw away all my pearling riccia adi... trimmed my stem plants and remove bad leaves... cleaned up green spot algae on the wall...

now there are still some hair algae left on the glosso... tomolo buy a few more sae and yamato....

This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Aug 8 2009, 10:30 PM
the_catacombs
post Aug 9 2009, 02:52 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

fuhyoo... vr nice driftwood.... but like not enough stones ar...
the_catacombs
post Aug 9 2009, 01:15 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Aug 9 2009, 06:41 AM)
@pinchy

well, that was initial set-up.. now the tank already running already. Used 2 bags of normal and 1 bag of powder lol.. AMZ one.. didn't want to use 2. same reason (the one you told me about lol)

@cata
well, here's another pic...

Another angle.. haha.. will slowly leak poison here.. tongue.gif

Drew

Poison... haha

Drew

Added on August 9, 2009, 10:04 am

damn... nice nice.... but double co2 diffusion... total how many bps??... if co2 overdose anything will happen ar??... i know will harm fauna la but when i overdose mine, my fauna doesnt seem to care... my guppies somemore play around the bubbles rising from the diffuser...

btw, i've relocated my diffuser at the bottom of my HOB filter output... hope water flow will help distribute the co2 abit...

overdosing excel will kill BBA rite??... overdosing co2 can kill any algae??... hahaha.....

16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0428sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:29 AM