The Star Edu Fund Scholarship holder., anyone..?

TSPhlore
post Apr 23 2009, 11:12 AM, updated 17y ago

Hi, I'm actually waiting for local uni application result. but i also applied for the star edu fund as a back up in case i didnt get into local uni, then if my scholarship application is accepted, and if i start studying for like 1 or 2 month first while waiting for uni application result to be out.

Okay, so when uni result is out, i decide to go local uni and would like to stop studying in the college. do i need to pay back the money for the course/month i've studied there..?

anyone experience this before?

and also, the scholarship is sponsored by the star itself or the college?
Angel01
post Apr 23 2009, 12:11 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

i never got contacted for star.
mystery books
post Apr 23 2009, 02:09 PM

how to apply for the scholarship
e1e7en
post Apr 23 2009, 03:40 PM

178 posts

I've applied too & till now no word...
When will they contact the applicants anyway?
TSPhlore
post Apr 23 2009, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Apr 23 2009, 12:11 PM)
i never got contacted for star.
QUOTE(e1e7en @ Apr 23 2009, 03:40 PM)
I've applied too & till now no word...
When will they contact the applicants anyway?
They called me for interview at sunway college next week.. i'm still not sure whether should i go or not..

not sure whether when they will call. i think it all depends on the college, when they wanna held the interview then only they contact the applicants..

QUOTE(mystery books @ Apr 23 2009, 02:09 PM)
how to apply for the scholarship
u can download the form from the star website. but it's closed already for this year. you gotta wait for the next edu fund next year..
Angel01
post Apr 23 2009, 08:36 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

means tak dapat liao.
TSPhlore
post Apr 23 2009, 08:56 PM

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Apr 23 2009, 08:36 PM)
means tak dapat liao.
not really.. what course and college you applied for..?
e1e7en
post Apr 24 2009, 12:40 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Phlore @ Apr 23 2009, 08:15 PM)
They called me for interview at sunway college next week.. i'm still not sure whether should i go or not..

not sure whether when they will call. i think it all depends on the college, when they wanna held the interview then only they contact the applicants..
Since u got the chance go for it. No need to hesitate, unless u already enrolled somewhere else?
Angel01
post Apr 24 2009, 01:44 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

stupid disted.
Hoong.ster
post Apr 29 2009, 03:45 PM

205 posts

i applied for taylor's architecture starting on july. No call from star till now means tak dapat? sad.gif
QueeKim
post Apr 29 2009, 04:05 PM

My sis attended the interview for the star scholarship today..
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 29 2009, 04:09 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(Phlore @ Apr 23 2009, 11:12 AM)
Hi, I'm actually waiting for local uni application result. but i also applied for the star edu fund as a back up in case i didnt get into local uni, then if my scholarship application is accepted, and if i start studying for like 1 or 2 month first while waiting for uni application result to be out.
Make up your mind. If you really get Star Edu Fund go for it, no point going for local uni.

Okay, so when uni result is out, i decide to go local uni and would like to stop studying in the college. do i need to pay back the money for the course/month i've studied there..?

anyone experience this before?
Depending on the contract, if you signed it, most likely it is a yes.

and also, the scholarship is sponsored by the star itself or the college?
Which uni you're waiting your results from? Which college did you apply for the scholarship?

The college will be the one paying the money, Star will have a special contract with the uni/college.
moniqee
post Apr 29 2009, 07:41 PM

7,864 posts

QUOTE(Phlore @ Apr 23 2009, 08:15 PM)

u can download the form from the star website. but it's closed already for this year. you gotta wait for the next edu fund next year..
sunway college? congratZ! wat course n degree did u get? go for the interview lar!! no harm in trying!!

do u know that IPTS degree cert is more laku than IPTA degree cert?

with IPTS cert ( good college wan ) can at least get jobs overseas ( singapore n etc ) while IPTA is more laku at malaysia only. ^^
MicLord
post Apr 29 2009, 09:33 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Apr 29 2009, 07:41 PM)
sunway college? congratZ! wat course n degree did u get? go for the interview lar!! no harm in trying!!

do u know that IPTS degree cert is more laku than IPTA degree cert?

with IPTS cert ( good college wan ) can at least get jobs overseas ( singapore n etc ) while IPTA is more laku at malaysia only. ^^
second that....
If I were TS,I would go enroll my studies in IPTS rather than IPTA
According to someone,told me that some of the IPTA certs only recognised by the Malaysia and Australia
Btw,my friend just got her "plant biotechnology"nottingham scholarship the other day from STAR
Ivangile
post Apr 29 2009, 09:36 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(MicLord @ Apr 29 2009, 09:33 PM)
second that....
If I were TS,I would go enroll my studies in IPTS rather than IPTA
According to someone,told me that some of the IPTA certs only recognised by the Malaysia and [/U]Australia[/I]
Btw,my friend just got her "plant biotechnology"nottingham scholarship the other day from STAR
Are you sure aus also recognise IPTA ???
MicLord
post Apr 29 2009, 09:41 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Ivangile @ Apr 29 2009, 09:36 PM)
Are you sure aus also recognise IPTA ???
Yes,like I have said,some of the courses offered by IPTA do recognised by one or two countries in overseas but not all....
QueeKim
post Apr 29 2009, 11:21 PM

If u got the star scholarship, u cant apply PTPTN...haizz
MicLord
post Apr 30 2009, 09:33 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(QueeKim @ Apr 29 2009, 11:21 PM)
Why would someone wants to apply PTPTN if he/she got the scholarship from STAR.....STAR has given out lots of full scholarship to the students and there's no need for them to apply loan anymore unless they're planning to apply loan for their living expenses doh.gif
Hoong.ster
post Apr 30 2009, 09:46 AM

205 posts

anyone receives the call from star to be interview in Taylors' university college for bachelor? Thanks in advance! rclxub.gif
QueeKim
post Apr 30 2009, 04:22 PM

Why would someone wants to apply PTPTN if he/she got the scholarship from STAR.....STAR has given out lots of full scholarship to the students and there's no need for them to apply loan anymore unless they're planning to apply loan for their living expenses

My elder sis got the star scholarship for paying fees..she applied ptptn to support her living expenses...but the star din allowed her to do so...then my sis gave up the star scholarship..she told the star that she needed ptptn for living expenses and have to give up the star...then the star felt pity to my sis..then they gave my sis the scholarship..and my sis had ptptn too..tat was great! now my younger sis attended the star's interview yesterday..now is waiting for the result of the interview...
Muhammad Syukri
post Apr 30 2009, 07:05 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(QueeKim @ Apr 30 2009, 04:22 PM)
Why would someone wants to apply PTPTN if he/she got the scholarship from STAR.....STAR has given out lots of full scholarship to the students and there's no need for them to apply loan anymore unless they're planning to apply loan for their living expenses

My elder sis got the star scholarship for paying fees..she applied ptptn to support her living expenses...but the star din allowed her to do so...then my sis gave up the star scholarship..she told the star that she needed ptptn for living expenses and have to give up the star...then the star felt pity to my sis..then they gave my sis the scholarship..and my sis had ptptn too..tat was great! now my younger sis attended the star's interview yesterday..now is waiting for the result of the interview...
Wow good for you sis,but u know your sis will be burden with the PTPTN loan sometimes?

but i guess your family can cover abit for your sis.
QueeKim
post May 1 2009, 01:04 AM

No...my parents din even keluar sesen for our studies at outside...coz we are poor..all is depend by ourself...applied ptptn to support living expenses...my elder sis graduated and now she is working...i think she is paying back money to ptptn monthly gua...my parents would not be able to help us to pay fees..what we need to do is striving hard in every exam and get scholarship to support ourself at outside...we have to be independent...since we have chance to further studies with scholarship...this could reduce my parents' worries and burden..some more...this make me and my sis become independent and strong enough to stay at a place where it is unfamiliar with...im glad that my younger sis have the chance to get the star scholarship..now she is waiting for the result of interview...
Brandorina
post May 1 2009, 02:36 AM

63 posts

Wow I didnt know any scholar can actually do that! Star must be so kind to allow that . Cause almost all the scholarship that Ive tried applying surely left out 1 lil space just to shoot the question if we were bonded or is already under any loan with other foundations/companies .
TSPhlore
post May 1 2009, 12:55 PM

First of all, thanks for all the infos and opinions..

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Apr 29 2009, 04:09 PM)
Make up your mind. If you really get Star Edu Fund go for it, no point going for local uni.
Depending on the contract, if you signed it, most likely it is a yes.
Which uni you're waiting your results from? Which college did you apply for the scholarship?

The college will be the one paying the money, Star will have a special contract with the uni/college.
i applied for USM. also uum upm ukm.. i wanted to get into usm actually..

QUOTE(QueeKim @ Apr 29 2009, 11:21 PM)

ptptn loan.. thats what i worry.. its like even if we get the scholarship, we still cant afford to pay for the living expenses..
QueeKim, so means, we have to ask the star for approval to apply ptptn.. hmmmm hmm.gif

anyway, i have two interviews for diff course, one is accounting and finance, another is business studies..

well. i didnt attend the interview for accounting and finance after discussing with my parents..because if im accepted, then i need to start studying there already.. and they actually wanted me to go into any local uni.. which im not really fancy of..i only like usm.. well. i know.. its me who is studying, not them.. hmm.. i actually dont know what i want for myself also..

for business studies.. i still have the chance to reconsider whether to go or not..becuase its on next week..

romulus47plus1
post May 1 2009, 02:05 PM

455 posts

Gosh.... I wanna cry..... T.T
misswateva
post May 2 2009, 10:12 AM

hey everyone...i would like enquire that who had attended philip woo classes before for p1 n p3???is his tips for p1 reliable??

and also anyone got reliable p3 tips as i am reali struggling wf p3...
thanx alot n hoping for a reply soon!!!
baoz
post May 2 2009, 11:08 AM

963 posts

Competition for Star Education Fund is quite stiff... if they don't call you means you don't get it.

I applied for two years also no reply at all. For Penang Medical College, Metropolitan and Nottingham.

I suppose is because I'm the only dependant in my family. My sister is already working. They look heavily on your family's income too.

0.2395sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:04 AM