7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Clueless on which telco? Prepaid or postpaid?, Enquiries, discussions and suggestions

kae7
post Jun 15 2012, 06:49 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Jun 15 2012, 01:19 PM)
any maxis postpaid here? on mobile internet particularly?

I just switch from DiGi -> Maxis last week
on 8/6 to be exact

right after I was switch, I subscribed the 3gb plan @ RM68.

ok then Maxis SMS me and tell me my pro-rated billing date will on 28/6
I dont get full 3gb data plan but only around 2.5-2.7gb until 28/6.

right after I notified that, I set my 3G watchdog limit
2.5gb / month, expired on 28/6. (where on 29/6,I will reset to 3gb for July)

heres the case
as at today, I try check on *136*9#

at status

it stated

"you've 928.52mb balance as of 15/6 (today) at 1230pm"

the problem is, when I check with my 3G watchdog

I only used up to 985mb / 2.5gb.

so is the word used by Maxis wrong? or I really only left 928.52mb, that is crazy because its only 1 week & I already used up to 1.6gb +++?!??

This never happen when I use DiGi :/
you may need to save the log of the watchdog or screenshot.. and then argue with Maxis.. smile.gif

kae7
post Jun 16 2012, 10:16 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Jun 15 2012, 10:52 PM)
not heavy user, typical <Rm30 phone bill, use internet <1GB
recommendations anyone?
Umobile biggrin.gif
kae7
post Jun 17 2012, 03:13 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Jun 17 2012, 12:11 AM)
how is the coverage? i looked at their website & not sure if the area i'm in got 3G coverage or not
data coverage/speed , you need to test by yourself... not everyone will experience the same speed although around the same place..

you can ask in http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=915378 , perhaps got people live in your area
kae7
post Jun 18 2012, 10:45 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Axel @ Jun 18 2012, 12:25 AM)
can anyone tell me if tunetalk's data is 2G or 3G?the 5sen per MB thingy data i mean :3
compare tunetalk prepaid to umobile prepaid (regular prepaid,not u28 and all that plan),which is better?
it is 3G .. , Umobile is better anyway..
kae7
post Jun 18 2012, 03:10 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Axel @ Jun 18 2012, 02:46 PM)
i see,all i see on tunetalk only say gprs,very confusing website T.T
better?how so?today's my 2nd trying out tunetalk,was planning to get either this or umobile actually  sweat.gif
Umobile is more established and stable than tunetalk. although they are roaming on celcom coverage....

anyway.. it is depend on your location too.. not all places that Umobile perform well..
kae7
post Jun 18 2012, 07:13 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Axel @ Jun 18 2012, 06:40 PM)
that explains why my phone connects to celcom,LOL  doh.gif
well so far,i use at sunway,shah alam,PJ area,quite smooth la so far but probably cuz im a lite user anyway
its just prepaid so can always change whenever i feel unsatisfied  laugh.gif
i just realized my tunetalk number has 11 digits O.O
11 digits are normal... almost all telcos have 11 digit numbers.. maybe got many Malaysians that use more than 1 numbers smile.gif
kae7
post Jun 18 2012, 10:26 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Axel @ Jun 18 2012, 08:29 PM)
true that,was planning to get another number once my hotlink youth club expires...assuming im satisfied with tunetalk x)
better keep the hotlink youth club number or sells it biggrin.gif
kae7
post Jun 22 2012, 09:34 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(alvinmwc @ Jun 21 2012, 06:37 PM)
hi there, can i get this U28 sim pack and use it as broadband for lappy since i alrdy hv the usb modem ?? unsure.gif
"No xtra charges if exceeds data limit",so only speed will be effected or totally cut off internet access if exceed data limit? unsure.gif
speed will be throttled..

yes, you can.. of course you need to follow the correct settings.. [as stated in the pack]

or http://u.com.my/faqs/3g-modem-configurations

This post has been edited by kae7: Jun 22 2012, 09:38 AM
kae7
post Jun 28 2012, 07:15 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jun 28 2012, 05:18 PM)
i outstation a lot.

which Telco Postpaid suit me most?

in term of coverage, signal and speed?

im currently using Digi Postpaid Smart Plan.

when you go rural area / kampung, Signal week, and no signal at all

for example waterfall area, forest area, and very rural area with no street lighting.

so the internet connection also dun hav, cant even check maps or GPS.
any suggestion?

tq
you should go for Maxis or Celcom,

Celcom may have widest coverage, but Maxis may have the best speed in rural areas biggrin.gif
kae7
post Jun 29 2012, 12:15 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jun 28 2012, 11:02 PM)
Heard many bad feedback bout celcom regarding over charge billing.
So maybe its time to try out maxis.
even thou um u28 package very tempting.
haha
overcharge billing ? how ?? I thought maxis is more popular for that ?

so far, i never get the overcharge billing for my maxis postpaid plan..

let say you subscribed for 3GB data quota, you just need make sure that, you don't exceed the 3GB quota.. it is simple just like that, maxis will send you sms on 100MB before exceed the quota..
kae7
post Jun 29 2012, 01:31 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jun 29 2012, 01:10 AM)
maxis also i heard before.

overcharger few hundred for data usage.

so if i take the 1GB plan, got notifications?
yes, it will notify you , and if you want.. you also can check it by yourself..

Celcom on the other hand, doesn't charge you for overused it.. just the speed will be throttled..

Maxis will charge if you overused it..
kae7
post Jun 29 2012, 04:45 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(pcbase @ Jun 29 2012, 10:08 AM)
Celcom have widest 3G coverage with dual band 3G 2100/900mhz band,
Maxis 3G my kampong no service, have to use 3G antenna. Celcom full bar.
yes it has the widest coverage, i told alrdy biggrin.gif

in term of speed, Maxis may be better, they upgrading to 42Mbps...
kae7
post Jun 29 2012, 09:29 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jun 29 2012, 05:28 PM)
I'm Lost...

I am on UMobile's U58 Postpaid
However, i want to get more data but don't want to suffer the slower speed. Therefore, i'm thinking of Maxis' Internet Value Plans.

There are two plans, RM75 and RM48 which I am considering.
RM75 a month for 3.5GB (extra @ 30c/MB)
RM48 a month for 1.5GB (can buy extra 500MB at RM5)

Since I can check the internet usage by just *100#, which is the better choice?

And!

Celcom has their Celcom First Data plan.

For RM68 they have 4GB internet (wow!) but then capped at 1.5Mbps sad.gif

Help me decide!!!
1. do you really need high speed ?? 1.5Mbps is consider fast , can play youtube video [480p] smoothly.. ,

Maxis IVP plans is good.. , it is worth for you...

you just need to choose which package that you want.. biggrin.gif

since previously you are subscribing the U58 plan.. I assume you need around 2GB to 3GB data.. so , the IVP plan RM 75/month is good thumbup.gif plus it is not a contract , while the RM 48/month package is 12 months contract package biggrin.gif
kae7
post Jul 1 2012, 03:05 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jul 1 2012, 02:19 PM)
so my celcom number already register for

MAXIS VPI50 250MB DATA + 100mins + 100sms

the guy told me have to wait 48hours for activation, is it normal?

Added on July 1, 2012, 2:22 pmi just called Digi Centre, what you guys think?
for real???

as far as i know, prepaid number can switch to Postpaid, and once Postpaid, never gonna go back to Prepaid????

any input?

tq
yes , telco can do it , they can change from postpaid to prepaid if they want smile.gif
kae7
post Jul 10 2012, 09:08 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(trinityz @ Jul 10 2012, 05:36 PM)
no comparison for all the telcos?
try to download -->

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=2847381
kae7
post Jul 20 2012, 12:52 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jul 19 2012, 11:01 PM)
which is the cheapest voice prepaid pack currently for only 2 weeks use for visiting friend?
need to know how much you gonna make a call, how long, etc.etc..

tunetalk and umobile may have good plan.. but if your friend using celcom, there are also some other promotions
kae7
post Jul 20 2012, 09:54 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jul 20 2012, 08:35 AM)
i think mostly short calls and some sms, so shd be xox/umobile? thanks
yes..
kae7
post Jul 22 2012, 02:23 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(dirtinacan @ Jul 22 2012, 12:43 PM)
is there any way to MNP from post paid to prepaid.. going to us for 3 month.. dont want to pay for monthly commitment fee..hehe
need to discuss to your telco centre to do that
kae7
post Jul 23 2012, 10:52 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jul 23 2012, 10:12 PM)
I'm currently on Hotlink prepaid. Usually I spend only about RM30 for top up. For internet, I have Streamyx unlimited package at RM66 per month. I'm looking to cut down my cost by terminating the TM fixed line, so I can save about RM26+ on the fixed line monthly charge.

I'm looking for a package about RM100 (being RM30 + RM66). I'd like this package to include about RM30 talk time or less, and unlimited internet bandwidth. I'm open to both suggestions on prepaid and postpaid. Does anybody know if such a package is available?
unlimited internet bandwith - blink.gif blink.gif none if you choose normal Maxis Postpaid plan

below is the available package from Maxis -->

kae7
post Jul 23 2012, 11:17 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jul 23 2012, 11:08 PM)
Thanks. I am open to any service provider as well. Not necessarily have to stick with Maxis. By the way, I use about 13GB of bandwidth a month. Hence, unlimited is important for me. Otherwise, I'd be paying through my nose for the internet access.
unlimited is impossible for Maxis normal package.. smile.gif

others like Umbile, Digi, Celcom also cannot fulfil your requirement .. they do have quota 1GB, 3GB, 5GB, 6GB, etc..

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0233sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:19 PM