Pre-U , Offered in Malaysia

TSmacamtakada
post Apr 16 2009, 07:27 PM, updated 17y ago

1,360 posts

Which prepares all rounded students and best prepared students in uni-life?
tanjinjack
post Apr 16 2009, 07:49 PM

4,122 posts

My vote goes to IB.
It is, IMHO, more rigorous than STPM and also have a very excellent reputation worldwide. By far, I believe, the most recognised Pre-U in the world, even more than A-level.
Try to look up Aus, UK, Can, US's universities websites. I bet you can hardly find a university that doesn't list out the entry requirement for IB.

I accidentally clicked null vote and in the end failed to make a vote.

STPM, for its rigorous and wide scope, prepares students very well, too.
A-Level, which is quite similar to them, should be okay as well.

As a SAM graduate, I will say it doesn't prepare all-rounded students but prepares best prepared students. Students are able to cope with assignments all that as the workloads are expected to be lesser than SAM time. Nonetheless, it's noted that Specialist Mathematics should come as a must for Engineering as it simplifies your life a lot in university. Meanwhile, I believe the covered scopes should be sufficient for university entry.
I believe AUSMAT should come very similar with SAM, be it from WA or VIC state.

I have bad impressions on ICPU that I find that graduate (ONE sample only) is unable and unmotivated to cope with studies. Also, I believe they do study more subjects but less in depths (America system) which makes them harder to cope in a UK system (or in Aus system) which stresses more on depth than breath. (But, I see Aus is trying to look for a better balance in depth/breath. For instance, the Uni Melb Model 3+2 Master, which will be followed by UWA in few years time.)
If you asked the opposite question, then my vote goes to ICPU.

Well, just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Apr 16 2009, 07:55 PM
destroyer
post Apr 16 2009, 08:11 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

you forgot malaysia matriculation. haha. it doesn't prepare student with enough knowledge.

but it sure make lazy people like me work hard. when i enter, I realise that if i miss this chances, i'll never get it again. but the study is very fast. 1 month there i've study physic for 5 topics.

then i go out from it to continue diploma since got sponsorship.

you also forgot to put SAT.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 16 2009, 08:12 PM
Jyou
post Apr 16 2009, 08:16 PM

171 posts

I don't think SAT qualifies as a pre-u on par with what the TS listed...

This post has been edited by Jyou: Apr 16 2009, 08:16 PM
HotChocolate
post Apr 16 2009, 08:19 PM

452 posts

In terms of recognition across the globe:

1)IB
2)A-level
3)Others

In terms of "how hard is the course" (very subjective):

1)IB
2)STPM
3)Others

SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 16 2009, 09:42 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

must agree on this... however how though it is doesnt mean it is good... the best pre-u is the one that prepares the students for their uni life, knowledge, disipline and also interest.

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 16 2009, 08:11 PM)
you forgot malaysia matriculation. haha. it doesn't prepare student with enough knowledge.

but it sure make lazy people like me work hard. when i enter, I realise that if i miss this chances, i'll never get it again. but the study is very fast. 1 month there i've study physic for 5 topics.

then i go out from it to continue diploma since got sponsorship.

you also forgot to put SAT.
local matric is out of the question as they only cater to certain ppl. as for SAT, SAT is more of an exam rather than a pre-u program.
Critical
post Apr 16 2009, 09:48 PM

258 posts

But matrik is no doubt a pre-u LOL
lordblood
post Apr 16 2009, 10:28 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(Critical @ Apr 16 2009, 09:48 PM)
But matrik is no doubt a pre-u LOL
lowest pre-uni of all.. seriously doesn't prepare u much.. my bet will go to stpm and a levels, but since we're only allow to vote once, i take stpm cuz i sat for it.. =p IB yes, it's definitely the hardest and of course students get exposed to everything, but is all of it use for the future? kinda a waste there to me la.. of course, i'm not so sure how IB works..
destroyer
post Apr 16 2009, 10:31 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

i'm former matric.

yep! matric doesn't prepare u much.

even 3.4 pointer matric grad can only score 2.XX in diploma final exam.

but it can chamge ur attitude from lazy to work hard.
Batusai
post Apr 16 2009, 10:43 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

well still.. matric promises a good pre-u grade n allows u to have a place in a good Uni in Malaysia easily..

rather den STPM tat u have to work extremely hard yet u cant fight a place with matric students..

This post has been edited by Batusai: Apr 16 2009, 10:43 PM
tanjinjack
post Apr 16 2009, 11:03 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(lordblood @ Apr 16 2009, 10:28 PM)
lowest pre-uni of all.. seriously doesn't prepare u much.. my bet will go to stpm and a levels, but since we're only allow to vote once, i take stpm cuz i sat for it.. =p IB yes, it's definitely the hardest and of course students get exposed to everything, but is all of it use for the future? kinda a waste there to me la.. of course, i'm not so sure how IB works..
No la, that's the way IB structures it, to give you a lot of knowledge.
It's not wasting time if you had the moneys. STPM + result waiting time is also 2 years what.
teckyuan
post Apr 16 2009, 11:31 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Apr 16 2009, 10:43 PM)
well still.. matric promises a good pre-u grade n allows u to have a place in a good Uni in Malaysia easily..

rather den STPM tat u have to work extremely hard yet u cant fight a place with matric students..
personally , i don think matrik is a good way to further ur study....
although i wil guarantee u enter a local gov uni...bt wat if u fail to select the course u wan...(no point to go for a course tat ur nt interested it at all)

beside tat ...stpm give student a broader choice in select U....because stpm is recognized internationally...

y don u work hard for stpm in order to get into a better U ...

matrik limit the choice of ur Uni....u onli can study in malaysia..

stpm provide a solid foundation for u uni...nt like matrik...

so y don u finish the bitter 1st and having a leisure life in uni???

plus... most scholarship offer outside is for stpm holder.....seldom see scholarship offer for matrik holder..

for those who really willing to work hard y don u study stpm. and apply renowned U like NTU and NUS???
Critical
post Apr 16 2009, 11:32 PM

258 posts

Yea but a matrik student still can further his study in foreign U after getting a degree in local U
azarimy
post Apr 16 2009, 11:37 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Critical @ Apr 16 2009, 03:32 PM)
Yea but a matrik student still can further his study in foreign U after getting a degree in local U
in that case, it's faster to get a diploma in malaysia and then a degree abroad.
Batusai
post Apr 16 2009, 11:47 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

yeah.. but i heard STPM is extremely hard.. n even with good results it wont promise u a place lar.. matricks.. i dont think it fixes ur subject rite? correct me if im wrong..

im now waiting for JPA too.. some courses are already announced... damn butterflies in stomach now.. i doubt i can sleep well.. arghh...
empirekhoo
post Apr 17 2009, 12:13 AM

218 posts

stpm +1

if you passes stpm. there's ntg harder. XP

okok i'm crapping already. anyway stpm is regarded by it's level. hmm i still remember i saw cambridge accepting stpm students. so people do recognise stpm. but the english test, ie muet might be less accredited.
chungdavi
post Apr 17 2009, 12:20 AM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

Hmm, my vote goes to A-Levels....since I took it.....but don't really know whether it's the most all-rounded........

Probably not the most, but perhaps it's quite well covered......
lordblood
post Apr 17 2009, 11:36 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Apr 16 2009, 11:47 PM)
yeah.. but i heard STPM is extremely hard.. n even with good results it wont promise u a place lar.. matricks.. i dont think it fixes ur subject rite? correct me if im wrong..

im now waiting for JPA too.. some courses are already announced... damn butterflies in stomach now.. i doubt i can sleep well.. arghh...
STPM is hard because of the way it's done, study 2 years worth of course in 1 and a half years and answer it in a major exam.. If STPM was break down in A Level style, which they'll be doing soon it'll be slightly easier.. The reason I say slightly is because it'll still be tough due to it's wide range of topics. Heck even people who say A levels is easy is lying. A levels is not easy at all, it has the same standard as STPM which makes it equally tough..
azarimy
post Apr 17 2009, 11:39 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

truth is, nobody has ever taken STPM, A-levels and matriculation all together to effectively compare its toughness.

and even if there are, certainly the first one he/she takes would be harder than the second one. so why bother comparing? lol.
DeVGF
post May 27 2010, 08:28 PM

291 posts

In terms of ALL-rounded-ness, I think STPM and Alevels would be out because they are 100% exam based, just study study, exam, pass, done.

I think SAM/Ausmat are more all-rounded , whereas ICPU/CIMP teaches you to be a more 'street smart' person.

Not sure about IB though

0.0462sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:13 PM