Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

eugenecctan
post Jun 16 2012, 10:26 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Hi Sifus, I am going to upgrade my system from 5.1 to 7.1.
I have a few questions, 1st, how to choose a suitable speakers for my current system. Currently I am using series 3 speakers from Pioneer, 6 ohms. Is it a must to use back 6 ohms speakers?
2nd question, Can I mix speakers cable? e.g. brand, gauge. 3rd question, can I setup my 7.1 speakers as front wide using pioneer avr (compare to Audyssey DSX). Thanks.
eugenecctan
post Jun 17 2012, 09:37 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 17 2012, 08:52 AM)
In your situation, it is not easy to get the Pioneer speakers to match it. If can't, try to find used surround units. You may mix but best is to stick to one type. I suppose you are going to use diff cable for your surr.

Do you mean using the rear surr as FW? If yes, you can't as the processing is different from DSX. DSX will utilise and process the front channel signal for FW. In your case, the rear surr is still rear surr signal.
Thanks for all your tips, very appreciate, it is hard to get same type of speakers. Better still with 6 ohms right? Btw, i have just check pioneer sg website, as below,

Various Speaker Settings Previous A/V receiver models only allowed surround back speakers for a 7.1channel layout. This year's lineup provides more options in terms of speaker placement. Combine front wide speakers with Pioneer-original Wide Surround mode to enjoy more spacious sound in the front. Wide Surround Movie provides motion feeling in front, while Wide Surround Music creates a wide-spreadingsound field in the foreground. Or place front height speakers and use Dolby Pro Logic IIz for vertical-spreading sound.

Anyone knw more about ths? Because the only place allow me to add on 2 more speakers is front wide only.
eugenecctan
post Jun 17 2012, 11:07 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 17 2012, 02:20 PM)
If you stick to 6 or 8 ohm speakers should be fine. Most AVRs can drive those without problem.
Thanks, headache now to choose 2 additional speakers. I heard that there will be an Audio Exhibition next month, 20 to 22nd.
eugenecctan
post Jun 18 2012, 11:17 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

http://www.thx.com/consumer/home-entertain...speaker-set-up/

For the 2 method of speakers placement for THX 7.1 .Which speakers placement better? and why?
If I were to choose follow picture 1 by putting my surround back speakers together. Is it the same as just 6.1 channel output? Can I replace 2 surround back speakers with 1 center back speaker. Thanks.
eugenecctan
post Jun 19 2012, 07:32 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 19 2012, 01:30 PM)
Yes. I am following Dolby's recommended positioning.
The reason i am asking is because i only have limited back space to either put my surround back speakers together, or just put 1 center back speaker to make it as 6.1.
eugenecctan
post Jul 6 2012, 05:27 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Anyone using BMB speakers as front speakers? smile.gif
eugenecctan
post Jul 17 2012, 02:38 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(duncan_me @ Jul 12 2012, 08:25 PM)
I just went to amcorp earlier. The shops there looks a bit high end. I went into one. The guy quoted RM800 for a pair.
I would prefer to get something around the RM400 price range.
I am looking for speaker stand also, but if surround back and surround side speakers need to place 2 or 3 feet above the front speakers. Then I will need at least 50 inches speaker stand. :S
eugenecctan
post Jul 17 2012, 04:11 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jul 17 2012, 04:00 PM)
There's a shop in Amcorp where they can make stands (wooden). Can make 4' or 4.5' for you but it won't be cheap.
Thanks, that is why I were asking previously, whether we can use front speakers as surround speakers, then just them put on top of a 24 inches stand, even better than buying a surround speakers and thinking how to place it...
eugenecctan
post Jul 18 2012, 01:52 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jul 17 2012, 05:30 PM)
You can use almost any speaker as surround speakers. If you want to use a floorstander also can.

Anyway, even if you want to use bookshelf speakers as surround, you might be able to use 24" or 30" stand. There is some debate about proper height for surround speakers - some say use it at ear level and others say 2' - 3' above ear level.
Thanks for your suggestion, Just wondering, why it is recommended to place surround speakers at ear level or above, why not below? Maybe at floor?
eugenecctan
post Jul 18 2012, 02:09 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Sifus, more questions from me,

Purple color is the place that I have planned to place surround back speakers.

Questions,
1) Should I add on another 2 surround back speakers if I am only able to place them together? If yes, by placing them together, any different on 1 speaker vs 2 surround back speakers? 6.1 vs 7.1?

2) Do I need to place them same height as my surround speakers?

This post has been edited by eugenecctan: Jul 18 2012, 02:10 PM
eugenecctan
post Jul 18 2012, 08:53 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jul 18 2012, 02:06 PM)
If you put at floor level then chances are the sound may be blocked by furniture, etc.
So is that meant if open area, no furniture in between, then itis Ok to place surround speakers on floor?
eugenecctan
post Aug 1 2012, 05:00 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

How to match speakers between center and front speakers? According to their power and frequency range?
eugenecctan
post Aug 2 2012, 09:02 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 1 2012, 07:04 PM)
In general get the center speaker from the same brand and series as your front speakers. The manufacturer would have matched them.
Thanks, so if I want to upgrade my front speakers, then I will need to get a new center speaker as well?

eugenecctan
post Aug 13 2012, 09:38 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Jul 18 2012, 02:09 PM)
Sifus, more questions from me,

Purple color is the place that I have planned to place surround back speakers.

Questions,
1) Should I add on another 2 surround back speakers if I am only able to place them together? If yes, by placing them together, any different on 1 speaker vs 2 surround back speakers? 6.1 vs 7.1?

2) Do I need to place them same height as my surround speakers?

To all sifus, still the same questions pending for answer,
Questions,
For movies with 5.1/7.1 True HD and Master HD, will the receiver able to convert to 6.1 output? Thanks.
eugenecctan
post Aug 14 2012, 10:17 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 13 2012, 06:25 PM)
In my opinion, if you're going to place 2 speakers together, then, it'll be the same as a single speaker, minus unwanted interference due to too closely placed speakers. So, 6.1 is good enough for your case.

The AVR will upmix 5.1 and downmix 7.1 contents to fit 6.1 setup.
Thanks. smile.gif

0.0218sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:17 AM